Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nick009

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby nick009 » October 9th, 2010, 4:56 pm

nope i bought it second hand

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 9th, 2010, 7:48 pm

Nick thanks for the update. The firm prices are outer this world.

Fellas I am looking for the rubber ribbon that goes between the fender flares are the body of the vehicle. Any idea where I can get this?

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 9th, 2010, 11:01 pm

Nick009, seeing that it cost over 8k to change the head and use back all the parts from the old one, did you find out the cost of buying a used engine if this is possible to get? Just asking because i know it's around 10k to buy i used engine.
Sweeks, that ribbon might be some trouble to get, best chance might be from a crash if it still in tack.

Not to stray but has anyone ever used Belray 6 in 1 lub for spraying below the Van, i use this on a CK4 for 8 years driving on the Creek road everyday and not to this day has one rust spot, i got a gallon and want to use it for the first time on the Ranger.

JD......

Postby JD...... » October 10th, 2010, 4:31 am

sweeks i have the rubber ribbon from all four of my fenders fenders for sale, anyone else interested pm me

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 10th, 2010, 1:55 pm

the cost of a used engine is about 8-10k i think.
i did not want to go that way as i would not know the condition of the internals.
this way i know everything is in good condition and i should not have to do any work at all on this engine for the next 100k .......hopefully

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 11th, 2010, 10:40 am

Nick call Browne (684-4883) and get his opinion on this. He has many years experience with these WLT.

JD pm sent. Thanks.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 12th, 2010, 11:53 am

sweeks wrote:Nick thanks for the update. The firm prices are outer this world.

Fellas I am looking for the rubber ribbon that goes between the fender flares are the body of the vehicle. Any idea where I can get this?

im actually looking for a complete set of fender flares. i fany of you happen to come across these in your travels, please find out a price and let me know.
Thanks.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 12th, 2010, 4:14 pm

Sleeper ...check Auto Air, Cipero St. San Fernando

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 14th, 2010, 2:40 pm

^^Will do
Thanks

Postby Gladiator » October 17th, 2010, 9:34 pm

lighthammer wrote:Ok right - so let's clear things up.

When I went down to the POS branch and met one of the reps, what they quoted for me was what I wrote down above ^^^^ (I double checked).

Now I'm looking at the big advertisement in the papers and this is what is written down in the advert:

Features:
- 2.5TDCi Turbo Diesel with intercooler
- 5-speed Manual/4wd
- 4-Airbags, 2-stage dual front and side airbags
- 4-wheel ABS with EBD
- factory Alarm with immobilizer
- factory 6-cd/mp3 with 6-speaker system
- aux i-pod/mp3 jack
- keyless entry
- 16" Alloy wheels

RANGER
XLT 4WD MANUAL. | 5 YEARS or 100,000km PREMIUM CARE WARRANTY
$163,940 |
$24,591 Plus VAT |

and here's pics of the advert that I just took with my blackberry:

As for the rims-upgrade, the salesrep said that as long as the overall diameter of the rim+tire doesn't exceed factory spec and doesn't rub on the wheelwell while locked or when taking bumps, then the warranty would be fine - hence 18-inches with a lower profile should be fine.

*** Right, so I just spoke with Mr. Blaine Moze (who comes highly recommended by a couple diesel tuners here) and this is what I found out:

- the 4x4 Manual DOES NOT come with the common-rail 2.5TDCi WLC, it is available only with the 2.5 Turbo diesel WLT engine. They used to bring down the 2.5TDCi for 4x4 manual but not anymore, because there wasn't enough demand in 4x4 manual for that engine (which I find is bizarre - more trini's want auto than manual???)
- the Common rail turbo-diesel comes in 2.5TDCi WLC or 3.0TDCi WEC in 4x4 Auto ONLY. No manual variant at all.

Hence, either my rep was wrong, or I was wrong in quoting them, or the paper's advert. was wrong. If so, then my mistake - sorry guys for the wrong info.
Mr. Moze's information + Cooper's info seem to be correct.

I Seeing this same Ad in newspaper dated Oct 11th 2010. It says manual 4x4 with 2.5 TDCi Engine. Is the company still running false ads or does this unit advertised come with the 2.5TDCi engine?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2010, 6:22 am

The ad is a mistake.

McEarney Motors has the following grades of double cab Ranger available:

- 2.5 XLT TDi WLT engine, 4x4/4x2, fully powered, 6CD/MP3, foglights - base price = $189,00o
- 2.5 XLT TDCi WLC engine, 4x4/4x2, fully powered, 6CD/MP3, foglihts - Base price = $225,000
- 3.0 XLT TDCI WEC engine, 4x4 only, fully powered, leather seats & steering wheel, foglights - Base Price = $265,000

For both of the 2.5 engines, the "Hurricane" upgrade package is available for $15,000:
- chrome sidebars or aluminum sidesteps
- chrome rollbar with stoplight
- factory duraliner
- hurricane decals

For the 3.0 engine, only the "Thunder" upgrade package is available
- chrome sidebar
- chrome rollbar with stoplight
- chrome rear bar to replace the bumper
- factory duraliner
- thunder decals on the sides & on the tailgate

THat's all that McEarney Motors offers - no Wildtrak or other variation, no other transmissions unless you make a "special order" and pay 50% down immediately.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 18th, 2010, 6:38 am

Mistake - not really ... a lot of local business does false advertising and get away with it. McEnearney motors is one of them.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 18th, 2010, 9:04 am

^^^ Correct is Right.

It's a great advantage to have a forum like ours so we can share valuable info like this and not get taken for a ride.

... no pun intended.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 18th, 2010, 10:07 am

Anyone experiencing a distinct tone, like a whistle- ish sound when above 140?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 18th, 2010, 11:42 am

Dude Slow Down!

...anyway, just speculating....it could be the seals on your turbo breaking down but it would be noticeable when you rev to high RPS's and slow speeds. Or it could be 'turbulence' around your wing mirrors or some other part of the van while travelling at high speeds.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2010, 2:29 pm

^^ prob ur turbo.

Did u put in a K&N filter? The freer flowing filter allows the infuction noise to come through the airbox.

If it sounds like a "pwiiissshhhh" then is most likely ur turbo.

Like Cooper said - it could also be wing mirrors, or maybe the bull-bar if u have one installed.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » October 19th, 2010, 2:30 pm

Hey,

RE: the whistling sound at 140!!

I get the same thing. First thought it was some kind of alert/alarm but it is not a consistent sound. More like a beeeeepppp than a whistling. Its also not the same volume level. If you hit a depression or a bump the volumne quickly drops and goes back to the beeeeppp.
It also never starts at the same speed. Sometimes, 140, sometimes 150.

Always wondered if it was my van alone. Guess not.

Mine is the 3.0TDCI :) Only recently went K&N, was happening before.

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 19th, 2010, 6:41 pm

that the sound to alert you your engine going to detonate

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 19th, 2010, 7:41 pm

strange - when you go into the next service - tell them about it - i have the 3.0 as well and never heard anything what you talk about, mind u i did 160+ already, my normal run is at 80-100

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » October 19th, 2010, 8:51 pm

Told them.. Van came back with it. I don't really want to explicitly tell them its at 140\150.. If you know what I mean...

I thinking its the silver foil like covering over the turbo. Will take it off one day and try it.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 21st, 2010, 1:42 pm

Cooper wrote:Dude Slow Down!

...anyway, just speculating....it could be the seals on your turbo breaking down but it would be noticeable when you rev to high RPS's and slow speeds. Or it could be 'turbulence' around your wing mirrors or some other part of the van while travelling at high speeds.

Yeah Dude, I try, but I constantly have to be watching the speedo.
These vans, get up there quickly and effortlessly.
but now, the whistle is my "slow down" indicator :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 21st, 2010, 4:25 pm

went in today and did my 25K service - cost me 1200dollars, blasted syrians - all they did ,change oil filters and alignment

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 21st, 2010, 4:48 pm

$1200?
that must be some really high-quality alignment man.
Hope the van driving straight like an arrow now.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 21st, 2010, 4:56 pm

$1200.....not to bad once they actually worked on the Ranger....lol.....anywey i went today for the first time to under wash and engine wash at this place in Duncan village, popular place that does different service to vehicles. It was my first and will be my last, they have no jack up ramp to under wash, it like going to fix exhaust, the tray off the Ranger can't go over the bay and they guy stay from where he is and just sprayed water and what come off that is that....i was so disappointed and i will never recommend anyone to go there, i only went because friend of mine told me he gets good service there but i need to talk to him.......better i did stop by the bar.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 21st, 2010, 5:48 pm

^^ can't begin to tell you how many times I heard "meh pardnah send me by _____ in _____ village..." And end up being a horror story.

Best to have a look around at the place first if u do end up going and have a look at their equipment.

But then again, hindsight is always 20/20 vision. Better luck next time dude.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 21st, 2010, 5:57 pm

well they greese up the steering column and adjusted my brakes - thats about it. i'll take a pic of the bill and post it up.....

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » October 22nd, 2010, 8:37 am

My salesguy personally said dont trust it when they say they do the alignment. He recommended milage mack as they guys there could properly re-adjust your torsion bars if needed, but the wait there is so friggin long I've never had the patience to try them or find out if its even true

Went by a guy in Cumoto (yes Cumoto) to underwash couple weeks ago after the trailblazers run. Did a great job. Even unscrewed most the protective plating under the van to clean it properly. I was shocked. Underwash cost only 70 dollars
IMG00031-20101008-1058.jpg
Front under shield...
IMG00032-20101008-1058.jpg
One from directly under the engine

Slack

Postby Slack » October 22nd, 2010, 1:17 pm

Did my 25k service today in P.O.S. The damage was $1017. Changed oil, filters (except intake, have K&N), greased suspension, serviced brakes etc

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 22nd, 2010, 8:08 pm

^^i did the same service with discount and i paid 1200dollars and i have the k&n ---you used synthetic?

they real like to rob people yes

Slack

Postby Slack » October 23rd, 2010, 3:37 pm

^^Whatever oil the firm offers....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”