Postby VexXx Dogg » July 22nd, 2006, 11:47 pm

why lower pressure in the rear?
just wondering.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 23rd, 2006, 12:32 am

^^^ cuz the front needs more air to support the engine weight, especially in fwd cars where the tranny is up front too, and not a little way back.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2006, 12:25 pm

or hor.
thanx man

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 23rd, 2006, 12:45 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:why lower pressure in the rear?
just wondering.

It's more a question of why higher pressure in the front.
It helps to reduce understeer or "push"... where front tyres make a wider arch than the rear;
for the amount of steering lock applied. It also encourages sharper "turn-in."

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 23rd, 2006, 7:04 pm

you'd be surprised to know that there's little or no effect on a car's handling or performance, unless the car is being used for competition, wether you inflate the front more or the rear more or whatever you do as long as you keep the pressure within 10 PSI of the max recommendation. too soft is bad and too had is also bad there's a small margin for error and tires are very forgiving in this respect. it helps to try to equate tire pressures as much as possible for the sake of the life of the tires but handling isnt an issue unless you plan to run the car to its limits in which case more specialised tuning needs to be done with a temperature and pressure gauge to ensure the alignment and suspension is on target and the tire temperatures are equal across the tread of the tire. If your goal is great handling worry about the type of tire you use, the suspension you use it with, and the accuracy of the alignment of the car and you're goin to have more pleasing results.
of course im saying all this and i didnt read more than about 2 posts on this entire thread.... :lol: "he that is without sin cast the first stone" :?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 23rd, 2006, 7:37 pm

nasscott wrote:you'd be surprised to know that there's little or no effect on a car's handling or performance, unless the car is being used for competition, ... unless you plan to run the car to its limits...
of course im saying all this and i didnt read more than about 2 posts on this entire thread...

Maybe if you read a little more of the thread???

Anyway... even without the use of a tyre pyrometer... anytime you want see the difference
that 5 psi of tyre pressure makes just call 684-4552. I'll be happy to oblige. :wink:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 23rd, 2006, 11:41 pm

when i got my car the guy was running 28psi all round.

i put it to 34F 32R and i noticed sharpe turn-in, more stability at high speed courners and the steering got lighter in my hands.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 23rd, 2006, 11:55 pm

dude i just posted that to get my "irelivant#" into the 30's so i can go from being a rice boy to a street 2NR. but i'll read the whole thread now :lol: :lol:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 24th, 2006, 12:07 am

^ so what do u drive?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 24th, 2006, 9:34 am

nasscott wrote:... i'll read the whole thread now :lol: :lol:

Ok :D

SKIDMARQS

Postby SKIDMARQS » July 24th, 2006, 9:48 am

On reccomendation that I should be running my forester around 34-36 front, 32 rear, ive been increasing pressure gradually,

This make real sense, it come like you slowly breaking yourself into the harder ride.
I will definately give this procedure a try cuz I running 205/40/17s with lowering springs.....I need all the comfort I can get :oops:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » June 25th, 2007, 3:37 pm

bump for wet season upon us again.

Also, as mentioned, it's a good idea to walk with your own pressure gauge when inflating at a gas station...half the times those things don't work properly or aren't accurate.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 25th, 2007, 4:36 pm

^^Well said..

Primera VVL

Postby Primera VVL » June 26th, 2007, 5:58 am

Some interesting info... :o

Postby noshownogo » June 26th, 2007, 8:24 am

to add to the discussion, by reducing the oxygen/vapour in tyres they will maintain proper pressure longer and have less temperature change from hot to cold or vise versa. Using nitrogen in your tyres claim to reduce tyre wear, increase fuel economy and reduce the possibility of a blowout.

Postby Greypatch » June 26th, 2007, 8:38 pm

good read great post

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » June 26th, 2007, 10:05 pm

I runnin 28 psi (N2) in my 215/45/R17s and it ridin ok. Will try between 30 & 35 to see d difference.

Marct

Postby Marct » June 27th, 2007, 9:17 pm

just topped up yesterday with nitro- 30fr/28- was running 28 all around handling much better around corners & in the wet now

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » July 4th, 2007, 10:50 am

i have a question, i have a back tyre which loses tyre pressure every couple of days.
ex if i put in 30psi when i come back in a couple days it down to about 15psi when i messure it with the gauge, but the tyre dosent get soft, pluse i check the other tyres to make sure its not the gauge the gauge good its just that tyre. can any tell me whats going on here

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » July 4th, 2007, 11:04 am

^carry it to a tyre shop to locate and repair the leak

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » July 4th, 2007, 11:43 am

ok thanx
plenty inf in this thread :D

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 5th, 2007, 9:00 am

Would low tyre pressure on rear wheel drive vehicles increase the possibilty of fishtailing?

Any one knows what the "correct" tyre pressure should be for 265/70/16? Right now i'm using 34psi.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 5th, 2007, 9:34 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:Would low tyre pressure on rear wheel drive vehicles increase the possibilty of fishtailing?

Any one knows what the "correct" tyre pressure should be for 265/70/16? Right now i'm using 34psi.

I only reach up to those pressures when I carrying a moderate load. It usually stays at 28-30 psi.

The tyres are 255/70/15.

Last year I raised the pressure on the rears to carry load (35 psi) and forgot to reduce it afterwards. Tyres started to cut badly.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 5th, 2007, 12:25 pm

When I collected the vehicle from TTTL it had 34psi in the tires... I just continued using that.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 5th, 2007, 12:53 pm

i use 32-34 front and 30-32 rear no matter what tire i using size doh matter

i found this to be the sweet spot for handling and tire wear

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:When I collected the vehicle from TTTL it had 34psi in the tires... I just continued using that.

OKay. But you should ask them about it. Remember those guys does do crap sometimes eh. But if 34 psi working for you, then go ahead...

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 6th, 2007, 1:03 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:
323_wagon_dude wrote:When I collected the vehicle from TTTL it had 34psi in the tires... I just continued using that.

OKay. But you should ask them about it. Remember those guys does do crap sometimes eh. But if 34 psi working for you, then go ahead...

I checked the pressure on the tires this morning and it was 35psi. I dropped it to 32psi. At 32psi I've gotten the smoothest ride ever with those tires.

JohnMartyn

Re: Tyre Pressure and Performance

Postby JohnMartyn » November 15th, 2011, 5:19 pm

We all want to take care of our cars and improve our fuel economy.The tire usually needs to have additional load capacity as well.In order to evaluate the influence of inflation pressure on response and handling, the Tire Rack conducted a Performance Test Track Drive.