Insurance companies and engine changes

singchef15

Insurance companies and engine changes

Postby singchef15 » November 2nd, 2011, 9:58 pm

Hey everyone, when you change your engine do you have to inform your insurance company? If you don't what are the repercussions? Does changing your engine change you premiums?

Re: Insurance

Postby BrotherHood » November 2nd, 2011, 11:01 pm

I know for sure you have to notify the Licensing Office by way of a Notice Of Change form where you state what changes have been made. As for insurance, I cannot shed any light. I am sure another tuner in here knows about this.

singchef15

Postby singchef15 » November 4th, 2011, 9:58 pm

thanks, hopefully someone else can help with the other part.

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » November 5th, 2011, 8:38 am

the only reason that you would need to inform your insurance company is if you made any major conversion to your vehicle like if you install a high performance engine that would cause your vehicle to be re-classified as a 'sports car' and would thus alter the risk.

otherwise if it is just a simple engine swap, you need not inform the insurance company. just register your change at licensing and hold on to your documents.

Postby Hook » November 5th, 2011, 11:54 am

^^^ Hey, as you're here, could you share with us the details on which types of modifications that would cause an insurer to re-classify a vehicle like you described?
I know a fair number of 2nrs here have modified machines, so this may be good information to have.

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2011, 7:55 pm

RGF Asset Management wrote:the only reason that you would need to inform your insurance company is if you made any major conversion to your vehicle like if you install a high performance engine that would cause your vehicle to be re-classified as a 'sports car' and would thus alter the risk.

otherwise if it is just a simple engine swap, you need not inform the insurance company. just register your change at licensing and hold on to your documents.

not really sports car, but change the performance index of the car.
more "performance" = more risk. yadda yadda.

hook
most cases.
bigger engine
turbo kit

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 5th, 2011, 10:25 pm

BrotherHood wrote:I know for sure you have to notify the Licensing Office by way of a Notice Of Change form where you state what changes have been made.
RGF Asset Management wrote:otherwise if it is just a simple engine swap, you need not inform the insurance company. just register your change at licensing and hold on to your documents.
Hope this isn't a thread hijack, but as we on the topic of registering an engine change, exactly how do you go about doing this with Licensing Office?
What documents do you need? I assume you need to fill out a change from at the licensing office, let them inspect the car/engine, and pay the $$ to register the transfer. But do you need to walk with any other documentation?

Re: Insurance companies and engine changes

Postby Hook » November 6th, 2011, 12:14 am

^^^ nope, just the receipt of sale of the engine (with the engine number on it). You'll need to put the old engine number on the yellow form as well, indicating you're changine engine number from this, to that... join the line to the pit, fill out yellow form, wait your turn, go inside and pay...it's super easy, but they make it harder than it has to be.

Make sure, however that your car doesn't have anything they'd pull you up for (illegal fogs, tint too dark etc.)...I see a yute get pull up for all kinda ting before he even reach d pit...felt sorry for the dude, so I helped him take off his fogs n' peel tint.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 6th, 2011, 2:05 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ nope, just the receipt of sale of the engine (with the engine number on it).

Was hoping you wouldn't have said that...
I bought the engine and installed it in the car maybe 4 or 5 years ago, and I have no idea where that receipt is...
I don't even think the place I bought the engine from is even in existence anymore. :(
Does that mean I can't register my change of engine?

Postby Hook » November 6th, 2011, 10:44 pm

*shrugs*

Postby wagonrunner » November 6th, 2011, 11:05 pm

say yuh had it in storage a few years ago, and yuh sell it to yuhself for $1

Postby Hook » November 7th, 2011, 12:43 am

:lol: @ wagonrunner...boi jus get anyone with a receipt book to make out a receipt for u nuh man. You're not the only person to lose a receipt before the engine change was registered inno.

is not like dey gonna track down the person u say u bought it from to verify it and dey doh know how long now the engine in your car anyway

I'm glad that you're trying to get everything legit on your CC, but doh hurt up yuh head over a receipt.

Postby bushwakka » November 7th, 2011, 8:06 am

Hook wrote::lol: @ wagonrunner...boi jus get anyone with a receipt book to make out a receipt for u nuh man. You're not the only person to lose a receipt before the engine change was registered inno.

is not like dey gonna track down the person u say u bought it from to verify it and dey doh know how long now the engine in your car anyway

I'm glad that you're trying to get everything legit on your CC, but doh hurt up yuh head over a receipt.

yep very good solution here......also good for when you get in an accident and you want to sell the insurance company any replacement parts you may have had home

Postby Hook » November 7th, 2011, 9:50 am

^^^ I don't see YOU offering any way out of this debacle, good Sir.

Postby bushwakka » November 7th, 2011, 9:57 am

Hook wrote:^^^ I don't see YOU offering any way out of this debacle, good Sir.

watcha referring to?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 7th, 2011, 11:28 am

Hook wrote::lol: @ wagonrunner...boi jus get anyone with a receipt book to make out a receipt for u nuh man. You're not the only person to lose a receipt before the engine change was registered inno.

Thanks Hook. Didn't realise anyone could have written a receipt for the purchase of the engine. I just assumed it had to be a reputable/registered seller of engines (by that I mean the receipt had to be from such a place).

If what you say is true though and anyone can do the receipt, then that solves my problem :)

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 7th, 2011, 11:30 am

bushwakka wrote:also good for when you get in an accident and you want to sell the insurance company any replacement parts you may have had home
Huh??? Care to elaborate?

Postby Hook » November 7th, 2011, 11:47 am

dredman1 wrote:

Thanks Hook. Didn't realise anyone could have written a receipt for the purchase of the engine. I just assumed it had to be a reputable/registered seller of engines (by that I mean the receipt had to be from such a place).

If what you say is true though and anyone can do the receipt, then that solves my problem :)

There's nothing that says you can't buy a used engine from somebody doing a swap/upgrade and put it in your own car. I've sold my old engine blocks etc. before without hassle.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 7th, 2011, 12:47 pm

I know there's no law preventing you from buying your pardner's used engine or block and installing it in your car (and there shouldn't be IMHO), but I wasn't sure that Licensing Office endorsed this by actually registering such a change.

Anyone ever registered an engine change at LO with a generic receipt (i.e. a receipt without an official seller's stamp or name)?

Postby bushwakka » November 7th, 2011, 1:41 pm

dredman1 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:also good for when you get in an accident and you want to sell the insurance company any replacement parts you may have had home

oh, i see

yea, well for example i had an accident and the rim and tyre got busted....
it so happened i had another rim home (yea i like to stock them) of the same style

in order to claim for the $ for buying a new rim, i just told the insurance company i would purchase the rim and provide the receipt......so i just get my padna to write a receipt for me and i get the $ for supplying my own part which i just had sitting down home

Postby wagonrunner » November 7th, 2011, 2:59 pm

dredman1 wrote:I know there's no law preventing you from buying your pardner's used engine or block and installing it in your car (and there shouldn't be IMHO), but I wasn't sure that Licensing Office endorsed this by actually registering such a change.

Anyone ever registered an engine change at LO with a generic receipt (i.e. a receipt without an official seller's stamp or name)?

I've actually done it with my method. dunno why hook was laughing. :rofl:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 7th, 2011, 4:11 pm

bushwakka wrote:
dredman1 wrote:

oh, i see

yea, well for example i had an accident and the rim and tyre got busted....
it so happened i had another rim home (yea i like to stock them) of the same style

in order to claim for the $ for buying a new rim, i just told the insurance company i would purchase the rim and provide the receipt......so i just get my padna to write a receipt for me and i get the $ for supplying my own part which i just had sitting down home
Ahh - ok cool.

Postby Hook » November 8th, 2011, 2:31 am

dredman1 wrote:I know there's no law preventing you from buying your pardner's used engine or block and installing it in your car (and there shouldn't be IMHO), but I wasn't sure that Licensing Office endorsed this by actually registering such a change.

I've actually done it with my method. dunno why hook was laughing. :rofl:

SERIOUS?! I hadda try that!

Postby wagonrunner » November 8th, 2011, 11:46 am

yeah. that was for the 626 wagon about 3 or 4 years ago.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 14th, 2011, 12:19 pm

What is the point, Did an engine change when to licencing to register it, applied for a new certify copy with new engine No on it and lo and be hold when i got the new cert copy it still had the ole engine no on it.
Since then changed engine again and even repainted the car, i am not bothering to register the changes

PS as stated earlier unless there is a performance upgrade which changes the risk their is no need to inforn the Ins. Co.

singchef15

Postby singchef15 » November 17th, 2011, 8:03 pm

thanks for comments on the insurance. The other comments were a good read.