Tuner Cooking Thread.

playerskrew

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby playerskrew » February 13th, 2013, 11:13 am

TRDGUY wrote:We should incorporate a "local" cocktail thread here .... some foods go good with certain drinks ....

ah fine so..

Postby DFC » February 13th, 2013, 11:28 am

i have ah bottle of sea-moss in my cupboard.
How to make this thing?

Postby shogun » February 13th, 2013, 11:40 am

Well done man.

I Really should try to learn, to get to this level.

Right now if moms or SO doesn't come through, is....

Postby Trini Hookah » February 13th, 2013, 11:46 am

Made some hot wings yesterday. Got the recipe from the BigOven app
QIXZAVmLwPaJzbLETxJ8_cU5HWPum_fnoigcEpuDOf4.jpg

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 1:43 pm

Culinary Management Student here..

So you're gonna see some plating experiments of mine.

Rice, Dhal and Fried Fish

Rice, Dhal, Fried Fish and Salad

:mrgreen:
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 1:47 pm

Chicken Breast w/ Ricotta Cheese Filling Served with Marinara sauce with capers

Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

No kinda plating as this was packaged and sent to my potential customer for tasting.
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 1:53 pm

Yellow Butter Cake w/ Buttercream Frosting

Made this for my babysitter.. her 17th birthday.
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 2:02 pm

What do you do when you have 1 steak of salmon but two mouths to feed? Salmon Fish Cakes.. The steak is lightly seasoned with salt and black pepper and pan seared.

Salmon steak is shredded and seasoned in preparation to be formed into fish cakes.

Formed into cakes ready to be pan fried.

Salmon Fish Cake being pan fried in Olive Oil.

Salmon Fish cakes served with Mushroom Pasta Sauce over Linguine

Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2013, 2:21 pm

nice, are the bacon strimps fried ?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 2:48 pm

pugboy wrote:nice, are the bacon strimps fried ?

Nope..
The shrimps are cleaned deveined and seasoned to your liking..
Suggestions can be teriyaki, garlic, etc.. nothing too heavy as seafood on the whole doesn't need much seasoning.
The shrimp is wrapped with the bacon strip (lightly dusted with black pepper), I used regular streaky bacon from macfoods or one of them, and then placed on a baking sheet (wrapped sides down) and baked for about 15-20 minutes.

Once wrapped tightly, the bacon will stay on the shrimp.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 14th, 2013, 10:27 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
Salmon Fish cakes served with Mushroom Pasta Sauce over Linguine

this looks yummy... cept for the mushrooms :sick: (homemade tomato sauce too?)

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 14th, 2013, 10:31 am

original_lollybob wrote:this looks yummy... cept for the mushrooms :sick: (homemade tomato sauce too?)

Most definitely Home made..
Woulda made the pasta from scratch too if I had a machine to roll it out..

But I usually make my ravioli from scratch cuz it's easier to cut.. need to invest in a pasta machine.

Potato, Spinach and Feta Ravioli sauteed w/ Spinach & Mushrooms and Homemade Turkey Burger
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 14th, 2013, 10:42 am

why must everything have mushrooms? why?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 14th, 2013, 10:45 am

original_lollybob wrote:why must everything have mushrooms? why?

Cuz I lurvz dem..
:oops: :oops: :oops:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 14th, 2013, 10:48 am

i hate them... like i order food without them...

i cook with it but will not eat it... yucky...

i feel the need to cook an italian pasta dinner this eve :D

Postby dougla_boy » February 14th, 2013, 11:20 am

pandy, yuh cud throw up a lil recipe nah for the budding chefs to try on a volunteer!

looks good btw!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 14th, 2013, 11:25 am

dougla_boy wrote:pandy, yuh cud throw up a lil recipe nah for the budding chefs to try on a volunteer!

looks good btw!

I will try when I get the time..
Since most of these are in my head and I actually have to sit and type them up (no cut & paste from a website sh!it nah)..

But if you're interested in any just ask and I'd be happy to walk you through.

Postby dougla_boy » February 14th, 2013, 11:32 am

the pasta sauce looks good!
and a recipe for a nice white fillet or salmon/ tuna steak would be great!

i aint a huge fan of the cakes......so i was thinking of mixing it up a little.....and use a nice white fish steak, preferably salmon or tuna, pan seared or something with the sauce and linguini.. ...

aint celebrating v-day today, broken..........so is the gf, so i was thinking next week we can have a day together where i cook for her and what not!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 14th, 2013, 11:48 am

i made a nice white fish fillet...

breaded.. pan seared and finished in d oven...

by breaded i really mean crixed... couldnt find breadcrumbs in the pantry... rolled out some crix... the crunch was spectacular

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 14th, 2013, 12:06 pm

dougla_boy wrote:the pasta sauce looks good!
and a recipe for a nice white fillet or salmon/ tuna steak would be great!

i aint a huge fan of the cakes......so i was thinking of mixing it up a little.....and use a nice white fish steak, preferably salmon or tuna, pan seared or something with the sauce and linguini.. ...

aint celebrating v-day today, broken..........so is the gf, so i was thinking next week we can have a day together where i cook for her and what not!

Ok I like the idea of fish steaks.. however.. I think it's not too easy to eat when trying to be elegant.. you tend to have to pick through and around fish bones.

Fish Fillets are a much better idea.. I can walk you through how to filet a fish
Firstly, don't even try to do this without a filet knife.. you'll see one in my picture below..

You take the whole fish.. scaled, washed, gutted and cleaned..

And with the fillet knife, from right behind the gills, make a vertical cut straight down to the bone.. then turn the blade horizontally and run it down the fish, grazing the centre bones, and effectively cutting off the flesh of the fish. Till you have something that resembles my picture. (Youtbe will have endless pics on how to fillet fish)

Once you have the two fillets like the above picture, if you run your hand along the flesh you'll feel bones, take a tweezer and pull each one out. This shouldn't take more than 10 minutes.

Figure out what size you want your fillets to be and cut and trim them to portion.

If pan frying your fillet, you're going to have to turn them over, skin side up and score them in a criss cross fashion (this prevents the fillet from 'curling' during the cooking process).

Season your fillet to taste, I think here I used Italian seasoning (quick ting)..

Place fillet skin side down in a medium to hot skillet with melted butter..
Let cook till you can see the heat cooking the top side.. turning from pink to white.. but not all the way. Because you need to carefully turn it over with a fish spatula, and let the top side get some colour over medium heat. Monitor for sticking, fish is a very tender flesh and you don't want half your fillet stuck to your pan.

Flip fillet back over to the skin side.. tilt skillet to the side and scoop butter with a tablespoon over the fillet.. this helps to cook the fish flesh and add butter taste to the grooves of the fish that didn't get any.. (like bastiing for turkeys)

This whole process should take more than 10 - 15 minutes, fish cooks very quickly.
You'll know the fillet is cooked when you touch the flesh, it springs back and does not leave a dimple.

I served mine with rice and garlic potatoes.. was a bit robust and hearty for light fish..

You might wanna try alfredo pasta.. and for semi-homemade cooks.. I recommend shortcuts like this.

Follow package instructions and you'll have perfect Alfredo Sauce everytime. You can find this near the buffalo wing mix and what not in the supermarkets, near all the seasonings. It's $11.50 or so for a pack, makes enough for 2 servings.
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby dougla_boy » February 14th, 2013, 12:07 pm

original_lollybob wrote:i made a nice white fish fillet...

by breaded i really mean crixed... couldnt find breadcrumbs in the pantry... rolled out some crix... the crunch was spectacular

throw up a recipe nah man! LOL

i tried once with a piece of tuna.........seasoned it and let it marinate for a lil...then i put in in a toaster oven with some crumbs on top.........came out great!

tried it out the other day with an oven........dunno wtf happened nah....lol.......messs!!!!!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 14th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Angel Hair pasta in cream sauce, Sauteed Garlic Spinach and Grilled Salmon

Cooked this for the rents when I visited last.. up there you get the salmon fillets already trimmed and whatnot.. so the meal was a breeze. The Salmon was done on a bbq pit, inside of a fish basket.
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on February 15th, 2013, 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby dougla_boy » February 14th, 2013, 12:18 pm

fillets does sound better tho.....hmmmm.......will try it and get back on what i did

but nice recipe there pandy! if i do cook, i'll throw up some pics! hopefully it should be good!

Postby dougla_boy » February 14th, 2013, 12:20 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Image

Angel Hair pasta in cream sauce, Sauteed Garlic Spinach and Grilled Salmon

Cooked this for the rents when I visited last.. up there you get the salmon fillets already trimmed and whatnot.. so the meal was a breeze. The Salmon was done on a bbq pit, inside of a fish basket.

that looks gooooood..... :oops: :oops:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 14th, 2013, 2:54 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:i made a nice white fish fillet...

throw up a recipe nah man! LOL

i tried once with a piece of tuna.........seasoned it and let it marinate for a lil...then i put in in a toaster oven with some crumbs on top.........came out great!

tried it out the other day with an oven........dunno wtf happened nah....lol.......messs!!!!!

white fish from your fav grocery...

clean

season with green seasoning... hopefully u or the moms or the missus does make fresh (not no matouks thing)

marinate a lil bit, its fish so doesn't need to sit for very long

while thats happening... set up breading station
flour (seasoned, salt & pepeer), egg wash (2 eggs, little water, s&p), breading (crix! paprika, s&p, all purpose seasoning... no herbs, they will burn)

pat fish dry with yuh paper towel...

flour - egg - crix

into heated non stick pan with olive oil

when one side brown... flip
next side brown...
deposit onto sheetpan and into oven

if u have fancy stainless steel pans then is one pot.. fry and into oven

i cah give u times cause that depends on thickness of fish...

Postby shogun » February 14th, 2013, 5:08 pm

These look good.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2013, 5:25 pm

you guys know that the term "white fish" used in supermarkets is a blanket marketing term right ?

If you skin the fish you don't need to worry about scaling them, some fish skin tastes funky
plus there is a bloodline under the skin which can also taste even funkier.

Postby Rooki3 » February 14th, 2013, 5:47 pm

pandora realllll showing off

Postby M_2NR » February 14th, 2013, 6:53 pm

pugboy wrote: some fish skin tastes funky
plus there is a bloodline under the skin which can also taste even funkier.

this! Sometimes i hate the way people cook fish if it has that. Carite included in that?

BTW Vexx, ah checking u weekends and Pandora, I checking you during d week for food! :lol:

Postby meccalli » February 14th, 2013, 8:13 pm

All fish have the bloodline running along the lateral line. It doesn't have to be removed, it depends on your tolerance to the taste. Its milder or stronger depending on the species, particularly endurance built fish like tuna that require high blood flow as well as fatty/oil rich fish.