MULTI MILLION DOLLAR DRUG BUST @ PT LISAS

Re: MULTI MILLION DOLLAR DRUG BUST @ PT LISAS

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2011, 1:15 pm

S_2NR wrote:u seem upset

Very! :evil:
Only backwards Trinidad going.

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2011, 1:20 pm

doh study it..by next weekend..all will be forgotten and ull be enjoying another public holiday..

WE LIKE IT!

Postby rspann » September 18th, 2011, 1:24 pm

I not saying they innocent or not but the police and customs know that containers are being tampered with in Jamaica and weed put into them without the consent of the owner.The guys who put it in the containers in Jamaica let their counterparts here know the number of the container and the date of arrival ,then they take it out here.with the owner none the wiser.The police should check their phone records to see if they were talking to any one in Jamaica .If the police were bright,they should wait and watch to see who is removing the weed,then they would have the weed,they would know who they turn it over to and they would clean up the port too.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2011, 1:26 pm

I used to fry up two, put them in half a Kiss Brown Butter Bread, put a slice of cheese, tomato, mustard and mayo. :( :(

Postby toyolink » September 18th, 2011, 1:41 pm

The reality is that importers who use containers have little control over actual handling of shipments.In fact shipping companies do not allow customers to enter control areas where containers are in fact packed and checked (now a rigid rule in the USA).
When your container is taken/put together and sealed by the foreign shipper,who must ensure cargo is legit otherwise they can face US customs and DEA sanctions its totally out of your control until you clear same.
What is apparent is that from port of export to final destination parties who are up to no good and have the connections can do what they wish to move illegal stuff.
Today,the results of these illegal activity is hitting everybody.
What is a fact is that certain Ports need to do some serious work on cleaning up their operations,failure to do so has and will continue to allow this mess.
Remember the US ports scan and do all kinds of checks on containers passing through their ports and we all are aware that all local containers are subject to random customs examinations (with regular switching of officers bribes don't gurantee anything).
Anybody bringing in large high value shipments of drugs must be confident of taking possession prior to cargo reaching formal clearance procedures.
The same way many travellers have found stuff missing from their suitcase on arrival is the same way people can interfere with containers.
At the end of the day this nonesense is causing serious delays on ports and increased costs of importers and sometimes creating short term shortages of goods and services.Consumers eventually suffer the consequences.
Importers who have shipment via Jamaica are always nervous lately.

Postby BrotherHood » September 18th, 2011, 1:49 pm

S_2NR wrote:doh study it..by next weekend..all will be forgotten and ull be enjoying another public holiday..

WE LIKE IT!

Is so the gov't backward and dotish, lmao! All is well still I guess yes.

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2011, 1:54 pm

and we the citizens are even worse for accepting it..
the tolerance most trinis have is our downfall.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » September 18th, 2011, 3:31 pm

trinis are stupid just like u and me

HOG

Postby HOG » September 18th, 2011, 5:48 pm

only in trinidad...

Postby rspann » September 18th, 2011, 6:02 pm

There are groups that include truck drivers port men etc.that are part of the scam,they have the tool to put back the seal on the containers.Remember the container of klim that was supposed to go to some country and was found by the barataria police,what about the container of cheese that was found by the chinese grocery on charlotte st.or the container of tyres belonging to chaguanas auto?The police recovered all of these and the seals were o.k
Sometimes when the container reaches it's destination it's empty,but it's insured so it's no scene.sometimes they do it coming in.One guy I know was killed,by a bullet to the head over this racket.but don't get tied up some of them know what they importing too!

Postby toyolink » September 18th, 2011, 7:52 pm

I am reasonably confident that the US DEA which is totally pissed is very soon going to give up on diplomacy and as they did before in Jamaica get their man.
The individuals involved may find themselves facing life sentences in US maximum security facilities as many before them.
Our intradiction efforts are too bugged down by outdated prosecution evidencial requirements to deal with what is happening.

Postby rfari » September 18th, 2011, 10:21 pm

Marijuana prices double as shortage hits
By Akile Simon
Story Created: Sep 17, 2011 at 9:42 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 17, 2011 at 9:42 PM ECT
THERE is a shortage of marijuana in the country and because of the high demand for the illicit herb, drug dealers and traffickers have resorted to attempts to import even larger quantities of the drug into the country to make up for the scarcity.
This was disclosed yesterday by Insp Kyron Williams of the Organised Crime Narcotics and Firearms Bureau (OCNFB) to members of the media during a joint press conference held by the Customs and Excise Division, the Police Service and the Defence Force at Customs House, Port of Spain.
The briefing was called specifically to address the $30 million marijuana seizure which took place at the Point Lisas Port on Thursday.
Thirty-eight crocus bags containing the illegal drug were found inside a refrigerated container which contained frozen chicken.
The container, which had arrived at the port on Tuesday on the vessel Vega Saturn, belongs to a Central businessman, but Customs sources were unable to say whether he had knowledge of the drug.
It's the third multi-million-dollar drug interdiction at the port for the year and in all three cases, the containers with the narcotics passed through a port in Jamaica.
Williams said because of the continued marijuana eradication exercises embarked upon by the police and members of the Defence Force, drug dealers have adopted innovative ways of smuggling marijuana in large quantities into the country.
Williams said because of the scarcity of the drugs, the original street value, estimated by the OCNFB, has risen from $5,000 to $10,000 per kilogramme of marijuana.
Travellers from Jamaica have also been attempting to traffic small quantities of high grade marijuana into Trinidad for their personal use.
Last Monday, Rayon Antonio Green, 22, of Spur Tree, Mandeville, Jamaica, was sent to jail for nine months after he pleaded guilty before Arima Senior Magistrate Indra Ramoo-Haynes on charges of being in possession and importing 1,985.4 grammes of compressed marijuana at Piarco International Airport.
Acting Comptroller of Customs Anthony Chandler also said yesterday that the price of marijuana fluctuates depending on the grade or country of origin and smugglers have been adopting innovative ways of getting the drug into the country.
Chandler said, "The local product has become difficult to come by so the price increases. Based on the availability of the drugs, marijuana in Trinidad is scarce at this time. But when it comes from various countries, various grades, the price fluctuates."
He added that when the drug comes from South America, a kilogramme could be sold between $6,000-$7,000; while product from St Vincent could fetch between $10,000-$12,000; and the high grade ganja from Jamaica could be sold for as much as $30,000 per kilogramme.
Investigations into the Pt Lisas incident are ongoing by Customs, police and port officials, Chandler said, adding that it was too early to say whether the consignee of the container, who has since been interviewed by law enforcement officials, should take full responsibility for the marijuana.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mar ... 46663.html

Postby BrotherHood » September 19th, 2011, 12:12 am

I always say.......The sheit in this country hadda done!

Postby Bizzare » September 19th, 2011, 12:20 am

I'm certain that there's absolutely no shortage of marijuana in Trinidad and Tobago :wink:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 19th, 2011, 5:49 am

So the man denying responsibility.

All they had to do was the let the container go to him and see what happened.
Sting OP

But na...we too facking dotish down here

Postby BrotherHood » September 19th, 2011, 6:08 am

White CZ4A wrote:So the man denying responsibility.

Sting OP

x10

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 6:12 am

Sting OP

if they do that..they would lose the opportunity to ask for bribe money..

Postby BrotherHood » September 19th, 2011, 6:25 am

S_2NR wrote:

Sting OP

if they do that..they would lose the opportunity to ask for bribe money..

Daz the damn ting. Everybody like and would take a bribe.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 19th, 2011, 11:07 am

Bizzare wrote:I'm certain that there's absolutely no shortage of marijuana in Trinidad and Tobago :wink:

quoted for truth

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Bizzare wrote:I'm certain that there's absolutely no shortage of marijuana in Trinidad and Tobago :wink:

confirmed. could be in some transients now. next week again i'll report back

Postby BrotherHood » September 19th, 2011, 11:46 pm

I still find they authorities could go down harrrdddddd on the businessman.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 21st, 2011, 1:34 pm

millions of dollars in drugs found....has ne1 seen a courtroom to this day???

even tho they deny knowledge of it why haven't they been arrested and charged?...customs laws state that importation of an illegal substance is an arrestable offence yet nothing has been done.

fwlk this country oui

Postby TRAE » September 21st, 2011, 2:03 pm

if yuh know how much i does hate when people always have negative things to say bout the governments and the country eh....
if people stop shooting people things go be nice, if people stop doing drugs we go be in a order, but noooooo, allyuh go still drink and drive, smoke weed and complain bout how is not high grade, buy an illegal gun to protect yuhself, see the crackheads out there and act like they're not there, drive around in AC and forget bout the people out in the hot sun breaking their backs while CEPEP go still be complaining how the work hard and they're underpaid.
When Patos was in government we was looking at scandals more than crime, we were looking at he obeah oman, and he victimising media, but now since it eh have the big scandals we start to watch crime as if this thing now start and go blame the goverment. We would only face consequences when we have to, who knows the complications to be had in convicting the cargo owners? how we know they're not victims as well....

and this is coming from someone that been thru the legal system

fact is we making the problems, people with intelligence on issues HAVE to voice them- that is only way we can make the illegal entities know that their time is over..

blaming the country is blaming yourself cause we self make up the country.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 21st, 2011, 2:14 pm

TRAE wrote:We would only face consequences when we have to, who knows the complications to be had in convicting the cargo owners? how we know they're not victims as well...

fuh somebaddy dat has bee thru d judicial system how come u eh know d difference between charged and convicted?

Postby SR » September 21st, 2011, 2:21 pm

talk across the st is that over 40% of customs officers corupt and there may be a link to a trinidad customs officer based in jamaica

which coincides with reports that hundreds of containers are not checked at pt lisas

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2011, 2:31 pm

40% seems such a conservative figure for the amount of corrupt custom officers.
And corruption is not only limited to passing unchecked containers. The fact that a lot of them milk the system and refuse to process documents between 8-4 but instead wait till after 4 so as to collect overtime is also corrupt.

The much maligned TTRA (Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority) would have at least been good for eliminating one element of human interaction in the customs chain and reduce an opportunity for corruption.

Postby TRAE » September 21st, 2011, 2:32 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
TRAE wrote:We would only face consequences when we have to, who knows the complications to be had in convicting the cargo owners? how we know they're not victims as well...

fuh somebaddy dat has bee thru d judicial system how come u eh know d difference between charged and convicted?

dude are you serious?

Postby Habit7 » September 21st, 2011, 2:35 pm

TRAE wrote:if yuh know how much i does hate when people always have negative things to say bout the governments and the country eh....
if people stop shooting people things go be nice, if people stop doing drugs we go be in a order, but noooooo, allyuh go still drink and drive, smoke weed and complain bout how is not high grade, buy an illegal gun to protect yuhself, see the crackheads out there and act like they're not there, drive around in AC and forget bout the people out in the hot sun breaking their backs while CEPEP go still be complaining how the work hard and they're underpaid.
When Patos was in government we was looking at scandals more than crime, we were looking at he obeah oman, and he victimising media, but now since it eh have the big scandals we start to watch crime as if this thing now start and go blame the goverment. We would only face consequences when we have to, who knows the complications to be had in convicting the cargo owners? how we know they're not victims as well....

fact is we making the problems, people with intelligence on issues HAVE to voice them- that is only way we can make the illegal entities know that their time is over..

I understand your attempt to be profound but you not making any sense.

We are a democracy, similiar to what the US constitution says, a government for the people, by the people and for the people. If we blame ourselves we will be blaming our government. From those who voted for the opposition and the government to those who are public servants and hold high office. The higher the office the more responsibility they bare.

So when a container of drugs comes in the country, I can't just wag my finger at myself, I wag it at those responsible so that they would do better.

Postby TRAE » September 21st, 2011, 2:40 pm

Habit7 wrote:
TRAE wrote:if yuh know how much i does hate when people always have negative things to say bout the governments and the country eh....

I understand your attempt to be profound but you not making any sense.

We are a democracy, similiar to what the US constitution says, a government for the people, by the people and for the people. If we blame ourselves we will be blaming our government. From those who voted for the opposition and the government to those who are public servants and hold high office. The higher the office the more responsibility they bare.

So when a container of drugs comes in the country, I can't just wag my finger at myself, I wag it at those responsible so that they would do better.

well then i can see that we as trinis will always have something complain about because we wont clean our house first right?

Postby SR » September 21st, 2011, 2:43 pm

problem is most of the corruption lies within senior officials who have made thier connections over the years and are in high places within customs

mark my words if this government serious about it customs in for a big shakedown
but i doubt thats gonna happen it may die a slow death due to how big the internal corruption really is

ynno how many customs officers have benefited from doing favors for big buisness men in this country