Postby Dave » January 14th, 2009, 10:41 am

flatline wrote:
Dave wrote:at last drift event
i saw countless Nexen on Evos and Wrxs

seems to be the got to get tyre

well this makes sense, i.e. it cheap and the traction is sheit, hence it might work as a drift tyre...burn cheap rubber real easy. I wouldn't chance to drive up to ARC on Nexen on the 14 though. Couldn't handle the lack of torque on primera, much less the S14.

you got me wrong
i meant just hanging in the car park
sorry for any mislead i may have given

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 14th, 2009, 10:46 am

MISHI wrote:I'll humble myself and stay in the corner...

(quickly spray paints another brand name on the tyres on the evo)

:oops: hello

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 14th, 2009, 10:47 am

Dave wrote:
flatline wrote:
Dave wrote:at last drift event
i saw countless Nexen on Evos and Wrxs

seems to be the got to get tyre

well this makes sense, i.e. it cheap and the traction is sheit, hence it might work as a drift tyre...burn cheap rubber real easy. I wouldn't chance to drive up to ARC on Nexen on the 14 though. Couldn't handle the lack of torque on primera, much less the S14.

you got me wrong
i meant just hanging in the car park
sorry for any mislead i may have given

ah ok. My impression of the tyre from experience still stands. Sorry for offending anyone with my rant

Postby crazybalhead » January 14th, 2009, 10:48 am

My mom runs 15" nexens on her wingroad, on ziglas no less.

Good stuff.

:| :| :|

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 14th, 2009, 10:49 am

flatline wrote:
MISHI wrote:I'll humble myself and stay in the corner...

(quickly spray paints another brand name on the tyres on the evo)

:oops: hello

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 14th, 2009, 11:13 am

dread.... i had NEXEN 7000 on my b15..... talk bout pressure.... any lil pothole yuh drop in it BUSS..... i get so mad a day i take them and pelt them in d bush..... SUMITOMO FTW!

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 14th, 2009, 11:27 am

i don't understand this thread..yeh really...the person has a normal everyday car just like what i drive and asked some relavant questions...having said so, as I said before I have them on my car with absolutely NO ISSUES.

Who really wants to drive over 80km on a wet road & can you with the amt of traffic. Before these tyres, I had the khumo & the damn rubber is so had they give a very rough ride.

For everyday driving in my opinion, the nexens will more than suffice.

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 14th, 2009, 11:34 am

Chemical Darryl, i understand that but..... the kinda roads and potholes we does find...... i doh think so!

Postby Hook » January 14th, 2009, 11:37 am

avinashr wrote:dread.... i had NEXEN 7000 on my b15..... talk bout pressure.... any lil pothole yuh drop in it BUSS..... i get so mad a day i take them and pelt them in d bush..... SUMITOMO FTW!

*calls insect vector* :lol:

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 14th, 2009, 11:38 am

Hook, shhhhhhhhhhh! how much yuh goh take to stay quiet? :ughug: :skurry:

Zim

Postby Zim » January 14th, 2009, 11:47 am

Recyap FTW :mrgreen:

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 14th, 2009, 11:48 am

Zim, soldier....... is yur tire we does be seeing shredded on the hiway? orrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :twisted:

Zim

Postby Zim » January 14th, 2009, 11:53 am

avinashr wrote:Zim, soldier....... is yur tire we does be seeing shredded on the hiway? orrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :twisted:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: sarcasm my friend :P

Seriously tho, I ran Nexxen Nx6000 (I belive the line was) worked great, but I bought a used set of rims an those tyres were on them. I won't buy them new tho, I doe really trust dem new, can't find on d net, not available in d US market tyres :|

Zim

Postby Zim » January 14th, 2009, 12:05 pm

Daz wah I'm sayin bro. I just used dem cause dey were part of d deal I got.

Bridgestone Potenzas FTW :P :P :P

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » January 14th, 2009, 12:11 pm

thus eliminates Nexen / LingLong / Triangle / Talon :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 14th, 2009, 12:20 pm

Taken straight off a website...

Nexen N2000 tires were recommended or rather suggested to me by an individual at Deals 4 Wheels here in Ottawa. I have never heard about Nexen before let alone their various types of tires but I thought I would follow up on the suggestion. What I found out about Nexen itself as a company is that they’re Korean, have been around for about 50 years and manufacture tires for all kinds of automobiles in over 120 countries around the world. So that doesn’t sound too bad for starters and I continued looking for more information on the N2000 tires to see how good they are.

The Nexen N2000 tire is a high performance all-season tire with V type symmetrical aqua groove designed specially connecting from center to shoulder part. They’re designed to maximize running performance and grip in the rain with its perfect water drainage. The Nexen N2000 also has a unique and sporty design of V type tire for high speed running. As you can see from the picture I’d say it looks pretty aggressive and sporty!
The tire size I would need for my rims is P195/50/R16 which is available and surprisingly cheap. I’ve checked a few different places and they price out just about the same at roughly $105.00 CAD a tire, installed and balanced. Now I know better then to just assume that the Nexen N2000 tires must be crap if they’re so cheap. Buying big brand names and spending double the money usually ends up with the consumer being played the fool.

I checked out the specifications of these tires and they’re rated quite high under UTQG, (The Uniform Tire Quality Grading) which is a quality rating system developed by the American Department of Transportation. The treadwear rating is quite high with a rating of 340, traction is rated at AA which is the highest traction rating and the temperature rating is A, again the highest which means the Nexen N2000 can sustain high levels of temperature. These tires are also V rated which means they can run flat out at a maximum speed of 240/km hr. Apparently the max running speed can only be sustained for around 10 minutes before you run the risk of blowing a tire.

So at this point everything I was able to find out about the Nexen N2000 tires is leading towards a thumbs up. The Nexen company has been around for a long time, the price is right, the tire ratings are high. There was only one other thing I was interested in and that was what other people had to say about their Nexen N2000 tires. I read numerous reviews from people all over the world who use these tires on various cars. Some people use them for track racing, and others just for normal driving. I’ve read reviews of tire usage in dry and wet, pouring rain and at high speeds (200km/hr) on the autobahn in Germany. The only thing I couldn’t find is a review of how these perform in the cold or mild snow and ice. All reviews were quite positive and overall people seem to be very happy with them, the tires run quiet, have great grip and are rated for 75,000 km tread life. I think I’m going to get a set and try them out all year and I’ll post more about how they perform for me later!

Postby tr1ad » January 14th, 2009, 12:22 pm

do you really believe everything you read on the internet

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 14th, 2009, 12:41 pm

not everyone here runnin high performance car's and need r rated tires, at the end of the day they do the job and there's no way i gonna buy r rated tiresor any tire over $1300 to run on my lil daily driven civic, even if its for our so called track in ARC, with will eat those tires in two days.

i was very reluctant to buy the nexans in the first place, but i have no regrets especially for d price,

and for rainy season

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 14th, 2009, 12:52 pm

thread gone 5 pages long ....:shock: :roll:

d nexens do in fact pick up alot of pebbles ...every now\then i have to take a ice pick & prise them out

dunno if my bro got a bad batch but few mths ago he was given nexen with rims purchase & he say within a few wks d threads started to crack up so he went back & got some other brand

my rim\tire package was also nexen ... i not buying dat again ...... :oops:

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 14th, 2009, 1:26 pm

(...Rovin...), that is the same thing that used to happen to me.......

JD......, rainy season is a no no for me....... i fed up pick up skid in a lil 1/8 inch of water on the edge ah the road and de white line too..... i does be on the road right thru so i have had my experiences..... yes the price bess but u does pay for what u get...

Chemical Darryl, hoss allyuh have to start realising that yes these tyres are designed for these kinds of conditions..... but..... trinidad's roads are not roads per say but terrains that we encounter each and everyday.... u think the highways in the states and canada etc in the state that ours in...... i dont think so...

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2009, 1:47 pm

as far as i am concerned, with some items, one bad report is good enough for me not to buy
granted these things have bad apples in the bunch but too many bad is not a good sign

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 14th, 2009, 3:26 pm

you know Lexani makes tyres
well Nexen makes them in their same pattern/specs just with Lexani name

thats the ultimate bling tyre and with the subbie and evo size easily available its only a matter of time....

Ah was wondering if you knew about that.

Lexani N3000 ftw. :lol:

not everyone here runnin high performance car's and need r rated tires, at the end of the day they do the job and there's no way i gonna buy r rated tiresor any tire over $1300 to run on my lil daily driven civic, even if its for our so called track in ARC, with will eat those tires in two days.

i was very reluctant to buy the nexans in the first place, but i have no regrets especially for d price,

and for rainy season

So yuh wanna get emo for running Nexens? :lol:

I wouldn't put that crap on a Datsun 1200.

Reasons? I drove on them a bit on my dad's B15 waaayy back....N2000 IIRC

1) Noise

2) Forever needs balancing

3) No grip in the wet

4) Is not an established brand

And WDA is the argument about price dey kiddo? You could get Kumho KH11's for cheaper than Nexens....and dunlop DZ101's for the same price (or probably $25 per tyre) at most tyre shops.

What's your point JD...? :roll:

Face it.....you run crappy tyres.....but at least thanks to trinituner, you'll be smart and never do it again.

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 14th, 2009, 3:30 pm

Knight1 wrote:

1) Noise

3) No grip in the wet

i forgot to mention those 2 points thanks knight1 :snipersmile:

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2009, 3:33 pm

And WDA is the argument about price dey kiddo? You could get Kumho KH11's for cheaper than Nexens....and dunlop DZ101's for the same price (or probably $25 per tyre) at most tyre shops.

kumho is a great brand which I would use
kumho comes as OE brand in many a car

Dunlop/Sumitomo wuld get my vote also

Face it.....you run crappy tyres.....but at least thanks to trinituner, you'll be smart and never do it again.

LOL, thats the clincher there :lol:

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 14th, 2009, 3:41 pm

ways nah i was going emo, i doh even know y i even defending the issue, i jus find that the proxies were reaallllll sheit in the wet compared to the N3000, it was a real eye opened for me, other wise

nice i dont disagree, but i think i might run them again, depends on how well the perform for the rest of their miserable life, did some toco runs and blanchisse runs and run south to north evey day and have no probs,

neyway done this, b4 i start collect $ from nexen for advertising

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 14th, 2009, 4:33 pm

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 14th, 2009, 8:47 pm

^^So you're going on the information put out by the MANUFACTURER?

A fisherman duz say he fish rotten?

We aren't saying that Nexens will spontaneously blow out on you. Nor that some Sumitomo's are less noisy.

The Nexen isn't a bad tyre. It is by no means a great tyre. But if you want to waste your own money on that, when you can get MUCH metter (PROVEN results) for the same price........is your car dude!

JD.........N3000 better than Proxes? Noober.....not every 'Toyo Proxes' tyre is a sport tyre. It have proxes for SUV's too.....passenger car Proxes (TPT), and those handle just as badly as the N3000.

Compare them to the T1R's....and then let us know :wink:

kumho is a great brand which I would use
kumho comes as OE brand in many a car

Dunlop/Sumitomo wuld get my vote also

Darn straight bro. The P11 had Ecsta KH11's on it just before I sold it. The Ecsta's had replaced the DZ101's....they didn't have the grip of the direzza, but they were a solid tyre....and gosh they were QUIET!!!!!

On another note.....yuh brave to run Star Spec's on a daily car dude! 200 tread? Price or not....it's a great tyre though!

Postby r3iXmann » January 14th, 2009, 9:25 pm

pioneer wrote:oh boy...the typical trini mentality...spend tens of thousands on music, paint and rims...but spend a few hundred on tyres - the most critical component of a car

then we wonder about accidents :|

well according to the logic of some posting in this thread,you only need good tyres if you driving over 80kmh :lol: :lol:

CBharath

Postby CBharath » January 14th, 2009, 9:33 pm

avinashr wrote:
Knight1 wrote:

1) Noise

3) No grip in the wet

5) they swell easily from any small lash

fixed

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » January 14th, 2009, 9:40 pm

I don't recommend them for wet traction, however that's the tyre I use on the rear of my car especially for dex to help induce oversteer :mrgreen: