Re-Route Movement Camp broken down

Soundwave

Re: Re-Route Movement Camp broken down

Postby Soundwave » June 30th, 2012, 10:53 am

rollingstock wrote:^ Gibbs ain't mih boi eh, as far as i'm concerned he's a stucked up idiot, Ewatski has actually proven himself to be a better administrator and on the whole more approachable.

As it stands i am in favor of the highway, but know a few persons who legitimately were being given an unfair deal, with that said i don't hold affiliation to any side.

The issue i have a problem with is the manner in which jack carried it out, if this is the way he will be operating, i see sad days ahead.

And wrt to that article, Gibbs knows where his bread is buttered, he was angry in the beginning but he ain't rocking no boat.

correct, on all points...

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2012, 11:47 am

Allyuh really feel Gibbs know about every police action that goes down? Far less the destruction of a ramshackle 2X4 camp illegally constructed?
Last edited by De Dragon on June 30th, 2012, 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » June 30th, 2012, 1:27 pm

rollingstock wrote:As it stands i am in favor of the highway, but know a few persons who legitimately were being given an unfair deal, with that said i don't hold affiliation to any side.

The issue i have a problem with is the manner in which jack carried it out, if this is the way he will be operating, i see sad days ahead.

And wrt to that article, Gibbs knows where his bread is buttered, he was angry in the beginning but he ain't rocking no boat.

:!:

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » June 30th, 2012, 3:20 pm

dis reroute movement is using the ppl affected by z lil stretch of highway for political mileage. d lameass attempts at protest action is upstaging the fact that that stretch is 2.1 (+/- .1 billion) billion dollaz alone.

Postby K74T » June 30th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Re-Route movement constructs new camp a short distance from where the original camp was broken down.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 30th, 2012, 7:40 pm

This re-route movement is a waste of time .... the ppl in it is a clear indication of the stupidity of the group. People complaining how Jack handle the situation. As far as I know these ppl erect a structure illegally on state lands. Gov't don't have to go to no court to break it down. Ppl talking like the camp there 5 years now and being regularised. NONSENSE!!

The mistake this gov't make was not to break it down the day right after they put it up and stop this sh1te one time. Let them know govt not playing around ... too bad Sandy lacked the spine to take action.

As for those who feel Warner is the worst thing to happen to Nat Sec .... well let's just say that the most effective law enforcement we ever had was by a man who didn't do things by the book and history and the present situation shows that that is exactly what Trinidad needs now

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2012, 7:54 pm

^ Are you referring to Burroughs?

If only you all knew, he's was instrumental in the illegal importation of guns and drugs, as a result we are where we are right now.
The fact that he had such a control on crime was because he dealt with any person trying to get into their lucrative dealings, he basically ensured a monopoly was held by those he supported.

Buh nah bring back Burroughs...........

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2012, 9:19 pm

shogun wrote:
rollingstock wrote:As it stands i am in favor of the highway, but know a few persons who legitimately were being given an unfair deal, with that said i don't hold affiliation to any side.

:!:

I cud jes imagine how Gibbs go fack up Trinidad when he go back home.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 30th, 2012, 9:22 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ Are you referring to Burroughs?

If only you all knew, he's was instrumental in the illegal importation of guns and drugs, as a result we are where we are right now.
The fact that he had such a control on crime was because he dealt with any person trying to get into their lucrative dealings, he basically ensured a monopoly was held by those he supported.

Buh nah bring back Burroughs...........

Least somebody here know this... Dafuq...man really say bring back Burroughs yes.

Postby Stephon. » June 30th, 2012, 9:26 pm

I've been hearing so much about Burroughs here and there lately. From what I have heard, I guess he was the guy that used to hunt down criminals and kill them on the spot. That's all I know of him basically lol

and I thought Dole Shady (?) was the guy responsible for the crime in the country - dunno

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 30th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Like when his shipments ect coming in in the north....he locking down the south for free movement of all he goods ect. He responsible for probably most of them rasshole criminal he himself musbe used to kill.

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2012, 9:32 pm

Stephon. wrote:I've been hearing so much about Burroughs here and there lately. From what I have heard, I guess he was the guy that used to hunt down criminals and kill them on the spot. That's all I know of him basically lol

and I thought Dole Shady (?) was the guy responsible for the crime in the country - dunno

They were related by marriage ;) And were busi...............................

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 1st, 2012, 12:35 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Re- ... 78635.html

Re-Route protesters rebuild camp
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jun 30, 2012 at 11:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jun 30, 2012 at 11:51 PM ECT
IN defiance of army and police officers who had demolished their camp three days before, the Highway Re-Route Movement made good on its promise and rebuilt its protest camp on the M2 Ring Road, Debe yesterday.
Group leader, environmental activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh, said he did not expect National Security Minister Jack Warner, who ordered and supervised the destruction last Wednesday, to return with demolition orders.
The new camp has been set up on a tiny space of land outside the Debe Wholesale Market, operated by the National Agricultural Marketing Development Corporation (Namdevco), located adjacent to the demolished site.
The site of the demolished camp is now being prepared by project contractor OAS Constructora, to complete the Golconda to Debe segment of the highway.
Kublalsingh said yesterday if Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar continued to refuse to meet with them, the Highway Re-Route Movement would be setting up campsites near her office in Port of Spain and private home in Philippine, south Trinidad.
He said that during a meeting with Persad-Bissessar three months ago, she had said the original route would have been reviewed, and work on that segment would have been put on hold.
Told of the return of the protest camp yesterday, Minister of Housing, Land and Marine Affairs, Roodal Moonilal said he was " saddened".
Moonilal, in whose Oropouche East constituency the protest is taking place, said, " I am sorry to hear that. It means that those persons are bent on breaking the law. I am saddened that persons cannot recognise right from wrong.It is for the relevant authorities to uphold the law. All our actions will be within the confines of the law."
Food Production Minister Devant Maharaj said, "Once they are occupying Namdevco's lands without proper authorisation, we will take whatever legal measures to treat with the issue."
The detention of Kublalsingh and demolition of the camp set up by activists objecting to the construction of the Debe to Mon Desir segment of the highway to Point Fortin has been criticised by many.
However, Warner said citizens "have not seen anything yet " and he would do everything in his power to stop "lawlessness."
At 8.15 a.m. yesterday, Kublalsingh and supporters began erecting the bamboo structure and by 1 p.m the camp was being occupied.
Soldiers ordered to keep watch over the demolished site, are station are in a troop carrier parked near the campsite but up to late yesterday, had made no contact with Kublalsingh or other activists.
Kublalsingh said the protesters were to hold an interfaith service yesterday 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. The activists are involved in a 21 day prayer and fast. Yesterday was the tenth day of the prayer and fast.
Kublalsingh said pamphlets would be distributed to members of the community at the site because not many understood that the group was not against the entire Point Fortin Highway being built.
Kublalsingh said of Warner, "I think he has come to his senses. I think he knew that he made an out the last time. If he wants to continue as Minister of National Security he ought not to be coming into this area and breaking down people's properties.
"He did not put any land here. He did not put any community here. He did not put any school here, any church, any temple, any mosque, any market. This land belongs to the people. These are empowered communities and Mr Warner has no right to come here and tell the people they ought not to protest or ought not to defend their lands."
Kublalsingh said the Highway Re-Route Movement would mount a legal challenge against the State. The legal action is to be filed by former attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj SC.
Kublalsingh said the group was still willing to meet Warner, Persad-Bissessar or newly appointed Works Minister Emmanuel George.
"If Minister Warner comes and shakes our hands and talks with us and tells us he is willing to meet with the Prime Minister, he is willing to establish an independent team composing of our people, his people, hydrologists, economists, financial experts, engineers to reconsider this part of the highway and come up with an independent position, I will be very glad for that . I think that is the better approach," he said.
He added: "The women particularly want to meet with the Prime Minister and hear what she has to say because they know her. They grew up with her when she was a child here when they were very elderly persons. They have confidence that if they speak to her, they may be able to move her on the issue."

Postby Chimera » July 1st, 2012, 7:43 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:"If Minister Warner comes and shakes our hands and talks with us

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 2nd, 2012, 2:50 am

^^^heheh...lolz

Postby Country_Bookie » July 2nd, 2012, 12:14 pm

Gov’t needs to step up it’s PR if what has been posted in this ched abt the members of the HRRM is true. Make it known to the national public that the ppl doing the protesting are NOT affected by the highway!

Any of u guys remember Eden Shand? Another “environmentalist”/attention whore who tried to get Carlos John to stop the paving of part of the Queen’s Park Savannah in the 90’s? He nearly got himself buried under a truckload of materials that was being offloaded.

Postby RBphoto » July 2nd, 2012, 2:24 pm

They made a mistake of planting Jhandi.... the Charilieville clip is actually amused that the protesters were calling a Hindu establishment a "place of worship" :|. Shouldah build a mosque.... nobody not facking wit dat!!

Postby K74T » July 3rd, 2012, 6:54 am

'Re-Routers' break camp
Group plans to set up outside Hall of Justice

THE Highway Re-Route Movement demolished its own camp yesterday, out of "pride", and to avoid it being torn down by the authorities.

The camp was built to replace the once demolished last Wednesday by police and soldiers acting on the instructions and under the supervision of National Security Minister Jack Warner.

Warner had promised on Saturday to repeat the action if the new camp in Debe was the path of the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway.

The following day, he said, the eviction was the responsibility of the of Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs.

Yesterday, the group's leader, environmentalist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh, initially refused to budge unless proper legal documents were shown regarding who owned the land on which the camp was built.

Later in the day, he said: "It's an atrocity to be facing a Government where we have exercised and exhausted all diplomatic avenues. And it is an atrocity again waiting for them to come and demolish a camp. I don't think we should be waiting. As members of the public we have some pride and we will do what we have to do before they come."

He said after waiting for hours to be given the notice, the group's members and himself decided to get rid of the camp themselves.

However, two more camps will be established, one in Debe on private lands in the path of the highway, and one tomorrow outside the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain.

Kublalsingh said the new protest camp at Gandhi Village Junction, Debe, was on land belonging to group member Elizabeth Rambharose.

"There are a number of places of interest where we could go to move our camp. A camp is a conceptual thing. It does not have to be material or concrete. As long as we can highlight our issues and show the people of Trinidad and Tobago the wrong that is being committed against innocent empowered communities," Kublalsingh said.

Rambharose said, "I think the Government know they are wrong and they are afraid of us educating the public. And that is the reason why they want us to move from here. We are not violent people and we just want to educate the people as to why we want the highway to be re-routed. And if we go Port of Spain it will be better because we will have more people to educate there and a wider community. We feel confident that we will win this fight."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Re-Routers__break_camp-161173695.html

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 3rd, 2012, 7:18 am

out of the protesters theres a large portion of those are SQUATTERS, when will these leeches of society learn, youre there ILLEGALLY, you have NO grounds, you have NO rights to the land over the state.
PAck up and shut the firetruck UP.

Postby toyolink » July 3rd, 2012, 8:35 am

The possibility of establishing a 'camp' on privately owned property which is in the way of the proposed highway and for which the state has no legal right is a whole different story.
What this would force the state to do, is use the route of invoking it's power as provided for by compulsory acquisition.
According to the information (I might be wrong),I am held to believe that the state has not really exercised all the power available for acquiring lands 'in the national interest'.
The funny thing about the way the gov't is dealing with this matter,is that there does appear to be an unwillingness to bring all available legit power to bear.
I wonder if this soft approach would have been adopted in other communities .....hmmmmm.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 3rd, 2012, 9:50 am

Country_Bookie wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:I think Jack is using his new influence as Minister of National Security to solve some old problems.

I hear Howai talking about wage freeze while he walk away from FCB with a 10 million dollar gift. I don't disagree with him but the government setting themselves up for a major battle with the trade unions.

“setting themselves up?” Where have u been for the last 2 years?

More like 6 years. Starting with last government and continues with this one.

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2012, 10:25 am

toyolink wrote:The possibility of establishing a 'camp' on privately owned property which is in the way of the proposed highway and for which the state has no legal right is a whole different story.
What this would force the state to do, is use the route of invoking it's power as provided for by compulsory acquisition.
According to the information (I might be wrong),I am held to believe that the state has not really exercised all the power available for acquiring lands 'in the national interest'.
The funny thing about the way the gov't is dealing with this matter,is that there does appear to be an unwillingness to bring all available legit power to bear.
I wonder if this soft approach would have been adopted in other communities .....hmmmmm.

just thought i'd highlight those 2 parts.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 3rd, 2012, 10:26 am