Which flat sub ?

Vtec Vigilante

Which flat sub ?

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 13th, 2010, 3:09 pm

Wanna put either a Rockford P3SD412 or a Pioneer TS-SW301

The vehicle is my dad's TBT L200....already hav sufficient power to play either one

Postby Rainman » March 13th, 2010, 4:05 pm

whats the price on the both of them, if the price difference is negligible go with the Rockford, better build quality IMO. Your dad wont notice a difference in sound quality between the two.

jusbass

Postby jusbass » March 13th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Check out some other brands like element designs american bass kicker you have alot of option and sound lot better than the brands u post also cheaper.

Postby Rainman » March 13th, 2010, 4:43 pm

DO they also have shallow mount subs? Because the installation is being done in a pickup.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 13th, 2010, 6:25 pm

mtx has a flat sub as well, dont know if its readily available thoug

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 13th, 2010, 6:42 pm

rainman wrote:whats the price on the both of them, if the price difference is negligible go with the Rockford, better build quality IMO. Your dad wont notice a difference in sound quality between the two.

the rf costs $1100 at triple r and the pioneer cost $800 by toiz wit noiz...but i hav no reasons why i shouldnt buy d rf, since their subs are a better bang for the money

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 13th, 2010, 6:47 pm

noyztoyz wrote:mtx has a flat sub as well, dont know if its readily available thoug

thats the thunder thin series you're talkin bout noyztoyz, but has anyone ever heard one of these play b4 ?...think it costs round $1000

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 13th, 2010, 6:53 pm

jusbass wrote:Check out some other brands like element designs american bass kicker you have alot of option and sound lot better than the brands u post also cheaper.

The kicker comp-vt 12 and 10 is 400rms\ 800 peak and costs $99 u.s and $149 u.s respectively...but will look into those Element designs and american bass subs...thx for your offer

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 13th, 2010, 8:39 pm

^^^^^ if you want the loudest of the subs you mentioned go with the pioneer in a ported box, the Rockford in the Spec Box is sound like tata, and the Kicker subs sound mediocre at best.

I used all 3 already, and i even think i have pics of the kicker install. The Pair of Kickers did get loud in a ported box when i tried them but the box was rell big, like 3.2 cubes.

Had the kickers on a solid 900rms, the pioneer was on 350rms, and the rockford was on 500.

The rockford bun down more than 3 times, the kickers took power the best, and the pioneer was just average. Pioneer 12 was the loudest of the 3, even louder than the pair of 10" kickers on more than twice the power.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 13th, 2010, 9:36 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:^^^^^ if you want the loudest of the subs you mentioned go with the pioneer in a ported box, the Rockford in the Spec Box is sound like tata, and the Kicker subs sound mediocre at best.

I used all 3 already, and i even think i have pics of the kicker install. The Pair of Kickers did get loud in a ported box when i tried them but the box was rell big, like 3.2 cubes.

Had the kickers on a solid 900rms, the pioneer was on 350rms, and the rockford was on 500.

The rockford bun down more than 3 times, the kickers took power the best, and the pioneer was just average. Pioneer 12 was the loudest of the 3, even louder than the pair of 10" kickers on more than twice the power.

ok...............

rainman wrote:whats the price on the both of them, if the price difference is negligible go with the Rockford, better build quality IMO. Your dad wont notice a difference in sound quality between the two.

what he said

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 13th, 2010, 10:35 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:^^^^^ if you want the loudest of the subs you mentioned go with the pioneer in a ported box, the Rockford in the Spec Box is sound like tata, and the Kicker subs sound mediocre at best.

Will giv it a try..thx for all your assistance tuners...big up !!! :wink:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » March 14th, 2010, 7:49 am

hmmm flat subs

imo, if there is a way to avoid using them avoid them

you supposed to have enough space to fit up to 4 8" subs in a regular low tuned ported box , which will out perform the flats

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 14th, 2010, 8:44 am

if this is the kinda van i think it is, he will hadda squeeze that shallow mount to get it to fit.

Also the rockford that burnt 3 times was not the same exact speaker, it was one that was returned to the store and replaced on warranty three times. Best Buy by the way.

Then we ended up just using a pair of the pioneer 10s in that car and it sounds great, IMO the shallow subs sound decent in a ported box.

and the big box i tried them in was in one of my 10" boxes built for my GTi, and go look up the kicker specboxes for those 10s nah, you would be surprised what they recommend for a shallow sub. They reccomend 1.75 cubic+port and speaker displacement for a shallow 10" sub.

so firewall i en talkin nonsense.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 14th, 2010, 8:45 am

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 14th, 2010, 8:55 am

why did the RF burn 3 times doh?

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 14th, 2010, 10:30 am

i honestly have no idea, the 3rd time i returned it to the store for my buddy the guy in the car audio department told me that there have been about 20 replacements of the rockford shallow sub and box combo. Thats when i stopped being adventurous and just went with the Pioneers because i knew that they work.

So it wasnt a bad install, and it was not just my bad experience.

Instead of taking the 3rd replacement, i just took a store credit, bought 1 of the pioneer 10s at best buy, bought some wire for the 2nd sub, and ordered the 2nd pioneer sub online. Those 10s sound decent for some shallow subs and he is using just one set of alpine type s comps in the front as well, so those 2 10s on the same 500rms amp compliments the mids well also.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 14th, 2010, 10:32 am

But if you ask me, i think that it could very well be that the people that bought those subs, as well as my padna just didn't give it enough time to break in properly before putting them to the max.

But even still, out of 20 failures, there had to be one person that followed the right steps.

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 14th, 2010, 10:42 am

southside connections wrote:hmmm flat subs

imo, if there is a way to avoid using them avoid them

you supposed to have enough space to fit up to 4 8" subs in a regular low tuned ported box , which will out perform the flats

wat brand u would recommend ?....again, am jus lookin for a lil small knock....if u or anyone else could help me i'll appreciate it

southside connections

Postby southside connections » March 14th, 2010, 10:48 am

ok there are many choices-

elemental designs 7kv
rockford p1/p2
re re series

out of those, the re has the most local support there listed

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » March 14th, 2010, 11:14 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:why did the RF burn 3 times doh?

i was tinkin d same ting....i hav used 4 brand on flat subs an there wasnt any problem....

pioneer, rockford, mb quart and elemental designs...

all worked gr8...d ed responded to the low notes better tho....

for ur personal listening and comfort go wit d ed....

check dadio on the forum ....he has some flat subs wit boxes....

8-)

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 14th, 2010, 11:55 am

^^^^yeah heard some good reviews but never tested the ED myself, but if he telling you gowith it, it should sound fairly decent.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » March 16th, 2010, 7:28 pm

MTX Thunder Thin TT65 10" Single 4 ohm Subwoofer - $1000.00 (Best Price)

http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/su ... 65_sub.cfm

try this 1 na.....sounds really nice....lemme no if u interested

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » March 23rd, 2010, 6:24 pm

no thx man...thx anyways

Guys, if i replace the L200 's two front seats with higher seats, will the flat sub and box fit perfect ?...now measured and no subs\box can fit.... :x

solidust

Postby solidust » March 31st, 2010, 9:52 pm

Just now we gettin flat alpine TYPE R....wait.
:o :D

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » April 1st, 2010, 7:15 am

how long bro ?.....hardly hav patience when it comes to installing a knock in my dad's van :D

Postby Rainman » April 1st, 2010, 8:07 am

solidust wrote:Just now we gettin flat alpine TYPE R....wait.
:o :D

Source?

solidust

Postby solidust » April 1st, 2010, 7:31 pm

I meant we all will have to wait on it since its a new release. Exonic or Raptor might be the 1st ppl to get it.

ado15mk3

Re: Which flat sub ?

Postby ado15mk3 » September 3rd, 2012, 9:44 pm

hijacking an old thread here :)
looking to do an upgrade in my l200. any installers on here have experience with subs in the back of the back seat? everything needs to look stock.
recommendations please: if there is someone in central that can take a listen to the system and give some advice.

ado15mk3

Re: Which flat sub ?

Postby ado15mk3 » September 4th, 2012, 7:33 am

^ forgot to mention that i knows zip about speakers/music system etc. thats why i would rather someone check out the current system and advise.

now to google 'alpine type r flat sub'

tdavies

Re:

Postby tdavies » September 4th, 2012, 4:10 pm

this makes no sense