The Karamath Case Re Guns and Drugs. Dec 15th 2010

noobie

Postby noobie » October 8th, 2009, 8:07 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Don't understand why a big shot lawyer don't take up the case all in the name of "justice".... Anywhere else in the world, a prominent lawyer would of offer his services to the family because the case seems very winnable.

Here's why:

The court systems are backed up. So if you bring a case to court now, you might not have resolution until 8 years in the future. Maybe.

The courts do not award punitive damages as they do in the United States. In the US if you sue McDonalds, let's say, the judge will not award you 1000 dollars if it turns out McDonalds was negligent. They will award an amount that will be punitive to mcdonalds, which can't be less than a few million.

In Trinidad, if you are damaged but then continue to work, the court will pay a percentage of your costs, and maybe try to prorate your salary over the time you were damaged or some such nonsense. So after the 8 years you may end up with 200,000 . Maybe. If someone dies, well I guess it is the same calculations. You might end up with more, but chances are it will NOT be a windfall as in the US system.

The courts do not usually allow for 100% payment of attorneys fees even if you win the case, so you as an Attorney will not receive all the money you worked for.

So as an attorney taking on these cases you are really in for a looong haul with no guarantee of a payment, even if you arrange for a percentage on success. Now each case is different, and the circumstances can be different, but over here is not like you see in the movies in the US.

In short, the court systems in Trinidad are totally f***ed for the average citizen. It is more in your interest to screw someone over and then tell them 'sue meh nuh' if you have millions.

You CAN screw people over in Trinidad and the courts will not protect them, especially if they themselves do not have a few million in the bank to pay attorneys.

Postby Greypatch » October 8th, 2009, 9:46 am

When last I checked Driving WITHOUT dure care and attention & Vehicular Manslaughter were offences that can carry prison time.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 8th, 2009, 9:58 am

Greypatch wrote:When last I checked Driving WITHOUT dure care and attention & Vehicular Manslaughter were offences that can carry prison time.

Especially when you involuntarily KILLED 2 innocent people!

Postby Greypatch » October 8th, 2009, 10:34 am

There is NO Truth in Justice.....

No Justice in the Truth. :|

The system Works for the RICH....

And PISSES on the POOR. :evil: :evil: :evil:

neoise

Postby neoise » October 8th, 2009, 12:25 pm

stuuuueps :arrow:

Postby bluesteel29 » October 8th, 2009, 1:02 pm

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby Maserati » October 8th, 2009, 1:19 pm

Khalil Karamath should join 2nr and give an account of the accident :|

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » October 8th, 2009, 1:42 pm

money talks 0X

neoise

Postby neoise » October 9th, 2009, 6:54 am

:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 9th, 2009, 7:42 am

must be somewhat strange to know that YOU killed 2 innocent people and have now left a family without a father and a brother eh! :oops:

either that or money can also buy a new conscience that allows you to steups and continue to enjoy life like nothign happened! :roll:

Postby Greypatch » October 9th, 2009, 8:16 am

Sweet sweet T&T

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » October 9th, 2009, 8:46 am

noobie wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Don't understand why a big shot lawyer don't take up the case all in the name of "justice".... Anywhere else in the world, a prominent lawyer would of offer his services to the family because the case seems very winnable.

Here's why:

The court systems are backed up. So if you bring a case to court now, you might not have resolution until 8 years in the future. Maybe.

The courts do not award punitive damages as they do in the United States. In the US if you sue McDonalds, let's say, the judge will not award you 1000 dollars if it turns out McDonalds was negligent. They will award an amount that will be punitive to mcdonalds, which can't be less than a few million.

In Trinidad, if you are damaged but then continue to work, the court will pay a percentage of your costs, and maybe try to prorate your salary over the time you were damaged or some such nonsense. So after the 8 years you may end up with 200,000 . Maybe. If someone dies, well I guess it is the same calculations. You might end up with more, but chances are it will NOT be a windfall as in the US system.

The courts do not usually allow for 100% payment of attorneys fees even if you win the case, so you as an Attorney will not receive all the money you worked for.

So as an attorney taking on these cases you are really in for a looong haul with no guarantee of a payment, even if you arrange for a percentage on success. Now each case is different, and the circumstances can be different, but over here is not like you see in the movies in the US.

In short, the court systems in Trinidad are totally f***ed for the average citizen. It is more in your interest to screw someone over and then tell them 'sue meh nuh' if you have millions.

You CAN screw people over in Trinidad and the courts will not protect them, especially if they themselves do not have a few million in the bank to pay attorneys.

But if its a trucking company, the company's insurance or the company itself usually has to pay damages to the victim/victim's family.

Right now I know of a company in central, their driver killed 2 people on valencia stretch maybe 7-8 years ago, earlier this year the victims won their case. 1 million plus in damages, being paid in a lump sum at the beginning (like 200k) and $50,000 per month until the balance is paid of.

But these cases really really take a long time, and you have to find a lawyer willing to do that case for little or no money, in the hopes he`ll get some at the end. The trucking companies easily afford their lawyers.

And I've seen courts award 25 to 75 % costs mostly, never 100 % lol

Cant reply after this cuz im glitched but, and I didnt read through the whole thread so I dont know if anyone posted this already.

Insurance companies generally do not want to pay out money, the way they see it, they can pay a lawyer $50,000 to $100,000 to delay a case for 8-10 years. A case that they would loose 1mill-2million and up.

In that delay they are hoping that the victim will run out of money and drop the case, or they will die off.

Even if they dont, the 1million or 2million they didnt have to pay in that 10 years, will have been invested and used time and time again, so in ten years, they know you (the victim) getting fedup, they might offer you a 500,000 to settle, and more likely than not, you gonna take that, otherwise they delaying the case another 10 years.
Last edited by N_A_K on October 9th, 2009, 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Greypatch » October 9th, 2009, 8:55 am

But these cases really really take a long time,

this has to change....we must lobby interest groups and civic society to seek such.

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » October 9th, 2009, 9:08 am

*added to post*

j.q.a

Postby j.q.a » October 9th, 2009, 8:36 pm

ok,this wont be a surprise to anybody but the official police extract stated the pickup swerved in front of the q7 causing the collision which burst into flames resultin in the death of the Ali memebers.~MONEY TALKS AND BS WALKS!!!

Postby Maserati » October 9th, 2009, 11:44 pm

disgusting situation yes...pity the media isn't highlighting this a bit more.
a little media pressure goes a long way

Postby Greypatch » October 10th, 2009, 8:15 pm

any tuners....silent visitors who have connections in the media ?

please help

Postby Greypatch » October 10th, 2009, 8:47 pm

I personally have no relation to either party involved ...

I just want the law to be carried out the way it should be.

Each office holder takes an oath...

stand by your oath...

As much as I dont like the US for its foreign policy..

I respect the fact that everyone has to face the court and account for their actions.

Silence will only help to sweep this and other issues under the carpet.

yesterday it was this family...tomorrow it could be me or you.

Postby Greypatch » October 11th, 2009, 7:52 pm

I am gonna talk to some friends in the service to find out what happenedwith this case.

may not be much ...may not find out sheit but It is what I can do

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 11th, 2009, 8:15 pm

our policemen keep pocket books (scrap books) to log daily entries..

some money pass and boom...a page missin...

we too backward...we need more technology..log reports from the site of the accident and let it be uploaded to a server somewhere.

edhardy

Postby edhardy » October 11th, 2009, 9:00 pm

Whatever the outcome............GOD DOES NOT SLEEP!!!

Justice will be served...............one way or the other

Everyone.........rich or poor will reap what they sow

NO amount of money can/will change THAT :!:

Postby Maserati » October 11th, 2009, 9:36 pm

edhardy wrote:Whatever the outcome............GOD DOES NOT SLEEP!!!

sheit that we want justice now.
why can't the families of those who died get some closure?

and it is indeed a joke how TTPS still use ink and paper to record finger prints..I am sure there are companies out there that can provide the hardware and software to make this procedure much more simple and efficient..the lack of vision in this place is indeed shameful

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 12th, 2009, 7:25 am

pioneer wrote:Patch yuh hadda understand de power these people have, political power also...trying to fight them might jus land you and your family in trouble you mighten want.

What goes around comes around though, all the way around.

SO one day ah helicopter go run ove the LARGE lavish mansion of the rich boi family in valsayn and the pilots and dem go say that they get ah bad drive from the Millioniare house? :shock:

xtech

Postby xtech » October 12th, 2009, 7:35 am

if the official report said the audi got a bad drive from the van. how was that proven did they use footage recorded by one of the police traffic cams

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 12th, 2009, 8:14 am

^^^^

even if they got a bad drive, how does an AUDI travelling withing the speed limit and drivign safely hit another vehicle SO HARD that it instantly combusts?

And IF the audi was driving within the speed limit how come after he hit the said van- it ONLY took him a quarter of a mile to come to a stop.

the audi must have had a HELL of a momentum!

I guess its ok for SOME people to drive at over 200kmp/h and accidentially RUN over other people!

Postby 16 cycles » October 12th, 2009, 10:06 am

when an officer makes a log in the station diary, does he/she put badge number / ID to trace it back to the officer?

a while back on one of the papers, there was a journalist who was reviewing "cold cases" - including the akiel chambers case, maybe can bring this one to his attention?

newto4x4

Postby newto4x4 » October 12th, 2009, 10:13 am

We should talk to our MPs to raise a question in parliament.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 12th, 2009, 11:32 am

edhardy wrote:Whatever the outcome............GOD DOES NOT SLEEP!!!

you sure about this?
So many bad things happen to people in this country...most of them NEVER get justice. The criminals walk freely amongst us with no remorse.

So unless you're talking about the afterlife ...heaven and hell....your statements are not 100% true.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 19th, 2009, 7:18 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009 ... ut-justice

Double death in highway crash...
Family cries out for justice
Geisha Kowlessar
Published: 19 Oct 2009

The family of Jameel and Quadir Ali—the father and son who were burnt to death in a car crash—has initiated legal proceedings against the son of a business contractor. The accident occurred on the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway three months ago. Jameel, 49, and his son Quadir, 24, both gardeners, were burnt beyond recognition in their pick-up van. They were returning home after selling produce at the Macoya Wholesale Market in Tunapuna on July 15. The van, in which the victims were occupants, collided with an Audi in which the son of a businessman was a passenger. Sara Ali, who has vowed to leave no stone unturned in her quest to seek justice, swore that the deaths of her father and brother would not be in vain.

In an interview with the 22-year-old woman at her home in Petit Bourg, she said her family had been left with no choice but to obtain legal recourse. “We had no other option but to hire a lawyer,â€

xtech

Postby xtech » October 19th, 2009, 9:04 am

The Guardian has refrained from naming the driver of the vehicle involved, even though his name and that of his family had been mentioned in previous media coverage.