Want to Learn Automechanics. No Mango tree thing eh

spliffstar

Want to Learn Automechanics. No Mango tree thing eh

Postby spliffstar » June 21st, 2008, 5:14 pm

want to know where i can learn to be a qualified mechanic. interested in stuff like engine swaps, rebuilding, repairing etc etc sooner or later.

can you gimme, place (institution), price and time frame?

Thanks
S-S

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » June 21st, 2008, 9:28 pm

dunno but i learned by myself when assisting fixing my own car , best way to learn , make sure no one eh hit yuh no smart shot though!!

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » June 22nd, 2008, 2:23 am

Spliffstar, how old are you?

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » June 22nd, 2008, 2:38 am

woi old skool i interested i am 21 years of age spliff is 18 u know a place??

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 23rd, 2008, 6:42 am

dunno but i learned by myself when assisting fixing my own car , best way to learn

X2!

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » June 23rd, 2008, 10:36 am

look for a trainee position in a reputable garage.u may not get pay or may get sumtin small.but the experience is wat counts

Postby Maserati » June 23rd, 2008, 12:30 pm

dunno if those National Skills centers have the auto mechanic courses still.
http://nesc.edu.tt/Programmespath1.htm
look the locations here
http://nesc.edu.tt/traninglocations.htm
call and ask.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » June 25th, 2008, 11:09 am

There is a place in St Augustine on the EMR , I think it's Academy of Auto Mechanics , you can check them .

V2NR 3.0

mechanic

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 25th, 2008, 12:07 pm

^^!SPAWN!^^ wrote:There is a place in St Augustine on the EMR , I think it's Academy of Auto Mechanics , you can check them .

Me too....i wanna go there

Postby Maserati » June 25th, 2008, 12:14 pm

^there is a thread about that place..don't think the reviews were all that positive.

here it is
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... +mechanics

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » June 25th, 2008, 2:06 pm

Man..... still go and check out the place ask for a course outline and you'll know if that is the right course for you. :fadein:

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » June 25th, 2008, 3:07 pm

They really are good , I heard good stuff about them , don't know bout the negative ...

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » June 25th, 2008, 3:15 pm

Went and cheak out the school of automachanics tuesday 24th June admin make the school looked good but when we ask the students they said to go John D instead the is real 'waste'. While I asked some pass students said the is really good, excelent they learnt alot.. so now i confuesd :?: :?: :?:

could it be that the school has decreased in quality onver the years?????

Current students said they were outside liming whole day dont know if there were teachers or not, they dont have enough tools for the students available

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » June 25th, 2008, 5:11 pm

Hmmm well I think Jedi Master summed it up for us there , by the way
May The Force be With You :D :D :D .

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » June 25th, 2008, 5:29 pm

May the Force Be With You Too Spawn 0X 0X

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » June 25th, 2008, 10:43 pm

:D :D :D

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » June 26th, 2008, 8:45 am

Well like plenty tings in Trinidad...start off Hot and sweaty and end up cold and freezin. :fist:

Head dong John D den meh boy!

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » June 26th, 2008, 8:45 am

NESC Debe 647-1084

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » June 26th, 2008, 10:05 am

this is the problem in trinidad, I studied in the Uk because I could not find anywhere here that was worth anything and I had family over there. I did a BTEC national diploma in Autombile Engineering. it took 4 years and the theory is more important than the practical. The last year I worked with VW and then eventually stayed with them for a while.

I know a lot of people think tinkering with your car is the way to learn but you will have years of mistakes without understanding the basics. There are a lot of schools in the US these days. Its expensive so you going to have to work to subsidise your costs

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » June 28th, 2008, 11:45 pm

anyone knows where NESC is in Tunapuna??????????????

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 29th, 2008, 12:04 am

ATTENTION: UTT has auto mechanics

i was browsin through the papers n i noticed it

well i learn from helpin my mechanic also, i am working on getting a haynes manual too

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2008, 7:18 am

i went to the academy of automechanics and most of what the teacher taught was from 'how stuff works' ( no effort involved) and told us for more information to to check the internet
all the practical stuff i already knew by watching what my mechanic did when working on my cay,,, not much specific information to different types of vehicles

total waste in my OPINION

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 29th, 2008, 12:18 pm

saltydog,check your pm please. :)