PP & UNC People..Question RE Jack Warner

Re: C.O.P. plans to raise motion to remove Jack Warner

Postby pete » September 10th, 2012, 9:58 am

eliteauto wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I think this is something for the remaining 24 card carrying party members of the COP to hang their head in shame about.

does this include the COP party card carrying members of this forum who got appointed to state boards?

Lol those party cards were returned long time.

Postby wagonrunner » September 10th, 2012, 10:04 am

pete wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I think this is something for the remaining 24 card carrying party members of the COP to hang their head in shame about.
does this include the COP party card carrying members of this forum who got appointed to state boards?
but not the appointments though. not so?

Postby Habit7 » September 10th, 2012, 10:09 am

Nalini resigned from the SWMCOL board long time ago though.

But it is rumoured that she was appealing to the HDC Board to give HDC homes to stray cats and dogs.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » September 10th, 2012, 10:16 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MOT ... 24526.html

MOTION DEFEATED
COP to file amended 'Warner must go' version to PM
By Renuka Singh

Story Created: Sep 9, 2012 at 10:53 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 9, 2012 at 10:53 PM ECT

Congress of the People (COP) vice-chairman Vernon De Lima's motion to have National Security Minister Jack Warner removed from Cabinet failed by majority vote yesterday.

"I lost the vote, so we will see what happens," De Lima said as he left COP headquarters in Charlieville, Chaguanas. He departed soon after the motion failed and did not stay for COP leader Prakash Ramadhar's closing remarks.

Last week, De Lima moved the motion to have Warner removed from Cabinet but also threatened that the COP would "dissociate" itself from the People's Partnership Government if he was not. De Lima also threatened to leave the COP if he failed in this bid.

But yesterday, faced with a 91-6 vote against his motion, De Lima said he remained a COP member "at this point".

Despite the failure of that motion, an amendment to De Lima's motion was passed that also called for Warner's removal from Cabinet, but without the ultimatum of the COP's departure.

Ramadhar said despite the fissure created by the motion, De Lima remained a "treasured member" of the COP.

"The motion having been defeated, he made public pronouncements. Unfortunately he had an emergency and he had to leave before I had a chance to chat with him to know what would be his position now that the motion vote has been against him," he said.

Ramadhar said while no disciplinary action would be brought against De Lima for filing a private motion under the party's name, the internal party election is on October 28 and De Lima's vice-chairmanship position would be put to a vote.

"I think that discipline comes in many forms and there are internal elections coming up next month and people will exercise their own level of discipline," he said.

"We think the moral strength of the argument is strong and as such we expect the Prime Minister to act in accordance with what is best for Trinidad and Tobago.

"We have also asked in that motion for the police to conclude as speedily as is possible any criminal investigations in relation to that Minister. So we can have a final resolution in relation to any criminal charges or not on this. It is fair to all to have a final and quick determination on this issue," said Ramadhar.

"I have to take responsibility for the party and when the party did not authorise a motion and it was put in the public space as a COP motion... It was Mr De Lima's motion and we had to set that record clear."

Ramadhar ended all speculation that the COP would ever leave the People's Partnership Government.

"We are staying because we promised the people of Trinidad and Tobago certain things which we have not yet delivered on and which we are working on delivering. It would be an abdication of that trust that they gave to all of us, especially the COP."

Ramadhar said he was voted in for five years and will not "destabilise" the country by threatening to leave pending Warner's Cabinet position.

"We have to appreciate that the Government was voted in by a majority of persons, we have to respect that and we will not abdicate our responsibility to the population any time before that period," he said.

In response to the failed motion and the new amendment, Warner, in a telephone interview, would only say: "That is COP's business, not my business."

Postby pete » September 10th, 2012, 11:48 am

pete wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
but not the appointments though. not so?

They came with the new cards I guess?

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2012, 2:26 pm

Which Vernon De Lima allyuh talking about,that talking about Jack's morality?The same one who was dole chadee lawyer? or another one?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 10th, 2012, 3:13 pm

The COP is somewhat a Joke. They cah even win ah seat without the the UNC. I remember when Dookeran did lose St Augustine to Vasant Bharath. Which shows you just how much support they had. And prior to this election a certain dishonest Newspaper published false polls with one set of crap figures they pull out of where the sun don't shine. Saying that the COP has a majority lead over both PNM and UNC.

Mid you they had 0 lead. And everyone knew the vote would split.

We lucky the UNC was able to retain an opposition. The PNM nearly got a majority that election.

These fellas don't want unity. They just spoil and realize they can't get spot light so they will do anything to get ah lil attention. And thankfully a lot of COP supporters are waking up and realizing this.

Yuh does never see the PNM behave in this manner. When they have ah secret and they do their thing they does make damn sure they stay quiet and no one knows. Yet the smallest fart someone from the COP hear they quick to hold big meeting and run to the media. Ooh look lets raise a motion against this man for farting.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2012, 3:50 pm

^ I won't boot out the COP yet eh even thro they got 7-21 if was not for them votes would of split . Take a look at what going on in the country with the PP will you support them again?.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 10th, 2012, 4:05 pm

^ like there is a better option? I doh agree with them but not like there is another party to vote or who will realistically be able to win. Its only the bleeding heart tree huggers who cry when a lion kills a deer and demands death to all lions, but when the lion can't get anything to eat and they realize he cah go Vegan they cry and say death to all deer. Its only these morons would tell you to vote the other party and have faith they will win.

When truth is they split the vote and everyone doomed.

I doh agree with PP but there is no one else to vote. The problem isn't the political party its the entire mentality of Trinis on the whole. Will take us another 200 years to evolve.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2012, 6:04 pm

^ just don't vote ez as that .

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2012, 9:08 pm

I say we form theTTPP{trinituner political party}Duane go be prime minister,Rolling stock is minister of national security,rfari is minister of multiculturalism,habit 7 could be min.of finance,etc.Because sometimes you get more sense out of trinituner than if you listen to the parliament channel.BTW I would like to get works,because every body know that is where the most money is to be made....
Previous ministers of works still reaping what they sowed.

Postby Habit7 » September 10th, 2012, 9:54 pm

Give me a diplomatic posting.

Preferably somewhere rich and nice but not too important.

Like South Africa.

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2012, 10:38 pm

from what i know, De Lima did separate and joined forces with like minded persons and formed his own party; it was called the congress of the people.

the COP gained supporters from those disenchanted with the character of both the PNM and UNC. that is why they had votes, but of an insignificant number. more people who voted for them were the persons disenchanted with panday hence why the notion, and correctly so, of the cop 'splitting the vote'.

with the ousting of panday, the rise of a female leader of the unc lending the appearance of modern fair politics, the coming together of many varied forces of the public figure/leaders, and an increased disenchantment with the goings on in the pnm, the time was right for the fall of the pnm and the associated rise of the PP.

the vote for cop is not an effort to 'split' the unc vote. it was a clear direction away from both pnm and unc.
the problem is both pnm and unc have demonstrated a deficit in ethical behaviour in office, and cop is demonstrating a lack of political capability.

Postby shogun » September 10th, 2012, 10:43 pm

A taste of the halls of power/office, is proving too much for them, (the C.O.P.) to walk away from, because of an insignificant thing like ethics.

The COP's credibility will be further affected, by all they are accessories to right now. That's all.

Postby Habit7 » September 11th, 2012, 7:10 am

De Lima has resigned from the executive but still remains an ordinary member of the COP.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 11th, 2012, 7:15 am

Habit7 wrote:De Lima has resigned from the executive but still remains an ordinary member of the COP.

if he resigning why he just don't GTFO !!!