No refund on fees
Story Created: Jul 6, 2013 at 8:39 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 6, 2013 at 10:39 PM ECT
Question:
I’ve been refused a visa for the second time in one year. In all, I have wasted just over $2,000 in visa applications. I am very upset and disappointed
and would like to get at least a portion of my money back.
Answer:
Thank you for your enquiry. We frequently receive this question and are happy to clarify the issue.
The US$160 (approximately $1016) fee paid by applicants is an application fee. This fee covers the costs of processing an application. There are many processes involved in a visa application, not just at the embassy in Port of Spain but also remotely. This is also why the visa application process cannot be completed in one day—there are many processes taking place before, during and after the actual interview. Therefore, the fee is paid whether a visa is issued or not, and no refunds are available.
The visa application fee is currently US$160. This fee is the same at all US embassies and consulates, whether it is London, Toronto, Cape Town or Port of Spain. The US Embassy is required by law to charge this fee to cover the cost of processing visas.
Earlier this year, the US Embassy implemented many new services, without raising our visa application fee. We now have a call centre open Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., available at (868) 224-3099. We have a new online appointment website at usvisa-info.com. If you are not yet 14 years old or are already 80 years old, you do not need to appear in person—if you qualify, you can send your passports and application materials to us free of charge. Visa holders, either B1/B2 (business/tourism) or C1/D (crew members), who have a valid visa or whose visa expired less than one year ago, are able to have their interviews waived and only have to provide their fingerprints. Qualified applicants now receive their passports and visas by free courier service—formerly a paid service.
Please see our website,
usvisa-info.com, for full information on these programmes and to determine if they apply to your case. And remember, all the information you need to apply for a visa is available free on our website, which is the only official source of information on
US visas in Trinidad and Tobago.
ruffrider27 wrote:Co worker went with his wife and 3 children,all got blanked
Wife pregnant ,he said the guy ask in a polite question ,"do you plan to have the baby abroad"
Me ain't know what he say but he get blank
Wife pregnant ,he said the guy ask in a polite question ,"do you plan to have the baby abroad"
redmanjp wrote:ruffrider27 wrote:Co worker went with his wife and 3 children,all got blanked
US doh want ppl comin abroad to make baby who would get automatic citizenship
Sumana.00 wrote:redmanjp wrote:ruffrider27 wrote:Co worker went with his wife and 3 children,all got blanked
US doh want ppl comin abroad to make baby who would get automatic citizenship
Haven't they changed that rule?
pioneer wrote:Even if they got visas the airline could blank her from boarding
Even if she gets to board, US border control can deny her entry
She was screwed from the start, now they 5k poorer and their weekend has been spoilt.
redmanjp wrote:pioneer wrote:Even if they got visas the airline could blank her from boarding
Even if she gets to board, US border control can deny her entry
She was screwed from the start, now they 5k poorer and their weekend has been spoilt.
well it was 2k she said but still hard luck fuh she- shoulda do some research b4
pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.
Success is guaranteed. One foot in de door business.
Preludeman1 wrote:pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.
Are u trying to be funny pal?
Xplode wrote:Preludeman1 wrote:pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.
somebody get blank![]()
pios being he self ,always look professional in these interviews.
Xplode wrote:Preludeman1 wrote:pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.
somebody get blank![]()
pioneer wrote:Xplode wrote:Preludeman1 wrote:pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.
somebody get blank![]()
Somebody?...I see every single talknah gunta geh brace this morning, even de gaza diva an dem...disgustin weave bigger than dey arse, geh blank too
Dem keep my passport...so I waiting...dunno wha da means...man mumble sumn bout DHL![]()
Sidepart, glasses, tie and a fresh kit with tie is always killer. Americans appreciate people who can dress professionally, especially if it reflects your career and purpose in life.
And yes, they do judge you by your appearance. They do not want more talknah guntas entering their country.