hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 24th, 2008, 3:01 pm

here and representing .. 15* almost 160 - direct turbo
19* almost 200 with the intercooler.. :|

:twisted: :twisted:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 24th, 2008, 3:47 pm

fricking SR5....

venum

Postby venum » November 24th, 2008, 4:33 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:here and representing .. 15* almost 160 - direct turbo

what exactly you representing :?:

less than 170km\h without intercooler

AND

more than 170km\h with intercooler

:twisted:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » November 24th, 2008, 7:09 pm

^^^ here what... take out your intercooler and see what your top speed is...

that should level the playing ground a bit...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 24th, 2008, 7:19 pm

:twisted: :twisted:

Wow..... that fast .... need to try that *grin*

And it's even faster with the stock tyres 255/70 15s .... our 31/10.5 are bigger.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 24th, 2008, 7:24 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:^^^ here what... take out your intercooler and see what your top speed is...

that should level the playing ground a bit...

woi, you have 500cc more; we have I/C.

evenly matched i'd say 8-)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 24th, 2008, 9:01 pm

Wait wait.... But he is turbo and intercooled brah...

He just messing with allyuh lil bit... Just like the other two SR5 men... Hmmph

venum

Postby venum » November 25th, 2008, 8:34 am

biggy82 wrote:woi, you have 500cc more; we have I/C.

evenly matched i'd say 8-)

he has 500 cc more + I/C

them other fellas with 3.0L and no I/C feeling a bit inadequate :?:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 25th, 2008, 10:28 am

Venum - is not the size of your engine is how you drive it :lol:

besides we know is not a racecar :roll:

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » November 26th, 2008, 12:27 am

TTTL got there first shipment of the new 09 hilux, its currently in bond so give it about a week or 2 and u would see them on the roads

Postby joker » December 26th, 2008, 5:03 am

i did gasparillo corner @ 170kms :mrgreen:

Postby Team Loco » December 26th, 2008, 10:26 am

^^u abusing the van!! i will tell toyota south. no free cigarette lighter for you

Postby joker » December 26th, 2008, 11:31 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » December 27th, 2008, 1:51 am

venum wrote:

what exactly you representing :?:

less than 170km\h without intercooler

AND

more than 170km\h with intercooler

:twisted:

interesting.. never expected an intercooler to make such a difference..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 27th, 2008, 8:31 am

Actually he's referring to 2 different engines/models i.e. 04 Hilux SR5 1kz-te vs 08 Vigo 1kd-ftv.

Postby joker » March 28th, 2009, 1:16 pm

I PULL CLAXTON BAY CORNER @ 180 KPH@ 4600 RPM SOUTHBOUND 3AM IN THE MORNING.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » March 30th, 2009, 4:38 pm

joker wrote:I PULL CLAXTON BAY CORNER @ 180 KPH@ 4600 RPM SOUTHBOUND 3AM IN THE MORNING.

Could be done...
On the Northbound just afet you clear the corner there is a bump inthe road...
Careful on that side of the road palllie..

Postby joker » March 30th, 2009, 4:42 pm

^^ north bound 160 km over bump safe :mrgreen:

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » April 7th, 2009, 1:33 pm

i drive a manual 3.0td hilux (same vigo shape) from toyota trinidad and i have driven the auto vigo 3.0td. they came with bridgestone and michellins respectively (265 60 16).
And the cornering was a lil bit sloppy on both especially on wet roads.
I've changed the tyres to some cheap hercules tera trac not the full off road type though (275 60 16) on my van and both wet and dry conering is hugely improved. A silver navarra with some broad 20" tried but couldn't keep up around a bend by mt. hope on the ubh he had to slow down.
so basically tyre selection is THE major factor wrt cornering and not the type of pickup so much. cause they are all high vehicles that have high centres of gravity.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”