Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2012, 4:02 pm

you eliminate 99% of so called Dj's

Kasey wrote:
Some of the pre-requisites to enter, should be basic beat-matching and so on.

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 27th, 2012, 8:58 pm

agree with kasey's point.

better yet, all have to use a pair of turntables...
99.99% eliminated?

I might loss for not being a "scratchmaster" but hey what the heck

Postby gt4tified » February 27th, 2012, 11:53 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:agree with kasey's point.

99.99% eliminated?

How about beatmatching without the use of headphones? Try dat and tell mih how fun it was.....daz my new foray btw.

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 28th, 2012, 7:48 am

^^showoff lol

shameer

Postby shameer » February 28th, 2012, 9:09 am

aight fellas so let's tweek this thing so we could make it work as. shows progress wecould start categories guys and stuff......this have me all hyped up...lol

shameer

Postby shameer » February 28th, 2012, 9:10 am

remember guys its all about fun

Postby SR » February 28th, 2012, 9:21 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:agree with kasey's point.

99.99% eliminated?

nah

dais the 80's

Samo

Postby Samo » February 28th, 2012, 9:32 am

shameer; if one wanna just come an play... wah go happen dey?

Postby gt4tified » February 28th, 2012, 10:00 am

Samo wrote:shameer; if one wanna just come an play... wah go happen dey?

U tryin to take ah next man wuk! Level fyahs will be geed. :lol:

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 28th, 2012, 12:31 pm

Anyway guys, lets discuss this 100% IASCA 28 Plz. The DJ competetion to be exact. I think we can lend ideas to Shameer as to what we might prefer.

I aggree with the "bring yuh own players and jack in" if one prefers, but this will have to have a time limit. Some men will bring ah whole setup and take 30mins to "jack in" to the main sound system. Also, men should KEEP THEIR EQUIPMENT in their vehicles, or somewhere AWAY from the competetion area. We dont want ah setta players and equipment clustering the competetion area.
Men should take no more than 10mins to BE PREPARED (i.e. hook up and get ur act (CDs) ready).

Or maybe, we can have two competitors prepare at the same time, so is one after the other in the competetion. When one man done, switch to the other, hooked up and prepared competitor. That way, there is no quiet, waiting on ah man to organise himself.

Gots more ideas. Will try to summarize more later.

Postby gt4tified » February 28th, 2012, 3:29 pm

What are your ideas for prizes Kasey? Let's motivate some ppl.

Postby eliteauto » February 29th, 2012, 12:36 pm

on a side note, nice vid for the digital DJs

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 29th, 2012, 1:09 pm

shucks and I now sel my cortex... nice lil standalone unit just pulg in, insert flash drive, and u ready to mix...no sync button... that would have been excellent for the competition...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 29th, 2012, 6:39 pm

Unless a sponsor is obtained, I dont think hopes of a really grand prize should be the motivator. This will be a first, and hopefully many more to come, in other car shows. Car shows in Trini have deteriorated to who could make the most noise. This would bring a new type of attraction, and also add to the PR campaign.

A nice tall Trophe would suffice for now IMHO. If it is a success, maybe later events will bring better rewards.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 29th, 2012, 10:20 pm

So allu DJ's going to walk with a maxi load of supporters to win lol
just kidding

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 29th, 2012, 11:33 pm

^^^WHO SAY.......... "DJ CROWD PLEASER"!!!!!

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » March 1st, 2012, 8:40 am

just adding to what Kasey said, if it is going to be 10mins rounds, how bout 5mins judges and the other 5mins crowd pleaser, so even if people walk with supporters, there is still the judges to add their say, again just adding to Kasey's idea and something to think about. Also since time will be essential, let the competitors be there with the equipment and check in at a certain time, just to try and have a smooth transition, and no long delays.

Samo

Postby Samo » March 1st, 2012, 10:44 am

me eh tekkin no one wuk... lol..
just asking.. for fun nah

shameer

Postby shameer » March 1st, 2012, 2:39 pm

one question here.......is everyone here familiar with the pioneer cdj800mk11?
if so we could eliminate the switching time altogether and have everyone run off my machines...you could use it with or without serato......just an idea....let me know.....

also i like the idea of 50% judge and 50% crowd.......

so prizes could be just like the car show prizes 1st place judge, 2nd place judge, 1st place crowd....what u guys think?

shameer

Postby shameer » March 1st, 2012, 2:43 pm

now guys this will be live on dj promo tv eh so but on yuh sunday best....lol

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 2nd, 2012, 12:34 am

wah abt if we team up work out a schedule and start a online radio station!where you can play music where ever you are with your players and a internet connection! sum like TunerRadio!

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 2nd, 2012, 2:39 am

^ plan

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 2nd, 2012, 7:32 am

shameer wrote:one question here.......is everyone here familiar with the pioneer cdj800mk11?
if so we could eliminate the switching time altogether and have everyone run off my machines...you could use it with or without serato......just an idea....let me know.....

also i like the idea of 50% judge and 50% crowd.......

so prizes could be just like the car show prizes 1st place judge, 2nd place judge, 1st place crowd....what u guys think?

Used it before, but not accustomed like the Denons. Still think it might be better to let guys come with their machines, once they can set up while the other guy is playing, so there is no delays. Once they not ready when is their turn, u automatically get disqualified. This might also motivate people to use ur 800's.

Like the idea of the prizes.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 2nd, 2012, 7:45 am

question. what criteria should we use?
speed? quality of beatmatch? diversity in genres?

crowd response to the tunes? (with this one oen man might get vex when another DJ spins the same tunes before him)

I remember when next 99.1 fist started they had a competition on tv, criteria used was variety, skill, crowd response and presentation (whether you looked like you were "into the mix"). DJ's were not allowed to use the mic. everyone had to use a pari of 1000's and I believe they had only 5 minutes to play.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » March 2nd, 2012, 8:45 am

alot of ideas coming forward, but also remember this is the first time, so you not want to complicate too much, or make it a very serious competition, rem its about having some fun at the same time. but if the intent is serious competition well the ideas and suggestions are great.

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 8:46 am

i have major concerns with this and timing at a car show that has the usualt car audio competitions

this will have to be looked at for duration and a proper time slot for it to take place and will clash with the big guns for crowd pleaser time slot

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 2nd, 2012, 10:24 am

Yea Shazard. This thing should not be thought of as a really serious DJ thing. Its just for the tuner DJ's to have sum fun. And if it turns out goo, maybe we can arrange a separate day for DJ Tuner SERIOUS COMPETETION.

On another note, to discourage men from bringin ah setta professional DJ 'frens', a major criteria should be: YOU MUST BE A MEMBER OF TUNER FOR MORE THAN 3 MONTHS TO COMPETE.

We dont want to take away from the 'Car Show' eh SR, so we're not demanding anything. Mybe we can look at something earlier in the day? I know some DJ men like this show off thinG so plenty men will say no to this and say how no one will be there early to hear them DJ. But we do have to understand, this event is not a DJ competetion, it is a car show, and we have to give the cars a chance.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 2nd, 2012, 12:55 pm

as its d 1st time why allyuh dont give it a trial run for fun & forget about competition\prizes for now - do it from about 2-5pm amongst ur selves so it wouldnt affect d carshow itself ...

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 1:43 pm

has nothing to do with taking away from the show

dont get me wrong i like the idea

but at present lets use the 100% iasca series shows as an example

idbl runs from 3pm to 7pm and the dj is only allowed to play in between actual judging

7pm onwards crowd pleaser competitons start as well as other automotive competitions are going on at the same time
ema license is usually up at midnight and we have been trying to end shows by 11pm so that everyone can reach home at a decent time

if you have 5 'djs' to showcase/compete they will need at least 10 min to sho off thier talent as well as time to take to switch between competitors

the issue comes in when to slot this

personally a dj setup does not belong in a car show as it takes away from those who want to demo thier vehicles as well as it affects actual competiton when vehicles have to be inspected and you need to laise with competitors but have to shout for each other to hear

it is somthing that can happen but as i said before there is a lot of logistics that has to be sorted out first

beat mixing etc is only one part of your competiton
your music has to flow as well as it has to please the crowd at hand as well

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 2nd, 2012, 2:06 pm

i share those exact concerns too so thats why i said start it & finish it earlier so that it doesnt affect d actual carshow itself , yall cud work out whatever convenient time

i hate when in any shows d DJ is covering d vehicles that came to demo or anything that doesnt have to do with soundoff is being done in between d categories which is keeping me & others back from hearing d higher categories when i cud have heard what i really came for so i can go back home at a decent time to get some sleep for monday morning work ... :|