Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

viedcht

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby viedcht » December 23rd, 2024, 10:49 am

Well ah studying back, the package said turkey breast, not boneless turkey, Butterball brand and it's around 3.2lbs so it could be true turkey breast, will check when I get back

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2024, 12:58 pm

i don’t think those boneless turkey breasts are glued
they are deboned and use a net to hold it together like boneless lamb leg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 23rd, 2024, 5:32 pm

pugboy wrote:i don’t think those boneless turkey breasts are glued
Yup I just check one, barely started thawing but it is a real turkey breast uncooked, unseasoned.
As you mentioned boneless ham, I remember in Hi-Lo gulf city branch circa 2007, a true bone removed (seeing the cored out hole) frozen "boneless ham" was $327.xx. and that wasn't during Xmas time, that price remained in my memory, because at that time we getting good quality picnic ham for under a blue note easily

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2024, 10:05 pm

they actually are seasoned, read the label
just that it is not trini “green” seasoning

viedcht wrote:
pugboy wrote:i don’t think those boneless turkey breasts are glued
Yup I just check one, barely started thawing but it is a real turkey breast uncooked, unseasoned.
As you mentioned boneless ham, I remember in Hi-Lo gulf city branch circa 2007, a true bone removed (seeing the cored out hole) frozen "boneless ham" was $327.xx. and that wasn't during Xmas time, that price remained in my memory, because at that time we getting good quality picnic ham for under a blue note easily

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 24th, 2024, 9:27 am

Good morning.

Has anyone seen English Muffins for sale in the grocery or bakery (not those cupcake American muffins)?

I am only seeing those hard bagels for sale.

Thanks.

snatman

Postby snatman » January 3rd, 2025, 2:06 pm

I can't seem to find fresh pork anywhere in the country :lol:

what going on?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2025, 4:12 pm

Postby eliteauto » January 4th, 2025, 4:18 pm

Attention seeking

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 4th, 2025, 4:30 pm

Looks like child abuse and she needs to be investigated. You can't have you child eating all that junk food per day. That has to be a skit surely?

Postby paid_influencer » January 4th, 2025, 4:57 pm

that sandwich container is mind blowing.

The juices and the snacks I feel is just for variety. But there are cases where parents have to pack extra food - some for their child and some for the bully.

Daughter getting $100 a day to spend in food is maybe bad or not. It depends on where they getting food from and how healthy it is. San'do you can get dhal, rice and bhaji like home cooked but it will cost about $25.

Postby alfa » January 4th, 2025, 6:18 pm

In the old days bullies used to get theirs with Epsom salts or sandbox powder, even heard of once who got rat poison in his. Didn't know people still getting bullied for food.
Looks like the good old days need to come back

Postby Dizzy28 » January 9th, 2025, 9:20 am

Went Pricemart over the weekend for the first time since Nov and to me I found a lot of stuff not on manufacturer's discount had price rises. Not overly big but like a $4-$5.
Well except Olive Oil....when did the 750ml bottles reach $150?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 10th, 2025, 8:35 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Went Pricemart over the weekend for the first time since Nov and to me I found a lot of stuff not on manufacturer's discount had price rises. Not overly big but like a $4-$5.
Well except Olive Oil....when did the 750ml bottles reach $150?
I noticed that happening years now

Postby hover11 » January 10th, 2025, 8:38 am

Ppl still shopping at pricesmart , when will yall realize you are paying to be ripped off

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2025, 9:17 am

pricesmart actually have some big sales now
big bag of jasmine rice is $128
normally $170 and usually $200 in chinese groceries

i got a 3200psi pressure washer on returned item sale for $2k after xmas

Postby Dizzy28 » January 10th, 2025, 9:27 am

pugboy wrote:pricesmart actually have some big sales now
big bag of jasmine rice is $128
normally $170 and usually $200 in chinese groceries

i got a 3200psi pressure washer on returned item sale for $2k after xmas

Yea that's why I specified not on manufacturers discount. There were quite a lot of yellow tagged items which were offered some good deals.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 13th, 2025, 11:21 am

Ah find Massy step up their game with prices matching some of the other supermarkets like persads for example. Ah like that

Postby paid_influencer » February 13th, 2025, 6:55 pm

massy never really was that expensive for the average price of the same grocery list. yes, some items may be much more but it averages out across the whole list. Massy also has more variety brands, which are more expensive than the regular basic brands, but dais your choice to buy. The only real problem with massy is local produce - massy is not good with local produce at all. Even if you squint and look sideways, that section need improvement. Foreign produce or the local bourgeoise hydroponic stuff are well stocked though.

Massy also open a new fast food section inside that doing well. The pizzas for $70 not bad, different taste to the typical fast food pizzas. Ready in 3 minutes so you could order before you cash then run back and pick it up.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2025, 7:02 pm

correct, for standard stuff massy wasn’t much more expensive eg flour

it’s the stuff which involves a middle man like veggies which have high prices and poor turnover

if you are familiar with local veggie industry it’s the middlemen who spoil the pricing

plenty turnover racket in macoya wholesale market

Postby bluefete » February 13th, 2025, 7:46 pm

paid_influencer wrote:massy never really was that expensive for the average price of the same grocery list. yes, some items may be much more but it averages out across the whole list. Massy also has more variety brands, which are more expensive than the regular basic brands, but dais your choice to buy. The only real problem with massy is local produce - massy is not good with local produce at all. Even if you squint and look sideways, that section need improvement. Foreign produce or the local bourgeoise hydroponic stuff are well stocked though.

Massy also open a new fast food section inside that doing well. The pizzas for $70 not bad, different taste to the typical fast food pizzas. Ready in 3 minutes so you could order before you cash then run back and pick it up.

I beg to differ.

Massy was never a "poor man" grocery. I have never seen anything average out on my list. Maybe, it is because I only buy hops bread from them and 2/1 specials if any. Their pricing includes "points" for card shoppers and so they are generally more expensive.

That said, I find that the cost of grocery items has escalated since the year started. Seems that grocers are now buying US$ large scale on the black market or simply price gouging.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2025, 8:30 pm

we don’t know if the price gouging is by massy or by the distributor eg hadco just like market middleman

haagen daz on sale tomorrow
doh stick $40
vs $86 normal

Postby paid_influencer » February 13th, 2025, 8:55 pm

bluefete wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:massy never really was that expensive for the average price of the same grocery list. yes, some items may be much more but it averages out across the whole list. Massy also has more variety brands, which are more expensive than the regular basic brands, but dais your choice to buy. The only real problem with massy is local produce - massy is not good with local produce at all. Even if you squint and look sideways, that section need improvement. Foreign produce or the local bourgeoise hydroponic stuff are well stocked though.

I beg to differ.

Massy was never a "poor man" grocery. I have never seen anything average out on my list. Maybe, it is because I only buy hops bread from them and 2/1 specials if any. Their pricing includes "points" for card shoppers and so they are generally more expensive.

That said, I find that the cost of grocery items has escalated since the year started. Seems that grocers are now buying US$ large scale on the black market or simply price gouging.

what i realise is everybody list different. for my particular stuff massy is the same or even cheaper than other places. i gone out of my way to shop other places and it come out the same or more expensive than just going massy.

prices in the states went up drastically so everything here will go up also
i expecting after trump tariff war start it going to get much worse this year on some items
i already making myself flexible in what i could cook

the exchange rate thing funny because imbert set up a parallel forex system using the exim bank
but this year he cut the amount of forex going to that parallel forex system
so them distributors might be pricing according to competition (or lack thereof) under the new system

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2025, 9:51 pm

welcome to the new uneven playing field of doing business and it ain’t gonna get better

the gap between haves and have nots will just continue to widen

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I beg to differ.

what i realise is everybody list different. for my particular stuff massy is the same or even cheaper than other places. i gone out of my way to shop other places and it come out the same or more expensive than just going massy.

prices in the states went up drastically so everything here will go up also
i expecting after trump tariff war start it going to get much worse this year on some items
i already making myself flexible in what i could cook

the exchange rate thing funny because imbert set up a parallel forex system using the exim bank
but this year he cut the amount of forex going to that parallel forex system
so them distributors might be pricing according to competition (or lack thereof) under the new system

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2025, 12:29 pm

pugboy wrote:we don’t know if the price gouging is by massy or by the distributor eg hadco just like market middleman

doh stick $40
vs $86 normal

LOL. Wifey gone to see if any remaining and to get double points.

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2025, 12:31 pm

As paid_influencer and pugboy mentioned gaps between the haves and have nots - reminds me of the French Revolution.

Postby hover11 » February 14th, 2025, 12:33 pm

bluefete wrote:As paid_influencer and pugboy mentioned gaps between the haves and have nots - reminds me of the French Revolution.
When the people shall have nothing more to eat, they will eat the rich

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2025, 12:34 pm

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:As paid_influencer and pugboy mentioned gaps between the haves and have nots - reminds me of the French Revolution.

We still a long way from that. They will eat grass first.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2025, 12:38 pm

once ppl can get their kfc and ketchup there will be no riots

bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:

We still a long way from that. They will eat grass first.

Postby K74T » February 14th, 2025, 2:58 pm

and good Swiss ketchup too, no Heinz crap. #supportlocal #MadeinT&T

Postby alfa » February 14th, 2025, 3:04 pm

pugboy wrote:we don’t know if the price gouging is by massy or by the distributor eg hadco just like market middleman

doh stick $40
vs $86 normal

Feel I go make a pass through tomorrow, can't let that deal slide
If they selling at that price and still making a profit imagine how much they ripping of people on a normal day