Best Way to Install Bass Processor??

Chiney

Best Way to Install Bass Processor??

Postby Chiney » March 11th, 2008, 9:38 am

guys.. i am hearing one thing..seeing one thing..then reading something else in manuals..

wat really is the best way to hook up a bass processor with a system like this:

.............................HEAD UNIT.......................
............................./.................\....................
...............BASS AMP...............MIDS AMP.........
................../......................................\..........
..............SUB...............................Speakers....

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 11th, 2008, 10:32 am

Where does the owner's manual suggest to put it?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 11th, 2008, 10:54 am

^^ so far all the manuals iv seen for various models

like the bx-10 from SS
the EPIC-160 and The Epi
PA bass10

few others

all say from deck to bass processor to cross..from cross to mids amp and bass amp

but by not jus straight from deck to bass pro. then to bass amp?

iv seen this install alrdy and it sounds great !!

then iv heard from 3stage that wen he installed his own the way the manual states..he lost mid bass and some other frequencies :| :| :|

southside connections

Postby southside connections » March 11th, 2008, 10:59 am

i use it at the piont between my x-over's sub out and amp in, this way it dosen't get mixed wid mid, or thru the preamp's sub out to the x-over's input

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 11th, 2008, 11:02 am

^^ same thing i thinking
but i dont wanna buy it..install it the wrong way...and get no gain...ppl say its supposed to take a full range input and do its magic...

i eh really into buyin and tryin den sellin if doe like..

money eh growing on trees

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 11th, 2008, 12:10 pm

If your deck has a sub output, put it there, then to the sub's amp. That way, even if it does harm your mid bass for whatever reason, (ive never seen them do that); there is no way it could in this case.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » March 11th, 2008, 12:32 pm

yeah, or u could even use it with the crossover. some of them have a sub input, that should in no way interfare with the front/rear signals that are going to the midrange/high amplifiers.

so its sub out from deck > bass processor > sub input on crossover > monoblock/bass amp

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 11th, 2008, 2:49 pm

.............................HEAD UNIT.......................
............................./.................\....................
...............BASS AMP...............MIDS AMP.........
................../......................................\..........
..............SUB...............................Speakers....

Strange car...

I know it to be more like this

.......................Head Unit_________________
Speaker________________________Speaker V
.......................................................|..........V
v---Bass Amp____............Mids Amp_|..........V
V........................|........................_|...........V
V...Speaker__Speaker__Speaker__Speaker..V
V........................|......................v--|...........V
SUBWOOFER(S)...|---------------->PROCESSING

Sorry i couldn't resist... plus i bored...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 11th, 2008, 2:53 pm

^damn forum screw up my design

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 11th, 2008, 2:59 pm

ive never seen them do that

never seen them do what exactly?? put it through the sub output?

DJ Q my deck has 3 outputs..... 2 full range 1 sub..

i dont kno how thats strange as most cars a basicall setup like this for street music...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 11th, 2008, 6:10 pm

Chiney wrote:
ive never seen them do that

never seen them do what exactly?? put it through the sub output?

DJ Q my deck has 3 outputs..... 2 full range 1 sub..

i dont kno how thats strange as most cars a basicall setup like this for street music...

he tried to draw your car's actual layout... head unit in the dash, spks on the doors... lol @ 4 mids in the back... :lol:

btw, get the epicenter or epic 160 instead.. forget the soundstream... i always tell people you can't go wrong with audio control products...

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 11th, 2008, 8:43 pm

If you using an epicenter the best bet is to use a full range signal. IMHO it sounds better than if you use a sub output. With the bass cube you can use a sub out signal and the same for maxxbass. I never used the SS so i can't say for that unit.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 11th, 2008, 9:08 pm

shouldnt the SS be similar to the bass cube?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 11th, 2008, 9:36 pm

i have no idea. Personally SS = :oops: . I would go with another brand.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 11th, 2008, 9:45 pm

Personally

every man to his own :)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 12th, 2008, 8:06 am

he tried to draw your car's actual layout...

i ca believe he didn c dat... :lol:

but i suggest passing through xover since u'd be dealing with bass alone anyway plus u get more fine tuning

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 12th, 2008, 12:34 pm

^^ naw.. that crossover goin see the bin..

reason?

simple.i wanna have a system with no xover....

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » March 12th, 2008, 1:07 pm

^^ why tho?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 12th, 2008, 1:17 pm

^^ as i jus explain to u there on msn..lemme do it here to clear up

i eh using no "cheap" ting....lol
but i got it for a real real good price...workes great on bass though! no doubt

but i need something a bit on the higher end of things

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » March 12th, 2008, 1:21 pm

^^wa x-over u hav? sell me it na for a bess price :P

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 12th, 2008, 1:45 pm

i eh using no "cheap" ting....lol
but i got it for a real real good price...workes great on bass though! no doubt

well give it back 2 d man yuh get it from

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 12th, 2008, 8:00 pm

^^ u wud love that eh..

it not in good condition at all.... i eh kno wat u did with that..but wow..lol

its cool....serving its purpose..jus wanna upgrade

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 13th, 2008, 7:25 am

u wudn believe that thing leave my... erm... the seller's hands in better condition than I.... i mean he... got it.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 16th, 2008, 4:21 am

^^^^ doe try that

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 16th, 2008, 7:55 pm

na... I... i mean he serious!