I won't raise my kids in a 'home' where they're beaten though.shotta 20 wrote:Bizzare wrote:shotta 20 wrote:Mudboy wrote:Guava whip never kill nobodi?...........
Guava Whip, belt, bat, shoes, Dabla (My parents favourite), swizzle stick, Pot spoon, stone, dry coconut, hand.......all dem things never kill me !
Spare the rod and spoil the child !
Who say otherwise...
Most well behave, quiet people I know never got that when they were young. The most rotten people I know got all what you mentioned above and more !!
Seriously ???
95% of my childhood friends and cousins who i grew up with used to get licks when we did something that we knew was wrong. At that time, a talk from my parents about right / wrong never used to deter me/us from doing it. We were really fackin harden.
So when i look back at it now, a little licks put us on the right track.
And Bizzarre...i could safely say that none of us are rotten till this day.
What might be the problem is the 'home' that they come from.
Stephon. wrote:I won't raise my kids in a 'home' where they're beaten though.shotta 20 wrote:Bizzare wrote:shotta 20 wrote:Mudboy wrote:Guava whip never kill nobodi?...........
Guava Whip, belt, bat, shoes, Dabla (My parents favourite), swizzle stick, Pot spoon, stone, dry coconut, hand.......all dem things never kill me !
Who say otherwise...
Most well behave, quiet people I know never got that when they were young. The most rotten people I know got all what you mentioned above and more !!
Seriously ???
95% of my childhood friends and cousins who i grew up with used to get licks when we did something that we knew was wrong. At that time, a talk from my parents about right / wrong never used to deter me/us from doing it. We were really fackin harden.
Stephon. wrote:Yes, because I'm obviously more mature than he is.
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:To this day if I am in the vicinity of a Police Officer or School Principal I get nervous and make sure I ain't doing nothing wrong.
Bizzare wrote:And plus, growing up, I was the only one to get lix for every slip I made which was at least once everyday.
shotta 20 wrote:Stephon. wrote:I won't raise my kids in a 'home' where they're beaten though.shotta 20 wrote:Bizzare wrote:shotta 20 wrote:
Who say otherwise...
Seriously ???
You ARE a kid, so you are speaking from a child's point of view !
~Vēġó~ wrote:nemisis yuh lie....serious?
and ~*Pãñdorą*~ remember some of the members here grew up in the era when corporal punishment was removed from the school system and where parents hold the firm view that nobody (not even them) should hit their child(ren).....
Bizzare wrote:I don't think I can beat my kids.~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:To this day if I am in the vicinity of a Police Officer or School Principal I get nervous and make sure I ain't doing nothing wrong.
I use to get probably ten times more lix than you and it did the exact opposite to me. It also can't be the home I cam from, cuz outta all my whole family, I'm the only one described as the non-Christian trouble maker. All my sisters grew/growing up to be like my parents, well behave, successful academically etc. Me, I hate to respect authority especially when they remind me of my dad, all strict and proper.
And plus, growing up, I was the only one to get lix for every slip I made which was at least once everyday.
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Bizzare wrote:I don't think I can beat my kids.~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:To this day if I am in the vicinity of a Police Officer or School Principal I get nervous and make sure I ain't doing nothing wrong.
I use to get probably ten times more lix than you and it did the exact opposite to me. It also can't be the home I cam from, cuz outta all my whole family, I'm the only one described as the non-Christian trouble maker. All my sisters grew/growing up to be like my parents, well behave, successful academically etc. Me, I hate to respect authority especially when they remind me of my dad, all strict and proper.
And plus, growing up, I was the only one to get lix for every slip I made which was at least once everyday.
I never said I was model child, in fact I was and still am the black sheep in the family.
When I got licks for something.. 7 times out of 10 I went back and did the same thing I got licks for.
And so if I was so damned harden with licks.. could you imagine how I woulda been without licks and fearing the impending licks?
~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^Exactly!!!!!!! no sense of value system nor concept of the satisfaction and merit in hard work for just reward, because everything is literally given to them....they think, talk and behave any ole how without any care nor respect for the others around them, and are unwilling and even angered when attempts are made to "pull up" on them.....
Stephon. wrote:Yes, because I'm obviously more mature than he is.
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Some of us came out of high school 16+ years ago...
* shrug *
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Some of us came out of high school 16+ years ago...
And you still look no more than 18!
pioneer wrote:Nobody coulda geh more lix dan me...n look how i turn out
*$kїđž!™ wrote:pioneer wrote:Nobody coulda geh more lix dan me...n look how i turn out
obviously u did not get enough......or prob u did.....leading to brain damage.....
*$kїđž!™ wrote:pioneer wrote:Nobody coulda geh more lix dan me...n look how i turn out
obviously u did not get enough......or prob u did.....leading to brain damage.....
Stephon. wrote:Bizzare wrote:And plus, growing up, I was the only one to get lix for every slip I made which was at least once everyday.
A time I saw a girl get a lash on her hand from her mother for putting something in the shopping basket in Hi-Lo. Girl start to bawl down the place and the mother say, "stop cryin before ah give yuh sum tuh cry for".![]()
Won't be surprised if that girl at 14 end up on a similar headline.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:When yuh catch yuhself is you he bending over and ressin it on LOL
I won't lie though the 90's was some nice times jed. Even with all the licks we used to get.
AllTrac wrote:Stephon. wrote:Bizzare wrote:And plus, growing up, I was the only one to get lix for every slip I made which was at least once everyday.
A time I saw a girl get a lash on her hand from her mother for putting something in the shopping basket in Hi-Lo. Girl start to bawl down the place and the mother say, "stop cryin before ah give yuh sum tuh cry for".![]()
Won't be surprised if that girl at 14 end up on a similar headline.
how old was de girl stephon? yuh could ah pull she aside and gee she sumting to cry for.....
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:When yuh catch yuhself is you he bending over and ressin it on LOL
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I won't lie though the 90's was some nice times jed. Even with all the licks we used to get.