-bushman- wrote:SR wrote:thats becasue the drainage system in pos was designed almost 100 years ago and there has been ZERO upgrades
as the city developed there has been an increase in ground water run off and the existing ancient system cannot handle the volume
added to that people continue to litter with plastic bottles etc causing the drains to be clogged
its surface water runoff hoss.
also, yes I agree that the drainage infrastructure has not been upgraded to correspond with the altered runoff coefficient due to much more of port of spain being under concrete but you hav to take into consideration weather patterns hav changed over time (take for example rainy season & dry season not on time anymore). The rate & durations of precipitation hav changed, downpours are now more intense over shorter periods of time, even if the runoff coefficient had not been increased there still would hav been flooding as the ground would hav become saturated faster due to the precipitation intensity & surface flow would hav eventually resulted. take into consideration port of spain is relatively flat & the water table is not too far under the ground (only a few feet in some places) taking into consideration soil type/porosity, infiltration & percolation rates & the hydraulic conductivity of the soil, there would hav still been flood as the water table would hav risen to the surface preventing any more water from infiltrating.
a solution to the problem is reaforrestation on those slopes, poeple are not allowed to build houses above a certain height in the mountains, why are there so many buildings in the heights? they are contributing to an increased runoff coefficient on the hils & higher velocity surface flow.
SmokeyGTi wrote:I ain't pro-government, but at the same time I can't say that they are ultimately responsible for what happened yesterday.
When I saw the amount of rubbish that came down with the water I could only conclude that trini's on the whole just NASTY and STINK, and sorry to say but maybe it takes incidents like these to wake people up and take responsibility for their actions.
to fcuk with all this sh!t about mismanagement and not enforcing laws and blah blah blah... We should not be resorting to penalizing people by enforcing fines etc.
The government has been pretty active in terms of appealing to the public about keeping the environment clean, and promoting a better attitude towards the environment.
Sometimes its better if we learn the hard way. Doh come and fcuk around now and tell me is innocent people who get hurt from these incidents. How much of them really innocent? Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.
Strauss wrote:[spoiler][/spoiler]Mini wrote:UML wrote:I hope all those public servants were chanting (as they walked through the flood waters)....... LONG LIVE THE PNM...........IT SHALL PREVAIL!!!
i don't get it...
who is responsible for the rain? the maintenance of drains? the approvals for developments?
government is not only comprised of the members of parliament... but of the workers in town and country, drainage, works, the regional corps, the port of spain corp, the ODPM, etc. You can't blame one party and it's policies.
EVERY citizen in this country who built illegally, squatted, bribed a government official to get plans passed, has a business in a residential area, littered (even if it's a KFC box or a 20oz soft drink bottle), didn't dispose of garbage properly, backfilled land without permission, etc. is to blame for the floods.
Time to stop passing the buck...
You narrow minded approach won't get us anywhere... everybody of every race, social background, status, sex, age, political affiliation was affected by yesterday. Didn't matter if yuh was from the east from the west, drove a cortina or a benz... wore a suit or a coverall... yuh felt it yesterday...
If everybody thinks like you.. then today and tomorrow we'd be in the same position
I agree with Mini partially. Mini what you are saying can also be applied to the crime/gang/drug situation.
However what happened yesterday was mostly poor mismanagement on the part of the ruling PNM party.
The population of Trinidad & Tobago has remained more or less the same in the past 20 years - our birth/mortality rate is about the same. Since the 1980's I believe there has been much improvement in environmental awareness through basic school education and mass media. This can also be extended to our knowledge in personal health and hygiene.
Of course there will always be the exceptions. They will be people to litter and dump.
That is where our authorities come in. There are laws that are not being enforced and you see that for yourself. And if everyone knows they will not be charged they will continue to do it on a larger scale. Others who would not normally break the laws will follow.
This is where the government comes in. To develop modern laws and have then enforced through the ministry of national security and through the police service, fire services etc.
No one can prevent natural disasters.
The ODPM boast to be under the Ministry of National Security. Yet I did not see any army trucks helping out the stranding traveling public and ferrying them to safer grounds or out of POS. There were no real shelters set up. No loud speaker systems giving updates. No non-stop updates on the television station. No small boats patrolling the streets-turned-rivers and blocks-turned-lakes. No health mobile units and officials to give assistance.
The ODPM has failed yet again. The Ministry of Works, Transport, Health and National Security has failed again.
The government has fail again.
ronsin1 wrote:UML wrote:Swifted, idiot # 3
sure and you are the only sane one that can see the bigger picture
you sir are a boss
SmokeyGTi wrote:I ain't pro-government, but at the same time I can't say that they are ultimately responsible for what happened yesterday.
When I saw the amount of rubbish that came down with the water I could only conclude that trini's on the whole just NASTY and STINK, and sorry to say but maybe it takes incidents like these to wake people up and take responsibility for their actions.
to fcuk with all this sh!t about mismanagement and not enforcing laws and blah blah blah... We should not be resorting to penalizing people by enforcing fines etc.
The government has been pretty active in terms of appealing to the public about keeping the environment clean, and promoting a better attitude towards the environment.
Sometimes its better if we learn the hard way. Doh come and fcuk around now and tell me is innocent people who get hurt from these incidents. How much of them really innocent? Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.