DIY Polyurethane mounts!!!

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » November 5th, 2006, 8:58 pm

all that hard work and now the car sell lol ... well i guess the self experience would of been worth it.

Postby AllTrac » November 6th, 2006, 10:42 am

awesome thread, sticky.

imemark

Postby imemark » December 16th, 2006, 12:49 am

them blasted starlet drivers eh why them doh sell them sheit...oh yeah u did....doh worry some gyal go take yuh sad story....lol

Postby gt4tified » April 5th, 2007, 9:53 am

Well, just to give some feedback. I polyfilled all 4 of my mounts (the mounts themselves were in great shape but I wanted the extra reinforcement to handle a stage 3 clutch). On idle the car vibrates a little more (obviously) but on launch and shifts, I feel that the engine is veeeery steady. All in all, I'd recommend this for all performance engines.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 17th, 2007, 11:14 am

Great thread indeed ......i did this to my front and back cross member mounts and the amount of stiffness between each gear change was improved by as much as 40% for me!

vibration is minimal...i only feel it when i hold the shifter itself

cheap efective mod

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 22nd, 2007, 1:42 pm

Great Thread, ah hope yuh put back de woman blow drier where she can find it. 2nrs my very first car was a B12 from auto rentals. Every thing went bad in that car including the mounts so I get vex & i bought some cheap arse mounts from Easl made in India.

The mounts still on the car, engine change 3 times !!! Ah feel that black substance comes from India where all dem indian does be sheitting on de side of de road & 3M does pass around with scoop/ broom and BINGO...............call it polyurethane. :mrgreen:

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » August 14th, 2007, 9:30 pm

good info

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 14th, 2007, 9:55 pm

OK, I'm wondering now....can this be done to brand new mounts, or is it that the mount has to be "busted" so that the 3M stuff can go through the entire mount to the other side for maximum support??

Postby eliteauto » August 20th, 2007, 9:07 pm

^^can be used on new mounts to fill in the "flex spaces" and give a stiffer/stronger mount

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » October 24th, 2007, 11:41 pm

followed this thread and did this on my car. excellent stuff!
one tube was enough for 4 mounts. 2 are small ones and 2 are big ones.
did all the mounts except the big funny looking pass. side top mount.

1997 honda civic

NOS4R2

Postby NOS4R2 » November 23rd, 2007, 4:49 pm

Blazin good advice :P
Thank you very much i give 5 outta 5 :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 16th, 2008, 2:25 am

any feedback?....ppl who did this....are the mounts still going strong?

What polyurethane brand to use?.....(Exact name, price, where to get it)

any other advise....

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » April 4th, 2008, 9:21 am

can u do dis for d rear bushin in a civic?d one infront d back wheel under d door,,cant remember d real name?n any other bushing?

Postby X_Factor » April 18th, 2008, 8:11 pm

^^ i saw someone here selling energy suspension bushing kits for the civic
that would work alot better

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 1st, 2008, 7:52 am

Did my mounts recently.........front and back! NO PROBLEMS!

Will do the tranny one soon.

Works dam good...........vibration minimum.(u might not even feel a difference)

*B12 equipped with SR20DE HIGHPORT*

Will post brand,price,location etc. later! :|

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2008, 5:47 am

nice work :)

MJ

Postby MJ » August 9th, 2008, 3:32 pm

so which will be better this or an energy suspension bushing kit?
performance wise and durability
Last edited by MJ on August 20th, 2008, 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 10th, 2008, 11:33 pm

bluespeed wrote:any feedback?....ppl who did this....are the mounts still going strong?

What polyurethane brand to use?.....(Exact name, price, where to get it)

any other advise....

any feedback???

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 11th, 2008, 7:09 am

^^^will finish my post some time this week bro.............will let u know!

dbesson

Postby dbesson » August 19th, 2008, 7:19 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:^^^will finish my post some time this week bro.............will let u know! :|

Where did you get the 3m poly?

Been to Laughlin & de Gannes and Maturas niether had it.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 20th, 2008, 7:17 am

Where did you get the 3m poly?

Been to Laughlin & de Gannes and Maturas niether had it.

bought it @ a paint shop in central!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 4th, 2008, 2:08 pm

well I did not feel like doing mine myself (cause who ah go blame if it aint come out good lol) so I just dropped off my back mount to do. Soon as I get it back I will post pics then once installed will report on vibration etc etc..

slow323

Postby slow323 » October 21st, 2008, 12:32 pm

anyone did this for the almera rear piviot bushing would like to knw if its for windshields you can check bobbys in the bamboo saw guys buying it there b4 they went to change their windshields

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 12th, 2008, 7:31 am

did this on my bj front and rear mounts over a year now no problems and it still good recently did cradle bushings jury still out dey

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » November 14th, 2008, 6:11 pm

[/quote]
it takes alot of r&d to make a mount from a mold and ensuring that the distance from the centre shaft to the external perimeter is maintained according to spec

ok but the engine mount have a certain degree of accuracy so 3mm (dont think it would be so much) off in any direction should not cause any promblems
or and the engine mount brackets will have some clearance in the bolt hole positions

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » December 3rd, 2008, 2:16 am

Bought this thing recently and did some mounts....The name is 3M urethane ..cost $65 dollars.. ..It's extremely messy and hard to remove from your hands so please wear gloves.The mounts came out really good and working perfect!

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » December 18th, 2008, 1:01 am

^^^ where did u purchase the 3M urethane?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » December 18th, 2008, 1:46 am

Got it at a parts place down on my end...Barrackpore.....If that's anywhere close to you I can give you directions.... let me know

ripit

Postby ripit » July 31st, 2009, 2:01 pm

phreakazoid wrote:Got it at a parts place down on my end...Barrackpore.....If that's anywhere close to you I can give you directions.... let me know

pm me a ph contact so I can call you for some directions

jeromey

Postby jeromey » October 26th, 2009, 7:26 pm

by bagwansingh in piaco have different brands