South woman PAYS $1,500 TTD 'cellphone' charge

Re: South woman challenges 'cellphone' charge

Postby Habit7 » September 10th, 2011, 11:22 pm

The week around this became law, bluetooth was on everybody lips and ppl either hid or pull over to talk on their phone. Now it is back to normal, with the slow drivers, slow responsiveness and lazy 90 degree turns due to one hand manoeuvres.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 10th, 2011, 11:33 pm

She should be charged 15k for her stupidity.

Postby j.o.e » September 10th, 2011, 11:44 pm

if i had a ticket book, i could probably easily charge 25 ppl a day...its that common. Normal third world crap...fancy laws,no enforcement

Postby stev » September 10th, 2011, 11:59 pm

steups....waste ah time case she wah hold...charge she MC.

it have nuff cheap headset and ah sure she have speakerphone...

no offence lady tuners...but d last ting we need is ah woman drivin on d cellphone....

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2011, 7:14 am

meccalli wrote:I agree with mg. before this whole cellphone charges thing came out, i know alot of people who are comfortable driving and talking but they don't do it speeding and carelessly. I don't drive yet tho but.. More often than not, its a guy studying to play up with his stereo, eat, or just outright intoxicated give so much bad drives. Alot of killings are from speeding and that imo is not dealt with as should in our country. Often going to manzan i wonder why there aren't cops on the side to pull over these crazy bastards who driving at ridiculous speeds.

wow..................
you have a lot to learn there dude

ismithx wrote:
MG Man wrote:pffffffffffft
as a driver I have very good multitasking skills
If other people don't, then tough
I can safely talk on a a cell and drive

hold a slap nah...

sarcasm really is a lost art :?

Postby SR » September 11th, 2011, 7:22 am

anyone have stats proving that talking on cell phone causes accidents??

Postby meccalli » September 11th, 2011, 7:40 am

Yeah i'd like to see some people see one incident embellished by talkign on a cell and surpass the underlying cause..speeding.... i may not drive but i'm shotgun 90% of the time.

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2011, 7:47 am

SR wrote:anyone have stats proving that talking on cell phone causes accidents??

Well when you're driving, your attention is supposed to be on the road right? When you're talking on the phone, some of the attention that is supposed to be on the road is then directed @ the conversation.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-10784_3-6090342-7.html

http://www.livescience.com/121-drivers- ... affic.html

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,201586,00.html

EDIT: And it's not only having the cell phone in your hand while driving which is bad, even with a blue-tooth headset, it's just as bad.

Some people may think that they're great drivers and can talk on their cellphones while driving, but it doesn't justify anything.

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2011, 8:47 am

meccalli wrote:Yeah i'd like to see some people see one incident embellished by talkign on a cell and surpass the underlying cause..speeding.... i may not drive but i'm shotgun 90% of the time.

orly?
you pulling stats out of your rectum?
Speed is always the underlying issue???
What about right of way violations, unintended lane changes, failure to check mirrors, sudden barking due to inattention.........no wait..............sorry, I forgot you the official armchair driver expert
my bad

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2011, 12:03 pm

hats off to mr ocifer, this saved some lives, statistically speaking of course.

Postby sharkman121 » September 11th, 2011, 1:26 pm

wonder what the stats look like for texting and driving

Postby Mark! » September 11th, 2011, 1:30 pm

since we on this topic, what are the stats for accidents caused by receiving bjs while driving?

Postby skylinechild » September 11th, 2011, 1:42 pm

meccalli wrote:Yeah i'd like to see some people see one incident embellished by talkign on a cell and surpass the underlying cause..speeding.... i may not drive but i'm shotgun 90% of the time.

orly?
What about right of way violations, unintended lane changes, failure to check mirrors, sudden barking due to inattention.........no wait..............sorry, I forgot you the official armchair driver expert
my bad

woof woof..... :lol: :lol:

Postby meccalli » September 11th, 2011, 2:13 pm

orly?
my bad

Indeed, your bad, i didn't quote any stats, but its obvious that most fatal accidents are caused by speeding. I've never advocated talking on a cell phone, but they sure as heck don't charge people for all those other causes you so helpfully listed..case in point..i'm just saying why all the hullaballo for phones and not the real family wreckers.

Postby K74T » September 11th, 2011, 2:25 pm

MG Man wrote:sorry, I forgot you the official armchair driver expert

Postby Bizzare » September 11th, 2011, 3:18 pm

pioneer wrote:I think this law should only apply to people with blackberry

dva2

Postby dva2 » September 11th, 2011, 3:56 pm

woman could have just paid $2-300 on a bluetooth headset or just use the head set the phone comes with and could have avoided paying $1000, which i'm certain she'll have to pay anyway.

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » September 11th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Talk about playing wrong and strong, with a reason like that the court should permanently suspend her licence.

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2011, 5:26 pm

next court date ?

Postby brams112 » September 11th, 2011, 5:34 pm

if police really start charging people they will make a killing in fines,people talk like on their phones while driving,as for me i have to stop to answer my fone because it is hard to pull it out my pocket while my seatbelt is on

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 12th, 2011, 7:42 am

wow..that woman dotish, apparently she feels that because its a foreign call she get away?

Postby Bizzare » September 12th, 2011, 7:49 am

Really ???? :lol: :lol:
So that makes you half a driver? :? :?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 12th, 2011, 8:25 am

rollingstock wrote:Had to be a south woman :?

take yuh facking time

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2011, 8:52 am

Bizzare wrote:

yo, yo, doh be dissin de man
technically he is 90% of half a driver

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » September 12th, 2011, 9:11 am

4 year old should serve some time also, damn accomplice...

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2011, 11:08 am

on second thought, she admitting to being on the phone while driving and saying that it was her 4 year old son in 'merica shows blatant disregard and contempt for the laws of trinidad and tobago.

if she says in court that when she saw the number that she got carried away and answered, admitting it was an erroneous act, i may be inclined to just charge her for the offense. but if she just says that its her son from america then she getting a mega dose, cause u know the law and knowingly chose to disregard it.

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2011, 11:26 am

hottgyul wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Had to be a south woman :?

take yuh facking time

Postby Bizzare » September 12th, 2011, 11:41 am

Bizzare wrote:

yo, yo, doh be dissin de man
technically he is 90% of half a driver

Holy crap, I over-credited the dude.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 14th, 2011, 8:51 am

Suspect:

Postby crazybalhead » September 14th, 2011, 8:52 am

yeah the charges stuck. A surprise to us all.