Re: 2013 Subaru XV

Postby tr1ad » April 29th, 2012, 5:08 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
tr1ad wrote:it will be a special order for the diesel

How this special order stuff works with massey? They will have parts for service?

a lot of parts for basic service will be carried by the firm as they are similar across the brand... other than that either they order for you or you bring it in

Postby bushwakka » April 29th, 2012, 9:27 pm

tr1ad wrote:it will be a special order for the diesel

hmm...im gonna chk in with them

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 30th, 2012, 9:29 am

the xv is catering for a different type of buyer. With a sea of better choices especially at a lower price, I see the value proposition executed nicely in vehicles costing less and around the same price. I see it more as a company leased vehicle versus the odd private sale. With 315k on hand, I would quicker purchase the fully equipped versions of the Sportage, Tucson, GV, Optima, Sonata and Passat. But that's just me. Since everybody on this forum drive high performance cars and practically bashed the 1.6TS, I see the xv as another slowbaru trying to fit in a gap it doesn't belong. I may be 'biased' since no subaru to me is worth my money unless its the forester turbo, legacy gt or wrx sti.

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2012, 9:49 am

^^^^The gran vitara cahssis really nice offroad. Nothing from Xtrail, Rav 4, Touscon, Sportage (which are the vehicles I have driven) come close to the sturdy feeling of that vehicle (suspension and chasis feel) off road. That XV will have to come real good for me to choose it over a GV.

2013 Subaru XV

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2012, 10:13 am

noshownogo wrote:I now thinking about the CX5 price properly, are they mad? :lol:

Q5
$465k 2.0T

X1
$465k 2.0TD

CRV
$410k 2.0NA

CX7
$395k 2.3T

Forester
$385k 2.5T

VW Tiguan
$401k 2.0T

that 395 is the price they had on the previous model CX7.
Southern Sales not bringing the CX7 again, maybe only on special order and it will be more than the new CX5 obviously.

Postby noshownogo » April 30th, 2012, 10:17 am

Doesn't matter now, point is there are better options for the money.

I'm all for the sporty drive of the Mazda's but to sell a Skyactiv NA 2.0 for a price higher than comparable 2.0 and 2.5 turbo competitors is bewildering.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2012, 11:38 am

The Grand Vitara was my first choice. It is a proper 4WD as the Subaru is a proper AWD. Alot of these small SUV/Cross overs are FWD with rear wheel assist - the are neither proper 4WD nor proper AWD. My issue with the GV at this point is that the model has been out for quite some time. The model is about to change and I dont want to end up with an "old model" soon after I purchase.

acesinghit wrote:the xv is catering for a different type of buyer. With a sea of better choices especially at a lower price, I see the value proposition executed nicely in vehicles costing less and around the same price. I see it more as a company leased vehicle versus the odd private sale. With 315k on hand, I would quicker purchase the fully equipped versions of the Sportage, Tucson, GV, Optima, Sonata and Passat.
I wouldn't put a sedan in that options list. SOmeone looking for a SUV or crossover wont look at cars at the same price IMO. Sportage and Tucson are very good examples of competitors for the Subaru XV, but they have long waiting lists AFAIK and there is the brand equity factor going for Subaru over the Korean brands that may affect resale etc.

acesinghit wrote:I see the xv as another slowbaru trying to fit in a gap it doesn't belong. I may be 'biased' since no subaru to me is worth my money unless its the forester turbo, legacy gt or wrx sti.
what are the prices of those vehicles though?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 30th, 2012, 11:47 am

Mitsubishi's GDI engines got some tongue bashing locally as well as Nissan's NEO Di engines. Obvious complaints are lack of dealership support, local support and general mango tree mechanic knowledge of how to fix them properly. Now Mazda joined the party and called them DISI and now they pretty it up with this new Skyactiv-G name. Since SS already have poor service according to most forumers in here and like they never have any parts in stock, how much of you all will actually buy a CX-5 at $400k+ boasting the direct injection technology Mitsubishi and Nissan rolled out more than a decade ago and still die-hards were not convinced?

Postby Stephon. » April 30th, 2012, 11:51 am

I agree, the new grand vitara is set to be out early 2013 I believe. :D

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 30th, 2012, 11:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Grand Vitara was my first choice. It is a proper 4WD as the Subaru is a proper AWD. Alot of these small SUV/Cross overs are FWD with rear wheel assist - the are neither proper 4WD nor proper AWD. My issue with the GV at this point is that the model has been out for quite some time. The model is about to change and I dont want to end up with an "old model" soon after I purchase.

acesinghit wrote:the xv is catering for a different type of buyer. With a sea of better choices especially at a lower price, I see the value proposition executed nicely in vehicles costing less and around the same price. I see it more as a company leased vehicle versus the odd private sale. With 315k on hand, I would quicker purchase the fully equipped versions of the Sportage, Tucson, GV, Optima, Sonata and Passat.
I wouldn't put a sedan in that options list. SOmeone looking for a SUV or crossover wont look at cars at the same price IMO. Sportage and Tucson are very good examples of competitors for the Subaru XV, but they have long waiting lists AFAIK and there is the brand equity factor going for Subaru over the Korean brands that may affect resale etc.

acesinghit wrote:I see the xv as another slowbaru trying to fit in a gap it doesn't belong. I may be 'biased' since no subaru to me is worth my money unless its the forester turbo, legacy gt or wrx sti.
what are the prices of those vehicles though?

Prices would be high but to me I will quicker justify it because of the power/performance factor.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2012, 12:34 pm

^ no probs

it may not makes sense to look at every single vehicle in the price range and compare it.
it depends on what you are looking for. People looking at Sportage/Tucson/XV/Rav-4 etc etc more than likely not looking at speed.

I already have an Evo 7, so I'm definitely not looking for another performance vehicle.
The SUV/Crossovers appeal to me because I'm looking for a second vehicle for utility, practicality, safety, family use. So features such as the 7 airbags, symmetric AWD, factory back-up camera and bluetooth, high ground clearance, 4 wheel disc brakes etc mean more to me than turbo, big engine or as you put it "power/performance factor". I don't think any SUV/crossover is targeting that market directly.

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2012, 12:49 pm

More airbags do not nesescarily mean a safer vehicle. Some vehicle manufacturers have to stuff more SRS equipment into a car that is doing poorly in initial crashworthyness design to be able to get an acceptable crash test rating. Kinda catch 22 situation. Does this subaru come with any special frame stiffeners/ internal roll cage?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2012, 1:08 pm

^ I hope the airbags never have to go off

but this is taken from the Vehicle Specification PDF

XV: Safety

<Passive Safety>
The frame has been revamped, and the use of high-tensile steel plates resulted in weight reduction.

This model has one of the lightest body in its class and offers improved strength such as enhanced bending stiffness.

Frontal collisions
The toe board has been thickened for greater strength to protect against the rearward movement of the pedal in a case of collision.

A reinforcing member has been added at the base of the A-pillar to strengthen the joint between the pillar and the upper frame. This ensures that impact energy produced by a frontal collision is efficiently passed from the frame to the pillar. This modification delivers a higher level of safety in terms of collision protection.

Reinforcing the sections joining the bumper beams to the chassis enabled to achieve a high level of energy absorption.

Side collisions
High-strength members were used on the side of the vehicle, where there are few deformable zones. This helps minimizing deformation of the body in the event of a side collision.

Switching to a double-beam structure for the rear-door beam helped limiting panel deformation around the outer-door handle, increasing the protection of occupants in the event of a side collision.

Rear collisions
The rear of the chassis was designed so that the energy from an offset rear collision would be evenly distributed left and right by the diagonal members, helping to minimize deformation of the cabin.

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2012, 1:17 pm

^^^ Sounds great!!!

Postby crazybalhead » April 30th, 2012, 1:18 pm

What about a B12 with a lift kit and some black rims from Wheel Wizard???

Postby cinco » April 30th, 2012, 1:18 pm

cx-5 is even stronger
http://boronextrication.com/tag/list-of ... -and-uhss/
it earns the top picks from iihs

Postby crazybalhead » April 30th, 2012, 1:20 pm

Duane, seriously though, a pickup is a really great buy. Diesel costs nothing, no worries about off roading and ground clearance, and an open tray REALLY comes in handy. Most of the crossovers and small SUV's have little interior room above a regular sedan, which you already have. A pick-up is the logical choice as a second vehicle. An automatic navara is a truly nice thing, a manual will cost you several thousand less.

Just a thought.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2012, 1:21 pm

^ it will be mostly used by my wife.
I enjoy driving my Evo

She would prefer to not have an extra long vehicle to contend with in a car park etc.
I've had little or no use for a pickup any more than it is to call a buddy with one for some help maybe once or twice a year. The fuel cost is not an issue as we both work at home.

Crossdrilled, more on the safety:

Subaru XV Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC) system
VDC, which assists the superior driving stability of symmetrical AWD, is standard on all models. By monitoring all vehicle’s behavior, ABS, TCS (engine control and brake LSD for traction control) and VDC systems are controlled flexibly. Thanks to the optimization for intervention timing, high stability is secured in all road conditions.

Control logic was newly added for use in hazard avoidance situations, providing world-class hazard avoidance capability.

The longitudinal G sensor, transverse G sensor, and yaw rate sensor were integrated into the VDC ECU to reduce the overall weight of the VDC.

The operational status of the VDC is displayed on the High-Grade Multi Function Display (shown below), keeping the driver constantly aware of the current status of the vehicle, for increased safety.

Postby cinco » April 30th, 2012, 1:22 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Duane, seriously though, a pickup is a really great buy. Diesel costs nothing, no worries about off roading and ground clearance, and an open tray REALLY comes in handy. Most of the crossovers and small SUV's have little interior room above a regular sedan, which you already have. A pick-up is the logical choice as a second vehicle. An automatic navara is a truly nice thing, a manual will cost you several thousand less.

Just a thought.

tbh pickup backseats are useless for anything more than 10 mins
its painful

Postby RBphoto » April 30th, 2012, 5:07 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: it will be mostly used by my wife.

You wasted 15 minuites of my life and I want it back :|

Postby bushwakka » April 30th, 2012, 6:32 pm

duane....that diagram with the 4 wheels...what readout does that give in the event of traction loss? does it give some kinda grip readout on each wheel at the point in time?

looks cool

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 30th, 2012, 11:41 pm

What trims do N&M offer...and what are the respective features?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 1st, 2012, 12:08 am

^ there is only one trim at N&M - the fully loaded 2.0

bushwakka wrote:duane....that diagram with the 4 wheels...what readout does that give in the event of traction loss? does it give some kinda grip readout on each wheel at the point in time?

looks cool
I don't know what it shows exactly, will find out

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 1st, 2012, 6:01 am

crazybalhead wrote:Duane, seriously though, a pickup is a really great buy. Diesel costs nothing, no worries about off roading and ground clearance, and an open tray REALLY comes in handy. Most of the crossovers and small SUV's have little interior room above a regular sedan, which you already have. A pick-up is the logical choice as a second vehicle. An automatic navara is a truly nice thing, a manual will cost you several thousand less.

Just a thought.

This is some good advice here!! before buying my hilux i looked at most of the small SUV's -

xtrail - expensive and didn't like it

grand vitara - expensive and rode harsh

rav 4 - expensive and small

tiguan - expensive, really nice, drove well but small

qashqai - couldn't fit into the driver's seat

tuscon - not as expensive, long arse waiting list, almost bought it

sportage - nice but not me and southern sales again

Q5 - super expensive, really really nice - wife ask me if I MC crazy to even consider dat

Forester - expensive, but very nice, good handling (almost paid down on one)

a pickup was never on my list.... especially since they drive like crap (or to phrase it differently - the vehicle dynamics are vastly different to a car). However, after test driving the hilux, test fitting 2 booster seats in the back (which fit very easily with space for my plump mother in law) and realising that a fully loaded automatic pickup cost at least $100,000 less than some of the SUV's that i liked, i decided to buy one.

So far no regrets... u just can't beat the versatility of the pick up (hilux eh). Big interior, enough room in the tray for bikes, coolers, kayak, bbq pit, dog, suitcases, angry wife etc etc.

My opinion at the time was that I could buy the hilux, insure it for 5 years, throw on a canopy or roll up tray cover, spray on liner, decent tires and service it for 5 years, with the same money i would put out just to purchase one of the small suv's.

However, with the price of pick ups being what they are right now ($300,000 up for the fully loaded models) it may not be as simple a decision as it was back in January 2011.

I haven't actually seen this Subaru XV as yet (i plan to head in to Massey when i come back) just to take a look. From what you have posted it looks nice with good features. Overall, you are looking for a safe, practical family vehicle, not an offroader or a fass up ride, and this seems to fit the bill. If u both work at home then you won't be accruing mileage at any severe rate, servicing should not be such a big deal.

I guess as with all dealerships, you will hear both good and bad stories regarding service.... neal and massey seems to have spent a lot of money recently on infrastructure at their Morvant branch and to me, they look the part of being a "proper" dealership, but hopefully they have peoperly trained personnel to handle these types of vehicles ( you will be amazed at what a neatly folded hundred dollar bill slipped into the hand of the service coordinator at the front desk will do for you :lol: :lol: )

Obviously you know about vehicles, so dey can't easily bamboozle yuh head wrt servicing ( unlike my padnah who paid SS twice within 20,000 km for changing disc pads.... whereas I changed my pads at 55,000km and they still had life!)

Who buys anything these days for resale value?? (even though dem ole skool hilux holding price like waw!!)

Personally, I was considering buying a Rav 4 for wifey, but that was before the most recent price increase.... who knows, I might still consider it, but this subaru seems pretty darn interesting.

All in all u have to be happy wid de purchase, regardless of all de advice fellas giving u.

or u cud buy a nav or lux, drop on some bfg's and fall in a side B run... lewwe show yuh some fun in de mud!! :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » May 1st, 2012, 6:52 am

If Mrs. Duane passed her driving test, I'm sure she can handle a pickup meng. They are truly easy to drive and park, easier than the evo because of all the extra lock. I KNOW why you like the Suby though, very obvious. Toys and more toys. Electronics and gizmos...LCD screens and tech. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby RBphoto » May 1st, 2012, 7:40 am

The question to Duane is, with all of that symetrical AWD and high falutin tech.... would you really want to know if your subie also goes into 1WD mode?

Postby tr1ad » May 1st, 2012, 8:06 am

ah man post picture of fancy dash an screen
and ah next fella wha know wha it for....

marketing...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 1st, 2012, 8:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ there is only one trim at N&M - the fully loaded 2.0

bushwakka wrote:duane....that diagram with the 4 wheels...what readout does that give in the event of traction loss? does it give some kinda grip readout on each wheel at the point in time?

looks cool
I don't know what it shows exactly, will find out

and what does fully loaded entail?
Sunroof, 7 airbags etc?

Postby SUPAstarr » May 1st, 2012, 9:10 am

crazybalhead wrote:If Mrs. Duane passed her driving test, I'm sure she can handle a pickup meng. They are truly easy to drive and park, easier than the evo because of all the extra lock. I KNOW why you like the Suby though, very obvious. Toys and more toys. Electronics and gizmos...LCD screens and tech. :lol: :lol: :lol:

DING DING DING,look ah man hit it on the head there, the nerd cant resist it

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 1st, 2012, 9:53 am

small suv i had it narrowed down to the Xtrail Classic and the NEw LONG wheel base 2.4 Rav 4, i like both of them,
The Xtrail has been proven to take loads of licks and keep going, and in 4wd mode its a pretty decent vehicle for MILD offroading depending on your tire choice.
Yes the interior may be bland but its quite a decent riding vehicle.