***Official 2012 olympics thread***

Re: ***Official 2012 olympics thread***

Postby rfari » August 14th, 2012, 9:51 pm

nervewrecker wrote:facebook reports B-mobile scoop him up already.

any confirmation?

Lawd. The world not fair nah

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2012, 9:55 pm

well....I see he wearing red....man is a die hard digicel supporter.

He just in it cuz he was cornered with a javelin *I tried to make a funny dey*

Postby rfari » August 14th, 2012, 10:09 pm

nervewrecker wrote:well....I see he wearing red....man is a die hard digicel supporter.

He just in it cuz he was cornered with a javelin *I tried to make a funny dey*

:P who opposing that yute?

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 10:41 pm

rfari wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:BH done looking to rob d man oui :lol:

I done sell a blue beats headphones to fari today fadda.
u feel i does stick.

Thanx again bai fadda. I still out a 200 for yuh. I go link you lata dis week. Zcn?

yea I mighten come sweat Thursday so whenever na.

Postby pioneer » August 14th, 2012, 10:59 pm

least we know de summit vehicles in use

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2012, 11:04 pm

Toco Secondary School to be renamed Keshorn Walcott Secondary School

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM_ ... 10856.html

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 11:15 pm

^^ (in Kamla's voice) Khesh-orn Walcott Secondary School.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 14th, 2012, 11:18 pm

^So yuh like to impersonate women eh?

hmmmmmmn

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 11:21 pm

You following me from thread to thread ah wa?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 14th, 2012, 11:22 pm

K74T wrote:Toco Secondary School to be renamed Keshorn Walcott Secondary School

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM_ ... 10856.html

sounds a bit strange....the name of the school.....that is.....thye shoulda name some training field or something after him....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 14th, 2012, 11:23 pm

@BH
I just pulling yuh peach again dbu :P

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 14th, 2012, 11:27 pm

BrotherHood wrote:^^ (in Kamla's voice) Khesh-orn Walcott Secondary School.

lol....she really says it like....

Keee shon.........

like ifs it keshan...lol....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 14th, 2012, 11:30 pm

She sounds normal to me when she says it :|
And what kinda ting you inciting by saying "like ifs it keshan...lol...." bai

So it's supposed to be pronounced as "Key-shorn" then?

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 11:31 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:@BH

u feel i studyin u.

ah fed up tell yuh bout da 'peach' talk eh. i will sen ah bullaman from d beetham for yuh inno.

Postby pioneer » August 14th, 2012, 11:31 pm

why she callin him keshan?

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 11:32 pm

^^well according to Bizzare, it's injun for Keshorn. :|

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 14th, 2012, 11:33 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:@BH

u feel i studyin u.

ah fed up tell yuh bout da 'peach' talk eh. i will sen ah bullaman from d beetham for yuh inno.

Allyuh men really old oui.....Pulling someone's peach is a slang....it means the same as yanking someone's chain :lol:

And I thought I was uninformed about these things :|

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 11:34 pm

yea but it does sound gay dan.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 15th, 2012, 2:16 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kes ... 10866.html

Keshorn tells Toco sorry for midnight arrival
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Aug 14, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 14, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Sorry, Toco.
Olympic Gold medallist Keshorn Walcott apologised to the people of Toco at 1 a.m. yesterday for having to wait for hours at the Toco Secondary School to welcome him home.
"I'm sorry for being late; it wasn't my fault. I just want to say thanks to everyone: thanks for all the ministers, the hard work today, thanks to all the people who came out to the airport; it is a long, long journey to Toco to have this function, so I would just like to thank God for everything ...thank my parents, and thank my coach and thank the people for all their support," said Walcott as the crowd cheered loudly.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar explained to the upset Toco people that their arrival in Toco should have been hours before, but it was just not possible because Walcott was mobbed by thousands of people along the way.
"I stood on that truck from Piarco airport, and my strength came from Keshorn Walcott standing next to me. My strength came all along the route; we should have been here hours ago, Mr Walcott, not true? Mrs Walcott, you were on the truck, too, but everywhere along this route, Keshorn was mobbed; there was an outpouring of love, a tribute to young Walcott here," said Persad-Bissessar.
She said Walcott asked her not to make any long speeches, so the Prime Minister spoke for just about seven minutes where she listed the rewards for Walcott before adding a new one —the renaming of the Toco Secondary School after him. (See story below)
The Prime Minister and Walcott arrived at the Toco Secondary School at approximately 12.20 a.m. yesterday.
By 12.33 a.m., Persad-Bissessar, hand in hand with Walcott's mother, Beverley, had walked onto the stage with Walcott where a short welcoming ceremony followed.
From early afternoon, hundreds from Toco and surrounding areas such as Cumana, Balandra and Sangre Grande, as well as other parts of the country, had gathered at the school to welcome home Walcott.
The numbers eventually dwindled as people left the venue, tired of waiting.
Walcott had arrived at Piarco International Airport from London at 11.15 a.m. on Monday where hundreds had filled the atrium of the airport to show their appreciation.
By 1.15 p.m., following a victory celebration, a large motorcade comprising of Government ministers, officials and members of the public left Piarco for Toco.
Walcott, together with Persad-Bissessar, stood at the back of a decorated three-tonne Kia van for the journey, which turned out to be 11 hours long.
The motorcade snaked along the route as citizens came out and lined the streets to greet Walcott.
In some areas such as Sangre Grande, the traffic was at a standstill for almost two hours as the crowds increased.
Along every community, people came out in their numbers. By 9 p.m., the motorcade had reached Matura, and nearing 11 p.m., it had made its way to Cumana.
The large contingent of cars and trucks had crawled along the route for most of the journey as the roadways were narrow, and all oncoming traffic was instructed by police to pull to the side.
The large music truck had difficulty making its way to the Toco Secondary School because of the narrow, winding roadway.
When the motorcade entered Toco, people on the roadsides were visibly upset.
"You know how long we waiting?", "Why allyuh keep the boy so long?", "We fed up wait!", "Not fair to Toco!" they shouted.
Some people dressed in traditional Carnival costumes had waited patiently until midnight for Walcott.
Scores of Toco residents who had left the Toco Secondary School and had gone home started walking back to the venue to meet Walcott.
At the school, people were upset and booed as Toco/Sangre Grande MP Rupert Griffith made his way to the podium to announce the arrival of the long-awaited guests.
Sensing the anger of the people, Persad-Bissessar explained that the delay was due to the outpouring of love for Walcott.
However, only Walcott was able to placate the people when he apologised to them, and they in turn roared in support.
At 1.20 a.m., there was a huge display of fireworks for about ten minutes, and just after 2 a.m., the Prime Minister departed the venue by helicopter.
A very tired-looking Walcott, still wanting to share in the celebration with his peers, stayed back to lime on the roadway as the motorcade departed. The Express was unable to contact Walcott yesterday for a comment on the long-delayed motorcade.
Contacted yesterday, Griffith told the Express he was booed because people were tired and frustrated of waiting.
"There was nothing I could have done," he said.
Griffith said he had left the motorcade and made his way to the school to prepare for Walcott's welcome.
He said thousands had gathered from early evening as he had organised buses to transport people from Toco and surrounding areas to go to the airport and then back to the school for celebrations.
Griffith said while he understood the people of Toco were upset, there were a "million and one" positives.
A large stage was erected in the savannah of the school compound where a number of performances, including that of soca star Machel Montano, were carded.
Griffith said Montano did not come because of the late timing, but other performers entertained the crowds and left.
Government Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal, who was part of organising Walcott's welcome, said the delay was not expected.
"The fact is the delay was caused largely by the enormous outpouring of love and support for Walcott," he said.
"Yesterday was history; the people united in love and patriotism; the only thing that didn't happen was the dead didn't come to life," said Moonilal.
Asked if, in retrospect, the motorcade should have been better planned, Moonilal said it was a moment of celebration, and the country took pride in Walcott's historic achievement.
He said there would be more activities in the Toco community to pay tribute to Walcott.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 15th, 2012, 2:17 am

he reached home at 1 am....what craziness is this???

Postby pioneer » August 15th, 2012, 6:38 am

typical guavament stylin to bask in de boy glory...dem eh do nun to help him reach there...but wanna take credit now and pappyshow

why not heli him to toco and do this "motorcade" some other day?

10hr flight +12hr commute isn't easy at all

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2012, 7:55 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:he reached home at 1 am....what craziness is this???

they stopped at all major spots heading to toco,matura,salybia,balandra etc etc....they also stopped in grande for a while

searchingone

Postby searchingone » August 15th, 2012, 8:30 am

pioneer wrote:typical guavament stylin to bask in de boy glory...dem eh do nun to help him reach there...but wanna take credit now and pappyshow

why not heli him to toco and do this "motorcade" some other day?

10hr flight +12hr commute isn't easy at all

this

Postby Habit7 » August 15th, 2012, 8:31 am

Cant remember Manning jumping truck in Lara's both motorcades for his record breaking...

Especially for the whole day.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Anyone know whatever happen to Darrel Brown? He was in the same World Juniors as Bolt...was the World Junior record holder in the 100m but nothing from him in what should be his prime.

Postby wagonrunner » August 15th, 2012, 1:27 pm

Brace for the BS.
my source is a BBM forward but clearly it's in a newspaper. Happy hunting.

Postby rfari » August 15th, 2012, 1:34 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Brace for the BS.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 10906.html

seems legit??? who see it do say nothing
Last edited by rfari on August 15th, 2012, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » August 15th, 2012, 1:37 pm

excellent Fari. Grazi,
not official. lewee hope it stay so.

Postby S_2NR » August 15th, 2012, 1:37 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Brace for the BS.

counting down to next elections.. :evil:

come fass please!

Postby Habit7 » August 15th, 2012, 1:53 pm

A permanent holiday from common sense
By Sheldon Waithe
Story Created: Aug 14, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 14, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
You could almost hear the collective groan from daily paid workers and employers. Similar moans of discontent would have emanated from those with longstanding medical appointments or the courts that are already backlogged with cases. There were probably cheers from some employees, the usual Monday morning blues wiped away by the whimsical decision of a Prime Minister.
As ever, it's a case of "the more things change, the more they remain the same". It is baffling to try to imagine the thought process of the Government in their belief that it is a good idea to call a national holiday on the first day of the working week, with a mere four and a half hours notice. This, from a political party that promised a change to such knee jerk reactions and who, were they in Opposition, would no doubt have heavily criticised any government that casually decides to put unnecessary strain upon a struggling economy by costing the nation millions of dollars in productivity. Throw in the fact that this particular month of August already has the economic burden of three other public holidays and the bafflement turns to worry that a leader cannot consider all the factors that affect the nation.
A hastily arranged holiday sends the wrong message to the psyche of a nation, more so in the aftermath of a disaster such as Saturday's floods with the resulting death and damage. The overall message should be for the nation to show the fighting spirit by getting back out to work, for things to return to normal as soon as possible; a show of defiance in the face of disaster. When the same city where our athletes have just garnered the record haul of medals, was bombed on July 7, 2005 —the day after the announcement that they would host the 2012 Games —Londoners returned to work in droves on July 8. The focus here, even with Keshorn Walcott's wonderful and uplifting performance, are those areas suffering in the aftermath of the combination of Mother Nature's fury and our own contribution via blocked drainage and cutting away the hillsides.
The calling of a national holiday 48 hours after the flooding, maintains the five-second goldfish memory of the society, as we quickly move on to the revelry of Walcott's return, while ignoring the effects upon the economy and the negative communication that it sends out to potential investors.
But we won an Olympic gold medal I hear you say. That deserves recognition, especially for a nation that has waited 36 years for the precious metal.
Of course it deserves recognition and perhaps yes, even a holiday to honour the achievement, but the problem is that the People's Partnership is not a properly planning partnership and in its eagerness to capitalise upon the public relations opportunity it has not realised that with some thought, it could have satisfied the need to celebrate our Olympians, provide the public and private sectors with ample notice so as not to seriously affect work practices and have their PR exercise all at once.
Consider this scenario: Keshorn Walcott returns, gold medal in hand, and is met and greeted by the PM and the relevant dignitaries as well as an adoring public who will have no doubt turned up, public holiday or not.
Announcements regarding the gifts to be bestowed upon him are made, perhaps a motorcade through his native Toco follows, but for the nation it is a working day without the most impromptu of holidays. All the while the clean-up of the flooded areas continues as T&T shakes off the ordeal through the return to normalcy of a working Monday.
The PM also announces an Olympic Appreciation Day which is a public holiday to be held on Monday September 3, tagged onto the Independence Day holiday weekend. Employers groan a little less because while not ideal to productivity, the notice allows enough time to plan. On the holiday the government can salute and fete the Olympians in one showing, the collective celebration a master coup in political PR.
It also offers the likes of Lalonde Gordon, our double bronze medallist from the London Games, the opportunity to be saluted in the manner as Walcott because all of the Olympians are present. In the year of Jubilee celebrations aligned to that long awaited gold medal, there is less opposition to a 15th holiday being added and certainly less impact upon the mechanical forces that drive the nation.
Is this scenario too farfetched for a responsible government to visualise? The problem is that, like previous regimes, this government is quick off the mark with the knee jerk reactions, not putting structure behind its decisions, so that in the end those decisions are made on a whim and are therefore irresponsible.
A national holiday for our Olympians? Yes. A national holiday with less than five hours notice? Of course not. How can a government be seen to be proactive and aiding productivity, when it contributes to the disruption?

• Sheldon Waithe has a degree in business and is a freelance writer,
commenting mainly on sport
and politics

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 10906.html