WTK Chey captiva

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
oceanhunter

WTK Chey captiva

Postby oceanhunter » October 24th, 2010, 10:39 pm

Any info on the chey captiva? I'm getting one to buy a foregin one doh doing 29k but I'm abit concerned about the servicing and parts etc. it's also a gas engine in very good condition. Any advice or info will be appreciated..

civic minded

Re: WTK Chey captiva

Postby civic minded » October 25th, 2010, 6:25 am

you should check lifestyle motors and find out if they stock parts for that or check bamboo beforehand

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 25th, 2010, 6:58 am

It's all about parts meng.
Check bamboo and LSM, like civic minded said.

Captiva's a good vehicle, similar to a CRV.
Dunno much about chevy's down here though.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 27th, 2010, 2:04 pm

rubbish ... guy in work has his fixing for the last month at lifestyle

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 31st, 2010, 6:09 am

Nice SUV but after sales service and support would be an issue. Better to buy a regular local (used) Japanese SUV and play it safe.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 31st, 2010, 8:01 am

CRV > Captiva

Rav 4 > CRV > Captiva

venum

Postby venum » October 31st, 2010, 8:46 am

^ ^ ^

CRV > Rav 4 > X-trail > Cap-whatever

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 31st, 2010, 10:30 am

venum wrote:^ ^ ^

CRV > Rav 4 > X-trail > Cap-whatever

Meh, well... I'd still say the Rav4 > CRV, being that the rav 4 has a better AWD system and 9 airbags compared to the 6 in the CRV.

The CRV's design and ride is more suited to older folks or business executives, while the Rav4's design is better geared towards younger folks.

My folks drive a 2007-2008 CRV and while definitely smooth and refined, the suv simply doesn't scream "sporty" or "energy" at all. It's more like "take your parents to church" or "pick up the kids from after-school lessons".

The rav 4 however has much more utility, more useable space, better engine and better AWD and stability control. Even the styling has a much more energetic appearance and aura.

The Captiva, well, I had a look at it in LifeStyle motors last month and it definitely has a handsome profile. It's probably like a mix between the CRV & Rav, however the build-quality of the materials is closer to the honda. Inside is spacious and the space is well-utilized, there's lots of cubby holes and compartments for the family to hide stuff. The rear trunk isn't as spacious as the CRV, it's closer to the Rav 4 (which is smaller than the CRV). The driving position is good, and you feel like you're in a mid-sized sedan. Didn't get to test drive one yet though (was too busy staring open-mouthed at the shiny dark-grey Porsche 911 Turbo-S on the other side of the showroom).

The only reason I wouldn't recommend the Captiva for our market in trinidad is Servicing and Parts. So many people make the mistake of buying some sort of foreign car; whether American or European or even foreign-used Asian, and then forget that it'll be difficult or expensive to find parts for it. I don't know how hard Lifestyle Motors is going to press the Chevy Captiva, but I do know that the market in trinidad for Chevy vehicles is small, almost to a niche' market.

But to "oceanhunter", if you feel so compelled to buy captive - make sure to bargain down the price for both the car and the insurance too. I can't remember the price for the captiva, but I'm sure the CRV, Rav4 and even the X-trail would give you better value for money (esp for parts and service).

The X-trail may be an even better option, because it's a bit more 4wd and off-road capable than the CRV/Rav4 options. Sure it's not in the same class as the higher-rated CRV and Rav4, but it's popular enough with us trini's to warrant a good look. If you want, I can put you onto my salesperson at Neal & Massy, he'll help you find a good price and I can help you find a good financing rate (just PM me).

Another good option - the Suzuki Grand Vitara - can't go wrong with that one. I used to drive an escudo 4x4 4-door and that thing went like a mountain goat.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 31st, 2010, 10:35 am

Oh yeah, and if you want real value for money, plus instant diesel-boyz approval - have a nice long hard look at the Kia Sportage Diesel or even the Kia Sorento Diesel. Both offerings from Kia were rated very highly by some american car magazines in terms of best value-for-money. You might be surprised to see what you'd find if you test drove one (I think I might arrange for a test drive next weekend).

Try to avoid the tucson though, it's got a history of problems esp. in the CRdi diesel.

badart

Postby badart » October 31st, 2010, 2:42 pm

theres a new rav4 out saw it in the uk..looks really good...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 31st, 2010, 6:49 pm

The CR-V is highly overrated in my opinion.. I dont like the tame exterior, the 4x4 capabilities are almost nonexistent and the worst part is, once you over 6 foot 1 you cant actually fit under the steering wheel to drive it.....
And if you even taller, say 6 foot 3, you cant fit in the passenger seat either without your knee rubbing all over the dash...
Same problem with the newest and previous 2 models...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 1st, 2010, 6:08 am

LH Sportage and Tucson are sister companies and they carry the same engine. And you are right, if not maintained properly CRDi is stress. I have a diesel sportage and it has been problem free because of how it has been maintained (never go below quarter tank, only fill at good stations, and use minute amount of amsoil), besides it only has 26 000km. Time will tell.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 1st, 2010, 6:20 am

^^^ yup, any diesel once well maintained will last a million miles.
CRDi's and other Common Rail diesels esp. need regular maintenance to remain trouble free.
The older direct injection diesels are a bit less troublesome, but still need some TLC (eg. cracked heads in Ford WLT engines).

Most important maintenance issues are - "cooling" and "oil changes".
I've heard that the earlier model Tucsons had cooling issues; their radiators weren't very efficient and the plastic components were prone to cracking.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”