Shallow subs.....need to know whose de best...?

Postby wagon r » December 28th, 2006, 8:53 am

....here's the flick, i'm lookin to upgrade the sounds in my van but don't want to go over the top. we all know the space behind a 4x4's rear seat is limited, so i'm lookin for a shallow sub.

a simple 8" or 10" is enough for me....maybe even two 8"s.

what i need to know is whose the best at these types of subs and who can supply them locally.

thanks. 8-)

Postby X_Factor » December 28th, 2006, 10:55 am

gotta JBL GTO 10"...500.00 used

for the price it sounds decent

other than that..there is earthquake and pios but they are 1200 each

casper

Postby casper » December 28th, 2006, 11:13 am

ah believe ligtnin audio supposed to have some shallow subs yuh know....not quite sure..they should sound good....and dey prices normally are descent

Sully

Postby Sully » December 28th, 2006, 2:15 pm

Pioneer, check sound and security in valpark. I'm sure there's others that have them for sale but sound and security is the only place that I've seen with them on display.

Postby wagon r » December 28th, 2006, 3:20 pm

thanks for the info....will check them out tom.

sinnas

Postby sinnas » December 28th, 2006, 5:59 pm

also u could check srcoupe. he has the Pioneer shallow sub for $1100 i think. (brand new)

go 1 pioneer 12" shallow sub - u wont regret it.

Mini

Postby Mini » December 29th, 2006, 7:01 am

why not use one of the 12's you have already... and rebuild an enclosure something like this

Postby SR » December 29th, 2006, 7:29 am

he doesnt have the depth behid the seat

i have the solutions for him when he ready

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » December 29th, 2006, 10:26 am

i've seen normal size subs fit in a single cab lo lux behind the seat with back rest on... man had 4 10s... truck style box...2 chambers for all subs... ports faced up.... n it was slammin :)

if u have a normal 12 already try that 1st ... build a box somn like d pic mini posted...

sinnas

Postby sinnas » December 29th, 2006, 11:33 am

o yeah, Sr have some mad looking 6 "sub/speakers (dunno what to call them). With a long kinda port madness, i real wanna a demo of them things dread. :lol: :twisted:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 29th, 2006, 12:00 pm

another solution is to put the enclosure between the seats....

casper

Postby casper » December 29th, 2006, 12:47 pm

^^yea dat actually soundin like ah good idea nigel...probably he tried it though an the space seemed still limited

Postby equipped2ripp » December 29th, 2006, 3:23 pm

pioneer 12"

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 29th, 2006, 3:34 pm

sinnas wrote:o yeah, Sr have some mad looking 6 "sub/speakers (dunno what to call them). With a long kinda port madness, i real wanna a demo of them things dread. :lol: :twisted:

dey does sound niiiiiiiiice 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

casper

Postby casper » December 29th, 2006, 5:31 pm

i tink does shallow subs use d neodyium magnets ent????(not too sure how u spell it)....but the size of the magnet is rell small an its equal as the normal ones......

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 2nd, 2007, 1:38 am

u could go wit the pioneer shallow mount 12s...
i got em right now and for the depth of the actual speaker and the price.. they sound good

casper

Postby casper » January 2nd, 2007, 9:39 am

^^^^yea an the pioneers shouldnt cost too much neither...so yuh cant tgo wrong therre

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 2nd, 2007, 10:57 am

the pair of 6 inch subs sound realll good.

Postby wagon r » January 2nd, 2007, 12:26 pm

....i didn't want to go with an enclosure between the front seats as it's where i have my centre console and it provides the back seat folks with some additional leg room.

true the van doesn't have back seat folks most of the time but i don't want the interior lookin too clustered.

mini, the two mtx 12"s i have are being used as part of my home stereo/entertainment system....not to mention i took them out of the single enclosure and had separate ones done for each.

the advantage being that now the subs can be separate across the living room and i could drop a box in the van should i feel the need to distress my hearing anymore than i have already......

....hence the reason to go with 8" subs or the 6" ones SR has......i have to line up a demo with him to hear them but in time, hopefully by month's end.

thanks to everyone for their inputs.....all have been noted.

Postby wagon r » January 2nd, 2007, 12:30 pm

....on a side note, seeing that you'll volunterring info.....

best amp to power 1 pair pioneer 6x9s, 1 pair pioneer 5 1/4s and a small sub but with still enough power to push a single mtx 12... :?:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 2nd, 2007, 1:20 pm

glad u enjoying d box redo ^^^^ :wink:

1 4channel amp will push what u want but of course y wont be d ability 2 fade d front or back - better option is a 5 channel since u will get d fading ability however d 5th bass chan will average about 300wrms which will still be decently loud in ur L200

u can get either d soundstream 4chan or 5 chan amp from me in stock now ..... :fadein:

Postby wagon r » January 2nd, 2007, 2:30 pm

.....thanks meng......i still the pics to send for you, i eh forget yuh. :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 3rd, 2007, 1:50 am

wham????? you and all........check Shaz!!!!!!!!

casper

Postby casper » March 5th, 2007, 5:41 pm

the pioneer shallow mounts are the TS-SW1041D...its a 10" sub....looks rell cool...sounds ok too...but almost EVERYONE has dem in either there pick up or truck....so what did you end up using?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 5th, 2007, 10:26 pm

check exonic an i think shud consider the elemental design eu700sub..small but packs sum power..harry cud link u up with it also

Postby equipped2ripp » March 5th, 2007, 11:48 pm

pioneer hands down

Postby wagon r » March 6th, 2007, 7:54 am

.....system was done. went with a JL 8" with the 12" on standby for weekend wildness.

i'm very pleased with the system and find it very suitable for daily driving. thanks for all the help folks. :cool:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 6th, 2007, 11:32 am

seen a normal size 10" sub fitted in a L200 4dr pickup behind d seats without moving it - have ways to do it ...... :fadein:

Postby wagon r » March 6th, 2007, 12:07 pm

8" proved more than adequate...

jus kewl

Re: Shallow subs.....need to know whose de best...?

Postby jus kewl » July 11th, 2017, 8:54 am

Good day. Looking for any updates on a shallow sub.
Which is good?...and where to buy?