Official BlackBerry Thread

bigga514

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 5:53 pm

yea especially if it covered send it back and find a better seller* and or buy a unlocked one.

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2010, 6:12 pm

argh...."brand new" 9700 eh, only opened for picture according to seller.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Aye I don't know what happen with my previous invite it said it expired or was used by someone else.
pin:30253685

Neat shortcut for bb users. Type "my pin" as one word or "my number" to automatically enter your pin or number

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 24th, 2010, 8:39 pm

anyone have a link for the tutorials on how to upgrade your os

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 9:25 pm

Google crackberry.com how to upgrade your os

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » May 25th, 2010, 12:23 pm

Postby SUPAstarr » May 25th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Looks good, not really too much of a vertical slide fan, much rather a horizontal slide

Postby r3iXmann » May 29th, 2010, 6:07 pm

got internet access with my BIS enabled sim on HTC touch using bbconnect

someone gave me some apn settings but i didn't have any access until i installed the bbconnect

you're supposed to be able to get emails and stuff but i used active sync and it stopped working before i had a chance to test the emails

internet works fine though 8-)

samureye

Postby samureye » June 6th, 2010, 6:20 pm

Hey guys I'm looking for some information that I can't seem to get from sales reps at all. Looking to get a pair of BBs.

Would like to go with Digicel, but would like to know, does the BBM count with your internet usage? It seems that with bmobile that is not the case, but I was told with Digicel it counts.

What do you need to sign up for the BBs?

Who is generally considered to have the better BB plans/service - bmobile or digicel? Asking since you guys will have the experience. Thanks much.

Postby tr1ad » June 6th, 2010, 8:02 pm

digi the bbm does not count as part of your package

Postby Cjruckus » June 6th, 2010, 8:09 pm

bigga514 wrote: Jx Ovulation Calendar
Menstrual Calendar

interested in these aps

samureye

Postby samureye » June 6th, 2010, 8:37 pm

tr1ad wrote:digi the bbm does not count as part of your package

Annoying that the lady in Digicel was adamant that BBM counts on your data. Signing up new, would you say Digi or bmobile?

Postby r3iXmann » June 6th, 2010, 8:43 pm

samureye wrote:
tr1ad wrote:digi the bbm does not count as part of your package

Annoying that the lady in Digicel was adamant that BBM counts on your data. Signing up new, would you say Digi or bmobile?

bbm doesnt count for data

from what i've heard cost wise,it makes more sense to take a tstt plan

digicel's service is much better than tstt's though

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » June 6th, 2010, 8:55 pm

Go on a plan that is affordable and beneficial to you, I have no issues with digi plan..

samureye

Postby samureye » June 6th, 2010, 9:55 pm

How they explain the plans, it's been confusing. As I understand you need a data and voice plan, so you should be able to get one and pay about $200 a month minimum. Don't need heavy usage, so minimum would do.

Postby Cjruckus » June 6th, 2010, 10:13 pm

samureye wrote:How they explain the plans, it's been confusing. As I understand you need a data and voice plan, so you should be able to get one and pay about $200 a month minimum. Don't need heavy usage, so minimum would do.

its straight forward

unlimited or a quota

Its cheaper to buy it with a voice plan, so you have a voice plan plus Blackberry service

you can get Blackberry service by itself but the phone will only be used for data. No Calls in or out.

If you only want to spend 200 a month, go prepaid and pay fro 2 weeks.

samureye

Postby samureye » June 6th, 2010, 10:30 pm

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/postpaid/po ... erry-plans

Will likely just go with the 5MB plan and the lowest voice plan. As I said, won't be heavy usage. Friends have been saying 5 has been sufficient. Is there any way to check your data usage? Think I read there wasn't.

Any idea on what we talking about to use the 5MB up?

Postby Cjruckus » June 6th, 2010, 10:34 pm

Well I just took the unlimited because I dont want to have to worry about running out ofan allocation. BBM can take data especially when people like to send pictures of random sheit. aLso facebook ap when downloading albums etc etc, it will eat up data because the ap downloads the whole album.

You can surf facebook for free now on any phone with digicel.. using 0.facebook.com

samureye

Postby samureye » June 6th, 2010, 10:40 pm

I liked using the App when I got like 5 seconds hands on time with a BB. I know I will mostly have a PC available, so the BB will be tweeting and fb-ing on the go, because people need to know what I'm doing at all times, naturally. And BBM would be kick ass as well.

So, stupid question, the BBM is free to anyone anywhere right? FB, Twitter, BBM, looking up the random thing when out would be the major uses. Thanks a lot for the feedback. In-store people know nothing. They said BBM on digi cuts into your data!

Again, having a way to track usage would be awesome. I know you can do it away, but I know I have to scrutinize everything here sadly.

Postby Cjruckus » June 6th, 2010, 11:29 pm

Well yeah BBM is data. Just Picture BBM to be a glorified MSN for Blackberry users only.

If you want you could sign up for the limited Blackberry plan that only gives you facebook, bbm, etc. Since you dont plan on using Emails and web browsing, thats always an option..

samureye

Postby samureye » June 6th, 2010, 11:48 pm

Yeah there is where my dunce comes at 100. Looking here http://www.digiceltt.com/en/postpaid/po ... erry-plans

I can go in new, take the 100$ voice plan, then the $100 5MB plan and I can do anything I want but have to keep usage in check, or go with the $69 social plan which is IM and FB and myspace (for whatever reason) - anyone use this plan and can say if it is you have to use the app for fb only or is it that fb is the only URL you can connect to? How does that work? And it's unlimited usage by way of photos on fb, msn, bbm, etc?

Will try calling Digicel to clarify, because in store, they are pretty much clueless. Appreciate the help.

droppa

Postby droppa » June 7th, 2010, 1:26 pm

is something wrong with my bb8520?
i cant login and browse v3 3ne2nr, only as visitor, when i go to login page is always some error on page, if however i do get to login, and i click view my post, im re-directed to the login page, and the pages take real long to open up, can anything be done in this situ...??

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » June 7th, 2010, 5:43 pm

samureye go with the social plan and see how it works, do not go with the 5MB plan because before month end you will request an upgrade. The blackberry goes through numerous updates and that alone will use up the 5MB.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » June 7th, 2010, 5:55 pm

Anyone have a bb to give away?

samureye

Postby samureye » June 7th, 2010, 6:32 pm

Anyone on social plan could speak on their experience by chance?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » June 7th, 2010, 6:38 pm

@ droppa ENABLE COOKIES for the browser or delete your cache and cookies and try again.
on the browser hit bb button/options/cache operations clear everything, pull yuh battery, should be good to go.

@ samureye you can always use opera mini for web browsing they compress all the data on their own servers before the pages are sent to your phone
opera.com they brag about being able to cut data use by up to 90% works great for me.
fbsocial is pushed content just like email dont take it if you think you would want to go to other sites like twitter.
if they offer a unlimited email only plan that and opera mini can be your best bet as opera wont need to use bis altho it can lets jus say there is a known way around having to take unlimited data if you dont have to only downside is that you wont be able to dl app from your phone.

* also jus disable updates to download to your phone jus do them on you computer with bb hooked up by usb using desktop manager software that comes with the phone. it checks for updates when you plug in the phone, and its also how you would install software if you dont wanna download the software to your phone from web(another way to save on data)

flat_out

Postby flat_out » June 8th, 2010, 10:33 am

samureye wrote:Anyone on social plan could speak on their experience by chance?

I'm not on social but this is how it works. You pay x amount of money per week and all you can use is IM applications, Facebook and twitter.

So what you can use it bbm, msn, yahoo, fb, twitter and other chat applications.
If you want to browse, you can't. Unless you connect to a WiFi.

If you're not going to be browsing or using emails, get the social plan. It's a good deal.

droppa

Postby droppa » June 8th, 2010, 12:38 pm

thanks for the info, ill try that.

Postby crazybalhead » June 8th, 2010, 12:41 pm

I eh searching will add question.

Need to upgrade from my ancient pearl when it dies, I need:
MS Office viewing editing capability
PDF viewing
Must be small, light and rugged.

Must be a BB under Bmobile.

I do emails and check reports on my pearl regularly.

Which model allyuh suggest?

xauss

Postby xauss » June 8th, 2010, 12:47 pm

8520...seriously...mine take reaaalllll lix and still goin strong