NITROGEN tyre inflation

Postby equipped2ripp » September 16th, 2006, 1:22 am

so i got my tyres inflated with nitrogen at mileage mack today.

12"-15" tyres - $46, 16"-17" - $69, 18"-20" - $92 and 22-24" - $115. these prices are per set of 4 and VAT incl.

off hand, i think those are the prices...

if you happen to lose pressure, they would top up the tyre with nitrogen for free. so you could always go back to them and they won't charge you to top up the tyre, providing it wasn't flat etc.

so far, i find my vehicle gives a smoother ride.

the system they use is the branick system.

for more info,
http://www.branick.com/

About Nitrogen....
Nitrogen is an inert, dry, non-flammable gas that’s used by NASCAR racers, the aircraft industry, the U.S. military, Formula One racers and others to inflate tires. So why do the tires on a truck or the family sedan have “plain old airâ€

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » September 16th, 2006, 6:22 am

hummm i hata give this a try

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2006, 9:16 am

so NP has been giving us 78% nitrogen all the time,
can one really feel a difference in 12% or is this a placebo effect ?
mind you a placebo effect is still a real effect by all accounts.

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » September 16th, 2006, 4:13 pm

nitrogen is the way to go.....honda dealerships up here offer than service

Postby Hook » September 17th, 2006, 8:15 am

so basically, when I ketch a vaps and decide to go Toco at 4am on a Sunday (after drinking heavily of course..thas d only way dat vaps cud happen), I can't top up at any ole gas station anymore?

we discussed that here a while back, and ppl gave all their theoretical hoo-haa about pure nitrogen being less affected by heating (I gather in this light that both hot and cold pressures should be just about the same right?)...blah blah blah

aye, be the guinea pig for us nuh jed? lewwe design some tests to compare the two nuh?
I need to be sold on this idea before I abandon all post heavy-Saturday-night-drinking vapses (or is it vapsees?)

Postby equipped2ripp » September 17th, 2006, 9:25 pm

yeah u can top up at any gas station if there's the need to

Postby Sky » September 17th, 2006, 10:13 pm

How do they fill the tyres with 100% nitrogen when the tires already have their volumes in "plain old air" at one atmosphere?
And wont topping up at a regular gas station and adding "plain old air" to your nitrogen sorta negate the purpose even further?

Postby X2 » September 17th, 2006, 10:18 pm

kewl

Postby equipped2ripp » September 18th, 2006, 1:06 am

Sky, i don't think anyone said they're 100% nitrogen inflated...

Empress

Postby Empress » September 18th, 2006, 10:51 am

What effect can Nitrogen have on tyres?

Under ideal conditions, Nitrogen will run cooler than normal compressed air, will exhibit slower leakage, have no oxidation, and be virtually non combustible.

In particular circumstances, pure Nitrogen is used as the inflation medium in earthmover, racing, and aviation tyres to where they are required to perform under conditions of high stress and in critical environments, generating higher than usual temperatures. Examples are:

* Where exceptionally high loads are carried by the vehicle,
* High-speed travel,
* Where high pressure must be maintained.

Also, in some instances, the tyre casing wears better, and to some extent, tyre tread wears more slowly, when Nitrogen is used in these extreme circumstances.
How can Nitrigen affect on-road tyres?

Despite the advantages in specialised tyres subject to extreme conditions, the benefits of Nitrogen inflation for tyres used primarily on ordinary roads in standard driving conditions are not at all clear.

The main arguments put forward for its use of pure Nitrogen in tyres under normal conditions are:

a) Alleged Improved Tread Wear
Unfortunately, little controlled test data exists to support or refute this claim.

Improved tread wear comes from proper tyre maintenance, for example from:

* Checking your tyre inflation pressure at least once a month, and preferably fortnightly
* Regular rotation and
* Correct wheel alignment.

Take care of these, and your tyres will ride more safely and wear better, irrespective of the choice of inflation medium.

b) Casing Durability
When the tyre heats up, moisture in the tyre vaporises and expands. In some circumstances, moisture in the compressed air in a tyre can gradually migrates through the inner lining of a tubeless tyre and into the steel-cord body plies, resulting in rust, which ultimately causes casing degradation.

This applies to truck and bus, and some light truck tyres. Passenger and most light truck tyres are not affected, as they are composed instead of textile body ply material (eg polyester, nylon, rayon, etc).

One of the main claims made by Nitrogen proponents is that compressed Nitrogen contains less moisture than compressed air, thereby reducing the incidence of this moisture migration effect.

The primary aim should be to avoid moisture migration irrespective of the mix of gas used in tyre inflation. Moisture can be introduced into the tyre as a result of poor workshop practices and incorrect or inadequate tyre fitment procedures.

To this end, we encourage proper selection of compressor equipment, air-line routing, the use of air dryers, and other sound workshop and equipment maintenance practices in order to minimise moisture introduction.

This applies both to initial tyre inflation and top-up air.

Poor tyre fitment and workshop standards can also contribute to wheel and rim corrosion. If proper practices and equipment are utilised, moisture migration is minimised. It does not matter so much whether Nitrogen or compressed air is the inflation medium.

If you fill your tyres with Nitrogen, to retain any benefit, you will need to top up with Nitrogen as well. Topping up with Compressed air will negate any benefit.

When you first fill up your tyres, they already have air in them, so they really should be filled then evacuated, then filled again to remove the residual atmospheric air.

c) Susceptibility to Tyre Fires
Ever since the introduction of tubeless radial-ply tyres, the risks of tyre fires and/or self-ignition of tyres due to excessive heat have been rendered virtually nonexistent.

With tubeless radial-ply tyres, there is no 'tube and flap' which could cause friction and, therefore, heat to be generated.

It takes far higher temperatures to ignite steel radial truck and bus tyres, as compared with fabric-reinforced bias-ply tyres.

If properly maintained and used within legal tolerances, air-inflated passenger and light truck radial tyres will rarely, if ever, generate sufficient heat to self-ignite and burn, whether filled with Nitrogen or with ordinary compressed air.
Those motorists who choose to keep their tyres inflated with Nitrogen must bear in mind that Nitrogen inflation is NOT a 'set and forget' option. Regardless of the gas inflated into your tyres, to preserve their safety characteristics and longevity, you must check tyre pressure tyre and condition regularly.

Postby Hook » September 18th, 2006, 1:15 pm

^^^ nice read :cool:

Empress

Postby Empress » September 18th, 2006, 5:43 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ nice read :cool:

thanks Hook,

Postby equipped2ripp » September 18th, 2006, 6:12 pm

de empress wukkin there!! lol

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2006, 12:48 am

Sky, i don't think anyone said they're 100% nitrogen inflated...

we discussed that here a while back, and ppl gave all their theoretical hoo-haa about pure nitrogen being less affected by heating (I gather in this light that both hot and cold pressures should be just about the same right?)...blah blah blah

f you fill your tyres with Nitrogen, to retain any benefit, you will need to top up with Nitrogen as well. Topping up with Compressed air will negate any benefit.

When you first fill up your tyres, they already have air in them, so they really should be filled then evacuated, then filled again to remove the residual atmospheric air.

Empress answered me. Good stuff..

Empress

Postby Empress » September 19th, 2006, 12:34 pm

Yup sky thought this would clear up most of ur questions...

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » September 19th, 2006, 3:36 pm

http://www.retread.org/webart/Nitrogen%20Table.jpg

Folks who may want to ask question.
this table shows how fast those gases escape from a tire.
let's say that you have a tyre filled with nitrogen or methane and another filled with water vapour and both tires are pressured at 35psi and also have a pin hole leak on each , the one with the nitrogen / methane would take much longer to deflate.
Last edited by mitsugdi on September 20th, 2006, 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 19th, 2006, 5:39 pm

well equipped2ripp, when u changing tires u go know if it made ah difference, cuz i know u do a lot of highway runs.

venum

Postby venum » September 19th, 2006, 5:47 pm

equipped2ripp, I could take your word for it

I have doubts about this, but I will have to try it for myself to really be sure

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » September 21st, 2006, 8:20 pm

well I filled my car with it as well when they first started and its kinda hard to tell a difference but the pressures are more stable and I should not lose inflation pressure like with normal air (which is usually 1 -2 Psi per month) Plus the average service station does not filter their air very well and quite often you get water in the line which ends up in your tyre (not good)

Postby equipped2ripp » September 21st, 2006, 11:52 pm

cacasplat3, looking to replace tires next 5-7000kms...

saltydog, it's true!! some stations don't even maintain (clean or replace) the air filters

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 24th, 2006, 11:43 am

i go try it

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 1st, 2006, 12:51 pm

me too once I remember.......

plex

Postby plex » October 12th, 2006, 7:07 pm

going to give a try...

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 12th, 2006, 10:21 pm

Using it in Karting now
Much Less of pressure increase when tyres are warmed up
very good for the longer races
Less pressure drops over time aswell

Well worth it

art n motion

Postby art n motion » October 14th, 2006, 9:21 am

is mileage mack the only place you can gwet this nitorgen :?:
if not, where else :?: :idea:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 14th, 2006, 10:22 am

it have any place close 2 chaguanas 2 fill this up at?

art n motion

Postby art n motion » October 14th, 2006, 2:57 pm

^^that is what I was getting at :wink:
but seriously any info as to where we can get it done would be appreciated :idea:

Postby equipped2ripp » October 14th, 2006, 3:04 pm

i doubt... only mileage mack advertising it

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 14th, 2006, 6:45 pm

hmm scene..alyuh south ppl eh :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » October 15th, 2006, 12:38 am

there's a mileage mack in st. james as well :roll: