The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Stephon. » March 14th, 2013, 10:05 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Another premium price for ah handful of plastic...come on samsung, everyone else already learned...

The iPhone is always an option....

I for one would expect the S3 price for the S4 and don't mind it because I actually USE the features of the phone itself and not just have it in my hand because I like feeling metal in my hand..

no sense in having a premium feel in your hand and the phone has less features for another phone at the same price, best you get the better phone and done but then again it's down the preference

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 14th, 2013, 10:06 pm

*yawn*

S4= corolla

Postby Sky » March 14th, 2013, 10:06 pm

Impressive.
Dunno what the fuss is about. If you have an S3 then keep it. No need to upgrade.
If you're THAT kind of person, the apple store is across the street.
And HTC? Seriously?That's like comparing Sharp to Aiwa back in 1995.
The only phone I see giving this one a run is the Lumia, and that doesn't matter much to the OS faithful. It's a straight decision for them.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 14th, 2013, 10:12 pm

Kronik wrote:my nokia 6230 as well as all the phones that were solid as a rock were made of plastic, so i dont see the problem with plastic.

waiting to see the price when it's released. S3 was like $600 when it was released

Lolwut?

Your logic :lol:

That was funny joke :lol:

Postby stev » March 14th, 2013, 10:15 pm

the the S4 is full metal around :|

a link to the pictures are on the previous page...cud not embed.

Postby Stephon. » March 14th, 2013, 10:16 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:*yawn*

S4= corolla

Have you not seen the new list of features?

The iPhone is more of the corolla. The 4S is the fully loaded with alloys and a spoiler and the iPhone 5 is the same thing but with reverse sensors lol.... In terms of design yeah Samsung miss the mark there imo but in terms of specs and function, they did well

Postby stev » March 14th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Glad to see that Samsung is not whoring out the S4

Samsung Plans to Bring Software Features from the Galaxy S IV to the Galaxy S III

No doubt many of the Android/Samsung faithful were watching Samsung’s live event from New York and were slowly starting to despise the device they held in their hands. Of course any gadget geek loves to have the latest and greatest at any given moment, but that is hardly practical for most of us. But Samsung was thinking of you. The Samsung faithful that currently have the Galaxy S III will get to see a lot of the new features that were announced tonight.

Of course there will be limitations to the upgrades because of the hardware differences between the devices. Nick DiCarlo, Samsung’s vice president of portfolio planning was interviewed tonight and was quoted as saying “Anything that we can do that’s not dependent on hardware like infrared, we’ll definitely bring to all the flagship devices.” This is certainly good news to anyone who was wow’ed by the new upgrades to Samsung’s camera software. Samsung is always looking to upgrade it’s user’s experience while using top-of-the-line hardware. Mr. DiCarlo was also asked why Samsung didn’t emphasize the quality of its camera over the software that runs it and he responded: ”The key thing you’ve got to think about in this debate is, how easy is a camera to use and what cool things can you do with it? Photo quality is great, and has been great; for the average person the day-to-day person you’re not having a quality argument about photography. For your everyday use case, the ability to remove photobombers and that kind of stuff is really what’s going to have people talking.”

Certainly an interesting perspective. But as we have seen the rise of photo sharing on Pinterest and Instagram it certainly does appear that people are more concerned with being able to easily take, edit and share pictures than they are with the nitty-gritty details of color saturation and resolution. Many Android users will still be seeking the highest-quality camera they can get their hands on, and for the moment it looks like the HTC One holds that trophy. But once we have a chance to see the Galaxy S IV in the wild, we will be able to get a much better idea of the differences between the picture quality that each of these devices can offer.

When will these new software features come to the Galaxy S III? Presumably Samsung is currently working on pushing these upgrades out, but for the moment we can only speculate.

http://androidheadlines.com/2013/03/sam ... s-iii.html

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 14th, 2013, 10:57 pm

Wat features???

Postby pioneer » March 14th, 2013, 11:03 pm

Just remember kids, 5>4....always.

Postby stev » March 14th, 2013, 11:30 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Wat features???

everything that is not hardware related :|

Postby Stephon. » March 14th, 2013, 11:36 pm

Read through the thread again, stev also posted a link showing the hardware differences, looks looks like hardware wise the S4 is the best phone announced, followed by the HTC one (minus the camera) followed by the Z10, then the 8520, then the iPhone 5

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 14th, 2013, 11:39 pm

Stephon. wrote:

Read through the thread again, stev also posted a link showing the hardware differences, looks looks like hardware wise the S4 is the best phone announced, followed by the HTC one (minus the camera) followed by the Z10, then the 8520, then the iPhone 5

HAHAHAHAHA :lol: :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » March 14th, 2013, 11:42 pm

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 14th, 2013, 11:47 pm

I was jus askin wat software features so impressive? Blink pause?

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 14th, 2013, 11:48 pm

stev wrote:the the S4 is full metal around :|

a link to the pictures are on the previous page...cud not embed.

The metal around IMO was a fix to a flaw of the s3 design which should now better protect the screen :lol: And the golf ball textured back is part of the "premium finish" :|

Funny how iOS guys could care less of the launch while android fanboys feel the need to justify their new software updates *ahem* features, to the i5 and such :lol:

Have fun with your new reverse sensors guys :lol:

Postby stev » March 15th, 2013, 4:01 am

What foolishness is this :lol:

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Gt-i9400- ... =galaxy+s4

no official pricing as yet.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 15th, 2013, 6:28 am

^^^^bwahahahahahaha

and that is not even a pic of the s4

Postby Trini Hookah » March 15th, 2013, 7:34 am

Yall didn't see the power seller that already has pricing and taking downpayments?

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 15th, 2013, 7:46 am

LOL, s4 ftw, screen is way better than the s3, kinda looks like a smaller version of the note 2 though.

What rom are you guys running on your note 2?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 15th, 2013, 7:46 am

its a disappointed launch, yes software updates are nice, but to anyone who knows how to root a cell, im sure almost all those features (minus infrared) is goin to make its way onto some version of CM
Innovation is needed and the s4 is just an evolution, Samsung version of playing it safe to avoid more lawsuits.
Makes no sense paying premium price for a phone whose features can easily port over to the previous generation...if ure a casual user and not a gamer no reason to jump for joy
only way ill be getting this is if bmobile decides to do the same big sale for 2000 as they did for the s3

Postby Sky » March 15th, 2013, 9:01 am

Once it better than the i5 I happy. The S3 was already better and now they cruising further away.

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2013, 11:45 am

I wonder when Digicel getting this. It's supposed to be shipped April mo end to x amount of countries to x amount of carriers or sum so I read somewhere

Postby honda hoe » March 15th, 2013, 12:06 pm

bleh.

Postby S_2NR » March 15th, 2013, 12:33 pm

S4=bigger s3
S3=bigger s2

The only real jump is s1 to s2.

casper

Postby casper » March 15th, 2013, 12:48 pm

dont know why ppl complaining about plastic so much when the only rel plastic part on the s3 and s4 is the back battery plate...the entire front is a sheet of gorilla glass....the sides of the s3 was plastic yea but now the s4 has metal sidesand most people use a case on their smartphones that cover the back anyways so whats the big deal complaining about a plastic back when u gonna cover it with a rubber/silicone/TPU case anyways???

HTC, Lumia 920, i5 have metal backs etc but users still put a rubber, silicone, TPU case over it which defeats the argument of that premium finish....i5 has a premium finish and feel yea no doubt its the best with regards to build quality but keep in mind you pay for that "premiumness" with the cost of it.... $700 US + for a 16gb iphone...s3 was $600 US when it now came out so come like u paying a whole $100 US more for a metal back on d i5 over d plastic removable back on d s3

i like both i like the i5 the most when it comes to build quality but it doesnt take away from the fact that the s4 is extremely well built as well...nothing is wrong with plastic....im sure most of your gadgets (gaming console, TV, AV reciever, computers, etc) have plastic in it too so wtf is d big issue with plastic all of a sudden?? lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 15th, 2013, 12:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:S4=bigger s3
S3=bigger s2

Buh Buh the features!!!!!

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2013, 1:23 pm

casper wrote:dont know why ppl complaining about plastic so much when the only rel plastic part on the s3 and s4 is the back battery plate...the entire front is a sheet of gorilla glass....the sides of the s3 was plastic yea but now the s4 has metal sidesand most people use a case on their smartphones that cover the back anyways so whats the big deal complaining about a plastic back when u gonna cover it with a rubber/silicone/TPU case anyways???

HTC, Lumia 920, i5 have metal backs etc but users still put a rubber, silicone, TPU case over it which defeats the argument of that premium finish....i5 has a premium finish and feel yea no doubt its the best with regards to build quality but keep in mind you pay for that "premiumness" with the cost of it.... $700 US + for a 16gb iphone...s3 was $600 US when it now came out so come like u paying a whole $100 US more for a metal back on d i5 over d plastic removable back on d s3

i like both i like the i5 the most when it comes to build quality but it doesnt take away from the fact that the s4 is extremely well built as well...nothing is wrong with plastic....im sure most of your gadgets (gaming console, TV, AV reciever, computers, etc) have plastic in it too so wtf is d big issue with plastic all of a sudden?? lol

Who give you permission to post in this thread? :lol: :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » March 15th, 2013, 1:36 pm

S_2NR wrote:S4=bigger s3
S3=bigger s2

True story.jpg

Postby stev » March 15th, 2013, 1:39 pm

ent Motorola coming out with their Droid X soon? Allowing user to customize the hardware and get an unlocked bootloader before they buy it....guarantees to ship in one week.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 15th, 2013, 1:45 pm

How dare you mention that name in here stev