rollcage in 10-12 sec street cars **now effective 2008**

ok do you think the 10-12sec street cars should have rollcage (skyline, subaru, evo, ect)

yes
49%
no
51%

Total votes: 63

Postby SR » October 23rd, 2007, 3:13 pm

this oxygen nice

here's moroso's rules

PRO 10.00 - SLOWER NO ELECTRONICS

Valid State Issued driver's license. If under 18 years of age, must have minor waiver signed by a parent or guardian.
Long pants and full T-shirts required. No tank tops.Seat Belts.
Hub caps and trim rings removed.
No cracks in windshield.
Good Tires.
If using nitrous oxide system, car must have sticker in rear window. If bottle is in driver's compartment, it must have relief valve vented outside of compartment.
13.99 or quicker must have Snell K98, 2000 or 2005 helmet.
Convertibles must have rollbar if running 13.99 or quicker.
Roll bar is mandatory in Street Legal cars running 11.00 to 11.50.
All must have neutral safety switch and and reverse lockout.
Automatic transmission lines must be high pressure type.
Pressurized containers (i.e. air bottles) must be D.O.T. approved.
Hood scoops may not extend more than 11 inches above original hood surface.
Carb return springs
If linkage altered, must have toe loop on pedal.
Operating tail lights (no blinking or flashing lights).
All holes in floor, firewall and rear, must be plugged.
No more than 12 inches of rubber hose in fuel system, from tank to carb.
No fuel lines in driver's compartment.
Retention strap mandatory with traction bars.
Drive shaft loop required 13.99 or quicker.
Jacket required 3.2A/1.
Only factory tint on windows.
Must have metal valve stems.
New rule Air shifters are allowed

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2007, 3:15 pm

in terms of safety what exactly does a roll cage do for a 10-12 sec. car thats basically designed to go in a straight line?...
then its best u say all cars in dex/drifting should have a cage also? arnt they more likely to flip?

Postby SR » October 23rd, 2007, 3:17 pm

http://racemoroso.com/index.php?option= ... &Itemid=26

see ah helpin everybody from TTASA who does browse this forums for feedback

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:18 pm

Presley's 714whp Signal R34 SV Skyline:

So I know Presley will have no trouble racing. If the fellas in Japan think it's needed in a 700hp Skyline... well, who is we?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 23rd, 2007, 3:20 pm

hahaha @ this thread..

why the need for argument....

simply put I agree with the statement that 10.99 and faster cars should be equipped with some sort of cage.

REGARDLESS OF AGE, BODY WEAR, MANUFACTURE TYPE, ENGINE SWAP or not..if it is stipulated that 10.99 and faster have a roll cage then by all means EVERY damn car should have it...
whether it does 10's in stock form or not.

you guys are creating an argument because you're bending the rules and TRYING to find exceptions!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:20 pm

HUTRINI wrote:NarendZORCE, I really think the point your making is unfair...
i think it should be ONE DEFINATE cut off point across the board, NOT on an individual car to car...engine to engine basis.
Lemme explain why:

STOCK a R34 GTR dynos at around 300
STOCK a CIVIC MUGEN RR dynos at around 300

Neither have to put on a cage then? Thats what your saying :| Because according to your argument "Cars or platforms that cater from the factory for low power engines are more at risk structurally after recieving high power upgrades and transplants."
Both cars are putting out similar power figures, both are STOCK ...same rules apply???
*Both Cars doing under 12-for argument sake*

I know my point is not equal to all cars, but are all cars structurally equal?

W2J

Postby W2J » October 23rd, 2007, 3:21 pm

not everybody have presley money.

Postby honda hoe » October 23rd, 2007, 3:23 pm

W2J wrote:not everybody have presley money.

:? :? :?

well den don't race

it costa a lotta money to make ur car fast

u willin to spend it on speed an not safety? :roll:

Postby SR » October 23rd, 2007, 3:24 pm

i am in agreement of the 10.99 and faster rule

NOT 12

Postby wagonrunner » October 23rd, 2007, 3:25 pm

X_Factor wrote:in terms of safety what exactly does a roll cage do for a 10-12 sec. car thats basically designed to go in a straight line?...
then its best u say all cars in dex/drifting should have a cage also? arnt they more likely to flip?

IMO, and from my experience...............NO. to roll, would require lateral traction. even when a wheel looses its firm grip during a turn, the moment isnt carried into body roll, but understeer (inability to turn), which to stay competitive, most dexers would back off to regain traction. If for some reason you stay on the throttle, you slide more out of the course, or apply throtle unevenly, fishtail. i have mainly FWD experience.
Last edited by wagonrunner on October 23rd, 2007, 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 23rd, 2007, 3:25 pm

I'm sorry, but I have to agree, if you going to spend the money to get a 10 -11 sec car, a roll cage is a must.

On the other hand 2 points to consider:

1. why not simply go by FIA rules, instead of making up your own?
2. The timing is really bad, I mean come on, racing is Sunday and you only get notice to put in a roll cage a week before?

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:26 pm

The challenge is Trinidad is that this rule can apply to the cars you all are thinking of like Civics and Skylines, and I imagine fairly recent models.

BUT

the reality of our racetrack is that we've got some 20-30 year old cars getting twice the power they were built to handle and the things considered mechanically seem to be the diff, gearbox, engine mounts, tires and alignment. After that it's power and traction.

So structurally then, what about the escorts, cortinas, 626s, hillman hunters, galants etc. Was their engineering as good as a civic? And is the civic or lancer's engineering as good as an Rx7, 300ZX, Skyline, EVOs etc.

And then we have the exotics and the fully prepped racecars.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:28 pm

W2J wrote:not everybody have presley money.

But he did buy the car like that, it came with the cage, as seen fit by Signal Auto Japan.

Perhaps we can ask for a rulebend/bligh for cars that are just barely into 12s to not have the cage?

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 3:29 pm

11.99=ROLL BAR

10.99=ROLL CAGE

NO EXCEPTIONS :!: Regardless of how "structurally sound" you think your car is.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:30 pm

In addition to which W2J's car is front wheel drive which is less likely to spin, get sideways and flip on a 1/4 mile....

?????

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:30 pm

HUTRINI wrote:11.99=ROLL BAR

10.99=ROLL CAGE

Like a 1/2 cage? Perhaps that could be a good meeting point for all. Something better than nothing IMO.

Postby honda hoe » October 23rd, 2007, 3:31 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:In addition to which W2J's car is front wheel drive which is less likely to spin, get sideways and flip on a 1/4 mile....

so the rules should be different for fwd/rwd/awd??

den wha bout engine placement?

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 3:32 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:
i think it should be ONE DEFINATE cut off point across the board, NOT on an individual car to car...engine to engine basis.
Lemme explain why:

Neither have to put on a cage then? Thats what your saying :| Because according to your argument "Cars or platforms that cater from the factory for low power engines are more at risk structurally after recieving high power upgrades and transplants."
Both cars are putting out similar power figures, both are STOCK ...same rules apply???

Well once you know it's not equal to all cars, your leading to grey areas which cause confusion!
That is why there should be a definate cut off point! In terms of E.T. or MPH as stated in FIA rules.
If your car is running 11's and your in a Skyline...it doesn't matter you need a ROLL BAR installed!
If your car is running 10's and your in a Skyline...it doesn't matter you need a ROLL CAGE installed!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:33 pm

W2J would you be willing to go with a roll bar or 1/2 cage?

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 3:34 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:
HUTRINI wrote:11.99=ROLL BAR

10.99=ROLL CAGE

Like a 1/2 cage? Perhaps that could be a good meeting point for all. Something better than nothing IMO.

YUP
I mean it's in the FIA rule book...thats exactly how it's stated...
That is unless TTASA mis quoted and mis directed yall...or the author of this thread got it WRONG!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:35 pm

HUTRINI wrote:
NarendZORCE wrote:
Lemme explain why:

Well once you know it's not equal to all cars, your leading to grey areas which cause confusion!
That is why there should be a definate cut off point! In terms of E.T. or MPH as stated in FIA rules.
If your car is running 11's and your in a Skyline...it doesn't matter you need a ROLL BAR installed!
If your car is running 10's and your in a Skyline...it doesn't matter you need a ROLL CAGE installed!

That would be simpler since we both know the permutations and combinations of car and engine are too great for true individual analysis.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:36 pm

I still worry for the fellas in the conversion cars more than the Skyline men though despite this more practical suggestion.

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 3:38 pm

TUNERS CAN WE AGREE???

11.99 or Lower=Roll Bar

10.99 or Lower=Roll Cage

No exceptions :!:

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:38 pm

The other reason is because this is a new track and I hope everyone running realises that they should try it out first, perhaps at 75% power. After seeing Adesley flip the SR20DET-powered Box Lancer in Antigua, I am PRO rollcage/bar/suit etc.

Postby honda hoe » October 23rd, 2007, 3:38 pm

yup

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:39 pm

HUTRINI wrote:TUNERS CAN WE AGREE???

11.99 or Lower=Roll Bar

10.99 or Lower=Roll Cage

No exceptions :!:

Now if we can just get TTASA in the loop here

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:40 pm

And then they need to clear it with Civil Aviation... hmmmm....

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:41 pm

make an amendment to what they previously supplied as safety regs... which is riskier but just slightly...

oh well...

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 3:42 pm

NarendZORCE, are you positive-that you also heard 12 and under requires ROLL CAGE...(not ROLL BAR) :?: :?: :?:

Are you sure you yourself didn't misquote...just asking :idea:

Because what I stated comes straight from the FIA :|

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2007, 3:45 pm

wagonrunner, thanx for the reply man

so whats the cost to put in a cage?
and for the street car...is there any harzards of having a cage and its ur daily driven car?

i have a couple friends with sr20det, rb25det and v6tt(vr4 engine i think) and they were all excited to really test their car..but now i guess they cant and probably wont(not that they are sub 12 but u never know)

what the officials need to do is plan a test n tune weekend where any car can pay the fee's(and not to high of a fee) race and have fun

also have like once or twice for the mth have a normal ganster drags like what was accustom to at wallers..otherwise i cant see street racing stopping anytime soon