Washing your van!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jhonnieblue

Washing your van!!!

Postby jhonnieblue » March 1st, 2010, 7:44 pm

So got my nav, first black vehicle

whats the besrt way to wash it and prevent swirl marks

what would be a good polish to use
heard about ice and mothers reflections

any tips??

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 1st, 2010, 8:29 pm

save water use a bucket ?

mothers rule

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 1st, 2010, 11:06 pm

if its the paint from the firm, then it will swirl no matter what you do

the factory paint sucks a$$

there is a nice washing glove that L&DG sell...very soft.

make sure and wet the van LIBERALLY. it has to be soaking wet so as not to abraise the paint

use Mothers car wash and keep the glove or sponge wet as well

rinse down as normal

use Mothers showtime after for that real gloss black finish

once a month, use Mothers Clay Bar and Polish

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 1st, 2010, 11:19 pm

thanks biggy...yeah nav from the firm...and it black...saw it has swirls on it already and i only washed it once today..so im guessing its from n&m when they washed it

ill go get that glove asap...i used to wash with the turtle wax car wah on my xtrail

so ill give the mothers a try

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 2nd, 2010, 6:55 am

thats a common thing with black - really hard to maintained - even a little dirt or dust shows up -

One trick is never use sponge - or use mechanical buffing machines - these things tends to damage your clear coat - get a good carnuba and use cotton towels... I always think the best person to wash your ride is you.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 3rd, 2010, 1:10 am

DO NOT USE A BUCKET.... use a hose! :evil:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 3rd, 2010, 9:20 am

Call me i can give your van a very good detail - 784-9290

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 3rd, 2010, 9:40 am

equipped2ripp wrote:DO NOT USE A BUCKET.... use a hose! :evil:

Agreed.... just doh get ketch.... LOL

Use a hose and cotton towels. Start from the top of the vehicle and work your way down.

Don't use the chamois to dry the vehicle, use a normal size cotton towel for this.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 3rd, 2010, 9:54 am

Also you should have separate towels for the tires
Last edited by 323_wagon_dude on March 3rd, 2010, 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 3rd, 2010, 10:04 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:

Use a hose and cotton towels. Start from the top of the vehicle and work your way down.

Don't use the chamois to dry the vehicle, use a normal size cotton towel for this.

good advice there....heading to get some of those today as i always used to dry previous cars with chamois

Stello

Postby Stello » March 4th, 2010, 1:34 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:

Hahahah, the man who don't wash his hilux at all giving advice on keeping it clean. lol

323 better u give him that bucket u have with all the wash stuff cuz u dont use it. lol

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 4th, 2010, 4:33 pm

^^ Hear who talking... the man who abandon he van for......:roll:

Because I know how to clean it i could keep it dirty :twisted:

Stello

Postby Stello » March 4th, 2010, 5:14 pm

^^ lol actually after our discussion on tuesday I went home and wash my van. I coulda swear u had a goldish colour hilux. Didn't realize ur van was black. Lol
I
:twisted:

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » March 4th, 2010, 6:53 pm

check ziebart for Diamond Gloss

JD......

Postby JD...... » March 5th, 2010, 3:40 am

i had a soft brush thing on a handle, i think from peakes, and that worked like a dream and cut washing time by over 10 mins, but now the ebds are hard and have to get a new one.

i still use my hose, think about it, if you have a ball valve on the end and regulate your use of water you use less water then if u were to use a bucket...hands down

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 5th, 2010, 7:36 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:

Cotton is harsh on paint. Microfibre is what you need. The washing glove at L&DG would work fine.

Use 2 buckets (one with detergent of choice and one with plain water) to wash and hose or another bucket to rinse.

Always rinse/shake out/wash cloth in the plain water bucket before dipping in detergent then apply to vehicle.

If you usually use one bucket, you will see the difference with the 2 bucket method.

When rinsing the vehicle, allow water to flow rather than spray and dry with microfibre. Doh let WASA popo see you though... :|

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”