Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Parvin » July 2nd, 2011, 5:58 pm

Hmmm, how come I didn't get anything like that yet ... smh

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2011, 6:15 pm

@ M_2NR

Nay, carrier update doesn't do anything, it should have at least fixed the caller id issue

How are you unlocked? ultrasn0w with the iPad baseband?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2011, 6:33 pm

I can confirm that baseband downgrades to 04.10.01 when downgrading to 4.3.3 from iOS 5 beta 2 and gevey pro works.

Postby M_2NR » July 2nd, 2011, 6:46 pm

i know it doesnt lol... i meant if anyone else got it on their 3GS.

I'm on the last unlockable BB. 05.13.04 thankfully. I doubt it would fix it.

thanks for confirming the BB downgrades as well! hmmmm if only devteam had the time to figure out how to utilize that!

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » July 2nd, 2011, 8:29 pm

whats up with this jailbreak for the ipad2?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2011, 9:32 pm

I know you know it doesn't do anything, I was just saying lol

Yeah you're lucky I had to do it on my 3GS but it's reliable I never had any problems with it and the GPS issue is w/e

I was thinking the same thing about utilizing the baseband downgrade..hmm hopefully we won't have a need for that if they start to unlock the phones we already have. there's a good chance that they would depending on your carrier. most of us that have locked phones have them locked to AT&T so yeah, all we need is AT&T to get over their 'exclusive mentality', they're buying T-Mobile anyways so they benefit nothing really from keeping their phones locked

with 88% of market share in the U.S if the T-Mobile USA deal goes through (which it most likely will) I think it's fair to assume that AT&T won't have anything to worry about.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 2nd, 2011, 9:58 pm

shagadelic99tt wrote:whats up with this jailbreak for the ipad2?

Read that it was leaked out today, but when i tried the exploit on my iPad2, nothing happened, Safari crashed and no Cydia installed.

You can try for yourself here: http://www.redmondpie.com/ipad-2-jailbr ... ild-video/

Postby M_2NR » July 2nd, 2011, 10:50 pm

again... DO NOT USE THAT IPAD JAILBREAK.

Its unstable... and not even close to finish... :?

mojo, d minute att open up that window, boy oh boy.... d amount of calls they would get.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 3rd, 2011, 12:32 am

M_2NR wrote:mojo, d minute att open up that window, boy oh boy.... d amount of calls they would get.

I can't wait, I have 4 iPhone 4's in my family that are using gevey pros that I want to legit unlock, once I do I'll probably be selling a couple in anticipation of the next gen iPhone before the price drops to much ;)

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 4th, 2011, 6:53 am

Report: Manufacturers Preparing for iPhone 5 and iPad 3 Production
Material suppliers reportedly readying for new iPad and iPhone.

It has been safe to assume that the iPhone 5, in some form or another, is arriving in the next couple of months. What hasn't been so easy to swallow was the report that the third generation iPad is on its way as well.

According to DigiTimes, parts manufacturers are preparing materials for production of both Apple products, although make note of only one iPhone model.

Foxconn Electronics, Simplo Technologies, Dynapack International Technology, and a number of other parts manufacturers, have all purportedly began getting their ducks in a row for the new Apple devices. While these companies have been aware of the next iPhone, it appears that the iPad 3 has just recently been added to their production schedules.

Accompanying the single iPhone 5 model, sources have also stated that Apple will start supplying the iPad 3 in August, and will include upgraded features such as a thinner and lighter body, in addition to a 250ppi resolution screen. In comparison, the iPad and iPad 2 both have a 132ppi density while the iPhone 4's Retina Display boasts a rather uncontested 326ppi display.

http://gear.ign.com/articles/118/1180213p1.html

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » July 4th, 2011, 2:48 pm

Why would a carrier prevent the use of wifi hotspot on iphones? I received a carrier update (bmobile) that removed this feature on my unlocked iphone 4. I also can't seem to activate facetime again after this carrier update.

To those that have to use roundabout methods to get purchases from the app store when do you think TnT will be getting its own app store like Jamaica?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 2:54 pm

^ A carrier prevents use of personal hotspot in order to limit additional bandwidth use on their systems and in the case of AT&T and other carriers, they charge an additional tethering fee for use of the hotspot. Try doing a hard restart on your phone and keep playing with the facetime button on/off, sometimes something as simple as that fixes it, just give it time it should activate.

I'm not entirely sure when or if trinidad will be getting their own app store but they might do something that ports trinidad users to the U.S store or some official work around that allows the use of a trinidad credit card or whatever.

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » July 4th, 2011, 3:04 pm

I understand why At&T would do it but not why bmobile would do it. They offer no 3G data plan for cellphones and the iphone does not support 4G. Also Bmobile doesn't offer 4G directly to cell phones in the first place so to me removal of the personal hotspot seems unnecessary.

How do I hard reset my iphone 4? Is that holding down the home button and power button at the same time for 10 seconds?

I genuinely think we'll be getting our own App store. If Jamaica can get one why not TnT? I have also never heard of other countries being able to access the US itunes store for purchasing. I wish they did though. Jumping through hoops to get apps, you'd think Apple didn't want your money.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 4th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Google has reportedly submitted Google+ for iOS to Apple for App Store approval, reports Mashable.

The information comes from Google technican Erica Joy who posted on Google+ saying...

For my iPhone using friends: the Google+ iPhone app has been submitted to the App store (no not today, sometime prior to today) and is awaiting approval.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 4:36 pm

rawCpoppa wrote:I understand why At&T would do it but not why bmobile would do it. They offer no 3G data plan for cellphones and the iphone does not support 4G. Also Bmobile doesn't offer 4G directly to cell phones in the first place so to me removal of the personal hotspot seems unnecessary.

How do I hard reset my iphone 4? Is that holding down the home button and power button at the same time for 10 seconds?

I genuinely think we'll be getting our own App store. If Jamaica can get one why not TnT? I have also never heard of other countries being able to access the US itunes store for purchasing. I wish they did though. Jumping through hoops to get apps, you'd think Apple didn't want your money.

whoever pushed out the carrier update for bmobile probably didn't know what they were doing in the first place, so that's probably the most logical explanation. If they did know what they were doing the first thing the should/would have fixed is the caller id issue.

Yeah just keep holding the home and sleep/wake button until it shuts off and then reboots.

well bmobile f up their whole business plan when they decided to pursue wimax and not pursue 3G at all in the past, they could have their up and running long time ago but they were concentrated on blink gay ass '4G' but that's another story.

Apple want's your money but there are legal hoops to jump through before getting it, they can't just decide to open a market down here without getting the right approval etc from the government (since they have their hands into everydamnthing) Simply put that's Jamacia, not Trinidad. we're used to bullshitt and lack of innovation.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » July 4th, 2011, 4:43 pm

From an inside source at bmobile.... "we are working at getting Trinidad on iTunes"... soon

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 5th, 2011, 11:08 pm

I posting here cause only the apple men would really be interested, anyone looking for a Apple TV first gen let me know (you can use it to watch netflix etc with the dns hack, or make a hackint0sh etc), i have one for sale, PM me an offer if you interested.

Postby M_2NR » July 6th, 2011, 2:12 am

Idlemind et al. iPad 2 jailbreak is out!!!

Go to http://www.jailbreakme.com

Postby S_2NR » July 6th, 2011, 6:56 am

streetlifestyle wrote:From an inside source at bmobile.... "we are working at getting Trinidad on iTunes"... soon

:lol: :lol: "soon" for bmobile is 5 yrs minimum.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 6th, 2011, 7:44 am

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 6th, 2011, 10:51 am

Parvin wrote:@ M_2nr

Blog report here

http://www.gsmarena.com/jailbreakme_30_ ... s-2856.php

The iPhone Dev Team wrote:Once again, @comex has resurrected http://www.jailbreakme.com for your jailbreaking ease and pleasure!

@comex developed what is now the third installment (and his second) of jailbreakme.com, the easiest way to jailbreak your iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad (including the iPad2!). No computer is necessary for jbme3.0…just browse to http://www.jailbreakme.com on your device and install it from there!

While @comex and others have worked hard to make this as simple as possible, some people may have questions and problems may arise. Rather than inundate comex with any questions over twitter, please consider using either our comments section below, or visit http://jbqa.me

Please read “More Information” on the jbme3.0 page for some basic background information and ways you can thank @comex. Here are some additional Q&As beyond that:

Q: Which devices and firmware versions are supported?
A: In this initial release, the following configurations are supported:

iPad1: 4.3 through 4.3.3
    iPad2: 4.3.3
    iPhone3GS: 4.3 through 4.3.3
    iPhone4: 4.3 through 4.3.3
    iPhone4-CDMA: 4.2.6 through 4.2.8
    iPod touch 3g: 4.3, 4.3.2, 4.3.3
    iPod touch 4g: 4.3 through 4.3.3

Q: Do the holes discovered by @comex put my device at risk?
A: Yes. We recommend installing “PDF Patcher 2” in Cydia once you’re jailbroken to eliminate this risk (any firmware version).

Q: How does jbme3.0 differ from the existing jailbreaks?
A: jbme3.0 is entirely userland-based, from start to finish. The A5 chip in the iPad2 has no iBoot or bootrom-level exploits yet, so tools like redsn0w, PwnageTool and sn0wbreeze can’t use the limera1n bootrom exploit to inject the jailbreak. Even for those devices where limera1n works, jbme3.0 injects the jailbreak with a userland exploit.

Q: If I’m already jailbroken on the latest firmware, is there any advantage to jailbreaking again?
A: No, but you should consider showing this to your friends! Spread the jailbreaking fever.

Q: Are the holes exploited by jbme3.0 closed in iOS5?
A: The holes still exist in the iOS5 betas, but they’ll almost certainly be fixed by the time iOS5 is public. However because the iPad2 had no public jailbreak yet, it probably wasn’t worth waiting until the fall to use them. If history repeats itself though, there will be more holes and exploits.

Q: Will I permanently lose the jailbreak if I need to restore my device?
A: For all except the iPad2, saving your SHSH blobs should let you always restore your device to iOS versions where this jailbreak works. The iPad2 is a little more complicated. If you have a wifi-only iPad2 and saved SHSH blobs, you’re in good shape. But if you have the GSM or CDMA iPad2, you won’t be able to restore to 4.3.3 or lower once Apple stops signing its baseband. There are a few ideas that might work to get around this limitation, but for now it’s best to assume there’s no going back to 4.3.3 once 4.3.4 is out for iPad2 GSM or CDMA owners.

Q: I heard this new unionfs stuff is dangerous?
A: Define dangerous :) Seriously though, although unionfs is a huge improvement to the install time of the jailbreak, it is brand new code and there is the possibility something will go wrong. Just keep regular backups of your media and content and you should be fine. If there are any problems, they should appear within the first few days, so hold off and let “everyone else” test the waters if you’d like.

------

Wall Street Journal wrote:According to some suppliers of components to Apple, the new version of the iPhone is expected to be thinner and lighter than the iPhone 4 and sport an 8-megapixel camera. One person said the new iPhone will operate on Qualcomm Inc.’s wireless baseband chips. The current iPhone 4 uses memory chips made by Samsung Electronics Co. and baseband chips from German chip maker Infineon Technologies AG, according to a report by market-research firm iSuppli Corp.

Verizon execs have already said the next iPhone will be a GSM/CDMA world phone - which means it is likely that it will use Qualcomm’s Gobi chips (As the current Verizon iPhone and iPad currently do). Numerous reports have also said it will contain a 8megapixel camera – from Sony and other manufacturers.

There is some question about whether or not these devices will meet production deadlines, however…

Two of the people, however, cautioned that shipments of the new iPhone could be delayed if Hon Hai can’t improve its yield rate as the new iPhone is “complicated and difficult to assemble.”

Foxconn CEO, Terry Gou wrote:“The touch-screen devices are so thin. It’s really difficult to install so many components into the iPhones and iPads.We hope to raise the yield rate and volume in the second half which will help improve our gross margin.”

Interestingly, Foxconn is said to be shipping 25 million units this year. If you add the 15 million units that Pegatron is said to be shipping, that’s 40 million units already ordered.

------

If Apple does release a new iPad this year, it will be a high-end model with a greater pixel density display rather than an entirely new third-generation model, according to a new report.

Analyst Craig Berger with FBR Capital Markets cited contacts in Apple's overseas supply chain in a note to investors that says Apple could release a so-called "iPad 2 Plus" later this year. He was told that component makers have received requests-for-quotes from Apple for such a device, though no production schedule has been confirmed.

"We hear Apple could migrate the iPad's display resolution from a current pixel density of 132 (pixels per inch) to 250-300 ppi for the 'iPad 2 Plus' (note that the iPhone 4's screen is 326 ppi)," Berger wrote.

But Berger also cautioned that while the information shared is "interesting," he would need to hear more information about a new hardware model before "fully believing" that a new model iPad will debut this year.

The latest suggestion of a new model comes less than a week after a report claimed that Apple will launch a so-called "iPad 3" this October. But if Berger's sources are accurate, that rumored device won't be a full-fledged third-generation iPad, and will instead be an expansion of the iPad product lineup.

The launch of an "iPad 2 Plus" this holiday could diminish production volumes in the fourth quarter of 2011, Berger said, by resulting in screen production constraints at suppliers like LG and Samsung. He said those companies would "likely have difficulties" ramping up production of such high-resolution screens immediately.

Berger had previously heard that Apple is evaluating various touchscreen solutions for the actual third-generation iPad, but prototypes of that hardware are not expected to be built until early 2012.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 6th, 2011, 11:44 am

Ahhhhhhh...iPad2 jb'd and queued up.

Thanks for the lookout M2nr. Time to eat up some bandwidth and memory lol

Postby M_2NR » July 6th, 2011, 9:49 pm

i know yuh waiting long time bro.

Parvin, i eh even gone click that link. :lol:
After a while you would realize how biased that site (gsmarena) is.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 7th, 2011, 8:31 am

i does just check it to see what's new really

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 7th, 2011, 9:35 am

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2011, 7:18 pm

got a replacement back plate for the 4... and a CF skin. (like di-noc) im loving eetttt

If anyone want a CF Skin, let me know. I have an extra one.
And yes.. its textured. Feels REALLY nice lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2011, 7:43 pm

idlemind wrote:Ahhhhhhh...iPad2 jb'd and queued up.

Thanks for the lookout M2nr. Time to eat up some bandwidth and memory lol
what's the first things you plan to install once you jailbreak the iPad 2?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 8th, 2011, 10:42 pm

One word...one app....you know the thing man Duane, yuh tryin an set me up owa?

Well not really...sbsettings, ifile, 5 level keyboard...etx

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2011, 12:23 am

^ was just asking because I have a iPad 2 and a iPhone 4 and neither are jailbroken and honestly I nuh missing it.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 9th, 2011, 12:41 am

DocsToGo, MyPad+ and LogMeIn Ignition are really impressive.
The latter allows the ability to copy files from the remote PC to the iPad, which i fine was amazing.
DocsToGo syncs most office file types from any desktop to your pad on your wlan.

Also, the HD Games are visually epic.
From Real Racing 2 to even Lego Harry Potter....graphics are simply stunning.
And in my opinion worth the $$.

Kinda sucks to fall back on a 50MB 8GB 3G when you have 350+ MB available on this thing..