Postby casper » March 21st, 2013, 3:51 pm

^^^why????

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 21st, 2013, 4:24 pm

M_2NR wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:retina mini

ah want this soooo bad. But... given current tech and battery life... I think we still have a year or two again if it is to be that thin or light as the 1st gen.

According to Mac rumours, second half of 2013 could be the debut.

http://www.macrumors.com/2013/03/16/sup ... f-of-2013/

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 21st, 2013, 9:35 pm

guys i'm thinking of getting one of the ipad flavors,
i'm not sure which one i really need right now,
its between the ipad 2, ipad 3/4 or ipad mini.
the mini 16gb cellular is winning right now.
i like the size of the mini and it seems to perform well but i wonder if the smaller screen size and smaller form is a positive or a negative,
i'm also wandering if the ipad 3/4's extra processing power is necessary yet.
i want the ipad to replace most of my iphones duties apart from calls (obviously).
i plan to mainly use it for displaying wiring diagrams and aircraft maintenance manuals at work(pdf),
an entertainment hub/gps unit in my car and a comfortable control device at home on my pc (airmouse and logmein/rdp) as well as the usual emails, calendar appointments, notes etc.
Does the mini's screen size hinder these tasks in comparison to the ipad 3/4?

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 21st, 2013, 10:27 pm

The screen size doesn't really hamper it but I can't live with the screen resolution after having retina. I consider it a smaller ipad 2. Most notibly thing between the two is the weight (and size) but I've gotten accustom to the weight of my ipad and I don't really hold it for that long realistically. Then again I Hold a dslr with battery pack and zoom lens for hours :lol:

I also use my ipad in car a lot but mainly as a music source or to make notes.

IMO Go for the ipad3 if you have a 4/4s or get the ipad4 if you have the iphone5 so you can have similar chargers.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 21st, 2013, 10:34 pm

jm3 wrote:i plan to mainly use it for displaying wiring diagrams and aircraft maintenance manuals at work(pdf),
Just for these alone I'd go with the retina display and bigger screen of the iPad. Wiring diagrams/schematics and text in manuals can become a chore to read on the iPad mini's smaller screen and lower resolution.
As kurpal said, keep the charger type and other iOS accessories you may have in mind. If you don't have any other iOS device, might as well go with the latest gen iPad with the lightning charger.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 21st, 2013, 10:48 pm

I swear, you get accustom to pinch and zoom on a retina display ipad and its like an extension of your mind. The control is unparalleled to the mini/galaxy tab/laptop/iPhone/s3/pen and paper, you get the drift.

Ok I sound like a fanboy now :/

Postby M_2NR » March 22nd, 2013, 12:20 am

I still find scrolling and typing is the best on iOS. And I think the majority will always agree on that. Even fandroids.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 22nd, 2013, 12:32 am

M_2NR wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Nice trick for the iPad users - for apps like FB Messenger that aren't release for the iPad and look like crap, even with retina pad.. Using iFile edit the info.plist for the app, scroll to UIDevice family and change the integer to 2. Works for all apps to get the resolution right like Instagram as well..but the layout is a bit effed up on some apps. Like WhatsApp. Usable tho.

WiFi only iPad/iPod users can get WhatsApp via WhatsPad on Cydia

there is a cydia jailbreak tweak for that. Eg. FullForce.

pete wrote:How do you get it verified by whatsapp? Don't they have to send you an SMS?

yup. Send it to a phone that's not activated with whatsapp.

Thanks ! Much easier and it actually works better for WhatsApp

What cool Cydia tweaks you guys have to recommend ?

Postby M_2NR » March 22nd, 2013, 12:37 am

Zephyr, f.lux, NCSettings. Although I getting some random crashes because of that last one though.

If you use pandora, there is also pandoraskips.

casper

Postby casper » March 22nd, 2013, 8:26 am

i agree with kurpal...i wont even think about an ipad mini for d main reason that it doesnt have a retina display....everything (apple wise) without a retina screen feels so outdated....i'd go with the ipad 4 if i were you....ipad 2 may be the most stable one WRT wifi and temperature but once u get accustom to a retia diplsay u'd find everything else looks so pixelated

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2013, 10:58 am

Even the temperature thing, I only experiencing that wen I run FIFA and charge the device at the same time.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 22nd, 2013, 1:58 pm

ok thanks for input guys i think i will test out the pdf performance on the mini and if its not clear enough i will look at a retina model

Postby M_2NR » March 22nd, 2013, 2:57 pm

jm3 wrote:ok thanks for input guys i think i will test out the pdf performance on the mini and if its not clear enough i will look at a retina model

yup! best bet is to test it out and see. The weight and thinness of the mini is extremely wonderful though.

Don't compare it with a 7" android one though... the iPad's aspect ratio is 4:3 and while videos are letterboxed (sadly) documents look properly formatted still (yay)

socaslvr

Postby socaslvr » March 25th, 2013, 7:28 am

Is the magsafe 60W available anywhere for purchase in Trinidad?

casper

Postby casper » March 25th, 2013, 7:59 am

^^^what is that?

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 25th, 2013, 8:01 am

^^macbook power adapter

Postby bluesteel29 » March 25th, 2013, 12:13 pm

is it everytime an update rolls out i gotta re enter the apn settings on the phone for data?

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 25th, 2013, 12:30 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:is it everytime an update rolls out i gotta re enter the apn settings on the phone for data?

Yup once you with Digicel, think so because they not an official carrier

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 25th, 2013, 4:10 pm

src1983 wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:is it everytime an update rolls out i gotta re enter the apn settings on the phone for data?

Seems to be the same for me and I'm with bmobile. Though I usually have to enter the prepaid APN to replace the postpaid one.

eitech

Postby eitech » March 26th, 2013, 4:41 pm

SRASC wrote:
src1983 wrote:

Seems to be the same for me and I'm with bmobile. Though I usually have to enter the prepaid APN to replace the postpaid one.

Postpaid or prepaid or does it matter?

casper

Postby casper » March 28th, 2013, 12:21 pm

anyone have an idea on the estimated announcement date for the new ipad mini?

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 28th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Nothing confirmed yet.

Only rumors

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 30th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Anyone has a solution to the keyboard click issue on the iphone 5 current os

It clicks, then goes silent.

**UPDATE** Only works if I double click the home button then slide the volume to mute...... :?

Is there a better fix??

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 30th, 2013, 9:18 pm

Ipad owners- note that the model A1205 power adapters no longer work with your ipad :(

phreak

Postby phreak » March 30th, 2013, 9:54 pm

No man.. Mine still working on iPad 2,3 & 4..

Postby M_2NR » March 30th, 2013, 10:09 pm

U have 3 ipads :shock:
wtmc hoss.

Seriously though why charge on a 5W one? imagine charging an ipad 3/4 with a 5W and how long it would take.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 30th, 2013, 10:13 pm

Exactly, the new chargers are 12V for a reason.

Postby pioneer » March 30th, 2013, 10:34 pm

How come live streams don't show up on the youtube app on an iOS device but it shows up on the PC?

Same youtube account

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 30th, 2013, 10:35 pm

M_2NR wrote:U have 3 ipads :shock:
wtmc hoss.

Seriously though why charge on a 5W one? imagine charging an ipad 3/4 with a 5W and how long it would take.

You don't? I don't have a 4 yet, just two 3's and one 2 :lol:

I always used the iPod charger in my bedroom till as of recent when my ipad3 wouldn't charge with it. It didnt take that long to charge, most times it's charging I'd be asleep anyway. Today I put the ipad charger and switch between cords etc and the iPod charger isn't recognized by the ipad.

Maybe the charger just dead :|

Postby M_2NR » March 30th, 2013, 10:37 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:U have 3 ipads :shock:
wtmc hoss.

You don't? I don't have a 4 yet, just two 3's and one 2 :lol:

I always used the iPod charger in my bedroom till as of recent when my ipad3 wouldn't charge with it. Today I put the ipad charger and switch between cords etc and the iPod charger isn't recognized by the ipad.

Maybe the charger just dead :|

boy i don't even own 1!

U can do the usual and try a new cable or other device.