YOUR 1ST ever car audio system consisted of what?

evo-STI-k

YOUR 1ST ever car audio system consisted of what?

Postby evo-STI-k » July 24th, 2008, 3:06 pm

So for those OLD school as well as Newbies!
WHat was your First ever system, i know many of us remember that!

CLOCK FACE pioneer with the chrom handle top mounted easy pull out feature.
commander 10 equalizer
pair of Three way Pioneer 6x9 in some 1/4" home made boxes behind each seat on the pickup
and Each door had a 6.5 Pioneer Co-oxial

after the first 6 months i bought myself a Sound barrier 10" sub and som ehow played it off the equalizer as well.

riadb

Postby riadb » July 24th, 2008, 3:09 pm

first ever car audio system??

Aiwa tapedeck
pair of numark pro 4" full range boxes and ah pair of Peavey 8 ohm 8's in the trunk

no amp nuttin...all off d deck.
Last edited by riadb on October 23rd, 2008, 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 24th, 2008, 3:11 pm

hmmm i was 15 i think...

audio pipe 800watt by 4ch...
pair of power acoustic 6.5's...
funky pop 10inch...

after that i moved up to pair of 12 inch pioneers
1000rms 2ch soundstream reference model...
pair of eminence 8inch beta...
2 pairs of pioneer 6.5's
pioneer head unit...

that was the start of my life in car audio :roll:

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 24th, 2008, 3:11 pm

since this is my first car....my music came stock from nissan. From that it went to the system i have now which was installed last week.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 24th, 2008, 3:19 pm

Rockford rfx 9000 HU
power acoustic Gothic 800
pair powerbase coax(yea it was spelled like that back then
pair US audio comps(i think that was the name).wonder where those went
Pair Rockford punch Z 12"

Lance

Postby Lance » July 24th, 2008, 3:21 pm

Rampage by Audiovox Cassette deck
4 Stock speakers from a current model corolla at that time.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 24th, 2008, 3:23 pm

unless u consider a pair of 8" zebra of stock deck a system
then thats my 1st

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » July 24th, 2008, 3:30 pm

alyuh boys lucky yes...alyuh had car audio since age 15 :shock:
i doe even hav ah car :shock:

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 24th, 2008, 3:31 pm

loudsound wrote:alyuh boys lucky yes...alyuh had car audio since age 15 :shock:

:lol: had it in de moms b13... dat now turn into mine :oops: 6 yrs later...

and i've never let a summer holiday pass me that i wasn't working doing something... so i saved up my little money and bought piece by piece...

yos19

Postby yos19 » July 24th, 2008, 3:34 pm

first system lol.......

1 1200w power acoustic amp..d cyclone vented 1..

2 nippon amerca 12's, home made box, n using nails tuh hold down speakers cuz had cut hole a lil too big. lol but finished off with wood glue,

2 6*9 original car speakers tink was pioneer in home made pods, 2 door speakers and a 4'' with 2 $10 tweeters inna nex box..

meh cressida was slammin.....long time slammin dat is... :wink:

real slam lol...deck was original cassete deck with portable cd player and cassete jack..

real old time slam yes lol....

Lance

Postby Lance » July 24th, 2008, 3:37 pm

loudsound wrote:alyuh boys lucky yes...alyuh had car audio since age 15 :shock:

I still dont have a car,

that first system was in my father's cressida,

I currently compete with my father's B14. :oops:

Once you love car audio, Nothing stops you.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » July 24th, 2008, 3:41 pm

1994. In an austin mini.
pioneer pull out casette deck. no clock face, im not that old.
sony discman with cassette/cd adapter
legacy pre-amp (couldnt afford them commander ting back then)
pyramid 3 way crossover
blaupunkt 4ch IC amp
sherwood 2c IC amp
2 mitsui 8" subs (ib in trunk)
2 4" nippon america midrange (doors)
2 1" legacy neodyns tweets (kick panel)

For those of you who know a mini, you'd know there is 1.5" between the glass and the door upholstery !!! I built my first wooden door pod.

A few months after that, I put a pair of pyramid 5.25" midranges in the dash, on axis.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 24th, 2008, 3:43 pm

Lance,

shouldn't let anything stop you from achieving your dreams...
i still trying to scrape together a good enough system to compete...

Postby 3stagevtec » July 24th, 2008, 3:44 pm

my 1st car audio was in my room..

- Mitsubishi AM/FM deck, with 4 mechanical push button station presets for FM and 2 for AM.. didn't even have cassette..

- powered off the simplest 12V power supply, bolted on top (step down transformer - bridge rectifier - small capacitor)

- powering 2 6" coaxial sound barrier's and 2 piezo tweeters

had that when i was about 11 - 12 years old!

a few months later, i ended up getting a 40Wrms Realistic eq/amp from my pops to put on it.. i used to real wuk that lil setup :twisted:

casper

Postby casper » July 24th, 2008, 3:46 pm

my 1st system was a chain up i took from ballz....i had everything kicker...d man rell marketted kicker to be this untouchable brand jed....lol....

i had a pair of kicker 6x9's....
a pair of kicker comps....
a pair of kicker L5 10's
and a soundstream da vinci amp....(anyone ever knew it have such thing like a 7 channel amp???lol....)
had a big double din pioneer deck that could have played both cassette and cd.....
and an odysee battery

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » July 24th, 2008, 3:48 pm

casper wrote:my 1st system was a chain up i took from ballz....i had everything kicker...d man rell marketted kicker to be this untouchable brand jed....lol....

a pair of kicker L5 10's
and a soundstream da vinci amp....(anyone ever knew it have such thing like a 7 channel amp???lol....)
had a big double din pioneer deck that could have played both cassette and cd.....
and an odysee battery

:lol: :lol: :lol: yuh get thief head then :lol: :lol: :lol:

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » July 24th, 2008, 4:07 pm

well right now i am 15..and in starting process of building an sq system in emh fada wagon :oops:

my first system....stock tape deck..4 6'' clarion....i had 1 10' nippon buh never used it..i take it apart :twisted:

casper

Postby casper » July 24th, 2008, 4:09 pm

loudsound wrote:
casper wrote:my 1st system was a chain up i took from ballz....i had everything kicker...d man rell marketted kicker to be this untouchable brand jed....lol....

a pair of kicker L5 10's
and an odysee battery

:lol: :lol: :lol: yuh get thief head then :lol: :lol: :lol:

yuh tellin me.....lol....

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 24th, 2008, 4:12 pm

pyromaniax wrote:well right now i am 15..and in starting process of building an sq system in emh fada wagon :oops:

my first system....stock tape deck..4 6'' clarion....i had 1 10' nippon buh never used it..i take it apart :twisted:

yuh piping tuh get money or wah?...
if yuh need 2 nice amps dat cheap... check mih.. ah selling my 2 current amps... one mono, one 2 ch...

riadb

Postby riadb » July 24th, 2008, 4:34 pm

Racegod wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:well right now i am 15..and in starting process of building an sq system in emh fada wagon :oops:

yuh piping tuh get money or wah?...
if yuh need 2 nice amps dat cheap... check mih.. ah selling my 2 current amps... one mono, one 2 ch...

good to see some of the younger guns comin up

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » July 24th, 2008, 4:35 pm

a blaupankt deck and some neon power 6*9's :oops: beleive it or not hahah

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2008, 4:36 pm

I was about 16 and put a pyramid cassette deck and later a five channel used eq. Can't even remember what speakers it was.

My mom's cars were my first platforms. When I just got my licence was a jvc deck, two old style soat speakers (the mid bass dj style), tow old 6" mids from some piece of equipment lying around, and two piezo tweeters. Power was from two eq's one for heights and mids and one for bass, with a home made passiv crossover made from coils and caps.

I was obsessed. :oops: :oops:

riadb

Postby riadb » July 24th, 2008, 4:39 pm

home made passiv crossover made from coils and caps

CBH build he own passive crossover yes.....

i remember ah time i went to buy bass coils for ah crossover and d man give me one big pink capacitor.....say it does only play bass...well i take da chain up rhell bad lol lol ended up being a 40mf midrange cap....no bass at all lol

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2008, 4:41 pm

I was obsessed with imaging and soundstage. I used to move them little speakers all over the front of the car. They spent the most time in the kick panels though.

This was in 1993 and 1994 eh.

riadb

Postby riadb » July 24th, 2008, 4:57 pm

daz all understandable
everybody went tru the pre tweaking stage

Postby hydroep » July 24th, 2008, 6:06 pm

LOL...

MECCA am/fm cassette player..mechanical FF, trim adjusted tuner and 100 W x2...:lol:

One of those silver generic seven band "Graphic Equalizer Amplifier" Boosters with the pair of green LED meters that all them taxi/maxi (s) had. (100W x 4...:lol:). That was a really good quality unit. It actually survived a dead short, just the power wire melted...smoked up the whole cabin. I thought the car woulda burn' down yes. Learned that foil on glass fuse is not a good thing...:oops:

One pair each of Sound Barrier DC-5s and black Piezo-electric tweeters.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 24th, 2008, 6:19 pm

my first amp was a poweracoutik,cah remember d name/model but it was 1ohm stable and a pair of 6"powerbass ,1 12" zebra

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 24th, 2008, 6:46 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I was about 16 and put a pyramid cassette deck and later a five channel used eq. Can't even remember what speakers it was.

My mom's cars were my first platforms. When I just got my licence was a jvc deck, two old style soat speakers (the mid bass dj style), tow old 6" mids from some piece of equipment lying around, and two piezo tweeters. Power was from two eq's one for heights and mids and one for bass, with a home made passiv crossover made from coils and caps.

I was obsessed. :oops: :oops:

i share your enthusiasm... :oops:
went and get capacitor and coil and thing to put together home made cross too :lol: :roll: ...

boom

Postby boom » July 24th, 2008, 6:53 pm

a pios 6'' and soundbarrier(sp) 6'' off a toyota deck.. Ended up putting that into a ole door and throwing it onto a wheelbarrow..

Then I spent a total of 6 hrs to build a "bazooca" with a cylinder made from cardboard with a infinity 12'' sub, was 1200maxx watts max I think to go along with those 6'' them.Cutting with a knife, sand paper and a hack saw, left the sub with 10cm space from the back of the enclosure....Sub moved, no sound, pelt away everything and gone and chill..

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » July 24th, 2008, 7:04 pm

well back in 96' in the 323 which was then my parents own i had

Pyramid cassette deck with 7 band physical eq
Unisound eq which came oem with the 280c audio system
2 "no name" 6x9's
1 "no name" 10"....."upgraded" to a 450w 12" nippon america :mrgreen: