Audiopipe vs IASCA Stock 1 - 150.2dB ; )

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 21st, 2010, 12:53 pm

FIRST, LOCATE RESONANT FREQ OF THE CAR. NEXT, FIND THE FS OF THE SPEAKER (FOCUS ON THE SENSITIVITY ALSO - CLOSER TO 100 THE BETTER) COMPARE FS TO FREQ OF CAR.THE CLOSER THE BETTER. ADJUST THE PORT DEPTH FOR THE FREQ TARGET-SHORTER GETS YOU HIGHER TONES,LONGER DEEPER TONES,53-60 HTZ HITS HARDER THAN LOWER TONES. MAKE SURE LOADING WALL IS LOCATED A MULTIPLE OF THE DIA OF SPEAKER. MOVE THE BOX AROUND TO GET YOUR BEST DB READING THE LARGER THE BOX THE DEEPER THE TONE BE CARFUL NOT TO DRIVE BEYOND THE F3 POINT, THE ROLL OFF IS VERY STEEP YOU COULD LOSE YOUR WOOFER BEYOND THAT POINT

Not my words but I had copied this from termpro early in 08 when I was in the starting stage of my spl fetish and found this advice to come in handy.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 21st, 2010, 12:57 pm

great tips man

d box i use for SPL was built about 1.5yrs b4 i even put it on any meter & i still used this same box today so its about 3.5 yrs old . Had a time i was doing some trial & error with it & it ended up with [36] 1\4" size drill holes in it from experimenting which i have covered back up with a simple 1" piece of duct tape & its been holding over 1.5yrs

have tried a few other boxes & all have not come close to d original - might try a new 1 just like it 1 day built with some 1" instead & see what happens ...but like Boom said what work for 1 guy may not be d case for a next guy

SPL does rarely be a over night thing , i was 1 of d lucky few to start off good but with slight adjustments , mistakes & little ideas picked up along d way i have been able to get more on d meter ... SPL is really a trial & error thing though...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2010, 2:32 pm

When deadening your vehicle for SPL, don't deaden everything! only deaden the areas that will affect your score in a positive way.. Simple testing on the meter can help here..

Deadening for SPL is a funny thing, some people will deaden their entire vehicle and gain up to and over 1dB.. When i did it, my score stayed exactly the same, even through there was a massive reduction on body vibrations..

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » March 22nd, 2010, 9:15 am

i havent even deadened my car yet but i will be doin the roof and tail gate first and see what happens.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » March 22nd, 2010, 9:23 am

3stagevtec wrote:When deadening your vehicle for SPL, don't deaden everything! only deaden the areas that will affect your score in a positive way.. Simple testing on the meter can help here..

Deadening for SPL is a funny thing, some people will deaden their entire vehicle and gain up to and over 1dB.. When i did it, my score stayed exactly the same, even through there was a massive reduction on body vibrations..

Strangely enough we lost about .5db + when we deadened the hood in the lancer..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 22nd, 2010, 12:21 pm

it looks a hit & miss with deadening in some cases

never tested my set b4 & after because d real reason i did my wagon even b4 i ever thought about competing was too many areas all over always making annoying vibrations or rattles & i couldn't stand hearing that ...music all around sounded a whole lot better when it was done though ...

audioangel

Postby audioangel » March 22nd, 2010, 12:48 pm

simple.....deadening changes the resonant frequency of the vehicle. u will have to retune your box after u deaden

Postby SR » March 22nd, 2010, 2:02 pm

audioangel wrote:simple.....deadening changes the resonant frequency of the vehicle. u will have to retune your box after u deaden

correct :twisted:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2010, 2:07 pm

SR wrote:
audioangel wrote:simple.....deadening changes the resonant frequency of the vehicle. u will have to retune your box after u deaden

what about cancellation? or constructive / destructive interference.. wouldn't deadening certain panels cause more / less of each...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2010, 4:21 pm

you know, i really expected someone to notice the amount of power we used in the demo vid i posted.. or particularly the impedance of the system during the burp...

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2010, 5:18 pm

^^LOL sry it ended up with tips and tricks lol..

marlonmrmusic

SPL

Postby marlonmrmusic » March 25th, 2010, 10:17 pm

Dude those tens played awesome! I have tens as well and i wanna show some people out there that pioneers can and will give SQL bass as well, i just dunno how to go about this spl thing. Big up the low price speakers!!

Lance

Postby Lance » March 26th, 2010, 7:25 am

3stagevtec wrote:
SR wrote:

what about cancellation? or constructive / destructive interference.. wouldn't deadening certain panels cause more / less of each...

Indeed.

I believe it has alot to do with this aswell.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 30th, 2010, 10:13 pm

new video.. everyone knows the difference between the TL and the AC meter right..

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/SiT9aVYz3Bk&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

here we braced the box and flush mounted the subs.. power wise, we are right at the limit for the subs..

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 30th, 2010, 11:06 pm

^^^notice the high pitched noise when the van was idling and reving.
thats the bearing that seized on the way to the 100% IASCA show in Harry's Water Park and caused me to retire... *sigh*

jeff

Postby jeff » March 31st, 2010, 12:48 am

when u made the 147.6 what did the termlab read

Postby 3stagevtec » March 31st, 2010, 12:50 am

jeff wrote:when u made the 147.6 what did the termlab read

we were between 146.5 - 146.7 while testing..

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 2nd, 2010, 8:49 pm

147.3 wtf man an on the TL 2 weyyyyz..... Stock 1 in skinner park gona be intense... my money is on runul tho... i know yall gona do sum las min mods... and d day of d show will hit 148.3-148.5

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » April 2nd, 2010, 9:33 pm

Mr. Chow for the win.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 2nd, 2010, 9:38 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
jeff wrote:when u made the 147.6 what did the termlab read

we were between 146.5 - 146.7 while testing..

That sounds about right from our experiences as well. roughly 1 db (+/- .1)or so

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2010, 10:33 pm

dat is 105V i seein dere in the end of the last clip?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 3rd, 2010, 12:12 am

ChristianRD wrote:Mr. Chow for the win.

honestly i dont think so

i feel 3stage is going to be the one to make me tune the box higher than 33hz ,beat my score quick so i can get back to my kick panels :)

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 3rd, 2010, 4:31 am

1ploi

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 3rd, 2010, 11:20 am

jeff wrote:
ChristianRD wrote:Mr. Chow for the win.

honestly i dont think so

i feel 3stage is going to be the one to make me tune the box higher than 33hz ,beat my score quick so i can get back to my kick panels :)

Don't rate me up to much... You should surely understand the headache it is to get the db's up at this point and my upcoming exams not gonna help.

infinite_RPM wrote:147.3 wtf man an on the TL 2 weyyyyz..... Stock 1 in skinner park gona be intense... my money is on runul tho... i know yall gona do sum las min mods... and d day of d show will hit 148.3-148.5

Thanks hoss... Should be there for Skinner Park's show... Daz my home turf :lol:
Will also be the last show of the month for me.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 3rd, 2010, 1:09 pm

sMASH wrote:dat is 105V i seein dere in the end of the last clip?

:?:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 3rd, 2010, 1:52 pm

cvt-7_RR, when exams finishing?

Did either if y'all paint your boxes pink? Proven for 3 tenths of a deebee. :mrgreen:.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » April 3rd, 2010, 7:49 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:cvt-7_RR, when exams finishing?

Did either if y'all paint your boxes pink? Proven for 3 tenths of a deebee. :mrgreen:.

nice....does clear coat help

Postby sMASH » April 3rd, 2010, 10:46 pm

what was the meter shown in the ending of the first clip?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 4th, 2010, 1:00 am

sMASH wrote:what was the meter shown in the ending of the first clip?

i now see what you asking.. yeah, it's 105 Volts...

Postby SR » April 4th, 2010, 8:55 pm

Walks in thread. Wonders who are members. Walks back out