Lowering Issue

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

firelynx

Lowering Issue

Postby firelynx » January 19th, 2012, 8:20 pm

i have 215/45/17 tyres on and goin to put on tein springs.
Will my tyres touch the fender when turning or otherwise?

adriano7910

Re: Lowering Issue

Postby adriano7910 » January 20th, 2012, 11:27 am

lol......... why you no state type of car :?

firelynx

Postby firelynx » January 21st, 2012, 11:53 am

hmm i dont know how i left that out...its a ES8 civic

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » January 25th, 2012, 10:49 pm

once using the correct offset....

no will not touch....

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 8th, 2012, 10:53 am

depends on how low the springs go, those tyres might touch the fender "might" cuz 215/45/17 tyres are pretty high profiles for 17" IMO, if you have to buy tyres again go with some 205/45/17 or 205/40/17

DjSpinkxxx

Postby DjSpinkxxx » February 8th, 2012, 2:05 pm

hey i have a set of coil overs for my ek3 civic.. i changed it from original springs and put the lowering springs.. but i left the same shocks.. noww.. the back of the car is really bouncing alot.. not reli the front.. whats the problem?

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » February 8th, 2012, 3:57 pm

The stock shocks usually reaches straight up to the shock head and makes a 'banging sound' while bouncing
when lowered extremely....

TK!

Postby TK! » February 13th, 2012, 10:33 pm

steups.. ppl doh read before they buy/try... most likely a ricer

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 13th, 2012, 10:52 pm

The stock shocks usually reaches straight up to the shock head and makes a 'banging sound' while bouncing
when lowered extremely....

in this case what do you do?
where could one get shocks that will not make the banging sound?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 14th, 2012, 8:31 am

you could buy an after market shock and spring set up, or a sleeve type coil over set up, or get some gas shocks and some springs "teins or some other drop springs" if you just doing it for looks, no more banging but you will still get a stiffer/ bouncy ride , no matter the spring rate , although some might be softer than others and less bouncy but you'll still get bounce, can't help that...

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 14th, 2012, 3:57 pm

i have tein springs for my car.
i used new kyb shocks and tokico shocks, changed shock mounts but still got the banging sound. i hated that sound. i sounded like the shocks fricking dead...it was lowered real nice and the ride on the highway was best, but on normal main road and cornering in would hear that irritating sound. i looking to change them for a better option...

jude

Postby jude » March 6th, 2012, 1:58 pm

what vehicle you have the tein springs on?have you considered threading the shock for the spring to fit tighter/cutting off the excess?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » March 7th, 2012, 9:35 am

Monster101, that noise you hear is because the drop springs are shorter than the stock so when the shock moves up and down there is a gap between the spring and shock head thus the banging sound,the same happens when you cut you spring.
you could try to tie strap the spring to the shock and put buffer rubbers between the spring and shock head, or you could just buy a sleeve type coil over which cost bout $1000-1500,These coilovers allow adjustment anywhere from 0"- 4" depending upon its application. Height is adjusted through use of a threaded sleeve that fits over your stock or aftermarket shocks and a dual locking perch mechanism.
Triple-R in San-do has Arospeed coil sleeves for $1000, not sure but i think you might be able to change out the arospeed spring and reuse your tein's since the tein's are better springs.

Return to “HONDA”