Picasso wrote:BUMP!!
Heard it on the News just now.. It's official
We time ftl
zcarz wrote:allyuh hear bout the 'word on the street'?
hustla_ambition101 wrote:somebody insert a video of family guy cover of surfin bird nah
pioneer wrote:Excellent move.
Govt was wasting ALOT of money behind people who don't deserve to be there.
Skanky wrote:pioneer wrote:Excellent move.
Agreed.
There should be incentives though.
At BSc level; first class: gov't refunds 100% of the money you paid,upper second: 80%,everything else 0%.
If we stop rewarding mediocrity in this country we can go far as a people.
Victory_Specification wrote:
Personally, I think they should do away with it all together and just increase the number of scholarships available-at least our money would be spent on brains, rather than baboons.
Sequel wrote:Skanky wrote:pioneer wrote:Excellent move.
Agreed.
At BSc level; first class: gov't refunds 100% of the money you paid,upper second: 80%,everything else 0%.
good plan
Victory_Specification wrote:Good move. As iterated above, while there are actually some people that do deserve these grants, the overwhelming majority don't. What gives me the right to say that? I am currently at the tertiary level and are surrounded by people who simply view university as 'a lime', or a means to finally leave under their parents' roof and experience real freedom. With the inception of gate, the need to work hard to study at a university dissolved.
Personally, I think they should do away with it all together and just increase the number of scholarships available-at least our money would be spent on brains, rather than baboons.
r3iXmann wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:oh well....no loss for me yes..my parents worked hard and payed for me to go to university....![]()
Skanky wrote:pioneer wrote:Excellent move.
Agreed.
Education
Mr. Speaker, tertiary education is a major driver of economic competitiveness in an
increasingly knowledge driven global economy.
We will continue the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) programme. It
will be expanded to include vocational training, strengthened and made sustainable to increase
the participation rate in higher education to 60 percent. In addition, to avoid and stop the abuse
of GATE, we will strictly enforce existing measures.
To sustain, in the long run, the opportunity for every child to have access to higher education,
the Government is examining at proposal to set up a children’s educational plan modelled in
accordance with proven international standards.
We will restructure the On the Job Training (OJT) programme to expand private sector
placement. We will also re-evaluate technical vocational programmes such as the ‘Multi-
Sector Skills Training Programme’ and the ‘Helping Youth Prepare for Employment’ programme
to ensure that they achieve their objectives.