The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Re: The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2023, 3:28 pm

better thing is still a burglar alarm to know if someone breaking a window and spikes on wall so nobody can jump in

when you put in a cctv yuh will spend first few weeks watching as novelty then only look at it when there is some incident

btw they breaking iron gates easy with car jacks

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 11th, 2023, 6:32 pm

pugboy wrote:better thing is still a burglar alarm to know if someone breaking a window and spikes on wall so nobody can jump in

when you put in a cctv yuh will spend first few weeks watching as novelty then only look at it when there is some incident

Thanks for the advice. Will definitely take this information to my parents. Any suggestions on a reliable burglar alarm and installer?

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2023, 7:16 pm

dsc is a good brand, has app for your phone notifications too

Jerry84 wrote:
pugboy wrote:better thing is still a burglar alarm to know if someone breaking a window and spikes on wall so nobody can jump in

Thanks for the advice. Will definitely take this information to my parents. Any suggestions on a reliable burglar alarm and installer?

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2023, 8:48 pm

pugboy wrote:dsc is a good brand, has app for your phone notifications too

Jerry84 wrote:

Epcom, Neo, Hikvision also good brands with apps that will show you everything working and battery life etc

Postby gastly369 » October 11th, 2023, 9:46 pm

Have my old ass hikvision about 8 years now 1080p... Definitely need a upgrade now with the colorvu cameras 8mp

Will donate the system to family member

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2023, 10:12 pm

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2023, 7:00 am

ordering to upgrade

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 12th, 2023, 5:18 pm

Jerry84 wrote:So I visited a computer store/establishment on the main road in tunapuna and saw that they had an 8 camera system with dvr and 60ft of cable per camera for $3,000.00

I enquired about it and was told that the brand is among the top two in the world called "Dahua" or something to that effect. The cameras are 2mp and from my understanding, an upgrade to 4mp can be had for $50 per camera.

Would this be a decent, budget friendly, reliable system for my parents home, who just needs to view their surrounding but still have the safety of recorded footage if the need arises?
A customer of mine bought this brand on his own and asked me to install the system.

The build quality of the cameras are very flimsy (most models are made of plastic) and the picture quality isn't the best. The customer bought 2MP and 4MP cameras and there wasn't a real noticable difference in quality. The dynamic range on the cameras isn't the best where it can't compensate very well for varying lighting conditions. Video appeared grainy and in bright conditions, facial features weren't clear.

The user interface on the DVR is a bit challenging for a novice to user. So if you don't spend a lot of time learning the features, you'd be in a jam if you had to produce footage in a hurry for law enforcement.
(or you can record off the screen like all the other muppets)

I would keep shopping around for a better brand.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 12th, 2023, 11:50 pm

Strange my dahua and uncle hikvision is nearly identical build and functionality. Metal cams and everything. I guess like everything there are different tiers

Postby Chimera » October 12th, 2023, 11:56 pm

a dvr cud have a label mark dahua or hik vision and is a random chinee thing

once u buying over 50 pieces in the same model they will print whatever name you want on it

Postby stev » October 13th, 2023, 1:12 am

Chimera wrote:a dvr cud have a label mark dahua or hik vision and is a random chinee thing

once u buying over 50 pieces in the same model they will print whatever name you want on it

CORRECT

DVR, AC UNITS, GAMING CHAIRS. PC, WASHING MACHINE, AG MAN AND DRYERS...
Last edited by stev on November 24th, 2023, 1:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gastly369 » October 13th, 2023, 6:08 am

Swann is also hikvision.....

After the "US" ban of hikvision cameras they purchased the swann company/branding and still holds the US market lol

Even the hikvision app works with them
The swann dvr can be flashed and working with hikvision firmware etc

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 13th, 2023, 7:05 am

nick639v2 wrote:Strange my dahua and uncle hikvision is nearly identical build and functionality. Metal cams and everything. I guess like everything there are different tiers
Exactly

Some models share the same hardware and software as the other brands, but they also have "affordable versions" that have cheaper components.

Manufacturers are free to modify the systems to whatever level they want.

On another note, I had a client who wanted a high end IP based system system with approximately 100 cameras for his business but he didn't like the six figure quote I gave him.

He normally sources raw materials for his business in China and he visited a Hikvision dealer there who gave him a deal on "unbranded" hikvision hardware (cameras, PoE switches, NVRs etc).

He was even offered an option to print any name or brand or logo he wanted on the components in place of the hikvision name/logo.

The documentation that came with the system was identical to hikvision, but was blank in the places where you'd find the hikvision name. Even the software on the devices was identical with the hikvision name/logo missing.

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2023, 7:34 am

yeah all them factories making the same thing diff branding
i just bought a roborock vacuum on ebay
got another part for it from ali express under a diff name

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2023, 7:42 am

at some point, ppl going to realize that nothing is "brand name" anymore

except quiksilver shirts

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2023, 7:55 am

and election jerseys

paid_influencer wrote:at some point, ppl going to realize that nothing is "brand name" anymore

except quiksilver shirts

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 13th, 2023, 9:32 am

A lot of people go for the hikvision and epcom because of the price. Some also prefer the swann and lorex from pmart until the app start to give trouble with remote viewing or a camera fails and a generic brand not compatible.

What's a brand with better quality and reliable app you all can recommend?

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2023, 10:36 am

most of them using the xmeye or ip camera app though

i have some dvrs that i brought in in 2019

5 in 1 dvrs , a brand called winpossee that accepting all video formats from IP, TVI, ahd, cvi

still running good in 2023, recently put some 5mp cameras on a few of them and showing nice and clean

next batch of DVR's i ordering for personal use doing up to 12MP so good for a next 5 years with that

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 13th, 2023, 5:16 pm

So can anyone suggest a reliable package I should purchase or should I build my own system ie, buy the necessary dvr then individual cameras as needed? If yes then suggest reliable units please.

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2023, 5:22 pm

Jerry84 wrote:So can anyone suggest a reliable package I should purchase or should I build my own system ie, buy the necessary dvr then individual cameras as needed? If yes then suggest reliable units please.

yes i also wtk

including poe adapters, wire specifications, camera specifications etc

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 15th, 2023, 12:16 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:So can anyone suggest a reliable package I should purchase or should I build my own system ie, buy the necessary dvr then individual cameras as needed? If yes then suggest reliable units please.

yes i also wtk

including poe adapters, wire specifications, camera specifications etc

I would build, you want a system that records in 1080p or higher at a high frame rate. You also want multiple streams

There are Hikvision NVRs with poe capability so all you need is just the cable some basic networking knowledge and you good to go

Postby gastly369 » October 15th, 2023, 9:46 am

I wonder if hikvision has any ANPR cameras

Ill have to do some research

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 15th, 2023, 5:52 pm

I'd still go with the hikvision (even though they sell to other manufacturers). I've been installing these systems for the last 7 years and haven't seen any significant failures except for the occasional hard drive.

The PoE capable NVRs are the best option for small businesses or homes with 4MP cameras and up. The majority of their IP cameras will have configurable wide dynamic range and frame rates. So you can customize the cameras to capture the best video.

As for cables, it depends on your application. As far as bandwidth is concerned, at minimum, a CAT5E cable can more than handle the data passing through the cable once it's matched to the right PoE switch (I have seen 8-port 10Mb hikvision PoE switches with 10Mb uplink ports that crap out after you plug in more than 3 cameras. I don't know why they sell these). This is why for small installations I recommend the NVRs with a built-in switch. Each port is usually at minimum 100Mb or 1Gb.

If your installation is mostly indoors with drop ceilings, hollow walls and crawl spaces to hide cables, you can go with the cheap cables.

If you're running cables outdoors through conduit consider pure copper cables and make sure to use the weatherproof connectors even if they are in a PVC box. Water always finds a way in.

If you're running the cables bare on outdoor walls, you could consider getting the UV grade data cables. You could even bury this cable and not have to worry about it corroding.

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2023, 6:19 pm

ppl waste money buying cat6 when 5 is more than good enough

Postby paid_influencer » October 15th, 2023, 6:33 pm

PoE ports rated at 10Mb? not 10/100 ?!?

is there a minimum gauge for the CAT5E or would it all be good generally for medium size houses?

the Hikvisions NVR, who sells these.

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2023, 6:43 pm

once less than 100m
all are supposed to be same gauge as it is a spec
however the cheaper ones are alum clad copper which can corrode in many cases
pure copper is advised

paid_influencer wrote:PoE ports rated at 10Mb? not 10/100 ?!?

is there a minimum gauge for the CAT5E or would it all be good generally for medium size houses?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 16th, 2023, 11:21 am

paid_influencer wrote:PoE ports rated at 10Mb? not 10/100 ?!?

A local dealer (will not call his name because he ignorant) bought in those useless switches and convinced one of my customers it'll work. Waste of money.

As for a source on the hikvision NVRs, I buy from bhphototovideo.com

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2023, 11:24 am

Cooper wrote:If you're running cables outdoors through conduit consider pure copper cables and make sure to use the weatherproof connectors even if they are in a PVC box. Water always finds a way in.

If you're running the cables bare on outdoor walls, you could consider getting the UV grade data cables. You could even bury this cable and not have to worry about it corroding.

where do you get the weatherproof connectors to purchase

Postby Dave » October 16th, 2023, 11:27 am

Lol water always finds a way.
Even though I had water proof connectors I still used dielectric grease inside of them.

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 11:31 am

put silicone around the pvc box and if you want around the connector too