Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

zico85

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby zico85 » June 10th, 2011, 6:32 pm

dat is sweet,what controllers are those?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 10th, 2011, 7:50 pm

why 2 systems?

love the headphones

Postby gt4tified » June 11th, 2011, 12:02 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:why 2 systems?

Was wondering the same thing? Is it like dem long time injun wedding when it had two tassa side clashing, but nowadays instead is two DJ soundclashing?

Btw, anyone interested in a pair of DN-S5000 Denon players....considering selling mine to upgrade to the 4500’s. I have them from brand new, and they are in very good condition. PM for info.

Postby SR » June 11th, 2011, 6:42 am

not quite pa/ pro setup

running a pair of 8" self powered monitors with an 18" self powered sub
pre amp and eq all gemini for my backporch "liming" system

corner loaded the sub utilizing the acoustics of the area and the system get quite loud with excellent bass response
high freq not as clear as i would like it but thats due to the horns in the 8" monitors freq response range

ZR

Postby ZR » June 11th, 2011, 12:02 pm

those are controllers from Numark. the Mixtrack Pro and Mixdeck. we carried 2 setups because at another event we did the mixdeck had encountered some Mapping issues. so it was basically having a backup system incase we encounter any problems.

ZR

Postby ZR » June 11th, 2011, 12:07 pm

Currently im going to purchase the Numark NS6 as it controls 4 decks using SErato Itch. Check it out..wicked controller. Controllers the way to go nowadays. everyting is laptops and harddrives hardly cd's

Postby gt4tified » June 12th, 2011, 11:20 pm

I played in a birthday party last nite, and started off with my DN-S5000’s used in standalone mode, but I had transferred most of the music that the crowd wanted onto mp3 so I had to breakout the laptop and use Torq for the remainder of the night. Was a cool scene though.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 13th, 2011, 4:32 pm

Aye Ralph. I sold the 4 X 4 Staner set. That dude is one Happy DJ. He cya done call meh and say how much he likes the set.

bayrum

Postby bayrum » June 25th, 2011, 12:19 am

Anybody got a double 15inch scoop for sale looking for one to buy $$

Postby gt4tified » June 25th, 2011, 10:44 pm

Check de papers....ppl always have scoops listed for sale there.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 27th, 2011, 8:39 am

Loving this thread!

Now looking to going into some DJing and was thinking of a setup like this:

- Laptop w/Virtual DJ
- Controllers like the one pictured above
- 2 10-15" Self powered speakers

What do you guys think and how much do you think the controllers and speakers are going to cost?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 27th, 2011, 1:30 pm

bayrum wrote:Anybody got a double 15inch scoop for sale looking for one to buy $$

I have two single 15" scoops for sale if u want. Call Kasey 761-7699.

Postby gt4tified » June 28th, 2011, 1:42 am

DJ Q wrote:Loving this thread!

Now looking to going into some DJing and was thinking of a setup like this:

- Laptop w/Virtual DJ
- Controllers like the one pictured above
- 2 10-15" Self powered speakers

What do you guys think and how much do you think the controllers and speakers are going to cost?

Laptop - $3k upwards
Controller - Best bang for buck, check this out >>http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/TorqXponent.html
Self-powered Speakers - I would recommend active sub and top eg. Gemini but not sure of prices on this.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » June 28th, 2011, 2:42 am

i have 5 powered 15" monitors, a numark m2 mixer and i use my laptop with vdj and with that i does mash up.... my next investment is a controller, looking at the numark mixtrack....

Postby X_Factor » June 28th, 2011, 6:21 am

posted pic lower
thats the power a friend of my cuz used
he upgraded since then
Last edited by X_Factor on June 29th, 2011, 7:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gt4tified » June 28th, 2011, 10:23 pm

X_Factor wrote:http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1353031833795&set=a.1037863514784.149776.1471400043&type=1

thats the power a friend of my cuz used
he upgraded since then

Not everyone on f/b u know.... :roll:

Allyuh, where locally can I get the lil laptop stand that either goes on a table top or attaches to a console and what kinda price? Thanks.

Postby X_Factor » June 29th, 2011, 6:48 am

and imagine the guy upgraded since then eh....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 29th, 2011, 7:47 pm

oho so no comments on d link i posted , great ....... :roll: :roll: :roll:

well i removing it now so hard luck ....... :roll: :roll: :roll:
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on July 6th, 2011, 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gt4tified » June 29th, 2011, 9:27 pm

X_Factor....not bad. The EAW processor is the best thing in that rack tho....its essential to getting the home-grown EAW’s to sound anything like the original ones.

I called Steve’s electronics for the laptop stand...frikkin $875! I gone on ebay....de same thing....US$25. I’z one less person gonna have his wallet a$$fcuked by dem.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 29th, 2011, 10:12 pm

wat exactly the EAW processor does?

Postby gt4tified » June 29th, 2011, 10:40 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:wat exactly the EAW processor does?

In one word....EVERYTHING! :lol:

Seriously though, its like a complete loudspeaker management system....signal processing, equalization, phase adjustment, frequency crossover, sonic maximization, compression....its does all of these and much, much more in real time.

The first set of ‘big DJ’s’ using EAW’s used the DBX driverack to process the signal, but I remember the difference when I first heard a proper EAW processor being used...it was by DJ Black Fox a year for Carnival maybe about ten or more years ago. He had a 12x12 system on a truck and when the DJ was on the mic, with his voice alone you had to cover your ears, far less for the music! lol

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 30th, 2011, 2:58 am

you watching lab gruppen amps there^^ by chance?

haves me a 10000q on the way lol

Postby X_Factor » June 30th, 2011, 6:51 am

Those are the FP 14000 and a pair of crest 9002

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2011, 7:57 am

Does it do high pass filtering ?
ie limit frequencies below eg 35hz ?

many a loudspeaker is blown because the design/power
caused cone overexcursion

gt4tified wrote:

Seriously though, its like a complete loudspeaker management system....signal processing, equalization, phase adjustment, frequency crossover, sonic maximization, compression....its does all of these and much, much more in real time.

The first set of ‘big DJ’s’ using EAW’s used the DBX driverack to process the signal, but I remember the difference when I first heard a proper EAW processor being used...it was by DJ Black Fox a year for Carnival maybe about ten or more years ago. He had a 12x12 system on a truck and when the DJ was on the mic, with his voice alone you had to cover your ears, far less for the music! lol

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 30th, 2011, 8:03 am

Nice setup Xfactor.

Guys, I wanted to invest in a really high quality system, but I am still undecided. I mean its like this:

On one hand if one was to invest in high quality equipment, givin the competetion in Trinidad here (its a real fight down ting in the Sound System industry), plus how every Tom, Dick, Harrylal is ah 'DJ' once dey own two zebra 18" and a Gemini mixer, how can one make back that money charging small money?

On the other hand if ur love for the Hobby of Sound Engineering and DJing, then by all means, if u can afford it, go big, but know that u can never recover ur investment.

I am building a large system slowly but surely (I already have plenty, but not enough to really make a significant impact on the professional industry). Main reason is cause I really like it. Dont know how far I will reach tho.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 30th, 2011, 8:31 am

pugboy wrote:Does it do high pass filtering ?
ie limit frequencies below eg 35hz ?

many a loudspeaker is blown because the design/power
caused cone overexcursion

gt4tified wrote:

Yeah it actually does:
http://www.eaw.com/info/EAW/Processor_I ... manual.pdf

But this particular processor is a pre-configured one really meant to use on EAW systems. Not very flexible crossovers, but if u running EAW sets, well ur work is made much easier.

Postby gt4tified » June 30th, 2011, 11:51 pm

southside connections wrote:you watching lab gruppen amps there^^ by chance?

haves me a 10000q on the way lol

Yes I did notice them...after looking hard the first time....so what? They do the same thing as other amps, just at a higher cost. Show me what speakers they using those to drive and then I’ll be impressed....and please don’t tell me its homemade EAW’s eh....thaz just a biiiiig let down.

Kasey, unless your big system can rival the top 10 systems in the country, then it may not be worth it IMO....unless you go with a high quality system and take on some live sound (read: band work) jobs. Daz why I decided to downgrade my old setup and go with the active Staners...I just went for the quality and do small high-end jobs. I not in de game full-time so its not my bread and butter (as you know).

Trying to save a little for these now: http://www.novacoustic.com/english/html/banana_one.html

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 1st, 2011, 12:12 am

http://www.martin-audio.com/software/software.asp

the program named Viewpoint
a easy to use program for line array placement

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » July 1st, 2011, 1:16 am

Interesting Thread, thanks Kasey. I`m into the DJ`n business as well, currently i have a full 2 x 2 set, EAW`s.

Its my second set, which comprises of:
2 subs loaded with 4 18`` Zebra (double magnet)
2 tops loaded with:
rcf 10``
flares - selenium 3305ti,
15`` sound barriers.

Amps:
Marathon pro 5050 - subs
Top Pro trx 3500 - 10`s an 15`s
Pyramid (pa1000) - units

Processor:
Behringer Dcx 2496 (set by Sanjay)

Mixer:
Numark c3usb

Machines:
Gemini cdmp 2600 and SL3.

This is my current set, an upgrade will be done before the year is over, but with the equipment i have currently this 2 x 2 really do perform.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 2nd, 2011, 9:36 pm

Nice stuff guys,
I have a small set. I have a business partner as well.

Personally I have 2 JBL JRX125's powered by an RMX2450 and two Pacrim powered 18"
I've heard people say that the pacrims give trouble but personally i've had no issues with them even after pushing hard for long periods of time.

My pardner has two powered monitors (15") and two powered 12" subs. we used those for very small venues.

most of our events usually cater for 250 people or less..
music is laptop based with virtual dj/traktor.

many people laugh when they see that it's not serato but it does the job.

i do have a cortex dmix600 which surprisingly works well (guess i didn't get one of the many bad eggs) but i hardly use it now. if anyone wants the cortex they could let me know.

looking to upgrade one day to a pair of pioneers and RaneTTM57SL. i used a set the other day and i was quite impressed with how easy it was to set up and how natural it is to use.