WTK: Rear disk brake upgrade - Worthwhile investment?

original_lollybob

WTK: Rear disk brake upgrade - Worthwhile investment?

Postby original_lollybob » February 19th, 2009, 10:52 pm

So as stated in the title... is a rear disk brake upgrade a worthwhile investment?

In my case im driving a VRG galant pushing about 115HP. The stock setup is disks in front and drums in the rear. I personally find that my brakes doh perform all that spectacularly... there are times when i actually find myself willing the car to stop :?

now i checked the system, ensuring that all is well on that end. Im using an aftermarket pad (wagner), but i been reading that OEM pads from the firm might be better.

But at the end of the day, is spending the money to 'upgrade' to rear disks a sensible investment. Will stopping be improved?

Or maybe there another alternative to achieve better braking.

IMO stopping my car is the most important thing.

Looking forward to some ideas/answers. 8-)

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2009, 11:13 pm

you will more appreciate the rear discs in a racing environment, where the advantages of discs over drums will more show themselves..

as for stopping distance, it wouldn't improve by a significant amount with just a direct swap..

a much better upgrade is to invest in a performance set of brake pads.. i tired right now so no names comming to mind, but there are decent pads out there for around $500 - 700 a set that will greatly improve stopping performance..

note, look for a pad that will not wear out your rotors btw (see the manufacturer recommendations), race spec brake pads will stop like mad, but will eat out your rotors over time..

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2009, 11:15 pm

i now remember, look for hawk brake pads :wink:

Postby X_Factor » February 19th, 2009, 11:22 pm

stainless steel lines, Motul fluid, Hawk, EBC, AXXIS and u stopping on a dime as they say (opps spelt axxis wrong..lol)
u wont need rear discs with that set up, unless u plan on puttin in the VR4 engine
and cheaper ones - National, JIC(could be wrong wit the name on that one) are pretty good as well

wagners are crap!!
Last edited by X_Factor on February 19th, 2009, 11:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2009, 11:30 pm

i using wagner... :oops:

another cost effective upgrade is upgrading to a larger brake booster / master cylinder.. i'm not a Mitsu guy, but look for the brake booster / cylinder from a higher model Galant (one with a larger bore).. if you lucky, they usually bolt right up..

teekshan

Postby teekshan » February 19th, 2009, 11:34 pm

X_Factor wrote:stainless steel lines, Motul fluid, Hawk, EBC, AXISS and u stopping on a dime as they say
u wont need rear discs with that set up, unless u plan on puttin in the VR4 engine
and cheaper ones - National, JIC(could be wrong wit the name on that one) are pretty good as well

wagners are crap!!

Could not say it better. Rear disc brakes is always the best thing in my opinion so there is the cost factor. try the quoted above first and if still not satisfied, then you could go 4 wheel disc brakes

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 19th, 2009, 11:51 pm

It is a worthwhile investment, 4wd brakes hold a lot better, and you can go faster with that peace of mind.

Postby X_Factor » February 20th, 2009, 12:04 am

most of the braking is done with the front set up..if i remember correctly about 70% (could be wrong) and while stopping weight transfers to the front anyway
so fix the front first..then move to the back...UNLESS u gettin a rear set up at a really good price

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... isc+brakes

as well as do some research...

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » February 20th, 2009, 6:37 am

ok so here this

im my previous ride --- Mazda 323 --- PAY

i did the rear disc install not to realize that i also had to upgrade master cylinder and booster and also the dual proportioning valve

so do your research.

if it is you going bigger engine etc go for it while you should also consider upgrading the front first

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 20th, 2009, 8:30 am

nareshseep wrote:It is a worthwhile investment, 4wd brakes hold a lot better, and you can go faster with that peace of mind.

What is 4WD brakes and how is it different from FWD brakes and RWD brakes?

Postby X_Factor » February 20th, 2009, 9:11 am

^^ im guessing he meant 4wheel disc brakes cause all cars has 4wheel brakes, just some with drums in the back

Postby 3stagevtec » February 20th, 2009, 7:21 pm

i had upgraded to rear discs in my Civic, gained a slightly noticeable improvement in braking performance..

then i upgraded to a larger master cylinder / booster.. a much more noticeable improvement was gained..

i kept the stock proportioning valve because i liked its front / rear ratio...

stainless steel braided lines kept the pedal a slight bit firmer..

all that, and i always used the cheap OHK pads.. :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 20th, 2009, 9:37 pm

lots of info here.....all wheel disc brakes work well.....but off the bat drums has the advantage of better handbrake holding force........... :P

no matter how good your brakes are, the limiting factor will always be your tires........you need good tires to work with good brakes otherwise you just wasting money.....and nexxen is not good tires no matter what anyone here says.....they are cheap "sport" tires :|

Postby De Dragon » February 20th, 2009, 9:44 pm

First check your existing brake setup. Make sure that your lines, master cylinder,prop valve etc are in good order with no leaks,distension. Check that your fluid is good/needs no bleeding. If these are all in good shape, then look for a decent set of pads (Hawk/EBC/OEM?). Then look at brake lines etc, eliminating one by one, until you feel that you are comfortable with your braking

Postby 3stagevtec » February 20th, 2009, 9:50 pm

Trinidad Hose can make braided lines if you can't get aftermarket ones to fit your vehicle..

they will usually request you bring in your stock lines so they can use them as an example.. and their prices are pretty reasonable..

Postby Dave » February 20th, 2009, 10:45 pm

IMO no, not worth the cost for minimal if any improvement

other things to get done and more effective for less money

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 21st, 2009, 8:30 am

thanks ppl..

will look into the stainless steel lines etc

:mrgreen:

Postby bushwakka » February 21st, 2009, 9:56 am

cacasplat3 wrote:lots of info here.....all wheel disc brakes work well.....but off the bat drums has the advantage of better handbrake holding force........... :P

no matter how good your brakes are, the limiting factor will always be your tires........you need good tires to work with good brakes otherwise you just wasting money.....and nexxen is not good tires no matter what anyone here says.....they are cheap "sport" tires :|

very true abt the tyres...no use upgrading brakes an u runnin wit nexens :lol:

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » February 21st, 2009, 11:08 am

^agree Nexxen is rell sheit ........go mitchelin or better !!!

Postby 3stagevtec » February 21st, 2009, 12:22 pm

D_bodyguard wrote:^agree Nexxen is rell sheit ........go mitchelin or better !!!

i'll 2nd that...

Postby X_Factor » February 21st, 2009, 12:37 pm

the best cheapest 15" tyre is
dunlop dz101

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » February 21st, 2009, 3:20 pm

the boss u can just replace the stock booster and master cylinder with a bigger 1 and get better pads......i put in a double booster from ah next lancer in d libby and d brakes holding like if is ah evo with brembo and creamic pads oui....lol...!!! i fraid now to mash hard for d safety to the ppl behind me......u does kno wen ur brakes real good wen u can tell urself u gonna stop at a certain point in d road and u can even point at d spot too.....lol..... :D :D :D :lol: :lol:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 21st, 2009, 5:22 pm

well i develop some engine issues today.. so this project off for d while now :(

but thas the way it is sometimes

Postby bushwakka » February 22nd, 2009, 10:36 am

at de same time....no need to overdo it wit michelins....remember generally:
more treadwear = harder tire = less grip = longer life
less treadwear = softer (stickier tire) = more grip = less life

if u don't hav $ to bun....u need to find a good compromise between grip and durability.....i went the dz101s....i jus put them on so i don't kno abt durability.....but i can say the grip doesn't satisfy me as i had federals before

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 22nd, 2009, 2:31 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:lots of info here.....all wheel disc brakes work well.....but off the bat drums has the advantage of better handbrake holding force........... :P

this in a nutshell is all any tuner needs to realise before spending thousands on upgrades that promise to make you stop on a dime an leave nine cents change
also the
one good upgrade though is to get a set of larger rotors that move the caliper further away from the axle elementry physics similar to the longer bar on your wheel spanner

Postby bushwakka » February 23rd, 2009, 11:37 am

^i second the larger rotors

btw....someone said somewhere in this post that 4 wheel disc brakes don't really improve stopping distance but is more useful for 'sporty' driving....can u clarify the difference and how is its use better in 'sporty' driving....
thanks

Postby 3stagevtec » February 23rd, 2009, 11:47 am

i prefer smaller rotors, good pads and a large master cylinder..

the big problem with larger rotors is that it takes alot of energy to turn them, it adds extra weight to your rim / tyre package..

i saw a dyno test on an Acura RSX where the car lost 10 - 12hp from stock by adding a large Stop Tech brake system..

the car had lost some acceleration, but its lap times around a test track remained the same.. (it lost time on the straights but gained in the corners)

imo, to get the best of both worlds, stick with your smaller rotors (no loss in hp) and upgrade your lines, master cylinder, booster & pads.. :wink:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 23rd, 2009, 12:12 pm

bushwakka wrote:^i second the larger rotors

btw....someone said somewhere in this post that 4 wheel disc brakes don't really improve stopping distance but is more useful for 'sporty' driving....can u clarify the difference and how is its use better in 'sporty' driving....
thanks

the reason disc brakes operate better with sportier (spirited) driving is because with the exposed rotor surface it allows for faster cooling of the rotor and pads hence increasing braking efficiency with the drum brakes the first mash is actually better than disc brakes but it looses its feel one time as only the front cools fast the drums take longer to cool

fds-fx

Postby fds-fx » February 23rd, 2009, 3:06 pm

rear disks..definite upgrade

Postby bushwakka » February 23rd, 2009, 6:13 pm

red bwoy wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^i second the larger rotors

thanks

the reason disc brakes operate better with sportier (spirited) driving is because with the exposed rotor surface it allows for faster cooling of the rotor and pads hence increasing braking efficiency with the drum brakes the first mash is actually better than disc brakes but it looses its feel one time as only the front cools fast the drums take longer to cool

so cooling is all? i thought when cornering hard the braking force needed at the back might increase cuz u not brakin in a straight line anymore

ok then