anyone here has a compressed disk in there back?

Jon_One

anyone here has a compressed disk in there back?

Postby Jon_One » September 13th, 2009, 11:50 pm

i was diagnosed with a compressed disk a few months ago after i fell and hit my lower back .. did therapy for about 2 months it helped but pain never went totally ,considering changing chiropractor to someone new..also considering inversion therapy anyone tried this??any tips would be greatly appreciated ..

Postby X2 » September 14th, 2009, 6:06 am

What did your therapy involve ? Traction style treatment ? You can also consider doing that at home to help with pain.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 14th, 2009, 6:45 am

Who diagnosed the compressed disc, a doctor or a chiropractor?
If its the latter, go see an orthopaedist asap...
Chiropractors are renowned for fcuking up your joints...we see it everyday in clinic...

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2009, 7:07 am

I have a friend with an inversion table,
it is nice to use but it not any different than getting a massage for simple relief
I doubt it would help a crushed disc as that is very serious.

I also have a friend who had a crushed disc, he did an operation where they fused the disc to the ones above and below it and he is much better now, can play football etc

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 14th, 2009, 7:30 am

Jon one, where did you do therapy?

have you ever gone by the chiropractor in Arouca?

do you currenyly do any exercises at home for it as well?

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » September 14th, 2009, 8:02 am

A compressed disk can ONLY be diagnosed by an orthopaedic surgeon after a series of consultations and tests which must include MRI scans. If this was not done then you need to get checked properly. A good person to see would be DR. Lousaing in POS.

After proper diagnosis, your options are to have physiotherapy sessions with a real physiotherapist NOT A CHIROPRACTOR or to have corrective surgery. Pain killers and muscle relaxants would likely be prescribed for temporary pain relief. Swimming also provides a lot of relief as it relieves pressure from the spine.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 14th, 2009, 8:08 am

Er NO- DO NOT DO back surgery- look AT THE FACTS AND THE SUCCESS RATES.

ITS Really bad- almost 90% of people who have back disc surgery get back pain within a few short years of having the surgery!

Physio therapy, change of lifestlye- lifting, sleeping positioing etc helps alot.

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2009, 8:36 am

dat doc above is somewhat of a quack,
been to him, very unprofessional, playing with phone and checkign email whilst i talking to him, not to mention the prices

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » September 14th, 2009, 8:47 am

12 years now i was diagonsed with a compressed disk... talk bout life changing... i did yoga and dat helped... but u will need to keep doing exercises, not only inversion eh... dat will only fcuk up u r back even more...

DON NOT, and I STRESS do not allow ANY CHIROPRACTOR to rub/massage/ or do what ever they do on u r back, they cannot help u now u will have to learn to adjust to the new life style, of:

no heavy lifting.
do not sit for periods exceeding 30 mins at ne one time
do not stand for periods exceeding 30 mins
when/if u have to lift, BEND UR KNEES.

you will learn as u go along... at time u will not even know u have a compressed disk, and there will be times the pain will be there, bearable but there...

You can also consider changing ur mattress, to one of those back support ones, if u r pain is really unbearable, sleep on the floor, on a piece of sponge for a few days and u should get relief...

Try not to get to hooked on pain killers, if the pain is bearable, which most of the time it may be.. bear it, if u can't well take the pain killers..

All the best.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 14th, 2009, 8:51 am

acupuncture ftw

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 12:24 pm

X2 wrote:What did your therapy involve ? Traction style treatment ? You can also consider doing that at home to help with pain.

Well they did some kinda electronic pulse thing on my back using ultrasonic waves..it actually eased the pain .. they used to place tape it on to my back and it also used to have a kinda vibrating sensation.. it was said to stimulate nerves an thing..
then my next step was a stimulative massage with another kind of ultrasound machine but this one they used to move it with there hands

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 12:26 pm

worksux101 wrote:Who diagnosed the compressed disc, a doctor or a chiropractor?
Chiropractors are renowned for fcuking up your joints...we see it everyday in clinic...

a chiropractor..the chiropractor was on duncan street close to powergen..

so go see a orthopaedist?

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 12:27 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Jon one, where did you do therapy?

have you ever gone by the chiropractor in Arouca?

do you currenyly do any exercises at home for it as well?

nope not from arouca .. i used to do exercises for it but stopped.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 12:30 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Er NO- DO NOT DO back surgery- look AT THE FACTS AND THE SUCCESS RATES.

ITS Really bad- almost 90% of people who have back disc surgery get back pain within a few short years of having the surgery!

Physio therapy, change of lifestlye- lifting, sleeping positioing etc helps alot.

actually i have no intention of risking my life by doing a surgery ..
i dont want to be the lucky case that got an operation and was not successful .. and i dont want to risk being paralised

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 14th, 2009, 12:30 pm

Pool swimming FTW

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 12:33 pm

Captainzaak wrote:acupuncture ftw

is acupuncture good for this??
i am considering buying an inversion table...
steups i rell vex this hadda happen to me...i am young an now i hadda watch my back...

alright so next week i gonna start swimming considering the amount of people who told me to start back as it helps your back..

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 12:34 pm

thanks for the help..greatly appreciated

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 14th, 2009, 12:44 pm

Jon_One wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Who diagnosed the compressed disc, a doctor or a chiropractor?

a chiropractor..the chiropractor was on duncan street close to powergen..

so go see a orthopaedist?

Yes...the sooner the better...get a proper diagnosis and management plan...if you choose privately, i'd reccomend Dr Terry Ali (takes forever to get an appointment though)...there are a few others as well if you're interested...

The public system for ortho isn't so bad though...you should probably try that first...get a referral from your normal phsyician for an appointment in an orthopaedic clinic in either Mthope or POS...

alright so next week i gonna start swimming considering the amount of people who told me to start back as it helps your back..

Swimming and hydrotherapy works well...cold and heat therapy also...there are some stretches and exercise that the orthopaedist and physiotherapist will teach you that go a long way in relieving pain...

qd32

Re: anyone here has a compressed disk in there back?

Postby qd32 » September 14th, 2009, 12:48 pm

Jon_One wrote:i was diagnosed with a compressed disk a few months ago after i fell and hit my lower back .. did therapy for about 2 months it helped but pain never went totally ,considering changing chiropractor to someone new..also considering inversion therapy anyone tried this??any tips would be greatly appreciated ..

I had a very bad problem with my back last year. I had a twisted 'tail bone'.
I went to an osteopath on Murray st in Woodbrook. The same side with Republic Bank. I think his name is Dharry Maharaj. A young fella, after a few sessions he sorted me out good. Back injuries are particularly trouble some, so don't rush for a 'cure' research first. I will try to get a phone number.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 14th, 2009, 12:54 pm

Er NO- DO NOT DO back surgery- look AT THE FACTS AND THE SUCCESS RATES.

Clearly misinformed...

Back surgery for a compressed disc is mostly done on patients with neurological symptoms (loss of sensation etc)...the success rate in this case is high...
In severe back pain, the joint can be fused...which is the only case where patients are expected to get relief from pain...most "back surgeries" are not done for that purpose, and unless the vertebra are fused then doctors do not tell patients that there is a significant chance of permanent relief...

Most people, like yourself, assume that the surgery is done for the back pain rather than the (more dangerous) nerve damage...

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 14th, 2009, 1:02 pm

trust me- ive done my research- ive had back pain since i was 16!

theres no way id undergo surgery!

thanks for the info though!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 14th, 2009, 1:11 pm

As long as the pain is not too severe and you have no neurological symptoms, i'd say you've made the right choice :mrgreen:

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 14th, 2009, 1:24 pm

as far as i could tell i have no neurological symptoms...no pain radiating to any other parts of my body.. it is just in the lower back area...

is it possible for my compressed disk to turn into something worse? like a slipped disk ? or anything else?

all help and information greatly appreciated

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 29th, 2009, 12:41 am

these days pains are worse...

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » September 29th, 2009, 12:50 am

get a gunta to blaze yuh

AD VAN Ruler

Postby AD VAN Ruler » September 29th, 2009, 1:38 am

I was in involved in a vehicular accident a few months ago......as a result i got a compressed disk....wen i was at the hospital, i cudnt sleep at nites if d bed was flat.....( rel pain to my back)..i had to slope it........ even bein release after a few dayz, i cudnt sleep on my normal flat bed.....for long periods....however this problem was resolve wen i went into A A laquis...and bought a device, (cud check d name 4 u) wen place under the matress....it elevates ur upper body....i mus say it work good, n i recover ( i slp flat now)....however i do get a lil discomfort in d mornin....but i mus say if u havn probs slpn after ur take ah few pain killers, d gyul handle ur....or ah a two drink.....look at buyin one of those mention device....

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » September 29th, 2009, 2:18 am

Jon_One wrote:i was diagnosed with a compressed disk a few months ago after i fell and hit my lower back .. did therapy for about 2 months it helped but pain never went totally ,considering changing chiropractor to someone new..also considering inversion therapy anyone tried this??any tips would be greatly appreciated ..

Try Yoga.

It helped my father with his back pain.

Anand699
Location: msn messenger,the screen name is anand699@hotmail.com

Postby Anand699 » October 12th, 2010, 9:18 am

10 years ago i fell from a tank stand and hit my neck on my wall and ended up in the neighbour's yard.Luckily no fracture,just had swollen muscles.
Recovered okay,but now as i'm getting older,i started to get pains in my neck and also shoulder muscle problems,
If i go walking i get numbness in my both hands,and sometimes i feel a warm sensation in my right foot.
3 years ago i did an MRI of the cervical spine,and the results show minor problems between C4 and C7,but it's evidence enough that something's wrong as the pain in the shoulder is now chronic.
I read about pressure point therapy,but don't know anyone who does it.
I need help here,or is acupuncture going to help?
PLEASE,anyone who knows someone or somewhere that does either PRESSURE POINT THERAPY or ACUPUNCTURE,please let me know,
Thanks,
Anand699
741-2000

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » October 12th, 2010, 4:07 pm

saw a new informercial for some kinda seemi demi machine that is supposed to help this.. Cant remember the name right now.. Google it lol..

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 12th, 2010, 4:29 pm

That disk is SATA or IDE?

I had a SCSI some time ago boy the pain used to come and go real fast.

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat: