Re: < Official REDBULL FLUGTAG Thread > Vids added Pg.19

Postby slick » July 4th, 2011, 12:40 pm

52ft...

not bad i guess

honda4life

Re: Team 51 degrees or feet. ORANGE JOCKEY SHORTS FUH DE WIN

Postby honda4life » July 4th, 2011, 1:25 pm

it was orange wes?? thought it was red, anyways, next time stuff it or something nah :)

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2011, 1:29 pm

honda4life wrote:it was orange wes?? thought it was red, anyways, next time stuff it or something nah :)

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 1:33 pm

ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 4th, 2011, 1:45 pm

honda4life wrote:it was orange wes?? thought it was red, anyways, next time stuff it or something nah :)

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 1:53 pm

dah one have meh ah little ummmm loss for words for stacy

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2011, 2:08 pm

HondaHo de 1st wrote:dah one have meh ah little ummmm loss for words for stacy

how she "see" is different from she "remmeber" yuh perhaps? me enno

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 2:27 pm

HondaHo de 1st wrote:dah one have meh ah little ummmm loss for words for stacy

how she "see" is different from she "remmeber" yuh perhaps? me enno

Karl, you could say what de hell you want...... as long as you doh use LPG and Fridge in the same phrase......... LOL

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 4th, 2011, 2:33 pm

I'm tired of all the firetruckin talk about who win and who lose... Let's get down to the real issue at hand!

WEY D PIC OF D BETI'S????? :mrgreen:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » July 4th, 2011, 2:45 pm

^^^I second that

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 4th, 2011, 2:46 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I'm tired of all the firetruckin talk about who win and who lose... Let's get down to the real issue at hand!

WEY D PIC OF D BETI'S????? :mrgreen:

Seconded.

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 2:54 pm

forget all the other beit's, post pics of the sexi one up on the ramp taking pics.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 4th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Good point fella...

**ATTENTION PHOTOTAKEOUTTERS**

Please post pics of the Bess Beti's only... That means no big teef funers, no fat gyul & definitely no pics of 3 man hugging up wearing T-shirt & tie.. That eliminates about 75% of the crowd :lol: :lol:

Postby TRAE » July 4th, 2011, 3:08 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Good point fella...

**ATTENTION PHOTOTAKEOUTTERS**

Please post pics of the Bess Beti's only... That means no big teef funers, no fat gyul & definitely no pics of 3 man hugging up wearing T-shirt & tie

or Pics like this:

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 3:52 pm

I DOH KNOW WHAT PICS DEVI HAVE BUT AH KNOW FUH AH FACT WAGON R HAVE SOME WICKED BUNTAH PICS!!!!

DaveyRocket

Postby DaveyRocket » July 4th, 2011, 4:48 pm

It is time Trinis stop rewarding mediocrity.....i hear ppl say it was a good effort made by the teams.....what a load of balls.....the winning distance was 52ft......52FEET Trinidad serious?.....ppl average distance was 25-30ft.....that is so substandard compared to other international efforts and and the 207ft world record...men spend tens of thousands ah dollars on carbonfiber and others spend months to build something that just basically fall off the ramp into the water ..... We like to say we world class but the truth is we have a loong way to go......colour me ...disappointed....

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 4th, 2011, 4:56 pm

DaveyRocket wrote:It is time Trinis stop rewarding mediocrity.....i hear ppl say it was a good effort made by the teams.....what a load of balls.....the winning distance was 52ft......52FEET Trinidad serious?.....ppl average distance was 25-30ft.....that is so substandard compared to other international efforts and and the 207ft world record...men spend tens of thousands ah dollars on carbonfiber and others spend months to build something that just basically fall off the ramp into the water ..... We like to say we world class but the truth is we have a loong way to go......colour me ...disappointed....

You also seem upset.

Postby r3iXmann » July 4th, 2011, 5:09 pm

DaveyRocket wrote:It is time Trinis stop rewarding mediocrity.....i hear ppl say it was a good effort made by the teams.....what a load of balls.....the winning distance was 52ft......52FEET Trinidad serious?.....ppl average distance was 25-30ft.....that is so substandard compared to other international efforts and and the 207ft world record...men spend tens of thousands ah dollars on carbonfiber and others spend months to build something that just basically fall off the ramp into the water ..... We like to say we world class but the truth is we have a loong way to go......colour me ...disappointed....

how far did your craft go?

DaveyRocket

Postby DaveyRocket » July 4th, 2011, 5:16 pm

Asking me how far my craft went is a stupid way to justify a substandard performance....if we Trinis want to be called world class then we Must compare ourselves to and perform according to world class standards.....and fyi my craft is one of the 100 plus that were not selected...instead they opted for a flying toilet, pink box and and something with a panty....WTF......

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2011, 5:27 pm

hmmmmm, if ya friends with the right ppl on facebook, there are allot of photos..
270593_10150700732560577_785860576_19332451_6643309_n.jpg

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2011, 5:32 pm

but seriously, the place to be was on the water, this was probably the biggest raft up i have ever seen, easily over 40+ boats, there were strings of 10+ 40'+ Betrams parked up with hundreds of ppl on the water..
264177_10150699776040577_785860576_19316067_7834813_n.jpg

Postby r3iXmann » July 4th, 2011, 5:40 pm

DaveyRocket wrote:Asking me how far my craft went is a stupid way to justify a substandard performance....if we Trinis want to be called world class then we Must compare ourselves to and perform according to world class standards.....and fyi my craft is one of the 100 plus that were not selected...instead they opted for a flying toilet, pink box and and something with a panty....WTF......

well then STFU!

it was the first time anything like that was attempted, so kudos for all who made the effort

i'm sure if this becomes a regular thing, the quality of the craft and techniques will increase

like yuh hurt because of

DaveyRocket wrote:and fyi my craft is one of the 100 plus that were not selected..

take 2 tums and check we back tomorrow

Postby Stephon. » July 4th, 2011, 7:05 pm

The reports of the robberies were false, said minister Sandy.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 7:52 pm

You'd swear the craft with the most distance gets a job at NASA or a scholarship at MIT.

Breds distance was 1/3 of the points, there was also a silly skit and presentation/costume that made up 2/3 of the points. At some point people hadda realise that this is not all about flight and distance - it's all a fun event. In the UK flugtag people made a flying Irish Bar complete with beer kegs, a bowl of peanuts and a bartender - UK is third world and you disappointed in them too?

kudos to the teams who were creative enough to make the list!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » July 4th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Davey, regarding your intention to properly aspire to international standards, your principles are admirable. You are right.

But, in this case the answers to your quandry are not as cut and dry as you think. In fact they are dripping with disparities that make it impossible to be anything better than what we all saw.

On Saturday 2nd, at the hangar at Pier 2, one of the Red Bull foreign officials and our Aeronautical Engineer ended up in a heated argument that soured every team privy. Our engineer was asking about the direction the ramp was facing and the expected wind direction. We noticed that it basically set teams up for a heavy tailwind with a good possibility of a crosswind and rare chance for actual headwind. Hence the Red Bull official's comment that "nobody is setting any world records at this meet" which set the whole argument off in the first place. Naturally, a tail wind is counter productive. For example, if you can run at 15mph to push your craft down the ramp and there is a 10mph tail wind you effectively have 5mph worth of lift potential.

As good as we design, build and launch any craft, there is only so much a pilot can do with little windspeed and no lift. Still, those teams who built machines to fly fared noticeably better than the fun dunkers.

There were other disparities regarding conflict of interest with respect to the Tribe who helped set up the event. I saw a team member from Tribe's crew doing test jumps off of the jetty for the safety marshals to check how long it would take to recover jumpers. While logistically this was fine, they technically enjoyed a lot of insider info. Their craft and rig was also eccentric with respect to the rules and what other teams were allowed in the end to run.

At the end of the day though this was a fun event and we had FUN. So when we get our venue and taxiway up to World standard, having learnt lessons from this one, we will see IF we can match the World's best Flug Tag machines. After that, there is always some good party music, rum and red bull and trust me, we needed it because that traffic was insane.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » July 4th, 2011, 7:57 pm

The basic point is this. For a world record, EVERYTHING has to be perfect and then you still need a bit of luck.

Did you guys see the Obi Wanted Red Bull Team's flight? That was just EPIC, than pilot handled it like a JEDI. That was some proper movie stuff and that guy has stuntman potential!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » July 4th, 2011, 8:08 pm

And at least we can laugh about another thing. Our sponsored Flying Fishermen Crew craft was built by a team that never built anything as a team before, far less for a plane. It was built for under TT$5000 and still beat 34 other teams for distance flown at 35ft, holding that lead for most of the day. We were disappointed to just see it nose down, but when we saw the distance it was still worth a smile. The experience of entering, building it and competing was amazing and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2011, 8:13 pm

according to wiki

the average distance is no world record, and trinidad seems to be on par with some other countries (even the event in Sydney only had a max distance of 12m)

http://www.redbull.com/cs/Satellite/en_ ... 2752887744

i am sure the officials can look at a design and launch area and know instinctively who has a good chance.. we need to remember, what we may see as silly etc, foreigners and red bull officials may see as culture and enjoy it... it wold be intersting to see how the finished edited video looks compared to other events, casue reselling the video rights etc is where redbull makes their money

Postby MG Man » July 4th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Bezman wrote:according to wiki

the average distance is no world record, and trinidad seems to be on par with some other countries (even the event in Sydney only had a max distance of 12m)

i am sure the officials can look at a design and launch area and know instinctively who has a good chance.. we need to remember, what we may see as silly etc, foreigners and red bull officials may see as culture and enjoy it... it wold be intersting to see how the finished edited video looks compared to other events, casue reselling the video rights etc is where redbull makes their money

THIS
I had a good laugh watching the footage.........and a wee bit jealous I wasn't one of the crash pilots :(

Postby sMASH » July 4th, 2011, 8:18 pm

dis is ah kicks event,,,,

doh beat up...