The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

ZeroOne

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2013, 4:52 pm

Do factory reset again, only time you could be sure that its hardware is after ROM reflash, clearing dalvik cache ,kernel reflash.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 29th, 2013, 5:09 pm

Dion76 wrote:fellas, need a lil advise.

a friend of mine has a note 2, about 1-2 months old, never fell etc

this morning she woke up and it wasnt responding, did couple battery pulls and the phone came up, everything was really sluggish though, tried to make a call, couldnt hear anything from the speaker, tried to play a song and the song would be playing but ur not hearing anything from the phone, tried the headset still cant hear anything, tried a factory reset, same problem, any advise on what could be done?

Same problems I having

Plus I have wrong battery readings , lots of phone freezes , dropped services , wifi issues....I flashed mine over and all problems stopped for 2 weeks and started back , I feel is something with the phone itself yess but I could live with it :/

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2013, 6:09 pm

That's some major malfunctioning there Dion76, and it could be hardware failure. If it's still under warranty go get it replaced before you tinker.

If it's past the warranty, get TWRP and flash a new kernel, like Persus. No Use going back to a stock ROM after that, so try CM 10.2 (Android 4.3) and hope it works. If not, well you have to send it in for repairs.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 29th, 2013, 6:53 pm

Dion76 wrote:fellas, need a lil advise.

a friend of mine has a note 2, about 1-2 months old, never fell etc

this morning she woke up and it wasnt responding, did couple battery pulls and the phone came up, everything was really sluggish though, tried to make a call, couldnt hear anything from the speaker, tried to play a song and the song would be playing but ur not hearing anything from the phone, tried the headset still cant hear anything, tried a factory reset, same problem, any advise on what could be done?

do another reset and see if the problem goes away again. if so it might be some app ur installing that the phone dont like. but wouldnt surprise me if is a hardware malfunction that developing worse.

Postby javishm » August 29th, 2013, 11:43 pm

Dion76 contact samsung support. they are quite helpful....have done it a few times

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » August 29th, 2013, 11:46 pm

javishm wrote:Dion76 contact samsung support. they are quite helpful....have done it a few times

I tried the Samsung support, wasn't helpful though, what number did you call?

Postby javishm » August 29th, 2013, 11:48 pm

I actually contact them via there website for live chat

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/live- ... rt/contact

Postby stev » August 29th, 2013, 11:56 pm

Dion76,

is the note 2 in a case with a magnet?

u can try the following:

-turn off haptic feedback then restart
-restart while in vibrate mode, then turn up the sound

-do u see the headphone notification icon when u plug them in?
-are u getting sound if u activate speakerphone?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 29th, 2013, 11:58 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:
Same problems I having

Plus I have wrong battery readings , lots of phone freezes ,

Had that issue with my s2 once... what i ended up doing was to remove the battery while it was on, then remove the microsd card etc. Replace battery and start the phone, then turn off using the power button, reinstall cards and start again normally.

I don't know why it worked or if it will work for you but my phone hasn't done it since.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 30th, 2013, 12:13 am

Remove the sd althogether as well, a corrupt sd can fck a lotta chit up.

Postby nervewrecker » August 30th, 2013, 12:26 am

Trini Hookah wrote:8gb...that eh holding 2-3 movies properly jed.

Phone is for smart phone purposes (and the camera).

Tab and PC is for movies.

:wink:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » August 30th, 2013, 12:27 am

javishm wrote:Dion76 contact samsung support. they are quite helpful....have done it a few times

I tried the Samsung support, wasn't helpful though, what number did you call?

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 30th, 2013, 7:16 am

MISHI wrote:
Mr.Bollywood wrote:
Same problems I having

Had that issue with my s2 once... what i ended up doing was to remove the battery while it was on, then remove the microsd card etc. Replace battery and start the phone, then turn off using the power button, reinstall cards and start again normally.

I don't know why it worked or if it will work for you but my phone hasn't done it since.

Hey man I tried it !!

IT WORKED!! phones stopped freezing up and everything ...its just one other small problem

Idk if anyone else experiences the problem where you press the power button to lock the phone , the phone screen turns black (as if its locked) and when u try to unlock it , u see the homescreen of the phone instead of the lockscreen? And the touch on the phone is rendered useless? Ive been experiencing that for a while but I simply restart and it works as usual for the while

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 30th, 2013, 9:44 am

so what allyuh think bout this? aint go lie, Xiaomi have some decent looking hardware and i always liked the look of MIUI

Android VP Hugo Barra leaves Google, joins Chinese phone maker Xiaomi

Barely a month after he was showing off Google's new Nexus 7 tablet Hugo Barra is departing to join Xiaomi, according to AllThingsD. Part of Google since March 2008, as the Vice President of product management for Android he's been a regular face to anyone that's watched Google I/O events and Nexus product launches over the past few years. With his exit Barra follows Android creator Andy Rubin, who stepped away from the Android team three months earlier. It's a huge score for Xiaomi, a company that goes from strength to strength in China, with smartphones that run on a heavily customized (and customizable) Android ROM. The company's also dabbled in smart TV boxes, which could make for a very familiar role for a former Googler. According to Xiaomi, he will be in charge of steering the company's global expansion starting in October.

Engadget

Xiaomi Red Rice (yeah das d name of d phone :|)

Postby javishm » August 30th, 2013, 10:01 am

Dion76 this

javishm wrote:I actually contact them via there website for live chat

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/live- ... rt/contact

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 30th, 2013, 10:40 am

What good sites are there to unlock a digicel locked s3?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 30th, 2013, 11:29 am

^^^check XDA forums for that model should be the i9300

<<adrian>>

Postby <<adrian>> » August 30th, 2013, 12:52 pm

They sticking with the bbm for android

Postby ismithx » August 30th, 2013, 2:41 pm

meh who cares. whatsapp > bbm. especially since that last update with the voice recording

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 30th, 2013, 3:13 pm

Guys I need some help, I'm beyond scared right now. I had philz cwm installed on my S4. In mounts and storage I wiped my data folder (sd card) in hopes of clearing all the crap I had on it before and starting fresh but it rebooted and its now stuck in a boot loop. I can access CWM and Download mode but I tried putting a rom on my SD card and it says "unable to mount external SD". I'm downloading a stock firmware from sammobile to flash in Odin but its taking FOREVER. Can anyone help?

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 30th, 2013, 3:58 pm

Dude on odin , it takes a long time , it might freeze up an all buh leave it alone , you would get through , if not pm me , ill see if I can help u through with the mounting sd card problem

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 30th, 2013, 4:20 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Dude on odin , it takes a long time , it might freeze up an all buh leave it alone , you would get through , if not pm me , ill see if I can help u through with the mounting sd card problem

Thanks a lot bro. I put a firmware to download by my cousin, his Internet is a lot faster so hopefully I'll have it in an hour or so. Any advice before I flash with odin? I haven't done this in a while.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 30th, 2013, 4:42 pm

Well what I do , I double check , make sure all my files are easily accessible , drivers for the phone are installed etc

When flashing , dont look at the screen man , that will make u even more nervous , I had a sony xperia s that gave me relll hell cuz I accidentally wiped the android os from it , and I put it in a sort of cwrm bootloop, but I went into download mode and flashed back an os onto it , it took over 2 hours for odin to complete it , and odin froze over 5 times, so have patience

If it doesnt work, panic like ass and then calm back down and hit up xda developers , or pm me ill try my best to help

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 30th, 2013, 5:49 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:
MISHI wrote:
Mr.Bollywood wrote:
Same problems I having

Hey man I tried it !!

IT WORKED!! phones stopped freezing up and everything ...its just one other small problem

Idk if anyone else experiences the problem where you press the power button to lock the phone , the phone screen turns black (as if its locked) and when u try to unlock it , u see the homescreen of the phone instead of the lockscreen? And the touch on the phone is rendered useless? Ive been experiencing that for a while but I simply restart and it works as usual for the while

This indicates software problem BTW.

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2013, 7:32 pm

Xda for that wipe sd card issue. I was reading about it on the one x forum. Apparently you've entered the hell zone. Something like erase and reset everything on a jailbroken iPhone except worse. Good luck man.

If I'm not mistaken u might have to go and issue some commands also using adb. Not sure. Xda is d way pal

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 30th, 2013, 9:23 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Well what I do , I double check , make sure all my files are easily accessible , drivers for the phone are installed etc

When flashing , dont look at the screen man , that will make u even more nervous , I had a sony xperia s that gave me relll hell cuz I accidentally wiped the android os from it , and I put it in a sort of cwrm bootloop, but I went into download mode and flashed back an os onto it , it took over 2 hours for odin to complete it , and odin froze over 5 times, so have patience

If it doesnt work, panic like ass and then calm back down and hit up xda developers , or pm me ill try my best to help

Thanks a lot for the help guys. I was scared like a bi*** watching this thing download and everything so I just went to the gym and sweat it out. Came back, download finished. Flashed the .tarmd5 thu Odin and she's booted up currently, with some weird Egyptian firmware. Gonna root again and flash the rom I was about to. Hope all goes well.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 31st, 2013, 4:43 am

Got thru with flashing a new rom etc.. it came debloated, no samsung crap on it. But I use WatchOn A LOT. I reinstalled it from the playstore and it says "unable to get lineups" everytime I try finding my tv service. It's frustrating the hell out of me and I dunno what it is. If I click other, it sets up the controls for Flow's Motorola STB and my RCA tv fine.

Idk what to do, but if some generous person (who uses Flow) won't mind making a titanium backup of their watch on, I'd really appreciate it.

http://www.redmondpie.com/pressy-adds-a ... ces-video/

^ that looks cool

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » August 31st, 2013, 11:13 am

stev wrote:Dion76,

u can try the following:

ill try what u suggested jus now but currently no headphone icon when plugged in, no sound from speakerphone

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » August 31st, 2013, 12:05 pm

stev wrote:Dion76,

u can try the following:

tried everything, still doesn't work

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » August 31st, 2013, 12:06 pm

i'm a noob with android , anybody knows how to get paid apps for free on s4 mini without "rooting" phone