Everything you need to know about: Lifting your truck

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jpec

Re: Everything you need to know about: Lifting your truck

Postby jpec » June 30th, 2011, 8:55 pm

would post them soon enough..kinda lacking some pics of a build just more before and after shots...and in comparison to changing the entire suspension system vs lift blocks...the up and down travel you get with a new suspension system is by far superior to just plain blocks cuz they are still standard suspension...and one thing too i forgot to mention is putting the blocks and stuff you raise the center gravity of the vehicle making it much easier for a roll over and u get more body roll and the stock suspension isnt stiff enough tocombat the roll...making it quite dangerous if u take a corner at any kinda speed (which shouldnt be done in a 4x4 but is done at times..)

Postby sliderz1 » June 30th, 2011, 9:11 pm

^^or u mean as compared to a full off road type suspension...........den yeh i understand........

jpec

Postby jpec » June 30th, 2011, 11:55 pm

yuppp...thats what i meant..sorry for d misunderstanding but i was kinda in a rush and left out some details lol

Postby sliderz1 » July 1st, 2011, 12:04 am

small thing dsi

JD......

Postby JD...... » July 1st, 2011, 1:34 pm

one thing to add that has not been mentioned, when you add larger tires to your truck you are increasing the traction and weight thus making the engine work harder. This will increase the possibility of bogging down while offroading.

Next for every modification made they will have positive and negative to come from it.
so like most of you are doing here, educate yourself on the modification before going and getting it installed, because the person selling it is not going to tell you about the negative stuff.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 2:00 pm

^ word

jpec

Postby jpec » July 1st, 2011, 2:32 pm

JD... thats why you re-ratio gears so the engine doesnt have to work as hard

Postby sliderz1 » July 1st, 2011, 3:32 pm

jpec.........like u into d full works yo

yeh JD......... educate and opinion-ate ftw

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 3:33 pm

if you're going a much larger size over stock, then the power loss according to tyre size becomes an issue. BUt if the change in size isn't much, then it's not too much of a concern.

Postby sliderz1 » July 1st, 2011, 3:40 pm

^^not when u have a powertrain like yours
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 1st, 2011, 4:33 pm

Good info guys.

JPEC.. you've changed the ratio on your lux?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 8:00 pm

I might not go larger than something in a 275/75R16... want to keep the gearing and the speedo as close as possible to stock.

Plus a 2.5" suspension lift. Was thinking of just getting some shackles and spacers made, but considering how heavy the fatty navararara is (1950KG TARE - the ranger is 1790KG i believe) and the type of trails we like to go on, a full suspension kit would be a better bet.

Postby sliderz1 » July 1st, 2011, 8:15 pm

^^so u goin for a lift in excess of 2.5'' then?? full works??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 8:46 pm

nah i not going beyond 2.5". DOn't want the hassle of having to extend the control arms, brake lines, etc.

Postby sliderz1 » July 1st, 2011, 9:09 pm

by chance the lift would void the warranty??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2011, 9:13 pm

yup, would void the suspension warranty, but not the engine or body.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 2nd, 2011, 8:19 pm

I'm getting The ARB Old Man Emu Kit....

Last edited by *Phoenix* on July 2nd, 2011, 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jpec

Postby jpec » July 2nd, 2011, 8:58 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Good info guys.

JPEC.. you've changed the ratio on your lux?

nope jeremy...right now im runnin 31's on my hilux...gonna change to 32's soon tho as 33's would rub.

and yeh sliderz i like dem tings so i do a lot of research and hands on here and there too lol 8-)

oh and its recommended to re-ratio gears if your going for a tyre size that is 2 inches or more than stock size in diameter...so yah know if yah goin 35's den yah got to re-ratio especially if ya want an accurate readin on ya speedo...and save gas and engine life

Postby sliderz1 » July 2nd, 2011, 11:42 pm

Austrailia has a 4x4 show..........awesome!!!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 12th, 2011, 9:55 pm

These are the Best of the Best!

jpec

Postby jpec » July 14th, 2011, 6:27 pm

the ultimate suspension is the best actually

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 14th, 2011, 8:36 pm

How so... ?

droppa

Postby droppa » July 15th, 2011, 1:07 pm

ultimate suspension looks like best of both worlds, over OME, which looks better for off road usage

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 15th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Anyone ever did a lift on one of the new hilux locally? Looking at doing a lift and prol a suspension upgrade later in the year..

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 15th, 2011, 2:14 pm

droppa wrote:ultimate suspension looks like best of both worlds, over OME, which looks better for off road usage

:evil: Now allyuh bussin this info - after I already ordered a OME Kit! :twisted:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2011, 3:21 pm

rx80 wrote:Anyone ever did a lift on one of the new hilux locally? Looking at doing a lift and prol a suspension upgrade later in the year..

There are a few D4-D IMV hiluxes out there on the road with lift kits.

This model comes with front coil-overs, while the previous model came with torsion bars (IIRC - I could be wrong).

In this case, you have a couple options in lifting the truck:

1. Coil Spacers + Longer rear Shackles
The easiest method of lifting, basically putting a spacer between the coil-springs and suspension mount, as well as using a longer rear-shackles to push the rear leaf springs down. There are kits you can buy online with spacers and greasable shackles - eg. Deans Wheels has a calmini spacer + shackle kit for sale - $5000 installed. You're using back the same suspension components, so dont' expect any upgrade in performance or any increase in articulation of the suspension; but you at least maintain the stock ride.

2. Lift-Blocks
Basically a set of blocks that go on all the mounting points between the body and the chassis. To be combined with a spacer + shackle kit, in order to keep the shocks/springs at the same stock height/extension when driving. Usually constructed out of polyurethane, but can be milled/fabricated if available.

3. Full Suspension kit
Usually comes with Front spacers, new coilovers, new leafsprings, longer shackles & pins (greasable), longer ubolts and new bushings. This is the most complete kit and gives the best overall performance (better ride, better shock absorption on a trail, more suspension articulation). Usually the most expensive option, but most companies give a complete kit to swap out all the required components.

Here's an example of what's possible with your newer-model hilux. This is Calmini's page for Nissan D40 navara/frontier lift-kits - haven't seen any lift kits for the Hilux from Calmini, but the setup/parts are very similar.

http://www.purenissan.com/05%20suspension.htm

This is the catalogue page for the Vigo/IMV hilux (2005 - on) from Ironman 4x4.
http://www.ironman4x4.com/html/toyota/71.html

Couple points to note:

- Safest height to lift without modifying major components is 2.5" on most of our local trucks. If you plan to go above 3", you'll have to extend the brake lines, possibly drop the front differential with special brackets, get longer control arms, etc. You'll also have to consider the increased angle for the driveshaft connection with the rear axle, as well as the CV joints (hence the front diff drop). Your rubber CV boots may wear out faster as well. Other unforeseen factors like modifying the radiator location, extending the spout for the fuel-tank, etc. will have to be taken into consideration.

- Lifting beyond 3" will drastically change the handling characteristics of the truck. COG will be higher and chances of roll-over increased. Also you won't be able to park in certain shopping centers (eg. Pricesmart in POS, Long circular mall, Nipdec carpark, Hyatt carpark, etc.).

Basic idea is to lift according to your intended requirements (cosmetic vs. performance vs. larger tire fitment) but as little as possible.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 15th, 2011, 3:54 pm

I see you've done alot of research, i dont want to make any adjustments to suspension just yet(atleast not until i'm comfortable enough to) was just planning to do a body lift use some blocks and a steering extension, looking for someone who has done this type of work before, similar to this link>>>>>>>>>>>>
http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/4x4-clu ... hilux-vigo
Anyone knows where i can acquire a complete body lift kit?

Postby sliderz1 » July 15th, 2011, 4:19 pm

rx80 wrote:I see you've done alot of research, i dont want to make any adjustments to suspension just yet(atleast not until i'm comfortable enough to) was just planning to do a body lift use some blocks and a steering extension, looking for someone who has done this type of work before, similar to this link>>>>>>>>>>>>

you new to 4x4's??

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » July 15th, 2011, 5:24 pm

I have the ifs lifts for pretty much all the trucks here you can go with Ironman or ARB standard 2-2.5 of you can go with the big boys superior engineering 5 inch for most trucks, navarrra, hilux, ranger,dmax,frontier,older toyota IFS. put that with an Ironman ro ARB and you can't fail. The bigger kits are made in Australia and I will give the same 2 year warranty that I do on the ARB and Ironman 2 year 40,000km

cell 374-9339

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 16th, 2011, 8:41 am

sliderz1 wrote:
rx80 wrote:I see you've done alot of research, i dont want to make any adjustments to suspension just yet(atleast not until i'm comfortable enough to) was just planning to do a body lift use some blocks and a steering extension, looking for someone who has done this type of work before, similar to this link>>>>>>>>>>>>

you new to 4x4's??

Actually yeh, first time owning one worthwile. I know how raising/lifting can change your suspension geometry and have some adverse effects on the components so I'll stick to just a bodylift until I can afford a reputable complete suspension lift with new control arms etc...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”