Nicki Minaj performing in Trinidad Oct 30th

Re: Nicki Minaj performing in Trinidad Oct 30th

Postby Rooki3 » November 1st, 2010, 9:14 pm

lol @ men who make fun of our rich diversified culture & then embrace "ooonce oonnnce"

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 1st, 2010, 9:34 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:errr what???

Jay-z can't do what????

Jay-Z cannot penetrate Markets.
He only gets the majority of his album sales in New York. Not across the USA.

East Coast Niche Market.

Why did he or why was he asked to perform @ glastonbury if he hasn't penetrated markets outside of the "East cost niche"?

Postby AllTrac » November 1st, 2010, 9:36 pm

Rooki3 wrote:lol @ men who make fun of our rich diversified culture & then embrace "ooonce oonnnce"

dit tss dit tss dit tss dit tss.....DOOOoooOOOO WUUPPPPP!!!

instant #1 on DJmag.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 1st, 2010, 9:50 pm

normally ah doh jump eeen allyuh "intellectual discussions" about art, but someone mention eminem???? look both on de same track>>>>>

tru she may need some more experience but give her time,
for an artist without a debut album out yet.... she big....
google de girl an listen.... she has potential.

and doh be on jay-z......

Postby wagonrunner » November 1st, 2010, 9:53 pm

buh wait, how else yuh'll attempt to demonstrate yuh e-authority / e-ntellect, if you doh insist yours and only your opinion matters? :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » November 1st, 2010, 9:59 pm

as we on the topic of Jay-Z

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2010, 10:03 pm

:rofl: @ outlandish allegations in dis ched. :?

Postby Cjruckus » November 1st, 2010, 10:19 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:errr what???

Jay-z can't do what????

Jay-Z cannot penetrate Markets.
He only gets the majority of his album sales in New York. Not across the USA.

East Coast Niche Market.

Why did he or why was he asked to perform @ glastonbury if he hasn't penetrated markets outside of the "East cost niche"?

Affirmative Action. Duh.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 2nd, 2010, 5:47 am

who give a fack about these ppl, their profession is that of entertainment, if their work entertains you then good you are entertained, if not , go find something else that floats your boat (or according to Rooki3 pets your piggy).

why would you spend time arguing about ppl that don't know you, have no interest in you and doesn't care about what you think?

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 2nd, 2010, 10:18 am

geodude wrote:
why would you spend time arguing about ppl that don't know you, have no interest in you and doesn't care about what you think?

Because that would be unTrini of us. Hence all these political threads.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 2nd, 2010, 10:50 am

geodude wrote:

That is what the interweb was built on, pallie.

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2010, 12:56 pm

Half allyuh ppl would end up on the show "hoarders" in no time.

Everything in the past was the best, everything new is SHEIT.

That's the general trend on tuner when it comes to art. Alot of the old fart tuners are championing this cause. They're becoming just what they used to despise in their youth. Old grumpy ppl who can't/ won't accept change and the natural progression of life in general.

Postby AllTrac » November 2nd, 2010, 1:05 pm

RASC wrote: Old grumpy ppl who can't/ won't accept change and the natural progression of life in general.

case in point PNM----> PP? :lol: :lol:

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2010, 1:06 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:....but to me singing other ppls sounds to remixed tracks is not an art (sorry Rene....) its simply that....doing cover chunes.

Hear you go folks...Hold you breadth until you see someone critisize UB-40 as being cover artists!

VS.

IT'LL NEVER HAPPEN ON THIS FORUM! Why because UB-40 is relatively OLD and the ppl who you (some even knocking on 50)-they grew up with UB-40, so as far as they'll be concerned UB-40 are geniuses...Nicki Minaj? Nah cover artist :!:

Postby crazybalhead » November 2nd, 2010, 1:06 pm

Niki Minaj have some talent man. But she will be a fad, don't think it's sustainable, and the amount of editing on her tracks led me to believe she will tootoodong live.

You could pnly roll yuh eye and skin up yuh teeth so much. "Hangin like a teste" was a classic line. :lol:

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2010, 1:11 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Niki Minaj have some talent man. But she will be a fad, don't think it's sustainable, and the amount of editing on her tracks led me to believe she will tootoodong live.

You could pnly roll yuh eye and skin up yuh teeth so much. "Hangin like a teste" was a classic line. :lol:

It's a fad?

Where have we heard that before...Hmmm

You guys outta touch jed...do you have kids that age, or hang around teens nowadays?

Jed this IS their culture :? To us mid 20's up, it's a fad...but to them it's much bigger than that, there are ALOT more artists they listen to that we(mainstream 25+ year old) are not targeted towards.

Postby crazybalhead » November 2nd, 2010, 1:16 pm

Small thing, I eh feel she go make it much further. Them fellas like the newest face to guest on their music, and she done pass through everybody as a "featuring".

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2010, 1:29 pm

You guys really don't know nah.

It's clear you guys don't have kids at around their mid to late teens, nor any relatives in that age bracket. Cause all they listen to is Nicki Minaj, The Rangers, Wear Skinny Jeans and LOVE Jerking.

Maybe cause it's harder to express those things while in school uniform in TT, but in the states, ALL the school kids dress/act like that. They all listen to Nicki Minaj, follow her on twitter, and nearly all the teen girls you see wear their hair like this:

If that's a simple "fad" to you, you're too old. Go hang with your nephews and nieces for a while, you'll see I'm not making it up. By 3O'clock today, 80% of the kids coming from school will be looking like this:

It's not a fad...
Last edited by RASC on November 2nd, 2010, 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » November 2nd, 2010, 1:29 pm

Nikki is good. I like her music.

But lyrically, when you compare her to jay-z, em, kayne, pac biggie... She just not on their level.. And no one probably ever will be :/

Postby 16 cycles » November 2nd, 2010, 1:32 pm

Tupac
^ thread complete...

carry on

geodude

Postby geodude » November 2nd, 2010, 1:46 pm

ppl really dressing like that these days??? serious???

seriously??????

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2010, 1:48 pm

geodude wrote:ppl really dressing like that these days??? serious???

seriously??????

Yes kids do...
That's what I'm saying, you guys are SERIOUSLY out of touch with what is new out there with the younger generation.

We think it's a fad because we don't like in their 12-17yr old world, but to them, that's how it is. :?

http://dimewars.com/Video/Where-is-This ... 33902ee967

Nicki Minaj, Soulja Boy, The Rangers, Skinny Jeans Movement, Jerking
All those things are not fads as it's representative of what the younger Urban Youth call their culture. It may seem like a fad to us, cause we're older...but to them, it's huge.

You guys are just THAT old, that's all :lol:
Last edited by RASC on November 2nd, 2010, 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 2nd, 2010, 1:52 pm

all my partners in their 30's dress just like that :lol:

thats cause we all still in the 80's :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » November 2nd, 2010, 2:05 pm

RASC wrote:

seriously??????

Yes kids do...
That's what I'm saying, you guys are SERIOUSLY out of touch with what is new out there with the younger generation.

We think it's a fad because we don't like in their 12-17yr old world, but to them, that's how it is. :?

All those things are not fads as it's representative of what the younger Urban Youth call their culture. It may seem like a fad to us, cause we're older...but to them, it's huge.

Yuh know you too old for that sheit too right???

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2010, 2:15 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
RASC wrote:

seriously??????

Yes kids do...

Yuh know you too old for that sheit too right???

I know. I'm just letting you guys know that you're starting to sound like some old decrepit crusty men-waving your walking stick and yelling about "the good old days before all this junk music/fashion/art came around".

You're sounding just like what you used to despise in your very own youth.

This what y'all sounding like to me:

After a show in La Crosse, Wisconsin, an urgent message on the letterhead of the local Catholic diocese's newspaper was sent to FBI director J. Edgar Hoover. It warned that "Presley is a definite danger to the security of the United States. ... [His] actions and motions were such as to rouse the sexual passions of teenaged youth. ... After the show, more than 1,000 teenagers tried to gang into Presley's room at the auditorium. ... Indications of the harm Presley did just in La Crosse were the two high school girls ... whose abdomen and thigh had Presley's autograph."

:wink:

Postby Trini Hookah » November 2nd, 2010, 2:53 pm

who does jerk anymore?

beep boop beep bee-boop..:|

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » November 2nd, 2010, 5:35 pm

de cookie looking nice. Blonde hair and last name maraj. hmmmmm she up to someting

Kinday

Postby Kinday » November 2nd, 2010, 5:48 pm

Good review Banzai and thanks for the inspiration...I'm gonna keep working better and smarter
Only one way to go...that's up...no more Kindred, I flying we flag solo this time
Now it's off to NYC to rep again.

BTW ppl...Nicki can rap. We can do a whole lot more by trying to get our own act right than trying to tear down another person's attempt, regardless of subject.

Postby Rooki3 » November 2nd, 2010, 5:58 pm

well said, time for trinbagonians to abandon the "crab in barrel" syndrome

Postby Monk BANzai » November 2nd, 2010, 7:44 pm

Kinday wrote:Good review Banzai and thanks for the inspiration...I'm gonna keep working better and smarter
Only one way to go...that's up...no more Kindred, I flying we flag solo this time
Now it's off to NYC to rep again.

BTW ppl...Nicki can rap. We can do a whole lot more by trying to get our own act right than trying to tear down another person's attempt, regardless of subject.

no worries man..I cud tell yu hit the stage upset though!!.....lol....backstage was madness.....