The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Strauss

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Strauss » September 18th, 2012, 4:27 am

sentraman wrote:
Strauss wrote:iOS's key selling point — the reason Apple makes so much money — is from a CONSISTENT user interface from iPhone to iPad to iMac to AppleTV that makes the users feel comfortable and SAFE to make purchases (hence no NFC).

I am not going to say that it will happen but if ever they do introduce nfc I will refer back to this comment. The same way jobs himself and many apple users said that 3.5 inches was enough and why would you want anything bigger now praising the amazing 4 inch screen that can hold an extra row of icons

Oh no you don't :)
Don't quote me out of context.

If ever Google gets NFC right, it will be in the iPhone. If people actually start to adopt it, Apple will use it. Just like what they told Adobe with Flash, is the same way they see it with Google and NFC.

Here's a bonus: everyone is complaining how the iPhone 5 has no USB 3 and using it as a selling point. Do people even know that USB 2.0 is 480Mbit/s and the real world fastest phone memory is 150Mbit/s ? I see no reason to have USB 3 on any phone when the phones are yet to reach USB 2 transfer speeds. Pretty sure Apple will put in USB 3 or 4 or whatever then.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 18th, 2012, 7:41 am

sentraman wrote:
Strauss wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
TRAE wrote:check out Samsung's Anti iPhone Ads: http://www.businessinsider.com/samsung- ... ies-2012-9

they were careful to leave out similar features to make the S3 look better but seriously its not the hardware that makes the phone better, is the fact that the iPhone just works with everything better...

......can you explain the last bit of your post please? :)

The secret to Apple's success isn't selling specs, it's selling an EXPERIENCE.
Their money comes from the iTunes Music Store and two App stores.

It's ridiculously easy to purchase music and apps from the iPhone. Cook said 2/3s of music purchases now come from iPhones and iPads. Apple makes money because people who buy iDevices (average 35+ years) have the buying power and actually buy apps and music.

Why do you think the iPod became a hit? Because of iTunes. Apple business model is selling software and music, with seamless hardware integration having a solid design.

You think Apple became a $600 billion dollar company from marketing to iSheeps?

Things like Airplay/AirTunes, AirDrop, iCloud/Photostream etc just feels so sweet when you have it. There is no tinkering, no wires, no addition software — no hunting for software. Apple rejects poorly created apps, guaranteeing you are getting quality and consistent EXPERIENCE.

iOS's key selling point — the reason Apple makes so much money — is from a CONSISTENT user interface from iPhone to iPad to iMac to AppleTV that makes the users feel comfortable and SAFE to make purchases (hence no NFC).

I am not going to say that it will happen but if ever they do introduce nfc I will refer back to this comment. The same way jobs himself and many apple users said that 3.5 inches was enough and why would you want anything bigger now praising the amazing 4 inch screen that can hold an extra row of icons

What you saying, ent people believed that the Nokia Brick was the best phone ever?
The argument of screen size is relevant to the time it was made.
I find it disgusting how some big screen phones look like is a crayon drawin the images.
Now that they can do better they increase de size

Postby TRAE » September 18th, 2012, 9:56 am

Stephon. wrote:Way to save TRAE there lol.
No doubt Americans have it easier buying music.

didnt need to explain but Strauss did it perfectly, people may stand and look at specs, but its really the performance and quality of what you hold in your hand that make your experience different. Who wants a phone that claims to be better but still steals ideas from the same company and markets their product in a trolling wave of ads to sell their product. iPhone doesnt need that, people just want it because its an iPhone and it does what it's supposed to do very well.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 18th, 2012, 10:38 am

Also think about this.

Google has an "open" policy when it comes to apps. Anyone can make an Android app for you to download. From really great from big companies to plenty tata people pull out of hat — it's all there.

Apple is quite strict with who they allow on the iTunes app store — the reject many apps that deal with politics, pornography, obscenities, try to clamp down on bugs and apps that don't operate as they claim in their description or name.

Even with Apple rejecting apps, there are still more apps for iOS (both iPhone and iPad) than Android. You may argue that people only use few certain apps, making the wide selection irrelevant, but statistics show that is false. People are downloading and purchasing... well... I guess it's really true : "there's an app for that".

Again... it's about the package; the experience.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 18th, 2012, 11:17 am

Don't forget the cydia AppStore where 90% of the stuff is free an you can find apps and hacks to make the iOS do anything apple don't want u to be able to after jail breaking.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 18th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Strauss wrote:

Also think about this.

Google has an "open" policy when it comes to apps. Anyone can make an Android app for you to download. From really great from big companies to plenty tata people pull out of hat — it's all there.

Apple is quite strict with who they allow on the iTunes app store — the reject many apps that deal with politics, pornography, obscenities, try to clamp down on bugs and apps that don't operate as they claim in their description or name.

Even with Apple rejecting apps, there are still more apps for iOS (both iPhone and iPad) than Android. You may argue that people only use few certain apps, making the wide selection irrelevant, but statistics show that is false. People are downloading and purchasing... well... I guess it's really true : "there's an app for that".

Strauss, you always claim to want to correct the misinformation that is spread on the internet, yet I came here through a link on Google+ and low and behold, a lot of misinformation being spread in this here thread, I not going into it at all, because I never read this thread before because I know it will have a lot of crap being spoken in here, but my advice to you Strauss, if you are really about correcting the misinformation, how about you start with the nonsense that the users named TRAE and PapaC posted, where have they been the last couple of years, who have been getting ideas from who

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Oh dear God.

casper

Postby casper » September 18th, 2012, 1:29 pm

lolz....wtf?!??!!? :lol:

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2012, 1:36 pm

burr?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 18th, 2012, 2:08 pm

Lolz. Easy dey fellah.

Postby TRAE » September 18th, 2012, 3:46 pm

achillies wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Also think about this.

Strauss, you always claim to want to correct the misinformation that is spread on the internet, yet I came here through a link on Google+ and low and behold, a lot of misinformation being spread in this here thread, I not going into it at all, because I never read this thread before because I know it will have a lot of crap being spoken in here, but my advice to you Strauss, if you are really about correcting the misinformation, how about you start with the nonsense that the users named TRAE and PapaC posted, where have they been the last couple of years, who have been getting ideas from who

first rule of a logical argument---- bring your facts to back yourself up... the above failed.

but here's what, how bout you correct the misinformation by giving us here who clearly never used smartphones before, on how you feel about this.
Last edited by TRAE on September 18th, 2012, 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » September 18th, 2012, 4:17 pm

Wat just happened? I'm done I dont like this game anymore.

casper

Postby casper » September 18th, 2012, 4:19 pm

this thread suddenly turned from exciting to a longgggggggggggggggggggg wtf moment...

casper

Postby casper » September 18th, 2012, 4:21 pm

*unsubscribes*

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 18th, 2012, 9:19 pm

too much to read

casper

Postby casper » September 19th, 2012, 8:32 am

isnt iOS 6 supposed to be released for download today?

today is the 19th

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » September 19th, 2012, 8:37 am

Yep...sometime later today

dj_diablo_live

Postby dj_diablo_live » September 19th, 2012, 8:40 am

Should be available by 1:00pm our time...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 19th, 2012, 9:08 am

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 19th, 2012, 9:33 am

looks like every tech blog is rating the iPhone 5 as the best iPhone ever and arguably best smart phone out now, some may have better specs etc, but the new iPhone 5 seems to be growing on them significantly... i want to play with one like now

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 19th, 2012, 10:07 am

i pre-ordered mine and it would be shipped within 2 weeks of release date

casper

Postby casper » September 19th, 2012, 10:19 am

any manchester city fans in here?

Postby TRAE » September 19th, 2012, 10:26 am

trini what? ^^

Postby M_2NR » September 19th, 2012, 11:17 am

Bezman wrote:looks like every tech blog is rating the iPhone 5 as the best iPhone ever and arguably best smart phone out now, some may have better specs etc, but the new iPhone 5 seems to be growing on them significantly... i want to play with one like now

and this is d week pops phone looking to give me issues and d bank account looking depleted :x

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 19th, 2012, 1:37 pm

Boom iOS 6 FTW !!!!

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » September 19th, 2012, 1:40 pm

How it running bredda man?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 19th, 2012, 3:22 pm

I vex i start to update, time to go home and it still saying preparing update.
Wonder if it will pause till i get home or start over?

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 19th, 2012, 3:31 pm

updated my itouch a while ago

new mountain lion update as well

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 19th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Any idea of the retail price for an unlocked iPhone 5 32gb when it gets to Trini?

blacklight

Postby blacklight » September 19th, 2012, 4:23 pm

Think it's better to do a fresh install of ios6 or just update iOS5?