Refinishing Coil Springs

chindian88

Refinishing Coil Springs

Postby chindian88 » November 14th, 2011, 9:14 pm

so i just bought some used lowering springs, which are in good condition but some of the coils are slightly rusted and the plastic coating on it is peeling off.

so my options were to either paint them or get them powder coated. i did a bit of research on both options and the powder coating kind of sounds like the better choice.

has anyone ever painted or powder coated their springs?
how long did either one last?

Re: Refinishing Coil Springs

Postby Hook » November 15th, 2011, 2:46 am

your first mission would be to get the corrosion off...what do you have in mind tho? sanding/emery? chemical clean or sand blasting?

Postby cinco » November 15th, 2011, 6:52 am

powder coating would be your better bet but how much is "slightly rusted"
tbh used springs are a bad idea springs sag with regular use if they are already getting corrosion they are more than likely on their way out
i would say clean the rust hit them a anti rust paint and run them as is for a couple years
btw powder coating may cost you half as much as new springs anyway

yakuza

Postby yakuza » November 15th, 2011, 9:02 am

Powder coating involves baking @ 450 degrees Celsius for a specific time, I don't think heating coil springs is a good idea.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 15th, 2011, 11:27 am

^^what he said!

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 15th, 2011, 10:45 pm

hmm well i read the FAQ on a few "powder coaters" websites eg.

http://www.e-techpowdercoating.com/powd ... wdercoated
16. Can coil springs be powder coated?
Powder coatings are very flexible, and can flex with the metal as the spring, coils and recoils to its stationary position. Also epoxy, acrylic and hybrid powders provide excellent adhesion and hard-ness for improved resistance to chipping, abrasion, corrosion, and chemicals; and it’s flexible enough to be formable without cracking.

yakuza wrote:Powder coating involves baking @ 450 degrees Celsius for a specific time, I don't think heating coil springs is a good idea.
34. Will heat damage your substrate (part)?
No, the temperature used to cure the powder is less than 400 degrees. Titanium, steel, aluminum, magnesium are not affected by these temperatures. The temperature would have to be heated above 700 degrees to in order to affect most substrates.

Hook wrote:your first mission would be to get the corrosion off...what do you have in mind tho? sanding/emery? chemical clean or sand blasting?
i actually dropped them of at panland on monday afternoon, they'll take care of the rust (most likely sand blasting). she said i might get them back with in a week or two :(

cinco wrote:powder coating would be your better bet but how much is "slightly rusted"
DSC02020.JPG
cinco wrote:btw powder coating may cost you half as much as new springs anyway
new springs are 2500tt (teins that's from a place here ), but i can't find the teins for my car online. they have H&R and Eibach that sell for around $200US online. shipping weight on them is like 25 lbs i think. not sure of shipping rates by freight with my skybox co.

btw what would you say is a reasonable price for getting them PC'ed?

and also where you guys recommend checking to get these (spring cushions)

Postby Hook » November 15th, 2011, 11:32 pm

I dunno abt going thru the wait and the expense that you're doing for springs tho. I'd prolly do it for rims, but I'm a DIY cheapskate with a steady hand and loads of patience once money involved :lol:

Have you considered a plastic/rubberized coating on them such as "Plastidip"? Not sure of it's availability locally, but one plus (aside from saving muchas pesetas) is that you can get it in a variety of colours and touching up is a cinch.

Postby cinco » November 16th, 2011, 3:45 pm

yeh boy u puttin real time and money into used springs
btw what vehicle? the cushions you may have to purchase online
gavins carries the honda ones but mucho pricyo
boy after u get it blasted
redoxide and chinese lacquer in he arse they old and more than likey will sag in a year or two
(btw i cheep and DIY like hook)

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 16th, 2011, 8:25 pm

Hook wrote:I dunno abt going thru the wait and the expense that you're doing for springs tho. I'd prolly do it for rims, for rims though i'd actually paint them for myself, lol. they'd get scraped or damaged easily especially with other ppl driving my car. so i wouldn't spend the money to PC them. in another thread someone said they paid around $1600 to PC some rims. but I'm a DIY cheapskate with a steady hand and loads of patience once money involved :lol:
cinco wrote:yeh boy u puttin real time and money into used springs
(btw i cheep and DIY like hook)
i got them with OEM shocks which are still in okay shape.
allyuh making it sound as though i'm rich...bol :|
cinco wrote:the cushions you may have to purchase online
gavins carries the honda ones but mucho pricyo
boy i find anything down here pricey especially honda

well i'm a DIY guy to a point (don't really interfere with the engine too much but anything else yeah) but when i asked for a guess-timate, she said around $200 to $300. so i thought that wouldn't be so bad when i checked the time and money i'd have to spend (paint, primer and getting rid of the rust) to paint them over myself. besides the car is still up and running. its a CK btw and plan on keeping it for awhile.
anywho, with work and everything else my time is quite limited. plus how long would the paint i used last? if it flake out in a couple months i'll feel like i just wasted my time :(. i would have to look around a lot to find some good paint to use :(

didn't know if she called today cause my phone died. :cry:

also i saving to buy some koni's for the front and KYB agx for the rear.

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2011, 7:01 am

well cool let us know how much they end up costing you to pc if you go that route

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2011, 8:59 am

chindian88 wrote:... when i asked for a guess-timate, she said around $200 to $300. so i thought that wouldn't be so bad when i checked the time and money i'd have to spend (paint, primer and getting rid of the rust) to paint them over myself...

The $300 includes rust removal AND powdercoating?! Well done! I prolly wasn't going to powdercoat something that only me, the mechanic and the underwash man gonna see, but for that price, hell yeah!

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 17th, 2011, 9:23 am

Hook wrote:
chindian88 wrote:... when i asked for a guess-timate, she said around $200 to $300. so i thought that wouldn't be so bad when i checked the time and money i'd have to spend (paint, primer and getting rid of the rust) to paint them over myself...

The $300 includes rust removal AND powdercoating?! Well done! I prolly wasn't going to powdercoat something that only me, the mechanic and the underwash man gonna see, but for that price, hell yeah!

thats what i was thinking :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 17th, 2011, 9:45 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
Hook wrote:

thats what i was thinking :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

i was now thinking . with drop springs hardly anyone gets to see the springs so that's alot of work for a cosmetic upgrade that won't even be seen

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » November 17th, 2011, 7:06 pm

cinco wrote:powder coating would be your better bet but how much is "slightly rusted"
tbh used springs are a bad idea springs sag with regular use if they are already getting corrosion they are more than likely on their way out
i would say clean the rust hit them a anti rust paint and run them as is for a couple years
btw powder coating may cost you half as much as new springs anyway

how do springs be "on their way out"?

Postby cinco » November 18th, 2011, 8:07 am

contrary to popular eliefe
springs lose tension and begin to sag after constant use

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » November 18th, 2011, 2:36 pm

cinco wrote:contrary to popular eliefe
springs lose tension and begin to sag after constant use

They do, after years of use.
your initial post is misleading though.
Unless people out there are using junk springs?

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 24th, 2011, 11:31 am

cinco wrote:well cool let us know how much they end up costing you to pc if you go that route
came up to $200 for everything.

TRENDSETA wrote:i was now thinking . with drop springs hardly anyone gets to see the springs so that's alot of work for a cosmetic upgrade that won't even be seen
wasn't really a cosmetic upgrade cause i did it in matte black :|

Postby cinco » November 25th, 2011, 6:37 am

well thats great!
200 bux is a small price to pay then

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 25th, 2011, 7:39 am

Just for clarification ...
they charged you $200 to clean up the four coil springs and powdercoat them matte black ?

if so that's not bad at all

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 25th, 2011, 2:39 pm

TRENDSETA wrote:Just for clarification ...
they charged you $200 to clean up the four coil springs and powdercoat them matte black ?

if so that's not bad at all
yes sir, that is correct. they came out quite well.

Postby cinco » December 1st, 2011, 11:35 am

well where the after pics dan :|

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » December 1st, 2011, 7:42 pm

after powder coating.
DSC02036 - Copy.JPG

this is just the stock spring next to the after market one.
DSC02074.JPG

Postby cinco » December 1st, 2011, 7:43 pm

nice looks good man

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 1st, 2011, 8:37 pm

chindian88 wrote:
cinco wrote:well cool let us know how much they end up costing you to pc if you go that route
came up to $200 for everything.

thats ridiculously cheap!