iDynamic

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby iDynamic » June 16th, 2011, 4:51 pm

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 16th, 2011, 5:52 pm

Anyone cold tell me if the Installous repository down please?

h**p://cydia.hackulo.us/

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 6:09 pm

Bezman wrote:the reps and ppl in bmobile etc, have no frigging clue whats going on... when i went to get edge they thought i wanted bluetooth to get ringtones and share school chirren porno's :? they didnt even know what EDGE was..

@M_2NR - mytriniphone.com :lol: Nope, i trashed everything, no emails, no databased backups, to server dumps, nothing, i wiped my hands clean on that, I gave everyone a chance to pickup the pieces..

got my last 300 USD from google ads the other day, I will certainly miss the pocket change more than the site :P

Boy... i still in shock right now. I just back home and playing the recording (thank God for my trusty old 6230! i recorded it on)
If you hear the toots she talking. Anyone working TSTT want the supervisor's name I'm willing to give it out.

Damn @ the site. Yuh coulda hit meh a admin status, I woulda clean she up nice. hehe :P jk.
I honestly dont know how u used to do it bro. You know what I talking about but I'm sure that pocket change used to pay off!

Ok... here is a summary of the conversation with Ms. J. (supervisor on the line for *100)
Disclaimer - This is solely information i got from the call placed today around 2:15pm. I'm just imparting it. It may not represent facts. Points are in order of the flow of the conversation.

- It is a micro sim card. They are not cutting the sim card.
- You are not getting a voice package with it because of the size of the sim card (what the... i know i lol'd too)
- It is just data services you are provided with the iPhone via 4G. (I tried to chain her up by asking if 4G going through the simcard hehe, she didnt take the bait)
- Money is being paid because of the hotspot.
- Phone is NOT UNLOCKED. Its is locked to bmobile.
- At this time it is only being offered in packages and NOT simfree.

I then tried asking about Duane issue and about Personal Hotspot.... here is what happened...

- If we go in an area that doesnt have 4G service there will be no fallback to EDGE... (lol...wut? so what 250MB EDGE data plan ulyuh offering? yea i asked about it)
- Still uncertain that it will fallback to EDGE or not (after i drill here)

:wtf:
Clearly they dont know what d ras is going on. I'll give them a month to iron out.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 16th, 2011, 6:34 pm

M_2NR wrote:You are not getting a voice package with it because of the size of the sim card

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 16th, 2011, 6:44 pm

A little iOS 5 battery love. Didn't really use it for anything for the past couple days.

(AT&T roaming on DIGICEL)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 16th, 2011, 6:59 pm

Ok the repository back up now.

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 7:11 pm

SRASC wrote:
M_2NR wrote:You are not getting a voice package with it because of the size of the sim card

hoss... you don't know how hard i tried to be serious for that convo... :lol:

mojosodope wrote:

Code: Select all

[img]http://i55.tinypic.com/14ajxbt.png[/img]

A little iOS 5 battery love. Didn't really use it for anything for the past couple days.

(AT&T roaming on DIGICEL)

if you had airplane mode on, you'd get at least 2 weeks, i kid u not!

Re: wtk. who unlocking iphone in chaguanas 4.1

Postby foss » June 16th, 2011, 8:01 pm

didn't know it have a Chaguanas 4.1
now I do.

Parvin

Re: wtk. who unlocking iphone in chaguanas 4.1

Postby Parvin » June 16th, 2011, 8:09 pm

1facepalm

:P

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 16th, 2011, 8:34 pm

Spoke to a bmobile rep today @ Trincity, and asked a few questions about iPhone and 3G service coming to Trinidad, here is what he had to say:

-iPhone is locked to bmobile
-You can't buy a microSIM from them, they are using a SIM cutter to cut the regular SIM
-There are no plans to have a 3G voice/data network such as HSPA+ as there is a government limitation on the spectrum that isn't allowing them to launch such a network.
Last edited by jsm1985 on June 16th, 2011, 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 8:37 pm

i still lol'n about the first thing in my post... *dies*

but i really cant believe ppl buying a locked iPhone

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 8:39 pm

^ interesting - a few posts up a supervisor at bmobile told another user that they use microsims and NOT a cutter

the model numbers on the phones are clearly unlocked models

bmobile engineers have confirmed that 3G is coming to their voice network later this year, the equipment is already procured and being setup.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 16th, 2011, 8:42 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ interesting - a few posts up a supervisor at bmobile told another user that they use microsims and NOT a cutter

bmobile engineers have confirmed that 3G is coming to their voice network later this year, the equipment is already procured and being setup.

u think that it would be at a reasonable price and also if current data sim owners will get this service with the agreement to pay the 3g price?

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 8:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ interesting - a few posts up a supervisor at bmobile told another user that they use microsims and NOT a cutter

trying to get another model number from someone on twitter but yup! its unlocked alright. Yay for "supervisors."

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:56 pm

i waiting to hear form someone to swap a sim, cause my partner dont have another sim and he couldnt be bothered :lol:

those part numbers are unlocked phones... they may be telling ppl otherwise, one thing for sure, they dont let you activate it at home ;)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 16th, 2011, 10:58 pm

the quality of information those reps giving out man I'm almost sure they have no clue what they are talking about and with those prices and model numbers I'm sure they are unlocked

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 11:48 pm

shaq090 wrote:

u think that it would be at a reasonable price and also if current data sim owners will get this service with the agreement to pay the 3g price?
I had posted before that I dont know how they will handle the billing for it and/or if it will be an upgrade to the entire EDGE system

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Bezman wrote:i waiting to hear form someone to swap a sim, cause my partner dont have another sim and he couldnt be bothered :lol:

those part numbers are unlocked phones... they may be telling ppl otherwise, one thing for sure, they dont let you activate it at home ;)

got the model #.
MC604ZQ
I'd say a white 16GB from J/ca.

I remember back on iPhoneInCanada, there was a post that only when the activation takes place on iTunes, somehow it can be locked or something to that effect.
I'm sure if they sold it sim-free and you go home and activate it, its a factory unlocked device! But they aren't.

EDIT: Didnt try it. :(

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 17th, 2011, 12:09 am

I got the MC603ZQ black 16GB model from Bmobile trincity and was allowed to take it home to activate on iTunes yesterday. They just cut the sim and allowed me to leave with it as is.
After activating on iTunes and the bmobile 10.1 carrier update - it is LOCKED to bmobile (checked it using both TSTT & Digicel postpaid and prepaid sims)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2011, 12:18 am

did they cut a new sim for you or did they cut your existing sim?

so wait chances are since I did that bmobile 10.1 carrier upgrade I may have also inadvertently locked my FACTORY UNLOCKED phone to bmobile??

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 17th, 2011, 12:25 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:did they cut a new sim for you or did they cut your existing sim?

so wait chances are since I did that bmobile 10.1 carrier upgrade I may have also inadvertently locked my FACTORY UNLOCKED phone to bmobile??

They had to cut a new sim with the smaller contacts because the older prepaid sim i had was the older type that will clip the metal edge. I did this to retain a number for the person who will be using it. I didnt even need to show them the sim.

As i said before the Factory Unlocked model remains unlocked after the bmobile carrier 10.1 update. On a Canadian factory unlocked model MC605C, once i swap to a Digicel sim it reverts to "carrier 10.0". I even used it in USA with a AT&T prepaid microSIM that i got from an AT&T store. Once you connect to iTunes it will update with the carrier .ipcc file.

the stupid thing is everytime it is swapped there is a 60c charge for Facetime activation where the mobile number is used.
Last edited by 9z4dma on June 17th, 2011, 12:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 17th, 2011, 12:26 am

That would be reallll sh!t if that happened :shock:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 17th, 2011, 6:20 am

so how much exactly bmobie sellin dem for?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 17th, 2011, 8:40 am

ryan99tt wrote:so how much exactly bmobie sellin dem for?

read from page 198 to 208

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » June 17th, 2011, 9:42 am

the older sims seem to give trouble. i had lots of problems with my iphone 4 esp with edge and the phone dropping the network, none of which i had with my previous iphone. i went in to the west mall branch and got a new one which i cut with my sim cutter and it works perfect now. if you look at the older sims the board is larger so when cut u actually end up cutting the board.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2011, 9:47 am

^ yup you have to be careful when cutting the older SIM because, as you said, the older SIM cards have a larger circuit board.

I have an older SIM that I cut and it's working great, no dropped calls even though I did have to cut into a bit of the copper contacts to get it to fit in the iPhone 4

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2011, 9:51 am

9z4dma wrote:As i said before the Factory Unlocked model remains unlocked after the bmobile carrier 10.1 update. On a Canadian factory unlocked model MC605C, once i swap to a Digicel sim it reverts to "carrier 10.0". I even used it in USA with a AT&T prepaid microSIM that i got from an AT&T store. Once you connect to iTunes it will update with the carrier .ipcc file.
So if I get a person with a digicel SIM that they cut for an iPhone 4 and I put it in my phone, the ipcc will revert to 10.0 giving me back my Personal Hotspot and from there I just avoid updating the carrier profile in iTunes once I put back in my bmobile SIM??

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 17th, 2011, 10:07 am

This thing becoming worry some yes

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2011, 10:35 am

src1983 wrote:This thing becoming worry some yes
why you say that?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 17th, 2011, 10:48 am

My SIM is so old its a TSTT branded version (2003), back in the old mpower days. When I got the iPhone 4 I had to cut 2 SIMs cause the person who bought it for me had another & he had a bmobile SIM & there is a slight, but noticeable difference in the contact point for each. I basically cut everything but the contact point in order for it to work.
Same here as far as having no problems.
Oh & no progress with modifying the plists?