Why are sti's not that fast?

Postby gt4tified » March 6th, 2007, 9:54 am

Silvermike wrote:^ i know.

and that would beat me... wouldnt it? its 170bhp. ive only got 116whp

So now dat all the ole talk about dem 'slow' cars done, mike, what you doing to the evo rite now?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 6th, 2007, 9:56 am

looking to sell it.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 6th, 2007, 12:21 pm

and the beat goes onnnnnn

sleepoytuner

Postby sleepoytuner » March 6th, 2007, 2:27 pm

WHY??????

Anyone notice that my Avatar and Spyrogyra have a resemblance???

interesting HAHAHA

Sleepoy

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 6th, 2007, 4:18 pm

Silvermike wrote:^ i know.

and that would beat me... wouldnt it? its 170bhp. ive only got 116whp

mikey seriously (and im hoping you were just kidding or being sarcastic when u said what i just quoted) im hoping that that type of cut and dry thinking is what we can eliminate by the topics we discuss on the tech forum.
in actual fact i insist that 116 WHP should always beat 170BHP for the simple reason that BHP is usually quoted by marketing depts whereas WHP is usually quoted by serious tuners who only tune engine power as a small part of the total package that constitutes a fully tuned vehicle.
if you do not agree i have some interesting proof for you.

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2007, 4:36 pm

keep in mind, Japanese manufacturers tend to understate BHP figures
but u right in that u cannot compare WHP and BHP
For one thing, WHP figures are affected by many variables, including tyre pressure and ambient air temperature, while BHP figures are meaSured in a more controlled environment. When comparing stock cars, BHP is not a bad guide, but when we begin modifying, BHP testing is not practical, so we rely on WHP. IMHO, WHP testing is good for individual tuning, starting with baseline pulls, and careful recording of all variables, to keep each session true.....dyno pulls should be used for determning the effect of different modifications...not comparing apples and exotic blue manicous

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 6th, 2007, 4:37 pm

actually, it would be rather close... ive got d-series gear ratios... which are not agressive at all. To top it off, my 2nd and 3rd is giving trouble.

u got the 6 speed? box or even the 5 speed, ure gear ratios would be much better than mine.

also, weigth is about the same i think, thou my chaisis is a 4 dr EK, which is heavy. I know the sprinters are light, but i dont know what chaisis u got.

Postby X2 » March 6th, 2007, 5:22 pm

BHP... you guys are referring to Brake Horsepower as measured on a dyna-pack, right ? If so, those numbers would be very close to whp as measured on a standard inertia dyno.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 6th, 2007, 6:55 pm

Silvermike wrote:actually, it would be rather close... ive got d-series gear ratios... which are not agressive at all. To top it off, my 2nd and 3rd is giving trouble.

u got the 6 speed? box or even the 5 speed, ure gear ratios would be much better than mine.

also, weigth is about the same i think, thou my chaisis is a 4 dr EK, which is heavy. I know the sprinters are light, but i dont know what chaisis u got.

well interestingly mine is the wagon which is very heavy. plus its automatic.
feeling lucky yet?
the bottom line is in a straight line power to weight is a MAJOR factor and even in cornering lightness is king. stop looking at horse power as an indication of circuit lap or quartermile time. you're always going to lose. only in a battle where vehcle weight is identical wheel size and type is also identical so acceleration is not affected by the moment of inertia of the wheels differently between both cars, would more horse power in one car cause it to win. and that is only in a straight line with the same gear ratios and final drive. add some corners and there are even more issues that change the result. thats performance tuning for ya.
so what im saying is 116 horse power is as fast as the chassis it's bolted to and there's no escaping that fact.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 6th, 2007, 10:16 pm

ok u win, ull loose

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 7th, 2007, 11:33 am

i just hope yuh doh stick with the burger money eh hoss? :fist:

Postby gt4tified » March 7th, 2007, 1:18 pm

lawd, look what this thread reach to nah....two mean arguing over who have the shittier, oops ah mean slower, ride!

Postby gt4tified » March 7th, 2007, 1:19 pm

lawd, look what this thread reach to nah....two mean arguing over who have the shittier, oops ah mean slower, ride!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 7th, 2007, 2:42 pm

twice for emphasis gt4tified,???
i have some coilovers for yuh eh but since you doh answer your phone i dunno if it will be around by the time i catch up with u.

Postby wagonrunner » March 7th, 2007, 3:38 pm

nasscott,
whey meh cotton pickin rims?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 7th, 2007, 9:12 pm

hoss i sorry eh but i had to work out a deal with the tooth fairy cause i was desperate and she say she taking the rims as payment so my smile still in tact but the rims gone :cry:

Postby wagonrunner » March 7th, 2007, 11:59 pm

I see.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 8th, 2007, 8:11 am

Reports of the Tuner Taliban hi-jacking multiple threads in the "ole talk" forum have just been received by this station.....find out what it could mean for the future of our children.............tonight at 10 on Fox News...

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 8th, 2007, 9:36 am

^^^ paki hater
durka durka mohammed jihad!

Postby gt4tified » March 8th, 2007, 11:46 am

nasscott wrote:^^^ paki hater

^^^*gt4tified sadly shakes his head in silence, knowing that this is clearly the case of what happens when you do drugs*

sleepoytuner

Postby sleepoytuner » March 8th, 2007, 7:02 pm

NOS...........

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » March 8th, 2007, 7:46 pm

Ah believe dis thread eh die ah quick death yet.
Aye Sleepoy who get de sweet lookin hatch now dude. Ah bet it guh hurt yuh when yuh see somebody else driving it.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 8th, 2007, 8:51 pm

gt4tified wrote:

^^^*gt4tified sadly shakes his head in silence, knowing that this is clearly the case of what happens when you do drugs*

i guess you've never seen the movie team america. lol.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 8th, 2007, 9:08 pm

fcuk yea!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 8th, 2007, 9:30 pm

i think a burger is 14 dollars now eh so doh walk with just 12 eh hoss? :lol:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 8th, 2007, 9:34 pm

best outta 3

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » March 8th, 2007, 9:39 pm

allyuh still with dis dred???

steups give bout ah allyuh ah 120y tuh dly over the maracas road and we go see who is ah driver!!! :mrgreen:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 9th, 2007, 6:04 am

120y

aka the "penal porsche"

Postby gt4tified » March 9th, 2007, 8:54 am

nasscott wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

i guess you've never seen the movie team america. lol.

Yes I have, ONCE, when I was by the barbershop. And from what I saw, you HAVE to be on drugs to remember the lines from that movie!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 9th, 2007, 8:56 am

team america!
fcuk yea!
we're here to save the mudafcking world!