question about Noah's ark.............

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 2:29 pm

as for the appearance of the water, simply, i never believed it was here, and therefore could have gone nowhere and needed no origin.

Jonathan

Re: question about Noah's ark

Postby Jonathan » November 10th, 2009, 3:46 pm

glennj wrote:thanks.point well taken and i hope that we also know that there are alot of stuff that scientists cant even begin to fathom.

if as razkal quoted is that where the water went?where did it come from?

Ahh yes, the ole "god-of-the-gaps-theory"..

Come better dan dat nah. :lol:

Postby X2 » November 10th, 2009, 3:59 pm

You will all go to hell.

In hell... there are bad roads... bad power and water distribution.. corruption all around... doubles reaaal expensive... KFC even worse... there is NO RACE TRACK, no one does anything logical... if you follow the rules, you LOSE... there is no end to hell and there is nothing you can do about it !

Repent, heathens... before it's too late !!!

*looks around*

Awww shift....

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 4:06 pm

^ :lol: :lol:

thats just sad aye? :|

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 8:00 pm

X2 wrote:You will all go to hell.

In hell... there are bad roads... bad power and water distribution.. corruption all around... doubles reaaal expensive... KFC even worse... there is NO RACE TRACK, no one does anything logical... if you follow the rules, you LOSE... there is no end to hell and there is nothing you can do about it !

Repent, heathens... before it's too late !!!

*looks around*

Awww shift....
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

achillies

Re: question about Noah's ark.............

Postby achillies » November 10th, 2009, 8:10 pm

MG Man wrote:watchin a doc on NatGeo abt the search for the man boat....conventional wisdom puts the size at either 450 feet or 515 feet long, depending on whose cubit measurement you use..............either way, how the heck did unkle Noah fit two of every living critter in a boat that size??????????????????

Don't believe everything u hear on NATGEO, they have propagated a great many falsehoods based upon their "conventional wisdom"

achillies

Postby achillies » November 10th, 2009, 8:39 pm

Faith is the substance of things hoped for , the evidence of things not seen.

The bible was written by man who were inspired by GOD. The bible as we read it today (KJV, etc) is a translation of the original text, translated by men who were not inspired by GOD.

If u read the bible properly u would realize that it never rained before the great flood and the water was in the atmosphere above, also the conditions of the earth were very different as a result. Because of this food would never spoil or sour or go bad as we say in Trinidad. There was no fermentation of fruits hence no need for freezers or refridgerators, also no need to freeze meats for later use. The first instance of a man getting drunk was when Noah got drunk after the flood because he consumed liquid from fermented furit so he got high. And this took place after the flood

God said come let us reason together, but we must be very careful of the facts we use when reasoning because alot of facts we aquire without proper vetting from outside sources. Faith is not the great cop-out, the lack of knowledge is what leads to people using the word faith loosely.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 9:04 pm

achillies wrote:Faith is the substance of things hoped for , the evidence of things not seen.

The bible was written by man who were inspired by GOD. The bible as we read it today (KJV, etc) is a translation of the original text, translated by men who were not inspired by GOD.

If u read the bible properly u would realize that it never rained before the great flood and the water was in the atmosphere above, also the conditions of the earth were very different as a result. Because of this food would never spoil or sour or go bad as we say in Trinidad. There was no fermentation of fruits hence no need for freezers or refridgerators, also no need to freeze meats for later use. The first instance of a man getting drunk was when Noah got drunk after the flood because he consumed liquid from fermented furit so he got high. And this took place after the flood

God said come let us reason together, but we must be very careful of the facts we use when reasoning because alot of facts we aquire without proper vetting from outside sources. Faith is not the great cop-out, the lack of knowledge is what leads to people using the word faith loosely.

achillies, you're exposing your heel. The fellahs here will punch so many holes in your argument that your write-up will look like a used bar-room dartboard from East End. I won't bother explaining each point you need to rework, as I have noticed posters shy away from responding to my write-ups - so no more exercises in futility for me. I will just deal with your last paragraph...

I just want you to re-read this line of yours: we must be very careful of the facts we use when reasoning because a lot of facts we aquire without proper vetting from outside sources. Now, recall, if you will, the meaning of 'facts'. Facts are real. You cannot decide which facts can and can't be used in apologetics - either they are relevant or not. Deciding to ignore a relevant fact because you don't approve of it, doesn't make it any less real, and worse, removes the logic in your argument. Remember that you said: "God said come let us reason together"! Reason is part of his creation - use it.

"Faith is not the great cop-out, the lack of knowledge is what leads to people using the word faith loosely" - but if you are ignoring facts, then you are falling prey to this same problem by deliberately blocking knowledge - leading to a lack of it (self-strangulation?)...

Cheers

Re: question about Noah's ark.............

Postby MG Man » November 10th, 2009, 10:39 pm

achillies wrote:
MG Man wrote:watchin a doc on NatGeo abt the search for the man boat....conventional wisdom puts the size at either 450 feet or 515 feet long, depending on whose cubit measurement you use..............either way, how the heck did unkle Noah fit two of every living critter in a boat that size??????????????????

Don't believe everything u hear on NATGEO, they have propagated a great many falsehoods based upon their "conventional wisdom"

the conventional wisdom I cited came form believers, sir
check the bible....u will find many falsehoods

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 11th, 2009, 12:44 am

so if so many people know of these falsehoods how do you know what is the truth

it is a fact that the bible has been translated more than once by people who may not have properly understood the original language we don't even know which religion is even close to the truth

scientology ftw

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 11th, 2009, 1:02 am

man wrote about it in the good book, IT MUST BE TRUE!

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2009, 1:20 am

d spike

Postby d spike » November 11th, 2009, 7:32 am

d spike wrote:Can any of these questions be answered based on the bible?

Did Noah take a pair of each type of animal - or did he take seven pairs of each type of ritually clean animals, one pair of each kind of unclean animals, and seven pairs of each kind of bird?

Did the snake in the garden of Eden have legs before God cursed him?

Did God create animals and plants before Man - or after?

Postby MG Man » November 11th, 2009, 7:36 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Image

sweet......u sell those?

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » November 11th, 2009, 7:53 am

Out on a limb here, but anyone remember watching this as a kid?

This thread reminded me of it. :)

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2009, 8:03 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Image

sweet......u sell those?

only if you believe that noah had a ark that fit all the animals

I have a strict policy against selling non believers

d spike

Postby d spike » November 11th, 2009, 12:02 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
only if you believe that noah had a ark that fit all the animals

I have a strict policy against selling non believers

Okay then...

...so how much do you sell believers for? I would like 3 please, preferably right-handed...

Postby RBphoto » November 11th, 2009, 12:09 pm

rmlmv wrote:Out on a limb here, but anyone remember watching this as a kid?

Oh lard!! Look old school thing. Battle of the woodworms and the termites. I took offence at the ants being stereotyped as chineese.

Postby MG Man » November 11th, 2009, 8:02 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

Oh lard!! Look old school thing. Battle of the woodworms and the termites. I took offence at the ants being stereotyped as chineese.

allyuh din find it lil um.....non G-rated when de mamma and de papam woodworm pull de blanket, nex ting dey holdin ah chile, and when de camera zoom back yuh see like eleventy-seven ah dem? was like WTF :shock: :lol:

Postby MG Man » November 11th, 2009, 8:05 pm

oh and when the dragon dropped the egg :(

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » November 11th, 2009, 8:12 pm

Noah was an alien and the ark a space ship ......
<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/t-BFlw0QQmw&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/t-BFlw0QQmw&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

Postby MG Man » November 11th, 2009, 8:16 pm

that movie was pretty bleh tho...

d spike

Postby d spike » November 11th, 2009, 9:00 pm

MG Man wrote:that movie was pretty bleh tho...

A movie about the Flood that was really good was the live footage taken from the Ark’s sister ship, the Segment, captained by Noah’s brother-in-law, Yeah. His sons, who made the film, took turns chipping the individual film cells on stone tablets and then cementing them together, as celluloid was not invented as yet. Unfortunately, the weight of the collected material caused the boat to sink. The reason why the dove didn’t return the last time Noah released it, was because it was shot down in a freak accident when one of Yeah’s sons fired off the world’s first emergency rocket flare. (Those boys were before our time – they were before their time as well.)

The film material was found and hidden with the Dead Cee Scrolls. (Not the Dead Sea Scrolls – these were written by a fellow named Cee who did early extensive research into solving his problem of erectile dysfunction.)

It is now lodged and hidden away from the lodges in the depths of the Vatican’s vaults ( hidden away from everyone else too, but the Early Church used the term “lodgeâ€

mars

Postby mars » November 11th, 2009, 10:52 pm

d spike

Postby d spike » November 11th, 2009, 10:52 pm

Wizard wrote:so if so many people know of these falsehoods how do you know what is the truth

it is a fact that the bible has been translated more than once by people who may not have properly understood the original language we don't even know which religion is even close to the truth

scientology ftw

Why do people view the bible as one book? This assumption is the cause for a lot of unnecessary crap that is being paraded around as religious teachings.

Firstly, the bible is a large assortment of books, written by different people, at differing times (across centuries), who had different customs, idioms, even beliefs (Judaism has and had multiple sects). The language differs, the focus of each book differs. Of course there are conflicting statements! It was dangerous to believe that a tree could be sacred in the time of Jesus, but old father Abraham had his sacred tamarind trees. Respect it for what it is, a collection of sacred texts, that need to be read carefully.

Think of it this way:
You are given a job to operate a large complex piece of machinery that you have absolutely no experience with. Then your boss hands you a large manual, written by different people who speak differently to you; seemingly conflict each other at times; some of the important info seems mythical - and you accept this? Knowing if you balls it up, you will never be hired again? Won't you beg him to allow an experienced operator to guide you? at least until you get the hang of it?

But noooo, allyuh too bright... some saying, "Yeah boss, ah will figure it out on mih own..."

Ah nex' set go to some young fellahs dey does lime wit' (an' cyah possibly learn nuttin' from dem - dem jus' as dotish as yuh..."

A road map is not a book of rules. Guidelines are not rules.

(MG, ah sorry eh, but ah cyant stop dis now... :oops: )

When will we stop wanting everyone to wear de same colour drawers????

Quite a few mystics have likened the return to God as the climbing of a mountain. We are all going the same way - some choose easier paths, some stumble and fall, some leave the path they are on and go on another... but we are all going in the same vracking direction. Why stone other climbers because they think another way up is better???? Use both hands to pull your own arse up instead, or help a brother who is too tired to climb anymore.

Dem who doh believe, dem climbing too - dey just looking for a way up - dey just don't know what is at de top (same as you - faith isn't knowledge.) If your culture's concept of God is an old man with a big book - and you don't accept this - does that mean you don't believe in God? or does it mean you don't believe the concept is right? (Talk Banzai, let me hear yuh!) If you think Jesus' words are important, then why ignore one of his most important teachings? The one where he says WHO will enter heaven? "Come ye, blessed of my Father, for when I was hungry, you gave me food, when I was thirsty, you gave me drink..." and so on. Where did he say yuh have to be Pentecostal? Catholic? Hindu? Muslim? (Ahmm, yuh have yuh baptismal certificate? Oh gorm... hold on nah, leh we check de files...)

An' what about de part where he tell his disciples, "I have other sheep, but they are not of this flock"?????

Why some ah allyuh claim to believe dat God loves everyone, But He only revealed Himself to a small group of fellahs living by deyself? (Yuh see allyuh? All ah allyuh is mih chosen people - doh worry bout de res' ah dem...)

Make up allyuh blasted mind what yuh really believe, stop spouting bs an' embarassing the saints/angels/deities/fill de blank space wit' de bossman ah yuh choice/mango tree.

I going and suck ah ten mango, and den repose in de vault fuh ah while...

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Postby MG Man » November 12th, 2009, 7:26 am

so you saying is ok den for me to eat red mango instead?

Postby RBphoto » November 12th, 2009, 9:42 am

crossdrilled wrote:

allyuh din find it lil um.....non G-rated when de mamma and de papam woodworm pull de blanket, nex ting dey holdin ah chile, and when de camera zoom back yuh see like eleventy-seven ah dem? was like WTF :shock: :lol:

Was a lil too young to unnastan back den :lol:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » November 12th, 2009, 12:56 pm

whats that place in rome where under that emperor that greatest book of all time was EDITED and COMPILED from SELECTED workings... damit... i cannot rember.... :roll:

Postby Razkal » November 12th, 2009, 1:17 pm

^PICK ME! PICK ME!!!!!

OOOhh! OOOhhh!! i know the answer! :D

QG

Postby QG » November 12th, 2009, 1:23 pm

Wizard wrote:so if so many people know of these falsehoods how do you know what is the truth

scientology ftw

So you totally trust in SCIENTOLOGY 100% right?

Science found UFOs and Aliens, have you ever seen it? Do you believe that those things exist?

Or is it simply man made to trick people?

Science found a starchild...half alien, half human...you believe that?

You claim not to trust the Bible, but how can you trust science when science at times are misleading?