HELP!!!!!! 1.8 sirius turbo (box lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

babygirl

HELP!!!!!! 1.8 sirius turbo (box lancer)

Postby babygirl » December 26th, 2011, 1:04 am

hey guys, i need a little help and or advice. I got a gsr box lancer with the sirius turbo engine (1.8). recently after doing a little burnout my car cut off and would restart but it tumbles. after diggin in we found that some of the teeth of the timing belt were ripped off. timing came out of course. being a non-interference engine we just replaced the timing belt,lined up the marks etc, and the same thing happened again just after installing the belt and driving the car. the car started and idled and revved fine after the timing belt replacement. just about 4 or 5 teeth are being eaten off. all the pulleys are fine (non wabbling) the teeth are fine, all spin freely, why is this happening??????

gallantpan

Re: HELP!!!!!! 1.8 sirius turbo (box lancer)

Postby gallantpan » December 31st, 2011, 11:09 am

Pull the head. valves may be bent or the belt tensioner needs to be replaced. post pics naa

babygirl

Postby babygirl » December 31st, 2011, 12:09 pm

it is a non interference engine. valves cannot be bent. i pulled the head the first time it happened. no valves were bent.

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » January 5th, 2012, 12:08 am

dat used to happen to my 626!!! had an f8dohc in it...... a pulley on d water pump!!! i changed d water pump to the one from d fe3 an alll was fine after that!!! don't know if dat is yuh problem.....jus my 2cents!!!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”