$5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

mojoe

Re: $5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Postby mojoe » February 9th, 2012, 1:33 pm

ok thanks

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » February 9th, 2012, 8:48 pm

Are they still taking long to process requests for a new certified copy?

Postby pete » February 10th, 2012, 8:43 am

Anyone knows where I could get an engine wash and underwash in the Couva area?

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2012, 10:25 am

does the service station on the main road, south of the pt lisas roundabout do that anymore?

Postby pete » February 10th, 2012, 12:50 pm

That gas station isn't even open today.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 10th, 2012, 12:53 pm

Pete, you just have to make sure they could make out the engine and chassis number. I went this morning and get through in no time...no under wash no engine wash (well my engine always clean).

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » February 10th, 2012, 1:50 pm

A Licensing friend of mine recommed me an inspection place in Diego/Petit Valley side.

I hope my fairly dried mud engine bay and 3 year old Cert copy is not an issue

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2012, 1:51 pm

drive a mazda yuh cyah make out the engine number if yuh wanted to

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2012, 2:03 pm

cinco wrote:drive a mazda yuh cyah make out the engine number if yuh wanted to

true dat. bobol thing right true. :lol:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm

hydroep wrote:
cinco wrote:
Hook wrote:Yuh counting dat 5yrs from date of manufacture of from date of registration?
What about RORO cars, 5yrs from registration?

5 year by reg dan plate NUMBA so anything PCA and older go get yuh sheet inspektid!!!
and well PCB by this year also

Yup.

rmrunner wrote:AFAIK,

RORO --- Date of manufacture
Local ----Date Registered
Can anyone verify if the 5 years from Date of Regitration is applicable to Local Dealership sold vehicles only, and not RORO? If so, then most of the RORO cars would need inspecting, regardless of when they were bought/registered.

The Act only mentions "5 years old or more". Couldn't find anything indicating from which date (manufactured or registered), and if different dates apply to Local and RORO.
MVRTA.jpg
Last edited by dredman1 on February 10th, 2012, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 10th, 2012, 3:05 pm

^^ I won't waste time trying to figure that out nah...$165 and 1/2Hr for a peace of mind...priceless

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2012, 3:08 pm

5yr from date of manufacture for either new or roro

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2012, 3:10 pm

Dave wrote:5yr from date of manufacture for either new or roro

5yr from date of reg i was told from an officer
i dont care if yuh car plate is pcd back go get inspected

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2012, 3:15 pm

one the vehicle is 5yrs old, it needs to be inspected irrespective of when it was licensed...off course once it was licensed legally and if u need one for the later, check me lol

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2012, 3:17 pm

Dave wrote:5yr from date of manufacture for either new or roro

date of manu is not the date licensed
there are pcf 2003 cars out there
pcf does not have to get inspected yet

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2012, 3:21 pm

yes but pcf that are 2003 need to be inspected
vehicle is 9yrs
I don't know what you trying to argue because $165 as outlaw said vs $5000 is a huge margin

gfbl

Postby gfbl » February 10th, 2012, 3:24 pm

where in town can i get it inspected besides licensing office?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » February 10th, 2012, 3:24 pm

where in town can i get it inspected besides licensing office?

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Dave wrote:yes but pcf that are 2003 need to be inspected
vehicle is 9yrs
I don't know what you trying to argue because $165 as outlaw said vs $5000 is a huge margin

im just saying what i was told it is by number plate
so pcf DOES NOT need to be inspected foreign used or local

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2012, 3:28 pm

go brave cinco thats all i have to say

Postby cinco » February 10th, 2012, 3:29 pm

dan all my cars inspected you feel i rich me eh even own a PC# series vehicle

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 10th, 2012, 3:42 pm

$5000 really harsh for not having an inspection sticker IMO , but it the law

avinashr

Postby avinashr » February 10th, 2012, 3:42 pm

got my car inspected today.. hadda wait till monday for d sticker!

Postby rollingstock » February 10th, 2012, 3:48 pm

I like my glass clean, gonna leave it so.

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2012, 3:53 pm

cinco wrote:dan all my cars inspected you feel i rich me eh even own a PC# series vehicle

LOL good bro

same here

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 10th, 2012, 7:57 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:^^ I won't waste time trying to figure that out nah...$165 and 1/2Hr for a peace of mind...priceless
If it's not explicitly stated anywhere in the Act I agree totally - can't rely on one Licensing/Police Officer interpretation of the Act over another (we all know this problem).

Just wanted to make sure as cinco said he was told by a LO it's done by registration date, that I didn't miss it somewhere - didn't see the need to do it if I could quote to a LO when stopped where the Act said I didn't need it.

However, I checked it again, and found no mention of this anywhere, so went and got it done this evening with a 2 1/2 year old c/copy and unwashed engine bay and under body with no problems. But my chassis and engine numbers were easily visible (had to show the guy where the engine number was because he couldn't find it :lol: ). Got through in about 20-25 minutes.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » February 11th, 2012, 10:48 am

Did inspection today. Did not pass.

Need 2 new tyres, fix a minor oil leak, and fix steering boot before it can pass.

Got an official paper stating what has to be fixed. I have six weeks to fix said issues and return to inspection station to pass inspection. Paper can be shown to police to avoid ticket for that same 6 weeks (keep in car!).

There is a $115 fee to re-inspect if 6 weeks passes after initial inspection.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 11th, 2012, 11:04 am

did mine yesterday, better $165 than $5000 yes

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » February 13th, 2012, 9:32 am

Observation: Based on the responses and direction of thread, if all laws were abided in this form, it would not have drunk drivers, road fatalities and accidents...great going guys! 165 vs 5000, there is no doubt what the choice would be!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 13th, 2012, 1:23 pm

Conrad wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:so, what is the criteria for inspection?

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.50.pdf

See page 229 & 230.